PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Red Star Brewery and Grille - Greensburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 04:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Greensburg > Red Star Brewery and Grille
Red Star Brewery and Grille Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Red Star Brewery and Grille
Overall: Great    Score: 79 / 100
Greensburg Train Station
101 Ehalt Street
Greensburg, PA 15601
United States
(724) 850-7245
Listed Since: March 1999
Last Updated: July 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Greensburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Red Star Brewery and Grille
43 Reviews / 8 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Dawg's Bottle Shop
(0 mile)

2) The Headkeeper
(0 mile)

3) Mister Bones
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast of Greensburg
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN GREENSBURG
2) ECONO LODGE GREENSBURG
3) KNIGHTS INN GREENSBURG PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Greensburg Railroad Station
2) Westmoreland County Courthouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abie's & Bimbo's Pizza
2) Amazon Cafe
3) Bains Deli
4) Baldy's Original Pizza
5) Baskin-Robbins
6) Blimpie Subs & Salads
7) Boston Market
8) Bruster's Ice Cream
9) Burger King
10) Burger King
11) Callahan's
12) Cheyenne Food Svc
13) City-Deli
14) Cook's Markets
15) Dagwood's Subs-N-Suds
16) Dairy Queen
17) Dominic's Of New York
18) Ernie Vallozzi's Restaurant
19) Everyday Gourmet Bakery
20) Falbo's Pizza
21) Famous Wok Inc
22) Fort Allen Frosty Shack
23) Fox's Pizza Den
24) Fu Kwei Palace
25) Great Steak & Potato Co
26) Hunan Wok Chinese Restaurant
27) Icon's Classic Restaurant
28) Juicy Lucy's
29) Lakeview
30) Lilja's Premiere Pizza
31) Lonzo's Pub
32) Lora's
33) Manchu Wok
34) Manhattan's Bar & Grill
35) Mc Donald's
36) Mc Donald's
37) Meadows Original Frozen Cstrd
38) Mr Toad's
39) Mutkas
40) Nicky's Dairy Delite
41) Old House Inc
42) Pagnotta Caffe
43) Papa John's Pizza
44) Patty's Italian Deli & Ctrng
45) Patty's Pantry
46) Peaches & Cream
47) Peking Garden
48) Pepperwood Grille
49) Pizza Hut
50) Pizza Italiano
51) Pizza Siena
52) Point Grill
53) Ponderosa Steakhouse
54) Prospect Lounge
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Quiznos Sub
57) Quiznos Sub
58) R K's Lounge
59) Rax Restaurant
60) Red Lobster Restaurant
61) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
62) Rita's Italian Ice
63) Royal Palace
64) Royal Pizza House
65) Ruby Tuesday
66) Rudy's Subs
67) S S Bar & Grill
68) Slovanic American Home
69) Solstice Restaurant and Lounge
70) Soup's On Cafe
71) Sources For Human Resources
72) Sources For Human Resources
73) Subway Market
74) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
75) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
76) Summer Place
77) Taco Bell
78) Taco Maker
79) Tastyland
80) Tavern In The Greengate
81) Texas Roadhouse
82) Tgi Friday's
83) Valley Dairy
84) Vickie's Crossroads
85) Vista Plateau Restaurant
86) Vito's Italian Eatery
87) Wagon Wheel
88) Wendy's
89) White Horse Tavern
90) Workman's Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed - Pub Crawler requires me to type 50 characters to tell you so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(05/15/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is a fabulous facility. Renovated Rail station-- and really an impressive building. All the beer is very good. The service and food -- also very good. I have visited and tasted brews from over 140 establishments over the past 10 years. (140 logo glasses in my current collection, so far.) I would go out of my way to return here ANY time I am near the eastern Pittsburgh area.

Actually I should rate Red Star AWESOME-- but that word isn't what a 'Dad' uses. How about Super Great? Joe K Former Beer Enthusiast Promoted in Jan 2010 to: Beer ADVENTURER

Likeminded folks invited to email me any time-- joekraus23@yahoo.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Kraus Joe Kraus, Geneva, NY
(03/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I stopped in last week and had the Christmas Ale. By far, the best winter ale I've ever had. Jeff did a really good job with this beer. I'm going to pick up a growler tomorrow!

I've had most of the other beers here as well, and all things considered, they're really good. Not going to rate them as my favorite beers, but they sure do a nice job here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Latrobe, PA
(12/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I had the Little Guy Lager this time around and was definitely satisfied with it. An excellent beer with great flavor and no nasty aftertaste. There were about 8 beers on tap this time, but I was in a hurry, so I couldn't try more. I'll be back to try more when I have the time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trivia Steve Trivia Steve, Latrobe, PA
(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Found some notes from a stop a while back. 8 on tap, and everything that struck my fancy was not the hoppy ales that are usually my favorites. I take that in a very positive way, 'cause sometimes I can forget about certain styles. Juniper Wit was very unique with the hint of the berries in there. English Brown was slightly chocolaty, while the dry stout was very roasty. My pick this trip was the Altbier; it was dark, malty, perhaps slightly smoky. A souvenir tasting glass is a nice touch and the place itself is very cool. Server was excellent--a definite "stop again".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Beautiful setting: the old railroad station. Very interesting, but expensive menu. I had the tuna: crispy on the outside and raw in the middle. Great! Most places can’t or won’t do that. And the sauce, based on the house-made butter (sweet, rich butter flavor, and overly salty) was wonderful! I’d try any dish based on butter. The Crab Scampi should be sinfully rich! The beers. Red Star Golden Light – very light, slightly beery, a typical Budwater. Little Guy Lager – somewhat stale, overly heavy and lacking in brightness for a real (German) lager. Canvas Back American Pale Ale – An amber, hoppy, IPA-type, very dry with no hint of the green pineyness of some fresh hops. Strangely, they nitrate it. The nitration head quickly dissipates leaving a lightly carbonated ale. Scotch Ale-probably the driest scotch ale I’ve ever tasted. The malt tastes more “stouty” than “amber”, i.e., over-roasted. Pumpkin Porter – a really good porter, with almost no perceptible “pumpkin” taste and only a hint of spice. It shows that they can do a good porter, but unfortunately they only make specialty porters and usually do not have one on tap. Iron Horse Stout – extremely mild taste. No mouth feel or after taste. Like a Coors Lite with brown food coloring.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great to have such an outstanding brewery in this train station. It was quite busy; this should not be a surprise. Tried all of the beers available and not a bad one in the bunch. Definately recommend the Porter, IPA, and the Steam. The Apricot Ale was great; nice and subtle. One of the best bartenders that I have encountered was Ryan. Do not miss this place!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenny Lennon Kenny Lennon, West Chester, PA
(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Jeff,Head Brewer, definitely has a good handle on the varying styles of brew that he tantalizes the beer connoisseur in southwestern PA. He is among the best in the state and now the restaurant has a new lunch/dinner menu + great wines by the glass for those of us who bring non-beer drinkers with us to this very historical railroad station in downtown Greensburg. I drive a good 35 miles to get here and challenge other "hop heads" to travel out of their own "neck of the woods" to discover the awesome brew the Red Star has to offer. Get in their fast to sample the Barleywine. Yummy! Very heady stuff-definitely warms the head on a cool day, ahhh!Try the Iron Horse Stout too! A BIG THUMBS UP, WAY UP!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ROBERT DREWERY ROBERT DREWERY, UNIONTOWN, PA
(01/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Jeff Guidos's beers are excellent, and he's always working at making them better. Had a very nice Irish Red that I hope he makes again, and the Voodoo Child Dunkel was -- as always -- tasty and smooth. Great range of beers, well-executed, beautiful premises, and situated in a classic small-town downtown: Red Star is WELL worth getting off the PA Turnpike.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Nice selection of beers and barleywine. I beleive they had a total of 8 on tap during my visit. The bartender was outstanding and the Rubeon was one of the best. The Voodo Child Stout was excellent!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
7/30/2004

Presidential hopefuls John Kerry, John Edwards, their families and entourage had lunch at the Red Star Brewery which is within the train station.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, pittsburgh, PA
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
The beer selection varies often but most are excellent representations of the style. The service at the bar is excellent...those guys really take care of you. Unfortunately the service in the resteraunt was abismal. The food was nothing to rave about but the beer is enough to keep you coming back. Worth the trip when in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Emmaus, PA
(04/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great Beer and a fantantic building. Don't miss it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
Great beer, cool building. A good place to stop if your heading west and just too thirsty to wait until Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Great
Just sampled three of their beers at a brewers fest and they were outstanding! Chocolate Abbey Ale, Imperial Stout, & Oak-Aged ESB. All were world class! That's right, world class. Nice job Jeff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kurt Olson, Wexford, PA
(05/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Great atmosphere. I enjoyed the stout. We had 2 more breweries to go for the evening, so I only tried he one beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(04/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I was recently there just prior to their Octoberfest. The had a very good version of a Belgian Dubbel on tap. I also ate during their Octoberfest. The Venison was superb!, as well as a very good Octoberfest brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Tobin Bob Tobin, Granby, CT
(09/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
A little more form than function here. Nice interior (old train station), but less pub-like and more upscale-like. The beer was mostly OK (one touted as having bubble gum tones -- sorry, but that doesn't cut it for me), the food was OK, but the service was not. I'm glad I have other choices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Road Mode Road Mode, Asheville, NC
(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Made only my second visit to Red Star today, my first had been just over a year ago. Had a pint of the IPA and Oktoberfest. Both were pretty good, though I like my IPAs just a little hoppier. Had the beer battered cheese platter and a kobi and mixed greens salad. The salad is most likely going to be the salad I compare all future salads to. It was kind of like a vegatarian sushi role with goat cheese, pretty much an acquired taste. Maybe I'm getting to accustomed to brewpubs but I feel their beer selection (as well as others in the Greater Pittsburgh area) is a little sparse. Then again maybe I've been drinking a little too much :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
I don't come here for the food, but the Beer is excellent. The best Pale Ale I ever tasted is Sierra Nevada, made in Chico, CA. Red Star comes close with American Pale Ale. It has a nice hoppy flavor from start to finish. The Iron Horse Stout is also excellent. Smokey, Dark and a little bit coffee flavored. This beer is some of the best brewed in Western Pa.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MPS MPS, Greensburg, PA
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So Good
Stopped here for dinner/drinks since I was in the area, it's an hour from where I live. The bar looks very nice in the restored train station. The dining area was realtively small but there are tables outside on the not-so-hot days. The beer selection was limited, they were out of an ESB that sounded good. Had the American Pale Ale (okay, refreshing for a hot day) and the Iron Horse stout (probably their best - pretty good stout). Strangely the waitress tried to discourage me from trying a sampler of the beers, first time I've ever had that happen. And she didn't seem too concerned with us once our food arrived. The food was okay, some meals looked better than others. Their entree menu is very limited, maybe 6 meals in all. I was glad to stop here but I wouldn't make a trip here again in the near future, even if I am in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Went there in the summer. Food was very good...and the two beers I tried...rasberry wheat and a pepper-flavored beer (unusual but very good) were both good. Great atmosphere and very friendly staff. Would go here more if it were closer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Booth Kimberly Booth, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I finally got to visit this wonderful facility this week. The Iron Horse was great except it wasn't take home-able due to the nitrogen push. There was a bourbon cask flavored stout that was very interesting and a nice Marzen style. I had the jambalaya which was delicious and finished up with the pumpkin cheese cake. Service was fine as well. It's a beautiful room with great detail. A great stop all in all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(10/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
Since it's not listed above, I'll post the webpage url here: www.redstarbrewery.com. Like a dummy, I assumed if pubcrawler didn't list it, they didn't have one. As a result, I missed a great event held here last week (Brewer's Cup Festival). I go more for the seasonals, which can be excellent, rather than the stock beers, which are a little too hoppy for my tastes. The menu is good and occasionally adventurous, but somewhat overpriced. Service is usually good, but not necessarily well-informed on the products or events (I called last weekend to ask about the upcoming Oktoberfest and other seasonal events and no mention was made of the Brewer's Cup). Still, Red Star is a great brewpub and every time I'm in Greensburg, I take the opportunity to stop in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dummy Dummy, pittsburgh, PA
(09/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Congratulations to Red Star on winning the gold medal for their Iron Horse Stout (Stouts & Porters) and the silver medal for their Belgian Dubble (Strong Belgian Ales) at the State College, PA MicroBrewers and Importers Exposition this past Saturday.

This was a truly great show enhanced by the presence and seminars of Michael Jackson and the best collection of beer for sampling I've ever seen. I've never been to the GABF.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred H. Schellenberg Fred H. Schellenberg, Windber, PA
(08/01/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.457 seconds) 04:57:04 54.204.94.254, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS