PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub - Sparta, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


  >
August 28, 2014 @ 04:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Sparta > Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
23 White Deer Plaza
Sparta, NJ 07871
United States
(973) 729-8428
Listed Since: March 1999
Last Updated: February 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sparta, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
56 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brick House Farm B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Old Monroe School House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arthur's St Moritz
2) Brauhaus
3) Burger King
4) Cafe Pierrot
5) Carafello's Restaurant
6) Casa Mia
7) Central Italian Restaurant
8) Chicken Dun-Rite
9) Dairy Queen
10) Dunkin Donuts
11) Francesca's
12) Frank's Pizza & Restaurant
13) Fu's Chinese Restaurant
14) Gathering Place
15) Hunan Wok
16) Krogh's Restaurant
17) Lucky House Chinese Restaurant
18) Mohawk House
19) Nazzaro Room
20) New Sparta Diner
21) Ogdesburg Diner Inc
22) Ristorante Il Porto
23) Villa Capri Pizza
24) Wee'r Ona Roll
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
While I thought the beers, over all, were a little too hoppy (especially the maibock), they were very good beers. The red ale is worth having a pint or two of.

The food was incredible. The babyback ribs were plentiful and the sauce didn't overpower the meat.

The wait staff was very cheerful and attentive to my party's needs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(04/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Living only 10 minutes from Krogh's, I've been there multiple times, and I always find myself coming back. The food really is good, especially for standard pub fare. The beer, on the other hand, is good, but nothing special.

The Brogden Meadow Pale Ale is very nice, but they have a habit of serving it far too cold. The Red Ale is also quite nice, as is the Oatmeal Stout. Their golden ale is far too light and lacks flavor; I find it similar to Labatt. The IPA I had a few weeks ago was absolutely awful... incredibly salty and lacking any true hops flavor whatsoever. I plan on going in sometime this week to try their Belgian Wit, which is hopefully better than the IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sparta, NJ
(07/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
In reply to Thomas from PA: I'm not exactly sure what you are describing. Perhaps your palate has been desensitized by the moonshine you hillbillies from PA drink. I believe you are confusing the smoothness of the beer with, what you call, lack of flavor. All of their beers, literally all of them, are very flavorful yet very smooth to consume. No bite, no kick, just smooth refreshing taste. They are great.

I would recommend not chugging them, but rather try to hold the liquid in your mouth, pushing the beer through your mouth fully emerging your tongue around the beer to saturate all of your tastebuds, then swallow. That, Thomas, is how you taste test a beer and if you were to implement this process, you will begin to taste the immense flavors and realize what you have been missing.

Highly recommend Krogh's beers but bring a driver with you because your going to want to try all 7 of them, and not just a little sample either. Man up and get a pint of each. Cheers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ross Ross, Green Pond, NJ
(07/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
I have heard so much about Kroghs in NJ and could not wait to try this place out. It is located in an upper class area that stretches around a few nice lakes large enough for power boating. However, when it comes down to it, the beer was not as great as the pub and its location. This place has quite the reputation as a must get to place for quality micro, and yet, it is not tops in the state of NJ.

Kroghs gold- really nothing to it, its a typical gold without the flavor

Alpine glow red- when it comes to my beer excursions I have only come across 2 reds that actually stand out, and this was not one of them. It is a typical red that is just a beer and really no distinguished flavors worth reminiscing about.

Pale ale- I liked this beer and found it an odd sort in the pale ale category. It had a very sweet initial taste in which I expected the more familiar burst of bitterness and hop character. I had a few more. If you are a hop person and demand a strong taste, this beer will be a disappointment under its given category.

Nut Brown- typical easy to drink brown with a slight nutty taste, nothing really special about it.

Oatmeal stout- It was a good stout with a sweet taste to it

Abbey- it seemed like this may have been their first attempt and was clearly served way too young. Had they given it some age to build character, it may have been 100 times better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(05/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
All of the beer recipes were good, but they all had a noticeable amount of diacetyl. Some more than others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Denver, CO
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The brewpub is in downtown Sparta on the lake in a collection of Bavarian style buildings. Inside the place looks like a log cabin. They have a restaurant that served decent food; basic pub fare. We stopped in for lunch with my parents on our way to Delaware Water Gap. I started with the Log Cabin Nut Brown Ale, which was a dark brown ale with a good head on it and a good, malty, slightly nutty flavor; smooth and quite good. My wife ordered the Brogden Meadow Pale Ale; a decent pale ale – hoppy with a malty background. My dad had the Krogh’s Gold; a decent amber colored golden ale with a good deal of malt and a nice amount of hoppiness to it. I also tried the Alpine Glow Red Ale, which was my favorite; a fantastic malty, slightly hoppy red ale with a deep amber color and a nice malty aroma.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The quality of the beer at Krogh's has been pretty stable now for some time, seasonal selections have been quite good, including some lagered beers which is always nice to see. They don't have much in the way of Happy Hour or special pricing unfortunatley but at least you can still get a sandwich or a personal pizza for $8 - $9.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Courtney Renegar Courtney Renegar, Netcong, NJ
(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
Not bad, but nothing to go out of the way for

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Silbiger Russ Silbiger, Ashland, OR
(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
The beer was served way too cold and all of them just seemed flat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Restino Gary Restino, Round Lake, NY
(02/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Great
I am lucky enough to live not too far from Krogh's and always look forward to returning. The beer is a top notch craft brew. Being particularly fond of Oatmeal Stout's (a brew not easily pulled off well) I find theirs to be among the best I have had - A deep and complex flavor with a perfect finish that leaves you waiting for the next sip. Kroghs is full of atmosphere in the old log cabin on lake Mohawk and the staff (I think it is a family run business) are always attentive and friendly. Can't wait for my next trip back...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kubs Kyle Kubs, Jefferson, NJ
(12/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
Been there the last two wednesdays, first time it was packed the 2nd time it was the deadest i ever saw the place. Beer was its ussual good quality, 2 comments though (1) i agree with Geoff N from a few reviews back, lately the beer has been to cold. (2) there latest seasonal, oktoberfest, my favorite, seems to give me a headache the next day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(10/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
I stopped for a quck sandwich and had a sampler of seven brews. The soup and sandwich were very good , and the beers were excellent. I particularly liked the "Three Sisters"; the red ale was my least favorite. I can see where parking might be a problem at night, but at three in the afternoon I parked right in front of the front door. The place is cozy as hell. I bet it's great in the winter. I'll definitely have a few more lunches there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Additional dark beers would be an enhancement (my favorite). It would also help if the beers were served slightly warmer. Great menu, a nice place to relax with friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff N Geoff N, Morris Plains, NJ
(08/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
back again a couple of sundays ago, place was really light on customers. another round of good solid quality pints, though a little more barley in the mash would be welcomed. found out that they have a beer club, only 75 brews and you get dinner or a choice of some other things, not a bad deal, only 70 more to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Apart from the great beer and food, this is the place to go for live music. The parking in Lake Mohawk leaves a lot to be desired but it is well worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Keith, Lake Hopatcong, NJ
(02/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
that's for g-damn sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Beer snob, you spelled "wasabi" correctly, as far as my limited intellect can tell.

You didn't hear any complaints because you didn't invite me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim M Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
We went on a Friday night at 8:30 were seated right away, place was pretty busy. I opted for an Oktoberfest which was very tasty, althougha little light on body. Also tried the IPA which sees like strange choice for a pub that has a rep for not hopping enough, it was a little light on the hops for style, but me not being a hop guy, i likey. For dinner i had a tuna steak w/ wasabi(sp?) sauce, both were excellent, heard no complaints from anyone in the party about either food or beer. My friends live right up the street but i would be back anyway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(11/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A quaint, almost cheeky, building. Darkly painted log interior with a closeness warmed by the sun coming through the large window in the bar area. Our bartender was polite and attentive. We started with a sampler and moved on to some full size samplings. All beers were stylistically brewed and very drinkable. Their "light" gold was surprisingly flavorful, the pale ale was well balanced and not over-hopped, the nut brown was delicously malty, and the oatmeal stout had great body and mouthfeel. The food which we ordered for lunch was moderately priced, promptly served and very tasty. An overall enjoyable pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Erdman Rob Erdman, Bloomsburg, PA
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The ambiance of this place was great. The old historic building reminded me of my beer drinking days in Germany. We ordered the Three Sisters Wheat and the beer was so good we never bothered getting anything else. Pints were $4.25 and a cheeseburger with fried $8.95. A bit pricy, but what really sold me is that the restaurant (not the bar area!) is now smoke free!!! I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Connie, Pemberton, NJ
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I`ve been going to Krough`s since it became a brewpub and it has only gotten better. They brew some really good beers there(whenever they`re serving their alt beer, I recommend trying it.).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Maksymo Mike Maksymo, Byram, NJ
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
It takes me about 30-40 minutes to get to Krogh's from my home but it is well worth the trip. The beers are great and the ribs are among the best I've ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Tjaden Bill Tjaden, Oakland, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
We had an 8 beer sampler and, except for a couple of standouts (Nut Brown in particular), the beers were solid, but lacked character (maybe they were served too cold?). Food was fantastic though, and the service in the bar area (we didn't have reservations) was friendly and attentive. Cool old building, too. We'd definitely return...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We really enjoyed the ambiance of this place and the setting by Lake Mohawk is most enjoyable. Walking around the town is also a treat. The Nut Brown was unusually smoky and gave it an excellent taste. The food was more than we could eat and very flavorful. We are quite a ways from there, but hope to get back again soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
4 to 5 decent beers on tap(stout & pale ale very good) Food good but this is Lake Mohawk & pricey! Excellent live music on week-ends & a wonderful short walk up the Lake Mohawk boardwalk at night. Catch the Kings In Disguise when you can!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review northeast, NJ
(05/07/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.321 seconds) 04:10:45 54.196.198.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS