PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Alternative Brews - Amherst, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 09:43 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Amherst > Alternative Brews
Alternative Brews Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Alternative Brews
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.7 / 100
3488 Sheridan Drive
Amherst, NY 14226
United States
(716) 446-0424
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: October 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Amherst, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
18 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Sterling Place Tavern
(4 miles)

2) Amherst Pizza and Ale House
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Beau Fleuve Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BUFFALO UNIV DISTRICT
2) COMFORT SUITES BUFFALO AIRPORT
3) DAYS INN TONAWANDA BUFFALO NY
4) ECONO LODGE TONAWANDA
5) EXTENDEDSTAY BUFFALO AMHERST
6) HAMPTON INN BUFFALO AMHST
7) HYATT REGENCY BUFFALO
8) LORD AMHERST MOTOR HOTEL
9) MARRIOTT BUFFALO NIAGARA
10) MICROTEL INN
11) QUALITY INN AIRPORT
12) RED ROOF BUFFALO AMHERST
13) SLEEP INN AMHERST
14) SUPER 8 AMHERST NIAGARA FALLS
15) TRAVELODGE ON THE BOULEVARD
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 33--61 Emerson Place Row
2) Blessed Trinity Roman Catholic Church Buildings
3) Carnegie Library
4) Chapel of Our Lady Help of Christians
5) Eberhardt Mansion
6) Garrison Cemetery
7) Laurel and Michigan Avenues Row
8) Martin, D. D., House Complex
9) Martin, Darwin D., House
10) Roosevelt, Theodore, Inaugural National Historic Site
11) Stone Farmhouse
12) Williamsville Christian Church
13) Williamsville Water Mill Complex
14) Woodlawn Avenue Row
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1 China
2) A & Z Development
3) Adam's Rib
4) Alice's Kitchen
5) Alternative Brews Inc
6) Amy's Place
7) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
8) Arby's
9) Arby's
10) Babas Restaurant Inc
11) Bailey's Steak Out
12) Bamboo House Restaurant
13) Bella Bean Cafe
14) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
15) Big John's Submarine & Pizza
16) Bilvi Food Svces Inc
17) Bing's
18) Bob & John's Suburban
19) Bobby Mc Gees
20) Bocce Club Pizzeria
21) Boston Market
22) Brunner's Tavern
23) Bruno's Market Pizzeria
24) Bubble Tea Cafe
25) Buffalo Tap Room & Grill
26) Buffalo/Niagara Marriott
27) Burger King
28) Burger King
29) C A One Svc Inc
30) Cafe In The Square
31) Cameo's
32) Chili's Grill & Bar
33) China King Restaurant
34) China Max Wok
35) Christino's A Tuscan Bistro
36) Chuck E Cheese's
37) Circle Restaurant
38) Cobti's Restaurant
39) Dairy Queen
40) Dairy Queen
41) Dakota Express
42) Dakota Express
43) Dakota Grill
44) Denny's
45) Denny's
46) Denny's
47) Domino's Pizza
48) Don Pablo's Mexican Kitchen
49) Duff's
50) E B Green's Steakhouse Hyatt
51) Family Tree
52) Fanny's Restaurant
53) Fanny's Restaurant
54) Fast Frank's
55) Fera's Boulevard Sub Shop
56) First Place
57) Franco's Pizza
58) Friar's Table
59) Fuddruckers
60) Fuddruckers
61) Funny Bone Comedy Club
62) Giacobbi's Trattoria
63) Gin Gin Restaurant
64) Golden Dragon
65) Gordy's Inn
66) Great Steak & Potato Co
67) Hallmark Management Svc
68) Harriet's Restaurant
69) Higher Grounds Coffeehouse
70) Hoagie Brothers Giant Subs
71) Hooters
72) IHOP
73) India Palace
74) Indian Clay Oven Restaurant
75) Jasmine Thai Restaurant
76) Jimmy's Odl Time Diner
77) John's Pizza & Sub Shop
78) Kensington Avenue Pizzeria
79) Key City Grill Inc
80) Kfc
81) King & I
82) King's Wok
83) Korner Mart
84) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
85) Leeon Chinese Fast Food Rstrnt
86) Leonardi's Pizzeria
87) Lotta Latte
88) Loughran's Club & Restaurant
89) May Jen Chinese Restaurant
90) Mc Bee's Old Time Tavern
91) Mc Donald's
92) Mc Donald's
93) Mc Donald's
94) Mc Donald's
95) Mc Donald's
96) Mc Donald's
97) Mc Donald's
98) Mc Gee's North
99) Mike's Big Mouth
100) Molly's Pub Inc
101) Montana's Cookhouse
102) Moods Of Buffalo Inc
103) Moon Chinese Buffet
104) Moti Mahal Restaurant
105) My Tomato Pie Inc
106) Natalie's Cafe & Deli
107) Neighbors
108) Neon Thai
109) New China Max Wok
110) Ni Hoowa Seafood Restaurant
111) Nick's Pizza Express
112) O Restaurant & Lounge
113) Old Country Buffet
114) Olive Garden
115) Osaka Sushi Bar & Grille
116) Outback Steakhouse
117) P J Bottoms
118) Palladino's Pizza Express
119) Pizza Hut
120) Pizza Hut
121) Pizza Hut
122) Pizzeria Uno
123) Ponderosa Steak House
124) Red Lobster Restaurant
125) Red Pepper Chinese-Vietnamese
126) Rice Gardens
127) Saigon Bangkok Restaurant
128) San Marco Restaurant
129) Santora's Phase Ii
130) Sbarro
131) Sbarro
132) Scotch 'n Sirloin Restaurant
133) Sheridan Family Restaurant
134) Shirlee's 7th Corner
135) Siena Restaurant
136) Sonoma Grille
137) Souvlaki King
138) Sportservice Corp
139) Starbucks
140) Steer-Peanut Gallery
141) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
142) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
143) Sue's Juicery Ny Deli
144) Swiss Chalet Rotisserie
145) Taco Bell
146) Taste Of India
147) Tgi Friday's
148) Thai Bistro
149) Tom's Family Restaurant
150) Tropical Fish & Pets Inc
151) Uncle Stevens Restaurant
152) Vito's Market
153) Wan Fa Chinese Restaurant
154) Wegmans Food Markets
155) Wehrle Restaurant
156) Wendy's
157) Wendy's
158) Westfield's
159) White & Co Printing Svc Inc
160) Ying's Pizza Subs & Buffalo
161) Zetti's Pizza & Pasta
162) Ziggy's Taco & Sub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Best selection of bottled beer in the WNY area. I try to stop in whenever I am in area. One nite walked in just as a beer tasting started. Offerings from all over. The Elfego Bock from Rio Grande Brewing Co was excellent. The Roswell Alien Amber Ale from Sierra Blanca Brewing was good. Friendly servers. Not cheap, BUT you normally GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. Visit again, DEFINATELY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Greene Bob Greene, Bradenton, FL
(08/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Good place, near Niagara Falls Rd. 20+ taps 100+ bottles. 2 for 1 happy hour draft specials. Try the Hazelnut Brown made for them by Custom Brews, very nice, if you like hazelnut flavor. Server told me to try the Southern Tier Imperial Stout, but failed to tell me the (13+)percent alcohol, until after I tried some. Too late--I was hooked! Patio area, and I believe it's one of the few places where smoking (maybe just cigars?) is still allowed in NY. Future reviews, help me out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
Second, this is the only bar where the bartender (Daryl) takes interest in what you have been up to. After an almost three month long exodus, Daryl remembered me. Now that's service. The selection on tap is varied by brand but consistently offers a line up of styles which is guaranteed to make one smile. Past offerings include: Middle Ages Wailing Wench and Lackheart Stout, Custom Brewcrafters Wee Heavy and Gargolye, Boddngtons, Flying Bison Oatmeal Stout and Pale Crotch Ale, Great Lakes Edmund Fitzgerald Porter, Harpoon IPA, Newcastle Brown, Sam Adams,and Spaten Hefe Weiss and Dunkel Weiss. Quite an offering. The buy one get one special really makes this worthwhile. Unfortunatly, I would not be able to afford going to AB without the special. AB has a large selection of bottles. Some of the prices are high, but thats to be expected. AB is all about the customer: excellent line up of taps combined with great service and music.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Black and Tans Black and Tans, Sunny Syracuse, NY
(04/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
we have been going to Alternative brews for a few years for friday blues and have always found the sevice excellent and very friendly,the location is great and we hve told many of our friends and family about it. There aren't many places to go for music at 6:00 that only charge 2.00 to hear a band. GREAT PLACE TO GO !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen B. Karen B., Buffalo, NY
(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Great place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Outstanding bar with a nice atmosphere. Daryl is an excelent bartender. He deserves a raise!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gil Toledo Gil Toledo, Lewiston, NY
(12/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've let a year-and-a-half pass before posting my response to the owner's remarks and I stand by what I originally wrote. If I made it up, I wouldn't have put my name on the review. Most of the posts since then seem to be from the "Groupies" I referred to in March of 2002. Actually, there hasn't been ONE posting from outside the Buffalo area. I would guess this is a campaign by the 'regulars' to get the rating back up and to try to discredit my accounting of my experience there. The basic issue was in the way management handled the matter. I'm sure Paul Madsen could have figured out how to contact me, but instead, they dealt with it poorly once again. Paul, this website is meant for the reviews of the patrons, not the owners. You should use it to try to improve your service, not to bash anyone leaving a less-than-favorable review of your establishment. Paul's posting about my review overstates what happened. (Not surprising since he wasn't there.) Let me set the record straight and explain a bit more about my visit. I did NOT verbally abuse the bartender, I simply asked which price was correct, the $5.00 printed on the beer list or the $6.00 he charged based on the computer at the cash register. I said, "$5.00 is already a bit pricey for this beer". It was a Druid Fluid Barleywine from Middle Ages Brewing in Syracuse. This is not an issue of supply and demand and it's not a difficult beer to obtain in this area. Paul even admits it was a mistake. That would've solved the problem if that were the response back in March. I asked the bartender to let me speak to the "Manager" who turned-out to be Mrs. Madsen, the co-owner as explained by Paul. She was obviously over-whelmed by the large crowd and couldn't be bothered by a patron who had a complaint. Since she seemed to be in a tizzy, maybe SHE had a problem with the bar being crowded, I NEVER complained about it. When Donna refunded the cover charge but not the difference in the beer price, I considered it an acceptable compromise. As I told her, “We came for the beer, not the band.” I was all set to stay and enjoy some of the other fine beers with my friend, but then she continued with "...And after you finish your beer, leave." I was astonished! I had done NOTHING to warrant being thrown out. Naturally I became irritated AFTER that, but I STILL wanted to stay to enjoy some of the other beers. She was adamant about having us leave. She told me I was "taking space at the bar from the people who came to see the band." "WHAT?!" I HAD to ask her, "Are you in the business of peddling bands or beer?" In regards to the parking, it was FAR easier to find a seat at the bar than somewhere to park my car. I found an area just large enough to park my vehicle NEXT to the last employee parking spot. This area wasn't marked as a parking spot and I was actually partially on the lawn in order to fit in. No matter what argument the Madsen's present about the parking, it was truly insufficient. I have had, and will continue to have, many discussions about this experience with my friends and associates; including several I'm SURE the Madsen's wished I had not. Many of those conversations were with people who are familiar with Alternative Brews. I have heard more than once that "Donna can be a bitc_". It's like I told you and your bartender, Donna, I have a big mouth and LOTS of friends who like "Good" beer. I'll never forget what happened, I'll never recommend Alternative Brews, I'll never return and I'll continue my conversations with everyone in the Western New York beer community.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Jagodzinski Dan Jagodzinski, Linwood, NY
(11/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
We love the comfortable relaxed atmosphere of Alternative Brews. The bands they bring in are really good (blues and R&B being our favorites). And the BEST thing, being working folks, we can still enjoy a night out because of the early starting time for the bands- 6PM on Friday and 9PM on Saturday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gerry and Barb, Buffal, NY
(05/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great live music all the time. great place for a private party... just large enough.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ward Bray Ward Bray, Amherst, NY
(10/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I am a regular at Paul's bar and am here to tell ya It's one of the best in the area. Daryl is a fantastic bartender and Paul always stays on top of what is new. He even has a Beer Club every couple of months. I guess in Dan J hasn't been to many bars in his life

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan W. Dan W., Kenmore, NY
(09/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I am the owner of Alternative Brews, Paul Madsen. I must respond to the negative comments from Dan Jagodzinski. He came to our club on a Saturday afternoon when we were having live blues music. The place was packed (which is a good thing when you are in business). During live music, we charge a cover of $2.00 which goes entirely to the band. He did not want to pay the cover, complained about how busy it was (?), and had a problem finding a parking spot (he actually parked in an area in back that is reserved for employees only). We have 170 different beers to offer, and he did find one that was mispriced by $1.00. After verbally abusing one of my bartenders, my wife, who is a co-owner, got involved. He started on her too, and she told him to leave. By the way, he is one of only a handful of customers we have tossed out in 7 years of business! Please check all of our other reviews to get a true picture of Alternative Brews!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PAUL MADSEN PAUL MADSEN, AMHERST, NY
(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I did not encounter the problems that were mentioned by Dan J. of Linwood.I have been there on many occasions and find the prices correct, the service very efficient, and the atmosphere fun and friendly. They even passed a sign-up sheet to check responce for a brews and blues weekend this summer at one patrons camping property so we could have a reunion after the blues band season. I will return there often to enjoy the hospitality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review buffalo, NY
(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I did not encounter the problems that were mentioned by Dan J. of Linwood.I have been there on many occasions and find the prices correct, the service very efficient, and the atmosphere fun and friendly. They even passed a sign-up sheet to check responce for a brews and blues weekend this summer at one patrons camping property so we could have a reunion after the blues band season. I will return there often to enjoy the hospitality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review buffalo, NY
(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Lousy Lousy
Over-charged for beer. The beer list was only 5 weeks old, but in that short time the price of my LOCALLY brewed selection managed to go up from $5.00 per 12 ounce bottle to $6.00! They seemed more interested in selling Labatts to the groupies who came to see the band. I complained about having to pay a cover charge AND more than the posted price for the beer. After the cover charge was refunded, I would've been content and quietly moved on to some of the other beers they have to offer, but then owner also asked me to leave. I have to think ALL of the beer prices were higher than listed and throwing me out was better than listening to the complaints with each higher charge. If the higher drink charges were to cover for the band, then don't cover charge at the door. They must have skipped business 101. The parking for this location is also VERY insufficient. Beer selection only rates "Good" because they were out of my first two choices. I'll discourage everyone from going here. Their beer is not worth the aggravation of limited parking, cover charges, availability of the selections and false pricing, not to mention the RUDE management.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Jagodzinski Dan Jagodzinski, Linwood, NY
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Some truly great beers here, and I hear the blues is tremendous. This was the one bar EVERY beer geek mentioned when I said I was going to Buffalo, and now I know why. Excellent beers, good cigar selection, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Happy hour blues music and a cigar is the best to finish a workweek.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Getzville, NY
(09/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Firkin Friday is always a great thing. First friday of every month. Usually has good entertainment also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Rowell Paul Rowell, Buffalo, NY
(12/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
A great place to throw back a few hard to find treasures.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Buffalo, NY
(09/17/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.35 seconds) 09:43:42 54.80.36.69, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS