PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Killmeyer's Old Bavarian Inn - Staten Island, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 11:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Staten Island > Killmeyer's Old Bavarian Inn
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Killmeyer's Old Bavarian Inn
Overall: Great    Score: 73.7 / 100
4256 Arthur Kill Road
Staten Island, NY 10309
United States
(718) 984-1202
Listed Since: October 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Staten Island, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
10 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) JJ Bitting Brewing Company
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES WOODBRIDGE
2) FAIRFIELD INN & SUITES
3) HOTEL BON SOL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barron Library
2) Church of St. Andrew (Episcopal)
3) Conference House
4) House at 5910 Amboy Road
5) Inness, George, House
6) Kearny, Lawrence, House
7) Kreischer House
8) LaTourette House
9) Perth Amboy City Hall and Surveyor General's Office
10) Perth Amboy Ferry Slip
11) Perth Amboy Station
12) Proprietary House
13) Seguine House
14) Simpson United Methodist Church
15) St. Alban's Episcopal Church
16) Voorlezer's House
17) Woodrow Methodist Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Across The Pond
2) Aloysia's Lounge
3) Amboys Pizza & Restaurant
4) Anderson's Annex Tavern
5) Ashly Mason Supply Corp
6) Barnard Hall Caterers Inc
7) Benito's Pizzeria
8) Big Juniors Take Out
9) Big Nose Kate's Saloon Inc
10) Brick Oven Express
11) Brothers II Pizzeria Rstrnt
12) Butler's Restaurant
13) Cafe Via Veneto
14) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
15) Certo's Gourmet Foods-Caterers
16) Chef Hong's Restaurant
17) Christinas Corner Cafe
18) Ciros Pizza Cafe
19) Citi Taco
20) Classic Pizza II
21) Colonnade Diner
22) Comemos
23) Curves
24) Deli Delights
25) Domenico's Pizzeria
26) E 2 Cafe LTD
27) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
28) Fortune Island Inc
29) Front Page Restaurant
30) Gentile's Restaurant & Pizza
31) Goodfellas Brick Oven Pizza
32) Great American Diner
33) Happy Fortune Chinese Rstrnt
34) Hillside Deli Inc
35) Islander Taste Chinese Rstrnt
36) Killmeyer's Old Bauaria Inn
37) Lions Den Sports Cafe & Grill
38) Loon Chuan Restaurant
39) Lucky Lotto Luncheonette
40) M J Supper Club
41) M J Supper Club
42) Mc Donald's
43) Mc Donald's
44) Midfield Deli
45) Mystic Lounge
46) Nathan's Famous
47) New Island Chinese Restaurant
48) Nucci's South
49) O'Brien's Pub
50) Old Bermuda Inn
51) Panerea Resturnad Inc
52) Peking Taste Restaurant
53) Pete's Prime Catering
54) Piazza Italia Pizzaria
55) Pino's Pizzeria
56) Pleasant Plains Luncheonette
57) Pudgie's Famous Chicken
58) Pudgie's Famous Chicken
59) Ragno D'Oro Italian Gourmet
60) Rocky Tolos Italian Restaurant
61) Roma Restaurant & Pizzeria
62) Roseville Pizzeria
63) Sand Bar
64) South Shore Country Club
65) South Shore Deli
66) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
67) Sunset Pizzeria
68) Tasty Chicken
69) Town Deli & Pizzeria
70) Under The Bridge Cafe
71) Villa Monte Pizzeria & Rstrnt
72) Villa Monte Pizzeria & Rstrnt
73) Vincenzo's Pork Store
74) W's
75) Watering Hole
76) Waterloo Cafe
77) Wendy's
78) Woodrow Diner
79) Yellow Fin
80) Zio Luzzi's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A So So Lousy So So
Kowing that Killmeyer's serves some 50 kinds of beer, we were all excited to imbibe a few pints or so and enjoy the outdoor garden area. Much to our shagrin, when you are outdoors, you are not entitled to the same beer selection as you can get at the indoor bar. What the hell is that all about? What is so hard about the waitress going inside for our beer? Outside we were allowed to select from some 5 or 6 beers. So me and my wife; sisteer, Patricia, had an Octoberfest. That was great. We also had four different appetizers consisting of the FOrest Wives Mushrooms, Chicken wings with Blue Cheese. Escargot and Sausage with cheese. THe Mushrooms and the Escargot were just fine and so were the wings-just that they were like any other Hooters like fare. The Sausage and cheese, something we expected to be hot and melted and wonderful, was something I would have expected to be served by the first yr college kid living in his dorm. Real crap. Anyway we paid our 50 dollar bill plus tip for three beers and four appetizers and left rather disapointed. I am not sure I wil ever return here again. Service was sub-par and since there was some sort of big party in the tent area, the wait staff was less concerned for their bread and butter regular patrons. Over all out of 5 stars, this visit was a bust at 2 stars best effort. As a suggestion, a more complete appetizer selection would be in order.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Mayer Larry Mayer, Staten Island, NY
(09/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good So So So So
Place went down significantly in it's appeal. Selection of beers, which was around 9 German beers 5 years ago is down to Spaten and Spaten Optimator & 1 Wheatbeer. But, now you have some Chech donkey piss, something very plain NY beer and some crap like Coors or Budweiser and Yingling. Why would I go to German place for cheapest American beer, when I can go down Arthur Kill to Kate's and have the same half price? BTW, there are some really good American beers like Stoudt (http://www.stoudtsbeer.com/) which is very German-style, unlike Sam Adam's, which is a great beer, but patterned after Irish Ales? It's a German "Bierstube", after all. Bartenders - they MUST KNOW AND TAKE PRIDE in the beers they serve. Not the case anymore. Then waiters; service is OK, girls - waitresses are dressed in some sort of Bavarian outfits, are prompt and helpfull, but the dude who works there needs some matching clothes and, a lesson in attention to customers and general politness and good manners, since recently everyone feels like telling him to go and hump a skunk. Kitchen - food is OK, sweet red cabbage which is in every dish must go, German food must be in. I haven't seen Eisbein yet - and what could be more Bavarian than that? Weisswurst is a pityfull parody on what's being served in Germany, and don't tell me you can not get it here - I ate Weisswurst in PA, which was better, than German. Music - it's time for "Happy Tunes" to start looking for good adult communities. In other words, as a long-time customer, I stronngly recommend owner to re-evaluate where his business stands now and bring it back to it's unique place in SI beerscene.

P.S. Also, beer on tap - EXPLAIN people what you sell, tell people what's so great in these beers, give people some small testers/teasers. Especially women, who come with their husbands. Have some Belgian beers for them, or Swiss, which you can sell from tap, but in small glasses. Educated customer is the best customer - he comes back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Willie Lee Willie Lee, Staten Island, NY
(09/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The previous review was obviously a friend of the disgruntled former chef, who now claims to have been "fired". I'll leave the quality of the food up to you. As the owner, I'm obviously biased. I will say this, the new chef is NOT from Sri Lanka (although many excellent co-workers are). Chef Micha is an American who worked for many years at the Heidelberg Restaurant in the Miami area. The beer is the same large selection of German styles mixed with other American and International favorites, the beer garden will even be upgraded this coming season. The servers never did speak German (it's hard enough to get good staff that speak English well!). This isn't a problem unless you fall into the 2% of the customers who seem to feel that everyone in a German restaurant in Staten Island is obligated to speak German. For the record, I am an original owner of this business and neither I nor my two ex-partners are German. This never presented a problem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Staten Island, NY
(03/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So
This used to be a great place to eat authentic German food, but the German-born chef recently quit. As you might expect, the quality of the food has gone downhill considerably (the new chef is from Sri Lanka!). While the beer is still decent, the unprofessional service (no one even understands German) coupled with the smoking ban makes this place quite disappointing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richie Peterson Richie Peterson, New York, NY
(12/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm going tonight to try this place, my father recomomended it to me.. (8-9-03) I can't wait!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amy Amy, Roselle Park, NJ
(08/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Voted best actual "bar"(bar top) in NYC. These guys take pride in their place; German atmosphere (clocks, animals, steins, things written in German). Beer list- great, full, and concentrates on Germany and eastern Europe countries. Strengthy beers in bottles and on tap (Optimator, Aventinus, and Oktoberfests(seasonal)). Try the veal chops and a nice Bitburger.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Taverner Joe Taverner, Staten Island, NY
(02/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
This is a must see type of place. The Beer garden was opened in June but call first---it depends on the weather. If the sky is overcast it will not be open. The Bar staff could be more friendly but I go for food and the beer selection. The bartenders are not very good---you have to call them when you need a beer--there is no excuse for that when there is only handful of patrons at the bar. The bar was commissioned(made) in 1890. If you are in the NEW YORK CITY/NEW JERSEY area, go visit this place you will not be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(07/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
The German sister of Adobe Blues. Beer list will knock your socks off. Ever wanted to try a beer from Fiji? This is the place. Wiener schnitzle is outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Staten Island, NY
(06/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Our neighborhood haunt. Try the Franziskaner Weissbier, full and aeromatic. For a more robust strong beer try the Spaten Optimator. The bar is impressive, with a wide selection, and friendly staff. Food is excellent. The best Spatzle I've ever had in a restaurant. Definitely make a stop here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Machado James Machado, Staten Island, NY
(11/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
A traditonal Bavarian beer hall replete with German music and biergarten. The decor is splendid and the service is warm. Excellent selection of hard to find German imports both in bottles and on draught. Restaurant serves up traditional German fare, including regional dishes such as wild hare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Saunders Robert Saunders, Staten Island, NY
(10/13/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.199 seconds) 11:20:34 54.204.58.87, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS