PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


1st City Brewery and Grill - Bemidji, MN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 20, 2014 @ 08:52 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MN > Bemidji > 1st City Brewery and Grill
1st City Brewery and Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
1st City Brewery and Grill
Overall: Great    Score: 75.6 / 100
[Closed - 2006]
128 First Street
Union Square
Bemidji, MN 56601
United States
(218) 751-9261
Listed Since: January 1999
Last Updated: October 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bemidji, MN
Beer Guide for Minnesota

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
9 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Brigid's Cross Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Beltrami Shores Bed & Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICINN BEMIDJI
2) COMFORT INN BEMIDJI
3) NORTHERN INN
4) SUPER 8 BEMIDJI MN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Lake Bemidji State Park CCC/NYA/Rustic Style Historic Resources
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) Aramark Bsu Dining Catering
3) Bar 209
4) Brigid's Irish Pub
5) Burger King
6) Caribou Coffee Store
7) Chicago Deli Express
8) Cold Stone Creamery
9) Corner Bar
10) Cyber Bugs Paradise Cafe Inc
11) Dairy Queen
12) Garden Grill & Pub
13) Green Mill Restaurant & Bar
14) Ground Round
15) K-Cafe
16) M J Saloon
17) Moos-A-Brew
18) Northwoods Steakhouse
19) Other Place
20) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
21) Robin's Nest
22) Seventy-One Bar & Steakhouse
23) Slim's Bar & Grill
24) Southside Restaurant
25) Tony's Pizza Svc
26) U Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Found this place closed in 2006 after enjoying it for almost a decade. Very much missed since then.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Bloomington, MN
(09/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
chicks are hot

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alex Alex, barnesville, MN
(11/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! So So So So
I had high hopes for this place, as it combined my two favorite things-- trains and brewpubs. The food was excellent but the beers were..well.. confusing?

My IPA tasted like a Hefe Weizen, the Golden Spike tasted like a golden Hefe Weizen, and my wife's Red was weak and darn near watery. Overall, this is a neat place to go have dinner and relax in a cozy setting. If you were to order a Sam Adams or a Harp with your dinner, you'd almost be doing yourself a favor. Look for the boxcar-turned-bandshell outside the restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Monkey, St. Paul, MN
(10/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The first trip was the Pale Ale with a walleye sandwich. The walleye was excellent. The Pale Ale was worth a second glass and second trip back. The second trip was a steak with the Kolsch and Porter. Another solid evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Spyhalski Paul Spyhalski, Austin, MN
(06/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
The Paul Bunyan statue is more interesting than the beer. Good, but nothing exciting. Best brewpub in Bemiji.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Burnett Glenn Burnett, Cedar Knolls, NJ
(09/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Awesome! Awesome! Good
Just returned from up North. My visit to Union Station was completely unbelievable for two reasons: First it was without reservation, one of the finest dining experiences I have ever had. Second, and quite ironically, this place had the worst beer I have ever had the agony of having to buy and drink. The owner is lucky he has college kids and tourists to purvey his substandard swill to. If not, he would certainly need to start cleaning his equipment, re-selecting his comprimised yeast strain, an actually learning how to brew beer. I do have a suggestion for him though. Have your brewmaster drawn and quartered (if there even is one). And if it be you brewing these blashemous concoctions, spend your time in the dining room, kitchen, and barroom area where your talents obviously are not wasted. I should not even bother to review the beer here, but will at least give my fellow beer-fans a little heads up. It is flat, uncharacteristic of its type, and ridden with bacteria and every off flavor you could imagine. I am frustrated by this dichotomy, but do visit this place though if you are ever in the area. It is unquestionably one of best resteraunts in MN. However, may I suggest wine, or even a warm Bud-Light for that matter, to compliment your meal? Anything is better than that (Beer?)which eminates from the taps at this fine establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Laberdie Michael Laberdie, St Bonifacius, MN
(09/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A Good
Nice upscale fine dining with professionals, business people and families having a nice dinner in the restaurant, and college kids drinking cheap beer in the bar. The brews are all cloudy,with a medicinal taste from phenolic compounds, citrus from citric acid and sour. There is also an odor of rotten vegetables. All of these off flavors and smells are produced from wort spoiling bacteria, stressed yeast and poor brewhouse practices. There is a BIG resevior of infection in this brewery. Clean up your act and clear up your beer! Trained Beer Judge, Colorado

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tonka Bay, MN
(09/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
The 1st City Brewery and Grill was a pleasant experience. A cozy quality establishment with friendly patrons. Six selections of beer brewed on site. The Porter and Wheat were outstanding! Good body, aroma and after taste. Best beers I've had since Germany and Austria. And great prices too!! $1.75 a pint til 7:00, the end of happy hour. Definitely a benchmark place. Unfortunately (or perhaps a good thing) it is 450 miles away from my home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Dettmer Allen Dettmer, Elk Run, IA
(06/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Little gem in the North with warm atmosphere, friendly service, good food (try the ale batter walleye), reasonable prices and great beers. I enjoyed the India Pale Ale and the Cannonball Red, a sample of the Coal Train Porter was tasty. Pints are $2.75 regular price, $1.75 at happy hour and ONLY $1.oo on college night! Check it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Turner Steve Turner, Tonka Bay, MN
(01/22/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.17 seconds) 20:52:21 54.197.183.230, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS