PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Northwoods Brewpub and Grill - Eau Claire, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 22, 2014 @ 07:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Eau Claire > Northwoods Brewpub and Grill
Northwoods Brewpub and Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Northwoods Brewpub and Grill
Overall: Great    Score: 73.9 / 100
3560 Oakwood Mall Drive
Eau Claire, WI 54701
United States
(715) 552-0510
Listed Since: November 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Eau Claire, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Northwoods Brewpub and Grill
28 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Haymarket Grill
bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Fanny Hill Inn & Dinner Theatr
2) Otter Creek Inn Bed-Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN WHITE HOUSE INN
2) COMFORT INN EAU CLAIRE
3) COUNTRY INN SUITES EAU CLAIRE
4) ECONO LODGE EAU CLAIRE
5) EXEL INN OF EAU CLAIRE
6) PLAZA HOTEL AND SUITES
7) QUALITY INN CONFERENCE CENTER
8) SUPER 8 EAU CLAIRE CAMPUS AREA
9) THE PALACE HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barber, James, House
2) Barron, Martin Van Buren, House
3) Brice, Orlando, House
4) Chamberlin, Clarence, House
5) Christ Church Cathedral and Parish House
6) Cobblestone House
7) Community House, First Congregational Church
8) Drummond, David, House
9) First Methodist Episcopal Church
10) Johnson, John, Saloon
11) Kaiser Lumber Company Office
12) Kenyon, A. L., House
13) Merrill, Levi, House
14) Oatman Filling Station
15) Ottawa House
16) Owen, John S., House
17) Pioneer Block
18) Putnam, Jane E., Memorial Chapel
19) Randall, Adin, House
20) Schofield Hall
21) Schwahn, William and Tilla, House
22) Soo Line Locomotive 2719
23) Steven House
24) Temple of Free Masonry
25) US Post Office and Courthouse
26) Werner, Dr. Nels, House
27) Wilcox, Roy, House
28) Winslow, George F., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angelo's
2) Arby's
3) Arby's
4) Bar
5) Barstow Court Cafe
6) Bistro
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Boston's Gourmet Pizza
9) Bottle & Barrel Bar
10) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
11) Cancun Bar & Grill
12) Chester's
13) Clancy's Bar & Grill
14) Coffee Grounds
15) Coffee Grounds Cafe
16) Cold Stone Creamery
17) Dairy Queen
18) Dairy Queen
19) Dill Pickle
20) Famous Dave's
21) Finish Line
22) Five O'Clock Club
23) Godfather's Pizza
24) Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub
25) Jade Garden
26) K P Katering Enterprises Inc
27) Klassix
28) Kobe's Japanese
29) Lee Ann Chin Inc
30) Mama T's
31) Mancino's Grinders & Pizza
32) Mattice Pizzeria
33) Mousetrap
34) Ole's Southside Tavern
35) Panda House
36) Panera Bread
37) Piang Asia Quisine
38) Rocky Rococo's Pizza & Pasta
39) Sammy's Pizza Palace
40) Sammy's Pub
41) Sbarro
42) Seattle Pride Coffee Co
43) Snack Attack
44) Starbucks
45) Steak Escape
46) Stones Throw Entertainment Ctr
47) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
48) Timber Lodge Steakhouse
49) Tony's Pizza Svc
50) Topper's Pizza
51) Welcome Matt
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Stopped in for a Walters beer and decided on lunch. I had the burger special and fries. The burger tasted moist and fresh and the bun was grilled. The fries were to die for. They where crisp and soted just right. The waitress suggested raspberry pie saying that it won a award. It was awesome it had like a cream cheese base and crumb crust. I then had another beer a floppin crappie and loved it. Dark but tasted light. Great place for the price!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Winter, WI
(03/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So So So
If a pie shop opened a brewpub.... well they did, this one. Stopped here four years ago. The got the pizza and a pitcher of beer special. Pizza was cold and tastless, on a par-baked, pre-made crust. Beer was infected. This time had the "portobella sandwich" which came exactly as described, a couple of slices of raw mushroom on toasted grocery store bread, micro thin slice of cheese barely melted, equally thin slices of tastless tomato and onion, served open face so I could put on my own condiments. Condiments at the table include, salt, pepper and catsup. Add some greasy limp packaged fries altogether only $9!! Wife had the spinach salad with nothing else, not even a cracker, chicken on top was a pre-cooked out-of-a-bag product with no taste. again $9! She said she's had better at Wendy's. She said,"They don't have a cook in the kitchen!"

The beers: many choices of light flavored, bland selections. Save your money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dodgeville, WI
(11/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Was excited about visiting Northwoods Brew with the thoughts of micro brews and home made pies. Stopped on a Thursday afternoon and order Poplar Porter, if I had a blind fold on and you put this pint in front of me I could not tell you it was a porter style beer. Next I ordered a piece of apple pie with a big scoop of ice cream along with a pint of Kelly's stout, the best thing I can say is the ice cream was good. Decided it was time to go after finishing both pie and beer, maybe would stop again if I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce J. Dana Bruce J. Dana, Fort Worth, TX
(06/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Saturday night special (PRIME RIB) Queen size was the very best we have had since first haveing it in Mikana, Wisconsin. Taste and Tenderness was Awesome, Coupled with the outstanding Service we would recommend Northwoods Brewing on Poketgama Lake, in Chetek Wisconsin to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charles & Johanna Beyreis Charles & Johanna Beyreis, Chetek, WI
(09/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Not bad for a mall brewery. The beers are kinda unremarkable and somewhat similar to one another. The interior is very cozy, it has a real Northwoods feel to it. The bar, barstools, tables and chairs are all made of rough cut logs. Good place to stop if you are shopping but don't drive too far to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
Stopped by last year and tried a sampler of everything they had on tap, which was okay, I guess. All the beers were force carbonated to the same pressure, and there was too much emphasis on light lagers and ales. Hey, I guess it's what sells in this area. You know you're in the woods when they offer drink specials for anyone wearing their hunting gear. Just one big caveat: I took home some of their bottled beers, and found them all to be very badly contaminated. I would hope this was a temporary problem that they should have fixed by this time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark McDermott Mark McDermott, Park Forest, IL
(11/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
This is one of those "there it is, but how do we get there" places. Construction on the roads necesitated a call for directions. We could see it from the main highway but didn't know how to get there. All the brews seemed to have the same description "non-hoppy and taste of honey" Most seemd on the lighter side. I was not impressed with the Pale Ale. Bought a to-go assortment and they all pretty much tasted the same with the exception of the WIT. Food was good. Waitperson seemd to have something else to do after initial order.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(10/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great Good Good
The scenery here is awesome, especially for a city boy that likes the outdoors. I was driving thrue and stopped for lunch. I tryed the bacon burger and it was great along with the root beer, which was awesome. Under other driving circumstances I would have loved to try the beer, but the people I met there said they'll be back for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Towner Rob Towner, Indianapolis, IN
(12/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
The decor/atmosphere of the Northwoods made you feel like you were in a lodge in the woods. The service was incredibly helpful, friendly, and knowledgable to boot. Great combination!

The beers were crisp, but like other reviewers noted, if you have had one, you have had them all. There was not a noticable difference between the Brown Ale and the Porter. I declined to get a 3rd beer, but will definitely try them all, as it is the only brewpub within 50 miles of my house. Hopefully they will notice the reviews and try their hand at some fuller brews as the beers are well crafted, ubnfortunately they are all crafted similarly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Macy Chris Macy, Arcadia, WI
(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
The food was good. Had the elk meatloaf...it was a little dry. The Kelly's Stout was pretty good...but the Poplar Porter was pretty bland and really had the look of a brown ale.

Overall...it was a good experience. Can't complain too much...I always love trying new brewpubs and new beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Frank Joshua Frank, Rockford, IL
(11/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Gotta agree with the sameness of the beer. Floppin' crappie is a great beer name, ya gotta admit. They seem to always have lots of colors of the same beer..kinda a non-descript amber lager/ale. Where else could you go in Eau Claire? Why, Chetek?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Weekend Mr. Weekend, Middleton, WI
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
I haved visited Northwoods 3 times over the last few years. The beer has improved. The sandwiches were very good. They have a new location in Chetek WI. Same beer but a very nice location on the lake.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from halada halada, milwaukee, WI
(07/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
My wife and I visited with another couple. We had a few beers and a bite to eat. The beer was average and the food was ok. Not the greatest brewpub in the world. But it's still better than none.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pardeeville, WI
(04/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
Being from the area, I visit the Northwood's often only because lack of local competition. If you've had one of their beers you've had them all. All the beers are quite bland in flavor. Nothing on the menu for true beer enthusiasts. The atmosphere is great along with the service but the beers need some drastic improvement. Should another brewpub come to the Chippewa Valley....LOOK OUT Northwoods!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Graig Graig, Menomonie, WI
(10/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
Being from the area, I visit the Northwood's often only because lack of local competition. If you've had one of their beers you've had them all. All the beers are quite bland in flavor. Nothing on the menu for true beer enthusiasts. The atmosphere is great along with the service but the beers need some drastic improvement. Should another brewpub come to the Chippewa Valley....LOOK OUT Northwoods!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Graig Graig, Menomonie, WI
(10/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
An earlier reviewer has it exactly right. They really need a few beers in their lineup that appeal to true beer enthusiasts. If I lived in Eau Claire, I'd spend a lot of time in the Twin Cities on weekends. This place has a lot of potential if they'd just beef up a couple of their beers. None of their beers made me want to go back. I might stop for lunch on the way to or from the Autumn Brew Review in Minneapolis, just to see if things have changed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(09/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I wish I could have had a beer that was well hopped. I was disappointed with their Pale Ale, but the Stout and the Red Ale outstanding. There was almost too many light beers on tap. The food was great, I would recomend their pizza. The atmosphere was excellent, free pool and big screen TV nestled into a nostalgic wood cabin setting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rian Radtke Rian Radtke, Zachow, WI
(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Very enjoyable. I can't wait to return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick P. Dick P., Springfield, IL
(07/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
During the past year I've visited several brewpubs and have usually found a lively "bitter" or an India Pale Ale to be the popular choice of those who want that real special taste. It would be super if Northwoods would top off their "TAP ROW" with a highly hopped brew!! The rating on quality and selection would probably jump from good to awesome!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Jothen Dave Jothen, Eau Claire, WI
(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Thoroughly impressed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearkat Bearkat, Birchwood, WI
(07/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
Friendly bartenders--great place to kick back and relax. Just needs some instant "woods" around the exterior!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Jothen Dave Jothen, Eau Claire, WI
(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
The first brewpub in the Eau Claire area seems to be brewing their beers for the beer novice. This is fine, as long as they offer a couple selections for the beer enthusiast. Unfortunately, as of my last visit, they don't. If you are looking a beer with character or a hop nose, you may be disapointed. However, free billiards, comfortable chairs, and well-placed televisions make this a decent place to relax or watch a game.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew L. Buteyn Matthew L. Buteyn, Burlington, WI
(12/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great
Well, cant speak to much for the food as I only ordered pizza. It was a big pie and was above average quality. I will say that whoever designed and decorated the place deserves many kudos. The atmosphere and decor were outstanding and definately had a comfy friendly feel to it. As far as the service goes, we had to chase down the waitress a couple times, other than that the service was polite and prompt. I must say though that I was there with a group, and they were busy so... But enough about the food, atmoshpere, and service. This place is worth a visit for that alone, but lets get to the reason we go to brewpubs, the beer. They had a good and varied selection of beer. Overall, it is obvious they take great care in creating their beer, and the quality of it, (with some exception of taste and character), is definately above average. The color and clarity (except the stout) is above average. The Oktoberfest was by far the standout. It is excellent with all the qualities in proper order of a beer of this variety. The recipes all had a decent and well selected malt flavor, specifically the gold. In my opinion the others may be a little short on the nose and hoppiness, but of course that is a matter of a refined beer drinkers personal preference. The only selection I was particularily dissapointed with was the stout, which had a bit too much of a black patent grain taste and much too little chocolate flavor. It was also a bit short on color and creaminess. I would reccomend a visit to anyone traveling through the area. This establishment obviously shoots for quality in all aspects of its operation, and only rarely comes up short of a bullsye.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Laberdie Michael Laberdie, St Bonifacius, MN
(09/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great
The service for this place is PAMtastic! This place really ROCKs! The atmosphere is quite FESTive! The beer flavors are CHRISp. Excellence is quite cLEERly their goal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Scottsdale, AZ
(07/24/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.069 seconds) 19:10:59 54.166.159.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS