PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub - Sparta, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 06:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Sparta > Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
23 White Deer Plaza
Sparta, NJ 07871
United States
(973) 729-8428
Listed Since: March 1999
Last Updated: February 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sparta, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
56 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brick House Farm B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Old Monroe School House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arthur's St Moritz
2) Brauhaus
3) Burger King
4) Cafe Pierrot
5) Carafello's Restaurant
6) Casa Mia
7) Central Italian Restaurant
8) Chicken Dun-Rite
9) Dairy Queen
10) Dunkin Donuts
11) Francesca's
12) Frank's Pizza & Restaurant
13) Fu's Chinese Restaurant
14) Gathering Place
15) Hunan Wok
16) Krogh's Restaurant
17) Lucky House Chinese Restaurant
18) Mohawk House
19) Nazzaro Room
20) New Sparta Diner
21) Ogdesburg Diner Inc
22) Ristorante Il Porto
23) Villa Capri Pizza
24) Wee'r Ona Roll
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
i had the three sisters and the golden wheat , both were well crafted and flavorfull. the food was also excellent, the baked potato skins and burgers are untouchable

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, florham park, NJ
(09/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
i had the three sisters and the golden wheat , both were well crafted and flavorfull. the food was also excellent, the baked potato skins and burgers are untouchable

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, florham park, NJ
(09/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good
only negative is the parking facilities

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Porges Jim Porges, Sparta, NJ
(05/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This was my second visit and was hesitant since the last visit a few years ago was nothing but rude service. I was pleased to find the servers attentive and nice. Beer quality very good and food excellent. This place gets packed early, so make a reservation. Only hitch was asking them to fill my growler, which they initially refused since it was from another BP. After some prodding and a talk with the manager, they did fill it. I emailed them asking about the reason for the growler policy but didn't receive a response.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Randolph, NJ
(05/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
This place is located overlooking a lake. Very crowed in warmer months,parking can be rather hard to come by. The first time (8/2000) we went there we walked about a 1/2 mile, just to find that there was no room at the bar, it was at least 3 deep. But the second time we went (4/2001) the place was empty,The beer was flavorful, I would go back again. But not in the summer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Teaneck, NJ
(05/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hampton, NJ
(02/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was fortunate to have some good timing on my side today. I found a parking spot that was not an obnoxious walk, and the brewer tapped his latest release, a very tasty mildly hopped porter that was nice and toasty with a slight hint of caramel. I ordered the wings and paired the two. What a perfect combination-the bite and pungency of the wings allowed the sweet subtleties of the beer to show through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Corona Corona, Lafayette, NJ
(01/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
The beer is very refreshing. The bar tenders, Jane,Nancy,and Karen are very accomidating and friendly. They are one of the reasons why you don't have to say to yourself "why did I bother coming here again."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Larry, Lafayette, NJ
(01/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
It's the best brew I've ever been to. Don't miss this little gem on Lake Mohawk. Christmas Celebration Ale has more flavor than any beer I've tasted, smooth, flavorful and rich. Food is outrageous!!!!!! Louis

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louis Sullivan Louis Sullivan, Albany, NY
(12/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Never before have I been to such a GREAT place. Log cabin on a lake with great beer, food and service. Prices were right on and I wish I lived closer. Octoberfest was the best I ever had and the stout was better than that. Nachos are to die for and I can't say enough about this awesome brew pub. If you like beer, food or just having a great time, go to Krogh's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from William Grabb William Grabb, Ann Arbor, MI
(10/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Cute place tucked away on a beautiful lake. Anyone who enjoys great beer, excellent food and exemplary service must make the trip to Krogh's. Too bad I live far away, I would become a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John McClair John McClair, Avalon, NJ
(09/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great beers for those who like light, drinkable beers. I am new to the brew pub scene and appreciate a variety of styles and flavors and Krogh's has it all. Best food and service I have ever experienced. Valet parking is great and shirts, hats and glassware for sale is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barbara Barbara, Andover, NJ
(08/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was my first visit to Krogh's while visiting family in nearby Newton, NJ. I was very happy with the selection of beers and quality was outstanding. The service we had at dinner was excellent and the manager very friendly. I will be back to Krogh's on my next visit to New Jersey. Don't miss this Brew Pub it is worth the trip.

Karen, Syracuse, New York

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Cipollone Karen Cipollone, Syracuse, NY
(07/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited Krogh's for the first time and was very impressed. Service was superior where the staff is caring and knowledgable. Had the best fajita in my live. The homemade Mud Pie was totally awesome. Pale Ale was my favorite and oatmeal stout was the best I ever had. Had always enjoyed Hartland Brewpub in New York City and now Krogh's is my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam Sam, Cedar Grove, NJ
(07/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Very friendly, helpful service... knowledgeable waitress explained beers, and their beer sampler platter helped make my choices easy! Hard to choose a favorite between the "hoppy" Pale Ale and the creamy Red Ale! Food was fantastic (I had an Andoullie Sausage Pizza from the Lunch Specials) and the variety of menu items was very impressive... everything from burgers to pasta to Mexican to seafood! I'm glad I live nearby, there's plenty of reason to come back again and again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Sparta, NJ
(07/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been to over 50 brew pubs and this, by far, was the very best!!! Beers are fresh, uniquely different and all delicious. Food is "out of this world," and the service is second to none. Nacho Supreme is unbelievable and I am now a full fledged regular. Log cabin interior is rustic and classy. Have found no other Brew Pub to compare with this GREAT SPOT!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Newton, NJ
(07/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Nice friendly place. I had the pale ale and nut brown. Both were very good. The food was tasty too: potato leek soup and a grilled chicken with blue cheese. Also, nice little town to walk around after a brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BrewPubGuy BrewPubGuy, Scranton, PA
(07/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good Lousy Lousy
I've been seeing the ads in regional brewspapers for a while, and my wife and I finally made the trip. Parking was impossible, service was rude, and the beer was akin to second rate homebrew. The food saved the evening from being a total disaster. Won't be going again; There are much better brewpubs in NJ for the price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newton, NJ
(07/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
This was my second visit to Krogh's (my first since they added their brewpub). Both times the food was excellent. The broiled seafood platter was great and the blackened ribeye special was absolutely mouthwatering. The nachos supreme orders at the other tables looked delicious. To get a taste of their beer lineup (selection of 7 hand-crafted on tap) I started with a 4 beer sampler. I chose their oatmeal stout, nut brown, pale ale and pilsner (seasonal). All four were very drinkable and enjoyable. I brew my own and would be very happy if my oatmeal stout or pilsner tasted as good. I hope that someday Krogh's adds a really hoppy IPA to its selection (possibly they had it as a seasonal at one time.) The place is small and reservations are definitely recommended (unless you sit at the bar.) I'm looking forward to my next visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Montvale, NJ
(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Pretty location in a little village on the lakeshore. Seafood dinner was superb. Pale ale was OK, a little watery. Seasonal pils was better. Lotta babes in the bar area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(06/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
As a response to the question: 'Why have valet parking', there are 2 reasons. First is lack of parking in the area. Second is the guy parking your car is a police officer, who gauges if people are too intoxicated to drive & calls them in to be arrested. Notice how he talked to everyone, especially the driver on your way out? This is not BS; this is the absolute truth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from _ _, _, _
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Great Celebrator Ale, Good Nut Brown, not many dark or cask conditioned choices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Parsippany, NJ
(01/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The red ale was very good as was the service. Why have valet parking for a brewpub????????????

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pd Pd, Verona, NJ
(11/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Good
Beer was good, one of the better microbrew stouts I've had; food was good. My visit was somewhat overshadowed by the service, which started with the incredibly rude guy parking cars (there is NO parking). Then, we asked for a table & they said an hour and 45 minutes; there were tables open. We asked & they said they were reserved. We ate/drank at the bar, getting good attention from the bartenders but the tables never filled. An hour & a half later, the hostess came over & said (sarcastic) "well, I guess you don't need a table, then". At this time more than half the tables were empty. Don't bother with this place unless you can deal with the overtly rude and snooty staff. I mean, it's a beer bar in Sparta, not a 5 star restaurant in Manhattan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, West Orange, NJ
(08/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So So So
Although I am not a beer drinker, I do enjoy good food, which we found here. When you ask for a "doggie" bag ask that the sauce or gravy be included and leave out the used lemon slice and parsley. Doubt that I'd make the trip again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Celeste Lombardo Celeste Lombardo, Elmwood Park, NJ
(07/12/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.464 seconds) 18:25:43 54.196.194.204, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS