PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bier Garden - Portsmouth, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 05:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Portsmouth > Bier Garden
Bier Garden Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Bier Garden
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.8 / 100
438 High Street
Portsmouth, VA 23704
United States
(757) 393-6022
Listed Since: October 1998
Last Updated: March 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portsmouth, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bier Garden
28 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon CLOSED
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Trolley Club
(0 mile)

2) Alt Platz Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Gosport Tavern
(0 mile)

4) Jack Quinn's
(2 miles)

5) Mo and O'Malley's Irish Pub
(2 miles)

6) The Birch Bar
(3 miles)

7) Taphouse at Ghent
(3 miles)

8) New Belmont
(3 miles)

9) Colley Cantina
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Page House Inn
2) Glen Coe Inn
3) Olde Towne Bed & Breakfast Inn
4) Patriot Inn B & B
5) Port Norfolk Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE INN AND SUITES CHESA
2) CLARION HOTEL JAMES MADISON
3) COMFORT INN OLDE TOWN
4) COURTYARD NORFOLK DOWNTOWN
5) DAYS INN NORFOLK CHESAPEAKE
6) DAYS INN NORFOLK N PORTSMOUTH
7) ECONO LODGE CHESAPEAKE
8) EXTENDEDSTAY GREENBRIER
9) HAWTHORN AT GOVERNOR DINWIDDI
10) NORFOLK MARRIOTT WATERSIDE
11) RADISSON HOTEL NORFOLK
12) SHERATON NORFOLK WATERSIDE HTL
13) TAZEWELL HOTEL & SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allmand-Archer House
2) Attucks Theatre
3) Christ and St. Luke's Church
4) Commodore Theatre
5) Confederate Monument
6) Drydock No. 1
7) Epworth United Methodist Church
8) First Baptist Church
9) First Calvary Baptist Church
10) Fort Norfolk
11) Freemason Street Baptist Church
12) HUNTINGTON (Tugboat)
13) James Blair Junior High School
14) Kenmure
15) Lafayette Grammar and High School
16) LIGHTSHIP No. 101, PORTSMOUTH
17) Monticello Arcade
18) Myers, Moses, House
19) Norfolk Academy
20) Norfolk City Hall
21) Old Norfolk City Hall
22) Old Portlock School #5
23) Portsmouth Courthouse
24) Pythian Castle
25) Quarters A, B, and C, Norfolk Naval Shipyard
26) Seaboard Coastline Building
27) Shea Terrace Elementary School
28) St. John's African Methodist Episcopal Church
29) St. Mary's Church
30) St. Paul's Catholic Church
31) St. Paul's Church
32) Taylor-Whittle House
33) Trinity Episcopal Church
34) U.S. Customhouse
35) US Post Office and Courthouse
36) Virginia Bank and Trust Building
37) Wells Theatre
38) West, John T., School
39) Willoughby-Baylor House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 219 Restaurant
2) 456 Fish
3) A J Gators Sports Bar & Grill
4) A2Z Cafe
5) Alice May's Soul Food
6) Amory's Wharf
7) Aramark Monarch Catering Svc
8) Arby's
9) Balaban's Gourmet Barbecue
10) Bar Norfolk
11) Baron's Pub & Restaurant
12) Basil Italian Seafd Ristorante
13) Ben & Jerry's
14) Bier Garden Inc
15) Bier Garden Inc
16) Blue Hippo
17) Blue Plate
18) Bluebird Bakery & Cafe
19) Blues Alley
20) Bob's Bbq & Country Cookin
21) Bob's Carolina Bbq Rstrnt
22) Bobbie B's Deli
23) Bodega
24) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
25) Bozeburger Ii
26) Breckenridge Restaurant & Lng
27) Brothers Paradise Food Lounge
28) Bruttis' Cafe
29) Bugatti's
30) Burger King
31) Burger King
32) Business Opportunities-Blind
33) Business Opportunity Blind
34) Cafe Europa
35) Castaldi's Market & Grill
36) Castle
37) Centerplate
38) Chan's Restaurant
39) Chanello's Pizza
40) Chen Garden Chinese Restaurant
41) Chili's Grill & Bar
42) China Garden Restaurant
43) Chinese Tea Garden
44) Chocollage
45) Church's Chicken
46) Circle Seafood Restaurant
47) Cobia Grill
48) Colonial Shoppe
49) Copeland's Hot Dogs
50) Country Favorites Restaurant
51) Cradock Bar & Grill Inc
52) Crocodile Rocks
53) Cuisine & Co
54) D'Eggs Diner
55) Daily Grind
56) Deck Restaurant Inc
57) Del Vecchios
58) Deli Plus
59) Diesel Pizza
60) Dixie's Tavern
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Domino's Pizza
63) Domo Japanese Restaurant
64) Downtown
65) Downtowner Restaurant
66) El Noplito Mexican Restaurant
67) Elocoqui
68) Empire Buffett
69) Empire-Little Bar Bistro
70) Encore Restaurant
71) Esplanade Restaurant
72) Fahrenheit Restaurant & Bar
73) Famous Uncle Al's
74) Fine Dining
75) First Colony Coffee House
76) Flagship Restaurant
77) Flagship Resteraunt
78) Foggy Point Bar & Grill
79) Freemason Abbey Restaurant
80) Frontier
81) Gli Food Svc
82) Gloria's Best
83) Gourmet Gang
84) Granby Lounge
85) Grandy Bistro & Deli
86) Greater Grinders
87) Guatalagara City Cafe
88) Gustos Restaurant
89) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
90) Harbor Club
91) Hardee's
92) Harry's Famous Barbecue
93) Havanna
94) Have A Nice Day Cafe
95) Hay Hing Chinese Restaurant
96) Hell's Kitchen
97) Hms Host
98) Hooters
99) Huckleberry's Frozen Custard
100) Invisible Chefs
101) Jack Quinn's Irish Pub
102) Jeannie B's Inc
103) Jeepers
104) Jeff's Cafe
105) Jem Banquet Facility
106) Jillian's
107) Jimmy Walkers Subs
108) Joe's Crab Shack
109) Johnny Rockets
110) Johnson Carolina Bbq
111) Kate's Catering
112) Kfc
113) Kincaid's Restaurant
114) King's Hibachi At Waterside
115) La Galleria Ristorante
116) LA Tolteca
117) Large Brothers Catering
118) Lee's Hot Dogs
119) Little Caesars Pizza
120) Lobscouser Restaurant
121) Logan Raye's Raw Bar & Pub
122) Los Amigos-Portside Portsmouth
123) Machismo
124) Makeda's Fine Food Entrtn
125) Mama Chan's Chinese Take-Out
126) Mama Jean's Cafe
127) Margarita's Mexican Rstrnt
128) Mario's Italian Restaurant
129) Market Fare
130) Max & Erma's
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Donald's
133) Mc Donald's Restaurant
134) Metro
135) Michael's Family Restaurant
136) Mo & O'malley's Irish Pub
137) Modeans Carribean Restaurant
138) Monastery Restaurant
139) Mongolian Express
140) Murphy's Stars & Stripes
141) Nacho Mama's Express
142) Nancy Jean's Family Restaurant
143) New York Deli
144) Nex-Freshens
145) Normandie Restaurant
146) Nyc Deli & Pub
147) Oasis Cafe
148) Old Towne News & Coffee
149) Omar's Carriage House
150) Open Wide
151) Outback Steakhouse
152) Paddy O'brian's
153) Pagoda Garden Tea House
154) Pastaria
155) Pfeiffer's Books Cards Fine
156) Philadelphia Cold Cuts
157) Pizza Hut
158) Pizza Hut
159) Plume Street Grille
160) Pop's Kabobs
161) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
162) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
163) Port Norfolk Pub & Restaurant
164) Pretzel Time
165) Quiznos Sub
166) Rainforest Cafe
167) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
168) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
169) Rio's Cafe
170) Riverwalk
171) Rock Fest
172) Roger Brown's Restaurant Sport
173) Sbarro
174) Schlotzsky's Deli
175) Scotties Southern Barbecue
176) Seasons-An American Bistro
177) Shula's 347
178) Sing Wong Restaurant
179) Sirena Cucina Italiana
180) Skinney's
181) Spirit Of Norfolk Harbor
182) Starbucks
183) Steak Escape
184) Steak Master
185) Sterlings
186) Steve's Restaurant
187) Steve's Restaurant
188) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
189) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
190) Sun's Sub & Pub
191) Super Wok
192) Sweets & Treats
193) Szechuan Garden Restaurant
194) Taco Bell
195) Takis Gyros
196) Taste Of Chicago
197) Taste Unlimited
198) Terra Nova Cafe Ymca
199) Thai Cuisine
200) Three Cheers
201) Thumpers Downtown Bar & Grill
202) Tides Bar & Grill
203) Time
204) Todd Jurich's Bistro
205) Tony Jr's Hot Dogs
206) Tortugaz Restaurant
207) Tropical Smoothie Cafe & Deli
208) Tycorp Pizza
209) Vic Zodda's Restaurant
210) Villa Pizza
211) Vintage Restaurant Group LLC
212) Virginia Wings Of Waterside I
213) Voila
214) Voodoo Rouge
215) Wasabi Systems Inc
216) Watergate Restaurant
217) Waterside Hamburgers
218) Waterstreet Landing
219) Wendy's
220) Wolfy's World Famous Hotdogs
221) Wynn's Seafood
222) Zelicks
223) Zero Submarine
224) Zero's Granby LTD
225) Zero's Subs
226) Zero's Subs
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So So So
Showing signs of only concern is how many person they can get in. Had reservations for five and seated at a table for Four. After dinner we sat to drink a beer and were told the next reservation needed the table and would need to move or go to the bar. I can remember when they were begging for business and I hope they do.

R.Clark

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Clark R. Clark, Newport News , VA
(02/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I have traveled the Eastern United States and Europe and this is the greatest selection of fine beers I've ever encountered. Over 350 to choose from. Prior to the Bier Garden I wasn't aware that there so many good American beers to choose from. They also serve the beers in the proper glasses. The food is rib sticking, the portions are plentiful, and the flavor is consistent. On a nice night you can sit outside and easily imagine yourself tucked away in a hideaway alley in Europe.

The Belgium beer selection is AWESOME! What great things haven't they done with beer?

For the American experience, Victory Brewing and the Brooklyn Brewing company's have great brews that you can drink night after night. The only American brewery that seems to be missing the Southern Tier Brewing Company's great products.

All in all if you want to drink great beer, this is the place in Southeastern Virginia.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry Henry, Portsmouth, VA
(09/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
The service is slow, but this is the only restaurant I have ever been to where there are signs that warn you of this ahead of time. Just keep this in mind and have your beer orders ready each time a server comes to your table, and you're set. The food is fabulous and a great bargain (thus leaving more monetary room for beer). And the beer list is the single best I have ever seen. More Belgian beers than one could ever try (or pronouce), excellent selection of American microbrews and other imports. The adventuresome might want to try any of the Flemish Belgian beers--most of which taste strongly of vinegar-- and those who love American small craft breweries will drool at the battery of Dogfish Head brews. Overall, a necessary visit for every local beerdrinker and beer-loving guest to the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Tait Peter Tait, Norfolk, VA
(03/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I tire so easily of hearing this place trashed by people who cannot understand the art of "European-style" service. Just because most Americans are used to going to lousy chains like Applebee's or TGI Friday's where the waitstaff is constantly in your hair asking if everything's all right, does not mean the service is lacking in a place like this, where they understand that sometimes people want to be left alone and might like some extra time while enjoying a beer before their meal. The beer selection really is amazing and a true conessieur will never be disappointed when ordering something here. As far as the food, I really love the sauerbarten, which is always very tangy and tender, and the homemade sauerkraut and spaetzle. Prices are also very affordable, and IMO, the only downside of this place is the tiny interior dining room. It gets crowded very quickly and it's often a fool's errand to try to get a table on the patio. However, to me that says that they owners must be doing something right.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Claude Brillig Claude Brillig, New York, NY
(02/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Lousy
Me and my husband work in portsmouth and this was our second visit to bier garden. Mostly because of beir garden's notorious reputation for slow service during lunch hour, however, today few of our friends really wanted to try their beers we had extra time to spare during lunch I decided to give in. It was the worst service I've ever had my entire life. What made it worst service wasn't the fact that; 1. They were out of lot of things (beer, side dishes, breads) and did not mention it at the time we ordered our food/drinks, 2. The stuff had little knowledge of the menu, 3. The waters were never refilled (even after we had asked), 4. The beers did not make it to our table 1/2 hr after we've been there and when asked the waitress gave us that "oh i forgot face", 5. The burgers came out cold, 6. And we had to pay a 20% tip for a terrible service because tip is added to party of 5 or more. What made this the worst service of my life is that when we were leaving and on our way out we told the manager about our experience, her reply was "Yea, well they were overloaded and you have to wait sometime when things get this busy". I was dumbfounded with their lackadaisical attitude and the fact that they were making an excuse for their bad service instead of rectifying their mistake or at least apologizing for their lousy service. Needless to say the six of us will NEVER go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deeba Mckimmy Deeba Mckimmy, Virginia Beach, VA
(11/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The beer selection is awesome, with many taps as well as bottle. The Bier Garden has beer from all over the world. The food is incredible! I seem to always get the "Brotzeit Teller". It's in the appetizer section of the menu, but is large enough for a meal for one. It is simply a selection of German cold cuts, pates and cheese, served with a few different breads. The best thing about it is that it's always a different meal each time because the restaurant uses whatever is on hand. The restaurant has recently had some renovations. The ambiance is great, especially the outdoor cafe area. There is comfortable patio furniture surrounded by various trees and plants. The wait staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. This place is a "must go" if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newport News, VA
(11/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
Obviously, the beer selection is awesome.And just as obviously the prices are very reasonable. The service leaves something to be desired. I think that asking the hostess three times to get someone to take our order is too much. ONCE is too much! The beers, though great, all arrived at the table looking like someone hadn't filled them up, which indicates the bartender did his job but the server left them sitting for too long before she delivered them.The food was okay and again very reasonably priced, but I would have preferred to have my four wursts devoured and still have potato salad left over, as is the custom here in Jersey. There is probably nothing worse than trying to eat Bauernwurst by itself. It would cost pennies to increase the portions of potato salad and red cabbage, and would cost NOTHING if the prices were raised to offset the cost. All in all, though , this is a great stop for lovers of the brewmaster's craft and highly recommended. The ambiance in the outdoor section is wonderful. I felt like I was in the Rhineland!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Bier Garden is one of those homey, tucked-away places that the locals love and people from far away often hear about through word of mouth. It's a combination of a really good German restaurant, an outdoor cafe, and a bar with a HUGE selection of beers from all over the world. All three are separate from one another, so it fits 3 moods or personalities. They're closed on Monday, but that's usually the only time they're closed. Go there with the attitude that you're there to relax and socialize while treating yourself. I'm not going to mention names for privacy reasons, but the waitstaff are like family here and they treat each other with respect. That kind of thing goes a long way when it comes to bringing you excellent service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David S. David S., Chesapeake, VA
(05/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Recently lived in Germany for three years and we have been looking for a good German food/beer place ever since we returned to the states with no luck. The Biergarten is it! It was everything we were hoping for and more (better service and beer selection). We had a great meal and a great time talking to the waiter about what beer to select. Of course, the beer selection is out of this world. Highly recommend it - we will be back (many times I am sure).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Yorktown, VA
(05/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
A PLACE WHERE YOU CAN BECOME LOST IN THE BEER MENU. ALL TAPS WITH A BELGIAN/GERMAN INFLUENCE. GOT TO TRY THE FAMOUS AVENTINUS EISBOCK FOR THE FIRST TIME. WOW! THEY CLAME TO SELL MORE AVENTINUS THAN ANYONE IN THE WORLD. GLAD WE VISITED ON A SLOW,RAINY WENDESDAY NIGHT BECAUSE THE INSIDE IS VERY SMALL.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(11/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
We were excited to finally find the Bier Garden we heard so much about. We were told it was great German food and an awesome beer selection. during the fifteen minutes at that we waited at the door to be seated. We had staff that walked by and ignored us and staff in the kitchen that ignored us while they socialized. We gave up and moved on. Dont waste your time with this place when there are so many other places in the area to experience. If the staff cant even say hello or acknowledge patrons at the door how good can anything else be?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Billy Adams Billy Adams, Virginia Beach, VA
(05/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Over 300 beers to choose from.

The most fantastic selection of beer I've ever encountered. Everything from Dopple Bocks to Belgium ales to English Porters and Stouts to Lambics and traditional Pilsners. The best Hamburger around and great German food. A great place to make new friends and drink some of the best brews from around the world and some great brews from smaller American breweries. 3 favorite food orders, Schnitzel bites W/ranch dressing, Dad's special sandwich, Bratwurst

3 favorite beers, Aventinus on tap, Aventinus IceBock on tap, Allgauer 1394

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Portsmouth, VA
(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! N/A
How to begin ? The Bier garden is by far the best place for beer from all over the world and food in Portsmouth. If it was'nt for Kevin the pub would'nt be the same. My wife and I think the world of Kevin. He is a great friend. Don't change a thing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike & Jennifer Mike & Jennifer, suffolk, VA
(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
If you go to the Bier Garden and order a Budweiser, you will be mauled by the other patrons. Aventinus, Bittberger, Celebrator, Corsendonk, so many that I can't remember them all, but I'll bet you $10 Kevin or Stephanie could tell me which ones I have and haven't tried. I love you guys! SCHNITZEL BITES!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Queen Valvolene Queen Valvolene, Norfolk, VA
(10/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Kevin is the Man!!!!! Keeper of the Aventinus. The best Pub around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Smithfield, VA
(07/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
250 kinds of beer, it's crazy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hampton, VA
(06/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
The service might be slow, but this is probably by design. The third time I was ever in there, Kevin (one of the bartenders) remembered my name. Impressive since I'm only in town once a month.

Ask for beer recommendations. Just as not all the beers on their list are in stock, not all of the beers in stock are on their list. I tried some beers that you cannot get anywhere else in the US (even the Brickskeller)!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Dodson Bob Dodson, Fairfax, VA
(06/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
We love this place! Every weekend we drive from Newport News just to get a taste of that oh so yummy beer and authentic German food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rebecca, Newport News, VA
(03/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!
The beer selection is unmatched anywhere in the region for quality and quantity. It is truly stupendous. The number of draft Belgians/European beers is greater than I've seen anywhere except in Europe. Ditto for the bottled selection...second only to what I have seen at the Brickskeller in DC. Hard to find stuff, too. The service is, to put it kindly, European. By this I mean that it can a take 5 minutes to get the server to visit your table, then another 5 minutes to get a beer menu. Then another 5-10 minutes for the server to return for your order. Then they are out of the bottle you decided on (choose several backups in case they are out of the one you select....they do not have everything on the beer menu....). Then 5 minutes for the server to return. Then it takes a solid 10 minutes for your beer to come. And this is not only when it is busy. I love this place, but you could die of thirst!! So my advice is when you first get there, walk to the bar (or send representatives) to order your first round. The draft selection is on a chalkboard in the barroom. And/or grab a beer menu lying around. This will get you started, then you can ponder the second round while enjoying a nice Belgian or German ale. Important: order your second round while you still have a half glass of your first round left. Otherwise, you may get parched between rounds. This is a lovely family-run place. They could probably sell twice as much beer with faster service, but it is run at a more leisurely....like I said, European style-pace. The Bier Garden is a great, great place for beer. In nicer weather the outdoor patio is wonderful. Definitely worth a trip from almost anywhere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Catanzaro Diane Catanzaro, Norfolk, VA
(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've been going there for a year now, and I took my dad for his 60th birthday (He's German) and he loved. And the service is to die for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dewy Dewy, Portsmouth, VA
(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Weekend nights to busy,hurts food and service.Great for lunch!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from j.baker j.baker, newport news, VA
(11/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Bier Garden became a second home to my husband and I when we lived in Portsmouth. The owners: Mother, Father, Son & Daughter make you feel like family in this authentic German Restaurant and Bar. The patio is lovely and food is spectacular! And the beer....everyone has to experience The Bier Garden's extensive selection and wonderful atmosphere! We really miss it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Natalia Russ Natalia Russ, Atlanta, GA
(06/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
While it doesn't have the largest selection of drafts I've ever come across, it does take the cake for the highest quality. They have about 15 on the keg and every one is top notch...a lot of them are selections I never dreamed I'd see on tap. You won't find any Bud or Swiller crap here. Try the Aventenus...they go through so many kegs of it, it's always fresh. I've had better German food before...it's good, not great - but the beers are excellent!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stanley Mark Stanley, Bloomfield, IN
(02/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is our favorite place to relax, talk, and enjoy great food, beer, and atmosphere. The pretzels are terrific! We come here every chance we get.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Casper Brian Casper, Virginia Beach, VA
(04/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
All drafts are award winning imports. The largest seller of Schneider's Aventinus any where outside of Munich.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portsmouth, VA
(02/25/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.36 seconds) 05:30:35 54.227.77.237, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS