PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Gilded Otter - New Paltz, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 08:17 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > New Paltz > Gilded Otter
Gilded Otter Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Gilded Otter
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
3 Main Street
New Paltz, NY 12561
United States
(845) 256-1700
Listed Since: November 1998
Last Updated: November 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for New Paltz, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Gilded Otter
66 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Bacchus
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Highland Manor
2) Mountain Rest Bed & Breakfast
3) Nieuw Country Loft
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ECONO LODGE NEW PALTZ
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) DuBois--Deyo House
2) Hasbrouck, Jean, House
3) Hasbrouck, Maj. Jacob, Jr. House
4) Shuart--Van Orden Stone House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anatolia
2) Austrian Village
3) Bacchus Restaurant
4) Bakery
5) Barnaby's Loaf & Tankard
6) Barnaby's Restaurant & Bar
7) Bridge Creek Catering
8) Burger King
9) Bus Stop Cafe
10) Butterville Cheese Co
11) Cabaloosa
12) China Buffet
13) China House
14) College Diner
15) Coqui Latin Jazz Cafe
16) Creations Coffee House
17) Dawn's Dish
18) Friendly's Restaurant
19) Gadaleto's Seafood Market
20) Gourmet Pizza
21) Great Wall Kitchen
22) Hoffmann's Deli
23) Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant
24) Huguenot Street Public House
25) Italian Supreme Restaurant
26) Japanese & Korean Restaurant
27) Kitty O'Shea's
28) La Bella Pizza
29) LA Parmigiana Trattatoria
30) Last Stand Inc
31) Lemon Grass
32) Loft Restaurant
33) Main Course
34) Main Street Bistro
35) Mary's Country Kitchen
36) Mc Donald's
37) Mcgillicuddy's Restaurant
38) Mexicali Blue Inc
39) Moon Light Cafe
40) My Hero
41) My Market
42) Neko Sushi Inc
43) New Paul Grille
44) Oasis Cafe
45) P & G's Restaurant
46) Pasquale's Pizza & Restaurant
47) Plaza Diner
48) Rino's Pizza
49) Ristorante Locust Tree
50) Snug Harbor
51) Starbucks
52) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
53) Taco Shack
54) TCBY
55) Toscani & Sons
56) Village Pizza
57) Village Tea Room
58) Yanni Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
This is by far my favorite restaurant in the Hudson Valley. I have been here countless times, and can honestly say I have never had a bad experience. My husband and I recently moved but continue to drive an hour and change to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The food is good, as is the beer. The restaurant itself is a beautiful space, and it's great to visit on a sunny day when you can sit out on the deck and enjoy the view. Service can be slow at times, due to the volume of customers, but I think that's the case for any dining experience. It's very family friendly, and I'm honestly a little shocked anyone has ever experienced otherwise. I hope that those reading will decide to find out for themselves what a hidden treasure this place really is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, Milford , PA
(04/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Well I can't say that I have ever been or had planned to go to New Paltz. Thanks to my friend Flav for recommending the Gilded Otter. Very nice, modern facility, adjacent to the river and rail-trail. I tried the sampler. It was a reasonable price for a good number of brews. The Pils and IPA were the best offerings. Although the blueberry was recommended, it was not one of my favorites. Service was good but not great. The food was very good. Try the chili; the small portion is HUGE! Definitely a good place to stop if you are in the area. Their website is very well done - check it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(10/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Would have liked a second beer and/or have ordered lunch, but Mitzi spent 20-minutes with her back to me texting or yakking on the phone instead of watching the bar. Why is this to be expected in this day and age? Don't expect a tip Mitzi.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Wayne Lucas III T. Wayne Lucas III, Troy, NY
(11/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So So So
Got the first beer quickly but then was subjected to Mitzi's back for 20-minutes while she texted or chatted on the phone. I wanted to order lunch and a second beer but gave up and left. I get a kick out of this f%$#@! "me" generation that thinks they have the right to steal from their employer by always being on "their" time instead of on the clock. Last week in another restaurant I watched an employer looking frantically for an employee who was outside smoking a cigarette. This shit has got to stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Wayne Lucas III T. Wayne Lucas III, Albany, NY
(11/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A buddy and I stopped in on April 10th. I was pleased to see that the beer variety and quality as well as the service was as good as the last time I was there over three years ago. If the place were closer, I'd be a regular

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(04/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
The beers were just okay -- the porter was the only brew worth ordering by the pint. The blueberry was especially disappointing -- go to any of the breweries in Bar Harbor, Maine for far better. The food was decent, but typically overpriced for pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Staten Island, NY
(12/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Lousy
I know that this is a Pub Crawl site..but in the event that you are thinking about taking your family w/children...do not..I repeat..do not. The staff, specifically one female, was extremly hostlie and combative to a group of mothers and children recently. TO make matters worse, this staff member has had similiar situations like this before. The owner opted to look away.

Think twince if you are bringing your children.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review new paltz, NY
(12/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
We stopped in to try the beer and have a bite to eat at around 3pm on a friday afternoon. The wait staff was not attentive or pleasant. Our server mumbled, and i had a difficult time understanding her. We tried the sampler first, and I chose the Pale Ale, and my dh chose the pilsner. The beer was fine, but it did not excite us. The Chili that my DH ordered was incredible, but the rest of the items that we ordered were mediocre. Perhaps we caught them on a bad day, but this plase in my opinion, was nothing to write home about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from catherine barnes catherine barnes, Baldwinsville, NY
(09/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
My friends and I went to the Gilded Otter for a light dinner and some beer. A staff member directed us to sit on the patio, inadvertently jumping the queue. A waitress, who seemed ill acquainted with the restaurant's offerings took our order. Several minutes later, a manager came by and rudely informed us that we had to leave our table, as the staffer should not have sat us in the first place.. I asked to speak with the owner, and informed him that I found the conduct of his manager to be insulting and unprofessional.

The owner supported the actions of his manager and offered to compensate us with a 40-minute wait. Having previously worked in a restaurant, I find it unacceptable to blame the customer for a mistake made by a staff member. I would never consider returning to the Gilded Otter and would strongly recommend that others avoid it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Providence, RI
(09/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I really enjoyed my visit to this place. It seems like they take pride in their brewing by basically having all the tanks in the middle of the pub. I can tell that the brewer is not afraid to brew any category based on the huge amount of beer they boast over the year hanging on the wall. All the beers were enjoyable and I would definitely like to get back to this place during another season to have another run at few of the many beers they offer. The place was very spacious and definitely worth a stop. It seems like its beer first, restaurant second, which is why the beer is of quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(05/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
First stop in quite a while. They show you on the wall all the beers brewed during the year--I counted 33. Three Pines IPA okay, but I sensed the flavors kind of fighting against each other. Winter Wassail is 7.5%, but smooth. Chief Matsaysay Porter my favorite on this visit--chocolate, caramel, coffee all working together in a really nice way. Be sure to stop at the Bacchus just down the street if you're in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(02/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy So So
I was in New Paltz this weekend. I went to eat here with my family. At first the waitress was nice. When we ordered our food I told her that I would like my meat well done. When the food came my meat was still very bloody so I asked her if she could take it to get cooked better and she did. After about 15 minutes she returned with my food (by then the potatoes were very cold) and when I cut my meat it was still bloody. Also I ordered a Coke and when I drank from the cup the was a fly stuck to the inside of my soda cup. My cousin had a beer glass which was also broken and almost cut his lip with it. We brought these problems to the manager's attention and she gave us 20% of the bill. She also spoke to the waitress who then had a very nasty attitude.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sara Sara, Brooklyn, NY
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pine Bush, NY
(07/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great
Spent St. Patricks Day there this year. Had an Awesome time and drank loads ofNaked Under Me Kilt ale, Very Tasty. I would highly reccomend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathleen McGrane Kathleen McGrane, Kingston, NY
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathleen McGrane Kathleen McGrane, Kingston, NY
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The featured beer during the holidays has been the Alt, which I've had on three different visits (it was still available on 1/20/06). An excellent beer. I'm wondering if the brewer changed one of the batches, however...the second time I had it, right around Christmas, I would swear that it was spiced. Was it me, was it the season, or was it because I was sitting right next to the Christmas tree?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
It`s a pretty cool place.Good beer and they have live music.This place has become my second favorite spot in New Paltz.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david borsay david borsay, kingston, NY
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
What a great place--fun web page too. On tap 6-26-05 were: Pilsner, lager, wit, pale ale, hefe, IPA, oatmeal stout, summer lager, barley wine. The pale ale was more bitter than the IPA. The IPA was almost sweet. The stout was very delicious and complex. It was dry with a smoky flavor but finished with a nice coffee chocolate flavor. The meatloaf sandwich was great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This was one of the best brew pubs I’ve been to (and I’ve been to a lot of them). I used to hike and mountain bike all over the “Gunks”, and was happy to revisit the area to stop by the Gilded Otter on my last trip back to New Jersey. All of the beers we tried were fantastic. I started with the Three Pines IPA, which was outstanding; very smooth, lots of hops, but not overwhelming; very nicely balanced. My wife started with the Back Porch American Lager, which was actually a beer brewed with fresh berries. It had locally grown blueberries added to the glass. Being a big fan of fruit beers, loved it. The Belgian Spring Wit was excellent; very smooth with a light Belgian flavor. The Rail Trail Pale was also great; good and hoppy; nicely balanced. The May Day Maibock was very good; a nice balance of hops and malt. We finished with the Centennial Barley Wine, which was fantastic; strong, but very smooth. The food was also great. I had a really good grilled salmon entree with rice, black beans, and veggies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy Awesome!
I love the atmosphere of this place. Yes it is true, the brewpub tanks are right in the middle of this ski lodge type restaurant. The building is rock based on the outside and wood log bench tables and railings in the back.

The only problem I had here was as earlier mentioned I think they took some of the NitWits from town that walked by the big bay windows and hired them as waitress staff. The girl was always there when I had a mouth full of food asking if I needed anything then when I finally did need something I had to flag down the hostess to get her to find my waitress to order another beer. Her timing was so off it felt like she was late to a wedding and the reception. She had no clue about the beers but at least she knew enough to hand me a menu that explained the beer. When I asked if I could taste something so I didn't have to buy the whole pint she told me I had to buy a sampler for that and they charge $7.95 for 8 six ounce samples. I realized she was only a waitress with poor marketing training. I thought if I didn't like it whats the use of wasting good beer that someone else might drink. Sounded like she needed some training from Keegan Ale up in Kingston who has free sampling days.

From what I heard the menu use to be better. The hostest told me they change it every 6 months and the food has gone down hill over the last two years. It seemed like regular bar food to me which seemed to be a shame since they have a great Culinary School called the CIA just across the river. I ordered the Hamburger but it came with the fancy extras like a Kaiser Roll and Tomato, Onions and Lettuce on the side. It had a dap of Mayonase Bases Cole Slaw with no pickling that made it taste like eating mayonase straight from the jar and decent french fries. The burger was pretty tasty and very filling.

I tried to order a Chapter 11 Red Ale but they were all out of it because of the rotation of the tanks. I was very disappointed cause as in my other postings everyone knows I really love Red Ales. So I tried the Red Tail Lager which was very delicous. I was pretty suprised when I ordered a Chrimson lager and it tasted like a lighter version of the Red Tail Lager. Both beers were pretty awesome but I could see where they would be GABF worthy back when brewpubs where just coming out but nothing spectacular today. I do give them credit for rotating thier tanks and trying new stuff all the time. I just wish they had the timing down so they would have a Red Ale on tap all the time.

Great place to hang out and the town is a fun place when you want to get away from the stress of the big city. Great town to take Motorcycle ride to. Could be the next Sturgess.

Hope you like this place as much as I did!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(05/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
The Otter is one of the few establishments in town with available outdoor seating. The quality of their food has evolved with time, as is expected. The BBQ sandwich is the closest to Carolina chow as you'll get in this little town. Finish with their Stout or Pale Ale and you'll leave happy and full.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peach Peach, Buffalo, NY
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
stopped by on 04/16/05. this is a very nice pub. the beer selection is awsome if you are in the area you have to stop by. the town is a neat place to visit also, alot of bikers and bars. have fun

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul paul, binghamton, NY
(04/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
On my last visit in early April, the featured special was the porter. It was excellent! Nice and roasty, with (I'm guessing) some chocolate malt as well. A great porter. This beer shouldn't be a special, but rather one of the regular selections---assuming the demand is sufficient. I certainly hope so, because it's one of the best beers I've had there. Maybe they'll have it at the Tap NY Festival at Hunter??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(04/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in on a special junket on a Friday night en route to a wedding. Ordinarily bad news to go anyplace on a Friday night, especially as we got delayed and phoned in our delays to the hostess to change the recommended reservations. Arrived 8 PM, seated immediately, service prompt/courteous/informative. Beers (nine plus a house root beer) were all quite excellent, although all, I will note, had their quirks--not flaws, maybe just a slightly different approach to the recipes in question than this reviewer expected. Waitress was able to round up a beer staffer (bartender and newly assistant brewer) for some questions. The waitress even passed the acid test, identifying the source of the pub's name as the name of a ship that brought the first Huegenot/Dutch settlers to New York in 1657.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(04/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Quality brews; broad selection; excellant food with a varied menu; very attentive service. What's not to like? It's hard to drive past the New Paltz exit of I87 without stopping in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, Saratoga Springs, NY
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
I've been to the Otter several times over the past few months, and I'm becoming more and more fond of the place. The IPA is growing on me--not as outrageously hoppy as, say, Keegan's Hurricane Kitty, but very nice and drinkable. As others have noted, the atmosphere and setting are wonderful. A very comfortable place. The food is GREAT, and we've always had friendly and attentive service from the waitstaff. One of my favorite places in New Paltz.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(12/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
My wife and I went up to New Paltz for the day...checked out some of the wineries then stopped over to the Guilded Otter for the 1st time. It was worth the drive up from NJ. The atmosphere was nice and reminded us of a ski lodge. A good selection of beers; 8 total on the sampler. Our favorites were the Crimson Lager and their Scottish Ale. The Pumpkin seasonal was tasty...reminiscent of pumpkin pie. The food was decent, a typical selection, but it was all about the beer. A good upscale crowd. The back wall lists all of their seasonals brewed throughout the year...it is a long, extensive list with several unique sounding styles such as a Apple Brown. Worth the trip if you in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
The beer really sells this place. Its probably a better place to go with your girlfriend and her parents than your college buddies as the atmosphere is more relaxed and classy. Everytime I head up the thru-way I make a point to stop in at the Guilded Otter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Summersgill Mike Summersgill, Hoboken, NJ
(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I dropped in here after taking a tour of the local Air National Guard Base. I had a sampler with roughly eight beers. The beer was good but what impresed me was the huge selection and variety of brews displayed on the back wall of the bar area. These of course being the other choices you will get at different times during the year. I like the atmosphere here too. It is a nice place to be in on a rainy day. I am looking forward to going back this Fall and trying some of the other selections they make. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
THE OTTER MAKES THE BEST BLUEBERRY LAGER YOU WILL EVER TASTE. THEY HAVE AN EXCELLENT SELECTION OF REGULAR BEERS PLUS ANOTHER THREE OR FOUR (OUT OF ABOUT 50 OTHERS) THAT ARE SERVED IN ROTATION. FOR EXAMPLE, IN THE SUMMER THEY ALSO MAKE A MEAN HEFEWEIZEN! AND IN THE FALL THE CLOVE VALLEY PUMPKIN ALE IS NOT TO BE MISSED. AS WITH MOST BREW PUBS, IT IS WISE TO STICK TO THEIR SANDWICHES. COOL LOCATION RIGHT IN THE SHAWANGUNK MOUNTAINS.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TODD LEVINSON TODD LEVINSON, KINGSTON, NY
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
They brew about six beers at a time out of a huge menu of about 40 different types. Mix of English and German styles. Overall, solid performers, but nothing special, B.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The reviewer who referred to New Paltz as the 'nit wit capital of the world' needs to remove head (tab a) from hide quarters (slot b). I'm proud to live, and to teach, in such a beautiful area with open minded, loving citizens. Nitwit capital of the world? Probably somewhere in a country torn by war, senseless pseudo-political crusades, and people professing violence in the streets. Come to New Paltz! Home of the most caring citizens, and some of the best beer, you can imagine!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregory Bray Gregory Bray, New Paltz, NY
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Unfortunately, this place is located in the Nit-wit capital of the world right now, so unless you drive into town the "back way," you have to be treated to the world's new-found circus characters, “Look at me,” on every street corner on the way down from the Thruway.

The ambiance sells this place for sure. The architect did a nice job replicating the region's indigenous flavor and working it into the building. Sitting at the bar and staring out the huge western window-wall at the 'Gunks is a real treat, especially when the sun is setting. The bar trivia games are a nice diversion after a day of work too.

The beer is drinkable but don't look for any GABF medals. I always enjoy a good red and their New Paltz Crimson Lager is good, but I'd prefer it as an Ale rather than a Lager. I’ve had all their beers at one time or another, but I come for the ambiance. That and it’s a short hop to the Country Inn!

There is usually one clown at the bar that has to chime in on everyone’s conversation, but I was lucky enough to miss him Friday. Phew!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
It's right just before the bridge through town and has a ski decor with tanks in the middle of the main floor. On this visit, there were 8 beers on tap of various styles. Too many leaned toward the lighter end of the spectrum for my taste, but still some nice brew to be had. I liked the sailors delight red, and rail trail pale, but enjoyed stone house stout the most.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Made a quick stop here for a nightcap. (In a less hysterical era it would be "one for the road") Had the Schwarzbier Lager ("Black beer"- slightly less alcohol) Delicious, hit the spot on a very cold night. Coffee note, smooth and medium body. Mild hopiness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, middletown, NY
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Visited this past WE (1/25). (Many visits over the years and beers range from so-so to great, getting better. This visit had the English mild ("session" beer, delicate, low ABV; forgot its "ID"). Quite good, but perhaps finishes w/ too much of hop bite for the style. Next on tap, the BP's flagship brew, "Crimson Lager"--excellent-- moderate body, nicely balanced flavor profile, but again a bit of a hop bite on the finish. Last, the Imperial Stout, excellent, rich, thick, slight sweetness (just right for me in this style) 9% ABV, flavor profile nicely balanced for the style. But, again, a hop bite on finish. Food is quite good, but pricey and menu does not offer small items, e.g., fries, rings, chips, and nothing under $ 4.95. Had a bowl of very good garlic soup ($4.95) But serving was a spoon more than cup size Average price appetizer or snack is $7. Does have happy hour on Fridays w/complimentary wings, nachos and such. Love the building and ambience. Service is usually prompt and knowledgable, but in a college town there can be some immature attitudes behind the bar. Place is certainly worth many visits. But it is not on my BP "A" list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, Middletown, NY
(01/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
always great selection. I always like the taste of the style I choose at this pub. good bartending. can't wait to get back. been there 3 times cause it's a 2.75 hr drive for me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gene gene, bloomsburg, PA
(11/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Eight beers on tap, including an excellent smoked porter. Food is much much better than that of most brewpubs. Very enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a nie place!!! I've spent some many great times out there. Special thanks goes to Serkan. He is the best. He is the gilded otter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Action Man Action Man, San Francisco, CA
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good
For the quality of the beer I would actually have to mark it at 2 1/2 (between SoSo and Good.) The first thing that struck me was that the beer had very little body and all of it was quite watery tasting. This lack of body also lead to lack of mouthfeel and the beer could have been a lot better. I only got the sampler because I was only going to be in the bar for a short while, after the sampler I decided to skip the pint or two I was going to have. Because I only had the sampler I will not go into depth about any single beer. The best of the bland was the imperial stout, but I should have been much richer. The bock wasn't too bad either. The interior to this place was pleasing with a spruced up lodge kind of feel to it. I didn't try the food, but it did look pretty good (hopefully it was better than the beer.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Hochgesang Justin Hochgesang, Yorktown Heights, NY
(03/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Good
Made return visit from last week.I said previously this place has its "inconsitencies"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review jt, Middletown, NY
(03/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
This place presents two of my beer/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, NY, NY
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The beers my wife and I had were excellent, true to their style and other than the fact the Yankees were knocked out of the playoffs by the Angels that day, we really enjoyed the food and beer. This is a true brewpub--they only sell what they make.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
First visited Gilded Otter about two months after they opened, and have seen it steadily improve since then (with the exception of the hostesses/greeters/seaters: clueless then, clueless now, clueless evermore: what does it take?). The beer is excellent, not a clinker in the bunch. The Stone House Imperial Stout is a killer that will leave you tangle-footed and smiling, but the Rail Trail Pale Ale is great too, crisp, clean, fruity, and brisk with American hop flavor bulging out at the seams. A happy stop. Make it great by improving the service (bartenders are just fine, food-side people need drilling).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Margaret Hudak Mary Margaret Hudak, Round Lake, NY
(08/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
a nice place, but the food is not to die for like so many brewpubs I've been to. Worth the trip for great beer. The views and ambiance are wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Coxsackie, NY
(07/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The Gilded Otter brewery offers, along with Wagner, quite possibly the finest array of both ales and lagers. Have drank much of their beer at festivals and never once have I been let down. One of those, "I'm going back to the Otter's tent to get more of that WeizenBock"....Have never been to the brewpub for the one time I ventured there, I was a bit too early. Coolest damm website I've seen for a brewpub. serious, great beer! rob davis,

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I was quite surprised at how pleasant our experience was here. Their website is quite appealing and I always wanted to stop. Well, we finally got our chance while in the area on vacation. It was certainly worth the stop. Despite the second rate motel we had to endure, the ambiance of the restaurant was most comfortable, bright and cheery. The large bar area and dining room accommodates the customer load well and the vistas from the large windows and doors is quite pleasant. The sprawling deck on the side would be a very comfortable place to sit and enjoy the nice weather. They had a great beer selection and the quality was what one would expect. The Rail Trail Pale Ale and the Weizenbock were my favorites and the Weizenbock was excellent!!! I hope to make it back up there soon! Cheers!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A friend of mine suggested I visit, and he didn't let me down. It was very much worth the almost 2 hour drive for me. The beer selection consisted of a good variety of styles, and the quality (that I sampled) was great. Lunch was promptly served, and was also very good. I'll definitely be back!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Doherty Bill Doherty, Delmar, NY
(10/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My local hangout. As a homebrewer, I *HAVE* to like the beer. It's not too often that I drink other people's beer, but this place is worthwhile to hang out in. Look for me Firday nights for Happy Hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rocco Rocco, New Paltz, NY
(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Geat place to take a Sunday drive. The beer id fantastic, the food is always great. The staff is friendly and helpful. One of my favorite brewpubs. I recommend it highly. A place where you can take a non-beer drinker and that perosn will enjoy it also. A place you can take the family nad a relaxing meal and greta beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dominic N. Stimola Dominic N. Stimola, Wyckoff, NJ
(08/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great
A beautiful new facility, open and well laid out. Great beers and selection, with obvious devotion to the craft. Food was disappointing and overpriced. Service was friendly and attentive. Overall, a great beer destination.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc Ledoux Marc Ledoux, Bristol, CT
(01/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The beer is awsome. Service, food etc. is great! Prices arevery good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Schwegler Ken Schwegler, Orangeburg, NY
(10/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Heard about the Gilded Otter while visiting Woodstock. The trip over to New Paltz was worth it...a neat town... and the Gilded Otter's setting, food and especially the beer made our day. They provide samplers for a nominal fee, then you can move on to what you really like.

I was in the mood for a Porter but none on tap..so I opted for the Oatmeal Stout which was very good. However, my daughter put me onto the Chapter 11 Belgian Red ale which was fantastic! Make sure you have a designated driver if you indulge this one.

The name of the place has some history behind it and the setting is really neat. It's open and airy and caters to all ages. Brew equipment is there for viewing and brew staff are very conscientious about there craft. If you're in the area by all means give them a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adrian Snyder Adrian Snyder, Greenville, NC
(07/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
My second trip to this stylish, open brewpub was even better than the first. They offered 8 different beers, and all were at least an average representation of the style. The Kristall Weizen and Crimson Lager were particularly good, as were the food and service. If not for the rush-hour traffic in New Paltz, the entire experience would have been excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(06/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
The pub itself is better than the beer. I found the beers to be pretty much non-descript, no matter what the style implies, very understated. But the building itself is the nicest you will find within 100 miles. The bar is odd-shaped and beautiful, as is the view through the huge windows.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D.R. Montzingo D.R. Montzingo, Wilkes-Barre, PA
(02/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Very nice place and very good brews. I'm not a fan of 'flavored' beer, but the apple brew tasted very much like and better then most of the hard ciders out there. The pumpkin was tasty as well. All the traditional tastes were as good or better then one should expect. I checked off only good for service. The server was excellent, but was way too busy. Should have had more help on a nice Saturday afternoon! 10/31/99.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Q John Q, Portsmouth, NH
(11/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
Nine beers available when I visited, each true to style and all above average in taste. The sampler is a must. Nicely appointed, open design building, with friendly atmosphere. Well worth a trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(10/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is way cool, big deck with adirondack chairs to sit back a quaff a few excellant beers. Try the IPA, best I've ever had, their Oktober fest style is cranking too. Food is a little above what I expect out of a brewery, must have a few culinary people there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerry Thorsen Gerry Thorsen, poughkeepsie, NY
(10/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
Beer quality and selection is very good but the food is an upgraded Groundround with only mediocre service. Munchies and finger foods at the bar is the best way to enjoy this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Kingston, NY
(09/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Both the beer and food are terrific. The new Maibock is very nearly perfect. Go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Griffin Paul Griffin, Albany, NY
(05/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A beautiful brew pub. Great atmosphere. Terrific staff. Super food. All this and all-world views of the mountains and the river. A definite home run.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Chenevert Mark Chenevert, Alford, MA
(02/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A really great place located to wack back some great microbrews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Warwick, NY
(01/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I really like their IPA. Been there about three times in the past two months.I'm hoping they get their growlers in soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilkes-Barre, PA
(01/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Big place, the brewery is right in the middle of everything. I have never seen a more open brewpub. The food is great and the beers are even better. I met Mike their brewer, he's got eight beers flowing, mostly lagers, and he's got a gold medal from the GABF. Real cool place, climber's hangout - nice folks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jimmy Seaver Jimmy Seaver, Middletown, NY
(01/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rockville Centre, NY
(11/06/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.304 seconds) 08:17:58 54.91.135.161, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS