PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Gilded Otter - New Paltz, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 10:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > New Paltz > Gilded Otter
Gilded Otter Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Gilded Otter
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
3 Main Street
New Paltz, NY 12561
United States
(845) 256-1700
Listed Since: November 1998
Last Updated: November 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for New Paltz, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Gilded Otter
66 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Bacchus
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Highland Manor
2) Mountain Rest Bed & Breakfast
3) Nieuw Country Loft
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ECONO LODGE NEW PALTZ
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) DuBois--Deyo House
2) Hasbrouck, Jean, House
3) Hasbrouck, Maj. Jacob, Jr. House
4) Shuart--Van Orden Stone House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anatolia
2) Austrian Village
3) Bacchus Restaurant
4) Bakery
5) Barnaby's Loaf & Tankard
6) Barnaby's Restaurant & Bar
7) Bridge Creek Catering
8) Burger King
9) Bus Stop Cafe
10) Butterville Cheese Co
11) Cabaloosa
12) China Buffet
13) China House
14) College Diner
15) Coqui Latin Jazz Cafe
16) Creations Coffee House
17) Dawn's Dish
18) Friendly's Restaurant
19) Gadaleto's Seafood Market
20) Gourmet Pizza
21) Great Wall Kitchen
22) Hoffmann's Deli
23) Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant
24) Huguenot Street Public House
25) Italian Supreme Restaurant
26) Japanese & Korean Restaurant
27) Kitty O'Shea's
28) La Bella Pizza
29) LA Parmigiana Trattatoria
30) Last Stand Inc
31) Lemon Grass
32) Loft Restaurant
33) Main Course
34) Main Street Bistro
35) Mary's Country Kitchen
36) Mc Donald's
37) Mcgillicuddy's Restaurant
38) Mexicali Blue Inc
39) Moon Light Cafe
40) My Hero
41) My Market
42) Neko Sushi Inc
43) New Paul Grille
44) Oasis Cafe
45) P & G's Restaurant
46) Pasquale's Pizza & Restaurant
47) Plaza Diner
48) Rino's Pizza
49) Ristorante Locust Tree
50) Snug Harbor
51) Starbucks
52) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
53) Taco Shack
54) TCBY
55) Toscani & Sons
56) Village Pizza
57) Village Tea Room
58) Yanni Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
I've been to the Otter several times over the past few months, and I'm becoming more and more fond of the place. The IPA is growing on me--not as outrageously hoppy as, say, Keegan's Hurricane Kitty, but very nice and drinkable. As others have noted, the atmosphere and setting are wonderful. A very comfortable place. The food is GREAT, and we've always had friendly and attentive service from the waitstaff. One of my favorite places in New Paltz.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(12/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
My wife and I went up to New Paltz for the day...checked out some of the wineries then stopped over to the Guilded Otter for the 1st time. It was worth the drive up from NJ. The atmosphere was nice and reminded us of a ski lodge. A good selection of beers; 8 total on the sampler. Our favorites were the Crimson Lager and their Scottish Ale. The Pumpkin seasonal was tasty...reminiscent of pumpkin pie. The food was decent, a typical selection, but it was all about the beer. A good upscale crowd. The back wall lists all of their seasonals brewed throughout the year...it is a long, extensive list with several unique sounding styles such as a Apple Brown. Worth the trip if you in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
The beer really sells this place. Its probably a better place to go with your girlfriend and her parents than your college buddies as the atmosphere is more relaxed and classy. Everytime I head up the thru-way I make a point to stop in at the Guilded Otter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Summersgill Mike Summersgill, Hoboken, NJ
(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I dropped in here after taking a tour of the local Air National Guard Base. I had a sampler with roughly eight beers. The beer was good but what impresed me was the huge selection and variety of brews displayed on the back wall of the bar area. These of course being the other choices you will get at different times during the year. I like the atmosphere here too. It is a nice place to be in on a rainy day. I am looking forward to going back this Fall and trying some of the other selections they make. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
THE OTTER MAKES THE BEST BLUEBERRY LAGER YOU WILL EVER TASTE. THEY HAVE AN EXCELLENT SELECTION OF REGULAR BEERS PLUS ANOTHER THREE OR FOUR (OUT OF ABOUT 50 OTHERS) THAT ARE SERVED IN ROTATION. FOR EXAMPLE, IN THE SUMMER THEY ALSO MAKE A MEAN HEFEWEIZEN! AND IN THE FALL THE CLOVE VALLEY PUMPKIN ALE IS NOT TO BE MISSED. AS WITH MOST BREW PUBS, IT IS WISE TO STICK TO THEIR SANDWICHES. COOL LOCATION RIGHT IN THE SHAWANGUNK MOUNTAINS.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TODD LEVINSON TODD LEVINSON, KINGSTON, NY
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
They brew about six beers at a time out of a huge menu of about 40 different types. Mix of English and German styles. Overall, solid performers, but nothing special, B.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The reviewer who referred to New Paltz as the 'nit wit capital of the world' needs to remove head (tab a) from hide quarters (slot b). I'm proud to live, and to teach, in such a beautiful area with open minded, loving citizens. Nitwit capital of the world? Probably somewhere in a country torn by war, senseless pseudo-political crusades, and people professing violence in the streets. Come to New Paltz! Home of the most caring citizens, and some of the best beer, you can imagine!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregory Bray Gregory Bray, New Paltz, NY
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Unfortunately, this place is located in the Nit-wit capital of the world right now, so unless you drive into town the "back way," you have to be treated to the world's new-found circus characters, “Look at me,” on every street corner on the way down from the Thruway.

The ambiance sells this place for sure. The architect did a nice job replicating the region's indigenous flavor and working it into the building. Sitting at the bar and staring out the huge western window-wall at the 'Gunks is a real treat, especially when the sun is setting. The bar trivia games are a nice diversion after a day of work too.

The beer is drinkable but don't look for any GABF medals. I always enjoy a good red and their New Paltz Crimson Lager is good, but I'd prefer it as an Ale rather than a Lager. I’ve had all their beers at one time or another, but I come for the ambiance. That and it’s a short hop to the Country Inn!

There is usually one clown at the bar that has to chime in on everyone’s conversation, but I was lucky enough to miss him Friday. Phew!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
It's right just before the bridge through town and has a ski decor with tanks in the middle of the main floor. On this visit, there were 8 beers on tap of various styles. Too many leaned toward the lighter end of the spectrum for my taste, but still some nice brew to be had. I liked the sailors delight red, and rail trail pale, but enjoyed stone house stout the most.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Made a quick stop here for a nightcap. (In a less hysterical era it would be "one for the road") Had the Schwarzbier Lager ("Black beer"- slightly less alcohol) Delicious, hit the spot on a very cold night. Coffee note, smooth and medium body. Mild hopiness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, middletown, NY
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Visited this past WE (1/25). (Many visits over the years and beers range from so-so to great, getting better. This visit had the English mild ("session" beer, delicate, low ABV; forgot its "ID"). Quite good, but perhaps finishes w/ too much of hop bite for the style. Next on tap, the BP's flagship brew, "Crimson Lager"--excellent-- moderate body, nicely balanced flavor profile, but again a bit of a hop bite on the finish. Last, the Imperial Stout, excellent, rich, thick, slight sweetness (just right for me in this style) 9% ABV, flavor profile nicely balanced for the style. But, again, a hop bite on finish. Food is quite good, but pricey and menu does not offer small items, e.g., fries, rings, chips, and nothing under $ 4.95. Had a bowl of very good garlic soup ($4.95) But serving was a spoon more than cup size Average price appetizer or snack is $7. Does have happy hour on Fridays w/complimentary wings, nachos and such. Love the building and ambience. Service is usually prompt and knowledgable, but in a college town there can be some immature attitudes behind the bar. Place is certainly worth many visits. But it is not on my BP "A" list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, Middletown, NY
(01/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
always great selection. I always like the taste of the style I choose at this pub. good bartending. can't wait to get back. been there 3 times cause it's a 2.75 hr drive for me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gene gene, bloomsburg, PA
(11/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Eight beers on tap, including an excellent smoked porter. Food is much much better than that of most brewpubs. Very enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a nie place!!! I've spent some many great times out there. Special thanks goes to Serkan. He is the best. He is the gilded otter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Action Man Action Man, San Francisco, CA
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good
For the quality of the beer I would actually have to mark it at 2 1/2 (between SoSo and Good.) The first thing that struck me was that the beer had very little body and all of it was quite watery tasting. This lack of body also lead to lack of mouthfeel and the beer could have been a lot better. I only got the sampler because I was only going to be in the bar for a short while, after the sampler I decided to skip the pint or two I was going to have. Because I only had the sampler I will not go into depth about any single beer. The best of the bland was the imperial stout, but I should have been much richer. The bock wasn't too bad either. The interior to this place was pleasing with a spruced up lodge kind of feel to it. I didn't try the food, but it did look pretty good (hopefully it was better than the beer.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Hochgesang Justin Hochgesang, Yorktown Heights, NY
(03/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Good
Made return visit from last week.I said previously this place has its "inconsitencies"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review jt, Middletown, NY
(03/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
This place presents two of my beer/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, NY, NY
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The beers my wife and I had were excellent, true to their style and other than the fact the Yankees were knocked out of the playoffs by the Angels that day, we really enjoyed the food and beer. This is a true brewpub--they only sell what they make.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
First visited Gilded Otter about two months after they opened, and have seen it steadily improve since then (with the exception of the hostesses/greeters/seaters: clueless then, clueless now, clueless evermore: what does it take?). The beer is excellent, not a clinker in the bunch. The Stone House Imperial Stout is a killer that will leave you tangle-footed and smiling, but the Rail Trail Pale Ale is great too, crisp, clean, fruity, and brisk with American hop flavor bulging out at the seams. A happy stop. Make it great by improving the service (bartenders are just fine, food-side people need drilling).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Margaret Hudak Mary Margaret Hudak, Round Lake, NY
(08/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
a nice place, but the food is not to die for like so many brewpubs I've been to. Worth the trip for great beer. The views and ambiance are wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Coxsackie, NY
(07/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The Gilded Otter brewery offers, along with Wagner, quite possibly the finest array of both ales and lagers. Have drank much of their beer at festivals and never once have I been let down. One of those, "I'm going back to the Otter's tent to get more of that WeizenBock"....Have never been to the brewpub for the one time I ventured there, I was a bit too early. Coolest damm website I've seen for a brewpub. serious, great beer! rob davis,

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I was quite surprised at how pleasant our experience was here. Their website is quite appealing and I always wanted to stop. Well, we finally got our chance while in the area on vacation. It was certainly worth the stop. Despite the second rate motel we had to endure, the ambiance of the restaurant was most comfortable, bright and cheery. The large bar area and dining room accommodates the customer load well and the vistas from the large windows and doors is quite pleasant. The sprawling deck on the side would be a very comfortable place to sit and enjoy the nice weather. They had a great beer selection and the quality was what one would expect. The Rail Trail Pale Ale and the Weizenbock were my favorites and the Weizenbock was excellent!!! I hope to make it back up there soon! Cheers!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A friend of mine suggested I visit, and he didn't let me down. It was very much worth the almost 2 hour drive for me. The beer selection consisted of a good variety of styles, and the quality (that I sampled) was great. Lunch was promptly served, and was also very good. I'll definitely be back!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Doherty Bill Doherty, Delmar, NY
(10/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My local hangout. As a homebrewer, I *HAVE* to like the beer. It's not too often that I drink other people's beer, but this place is worthwhile to hang out in. Look for me Firday nights for Happy Hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rocco Rocco, New Paltz, NY
(08/10/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.457 seconds) 22:29:30 54.87.123.99, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS