PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Kennebec Brewing Company - Gardiner, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 01, 2014 @ 07:27 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Gardiner > Kennebec Brewing Company
Kennebec Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Kennebec Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 70 / 100
627 Water Street
#1
Gardiner, ME 04345
United States
(207) 582-2707
Listed Since: February 1999
Last Updated: August 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gardiner, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Mon 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Tue 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Wed 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Thu 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Be My Guest
2) Kennedy's
3) Maple Hill Farm B & B Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Christ Episcopal Church
2) Gardiner Railroad Station
3) Grant, Peter, House
4) Oaklands
5) Pittston Congregational Church
6) Richards, Laura, House
7) Robinson, Edward Arlington, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A 1 To Go Comm Market & Cafe
2) Anthony's Pizza & Subs
3) Dave's Diner
4) Dennis' Pizza
5) R & M Catering Svc
6) Tilbury's Water Street Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
not a well operated establishment and this is evidenced by their closure. hate to see any brewing location disappear, but that's how it goes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Killalea Jim Killalea, westport island, ME
(09/03/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Carlisle MA and Plano TX need to revisit this pub. The ESB is very nice. Currently, there is an Irish Red on tap that is excellent. Their visits do not sound characteristic of what I have found at the Firkin Sturgeon pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Garwood Phil Garwood, Gardiner, ME
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy
This has to be the worst one ever! My wife and I stopped here on our way up to Hallowell. They only had 2 beers on tap (lager and pale ale). Both were terrible. The lager tasted like a stale Bud, and the pale ale was skunked. Unbelievably bad! We took about two sips and walked out. We've been to brewpubs all over the country and I can't recall one being this bad. The funny thing was that they actually had a mug club!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carlisle, MA
(01/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gardiner, ME
(08/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Had an ESB and an IPA and both were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
Was in this area and planned to stop for a late lunch, but was running late, luckily. While their ads say open for lunch/dinner 7 days, the note on the door said "M-W open at 4:00", thankfully Liberal Cup is just a few miles away, so no biggie. In fact, they didn't open until shortly after 5PM. This is one of my pet peeves, if you advertise or have a website--KEEP IT CURRENT! The beers were unremarkable, only three on tap (other guest choices) and the stout had a funky finish to it. If I saw it out at a beer bar, I might give it a second try. Defintely call first to find out their hours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great
they finally have the pub up and running,it has been a long wait and i think it was well worth it . the only thing bad i can say is they had no bottles to go when i was thare

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review dresden, ME
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review dresden, me
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
KBC has added a pub to their brewery. I stopped by within the first week or so it was open and had the place pretty much to myself. The brewer also cooks. The only house beer on tap was a passable Munich Helles style called Kennebrau, said to be a Lowenbrau clone. It was good for the style, but not so robust on a below zero evening. No bottled product in stock to go, might go back once the place is up to operating speed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So
It would be nice if the proprietor would honor the business hours posted on his door and roadside sign; have gone an hour out of my way twice to visit only to find the premises locked. Did find bottles of three beers on retail shelf in Portland; a cream ale, pale ale and stout. Stout was good, the other two were old samples and had gone bad. Big time bad. There's no telling if this operation is still in business or what.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I finally found the place, tucked in a brick warehouse down by the creek. With my luck it was closed on the day of my drive-by. I found bottled product, three varieties, way down in Portland but no local outlets. Sporadic hours and limited distribution are a challenge for this operation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Roach, Plano, TX
(05/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A Great Great
Kennebec Brewing has returned. After legal battles that ate up time and money brewmaster Frank Lever is in production of 2 beers that I have had and a 3rd that was still awaiting ATF labeling approval. Cream ale was clean and crisp, very smooth and refreshing. The ESB was everything a great ESP should be. I arrived at the brewery about 10 minutes before closing in a rainstorm. Frank was there and gave me a quick tour of the place and we talked about beer and brewing in Maine for over an hour. I have added Kennebec Brewing's Cream Ale to my list of beers not to miss when I go to Maine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dic Gleason Dic Gleason, Denton, MD
(08/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tried three times to catch someone at the brewery and no one was there. Left a message on the phone....no response. Finally found the Pale Ale on tap at a local establishment. It was thin, watery, flavorless and nearly flat. None of the three of us finished ours. This brewery needs some serious help or they will evaporate along with so many other wannabes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jc jc, Trenton, NJ
(10/20/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.478 seconds) 19:27:33 54.90.19.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS