PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub - Sparta, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 02:58 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Sparta > Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
23 White Deer Plaza
Sparta, NJ 07871
United States
(973) 729-8428
Listed Since: March 1999
Last Updated: February 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sparta, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub
56 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brick House Farm B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Old Monroe School House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arthur's St Moritz
2) Brauhaus
3) Burger King
4) Cafe Pierrot
5) Carafello's Restaurant
6) Casa Mia
7) Central Italian Restaurant
8) Chicken Dun-Rite
9) Dairy Queen
10) Dunkin Donuts
11) Francesca's
12) Frank's Pizza & Restaurant
13) Fu's Chinese Restaurant
14) Gathering Place
15) Hunan Wok
16) Krogh's Restaurant
17) Lucky House Chinese Restaurant
18) Mohawk House
19) Nazzaro Room
20) New Sparta Diner
21) Ogdesburg Diner Inc
22) Ristorante Il Porto
23) Villa Capri Pizza
24) Wee'r Ona Roll
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
While I thought the beers, over all, were a little too hoppy (especially the maibock), they were very good beers. The red ale is worth having a pint or two of.

The food was incredible. The babyback ribs were plentiful and the sauce didn't overpower the meat.

The wait staff was very cheerful and attentive to my party's needs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(04/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Living only 10 minutes from Krogh's, I've been there multiple times, and I always find myself coming back. The food really is good, especially for standard pub fare. The beer, on the other hand, is good, but nothing special.

The Brogden Meadow Pale Ale is very nice, but they have a habit of serving it far too cold. The Red Ale is also quite nice, as is the Oatmeal Stout. Their golden ale is far too light and lacks flavor; I find it similar to Labatt. The IPA I had a few weeks ago was absolutely awful... incredibly salty and lacking any true hops flavor whatsoever. I plan on going in sometime this week to try their Belgian Wit, which is hopefully better than the IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sparta, NJ
(07/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
In reply to Thomas from PA: I'm not exactly sure what you are describing. Perhaps your palate has been desensitized by the moonshine you hillbillies from PA drink. I believe you are confusing the smoothness of the beer with, what you call, lack of flavor. All of their beers, literally all of them, are very flavorful yet very smooth to consume. No bite, no kick, just smooth refreshing taste. They are great.

I would recommend not chugging them, but rather try to hold the liquid in your mouth, pushing the beer through your mouth fully emerging your tongue around the beer to saturate all of your tastebuds, then swallow. That, Thomas, is how you taste test a beer and if you were to implement this process, you will begin to taste the immense flavors and realize what you have been missing.

Highly recommend Krogh's beers but bring a driver with you because your going to want to try all 7 of them, and not just a little sample either. Man up and get a pint of each. Cheers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ross Ross, Green Pond, NJ
(07/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
I have heard so much about Kroghs in NJ and could not wait to try this place out. It is located in an upper class area that stretches around a few nice lakes large enough for power boating. However, when it comes down to it, the beer was not as great as the pub and its location. This place has quite the reputation as a must get to place for quality micro, and yet, it is not tops in the state of NJ.

Kroghs gold- really nothing to it, its a typical gold without the flavor

Alpine glow red- when it comes to my beer excursions I have only come across 2 reds that actually stand out, and this was not one of them. It is a typical red that is just a beer and really no distinguished flavors worth reminiscing about.

Pale ale- I liked this beer and found it an odd sort in the pale ale category. It had a very sweet initial taste in which I expected the more familiar burst of bitterness and hop character. I had a few more. If you are a hop person and demand a strong taste, this beer will be a disappointment under its given category.

Nut Brown- typical easy to drink brown with a slight nutty taste, nothing really special about it.

Oatmeal stout- It was a good stout with a sweet taste to it

Abbey- it seemed like this may have been their first attempt and was clearly served way too young. Had they given it some age to build character, it may have been 100 times better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(05/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
All of the beer recipes were good, but they all had a noticeable amount of diacetyl. Some more than others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Denver, CO
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The brewpub is in downtown Sparta on the lake in a collection of Bavarian style buildings. Inside the place looks like a log cabin. They have a restaurant that served decent food; basic pub fare. We stopped in for lunch with my parents on our way to Delaware Water Gap. I started with the Log Cabin Nut Brown Ale, which was a dark brown ale with a good head on it and a good, malty, slightly nutty flavor; smooth and quite good. My wife ordered the Brogden Meadow Pale Ale; a decent pale ale – hoppy with a malty background. My dad had the Krogh’s Gold; a decent amber colored golden ale with a good deal of malt and a nice amount of hoppiness to it. I also tried the Alpine Glow Red Ale, which was my favorite; a fantastic malty, slightly hoppy red ale with a deep amber color and a nice malty aroma.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The quality of the beer at Krogh's has been pretty stable now for some time, seasonal selections have been quite good, including some lagered beers which is always nice to see. They don't have much in the way of Happy Hour or special pricing unfortunatley but at least you can still get a sandwich or a personal pizza for $8 - $9.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Courtney Renegar Courtney Renegar, Netcong, NJ
(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
Not bad, but nothing to go out of the way for

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Silbiger Russ Silbiger, Ashland, OR
(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
The beer was served way too cold and all of them just seemed flat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Restino Gary Restino, Round Lake, NY
(02/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Great
I am lucky enough to live not too far from Krogh's and always look forward to returning. The beer is a top notch craft brew. Being particularly fond of Oatmeal Stout's (a brew not easily pulled off well) I find theirs to be among the best I have had - A deep and complex flavor with a perfect finish that leaves you waiting for the next sip. Kroghs is full of atmosphere in the old log cabin on lake Mohawk and the staff (I think it is a family run business) are always attentive and friendly. Can't wait for my next trip back...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kubs Kyle Kubs, Jefferson, NJ
(12/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
Been there the last two wednesdays, first time it was packed the 2nd time it was the deadest i ever saw the place. Beer was its ussual good quality, 2 comments though (1) i agree with Geoff N from a few reviews back, lately the beer has been to cold. (2) there latest seasonal, oktoberfest, my favorite, seems to give me a headache the next day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(10/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
I stopped for a quck sandwich and had a sampler of seven brews. The soup and sandwich were very good , and the beers were excellent. I particularly liked the "Three Sisters"; the red ale was my least favorite. I can see where parking might be a problem at night, but at three in the afternoon I parked right in front of the front door. The place is cozy as hell. I bet it's great in the winter. I'll definitely have a few more lunches there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Additional dark beers would be an enhancement (my favorite). It would also help if the beers were served slightly warmer. Great menu, a nice place to relax with friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff N Geoff N, Morris Plains, NJ
(08/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
back again a couple of sundays ago, place was really light on customers. another round of good solid quality pints, though a little more barley in the mash would be welcomed. found out that they have a beer club, only 75 brews and you get dinner or a choice of some other things, not a bad deal, only 70 more to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Apart from the great beer and food, this is the place to go for live music. The parking in Lake Mohawk leaves a lot to be desired but it is well worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Keith, Lake Hopatcong, NJ
(02/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
that's for g-damn sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Beer snob, you spelled "wasabi" correctly, as far as my limited intellect can tell.

You didn't hear any complaints because you didn't invite me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim M Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(11/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
We went on a Friday night at 8:30 were seated right away, place was pretty busy. I opted for an Oktoberfest which was very tasty, althougha little light on body. Also tried the IPA which sees like strange choice for a pub that has a rep for not hopping enough, it was a little light on the hops for style, but me not being a hop guy, i likey. For dinner i had a tuna steak w/ wasabi(sp?) sauce, both were excellent, heard no complaints from anyone in the party about either food or beer. My friends live right up the street but i would be back anyway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(11/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A quaint, almost cheeky, building. Darkly painted log interior with a closeness warmed by the sun coming through the large window in the bar area. Our bartender was polite and attentive. We started with a sampler and moved on to some full size samplings. All beers were stylistically brewed and very drinkable. Their "light" gold was surprisingly flavorful, the pale ale was well balanced and not over-hopped, the nut brown was delicously malty, and the oatmeal stout had great body and mouthfeel. The food which we ordered for lunch was moderately priced, promptly served and very tasty. An overall enjoyable pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Erdman Rob Erdman, Bloomsburg, PA
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The ambiance of this place was great. The old historic building reminded me of my beer drinking days in Germany. We ordered the Three Sisters Wheat and the beer was so good we never bothered getting anything else. Pints were $4.25 and a cheeseburger with fried $8.95. A bit pricy, but what really sold me is that the restaurant (not the bar area!) is now smoke free!!! I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Connie, Pemberton, NJ
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I`ve been going to Krough`s since it became a brewpub and it has only gotten better. They brew some really good beers there(whenever they`re serving their alt beer, I recommend trying it.).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Maksymo Mike Maksymo, Byram, NJ
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
It takes me about 30-40 minutes to get to Krogh's from my home but it is well worth the trip. The beers are great and the ribs are among the best I've ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Tjaden Bill Tjaden, Oakland, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
We had an 8 beer sampler and, except for a couple of standouts (Nut Brown in particular), the beers were solid, but lacked character (maybe they were served too cold?). Food was fantastic though, and the service in the bar area (we didn't have reservations) was friendly and attentive. Cool old building, too. We'd definitely return...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We really enjoyed the ambiance of this place and the setting by Lake Mohawk is most enjoyable. Walking around the town is also a treat. The Nut Brown was unusually smoky and gave it an excellent taste. The food was more than we could eat and very flavorful. We are quite a ways from there, but hope to get back again soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
4 to 5 decent beers on tap(stout & pale ale very good) Food good but this is Lake Mohawk & pricey! Excellent live music on week-ends & a wonderful short walk up the Lake Mohawk boardwalk at night. Catch the Kings In Disguise when you can!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review northeast, NJ
(05/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
i had the three sisters and the golden wheat , both were well crafted and flavorfull. the food was also excellent, the baked potato skins and burgers are untouchable

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, florham park, NJ
(09/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
i had the three sisters and the golden wheat , both were well crafted and flavorfull. the food was also excellent, the baked potato skins and burgers are untouchable

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, florham park, NJ
(09/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good
only negative is the parking facilities

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Porges Jim Porges, Sparta, NJ
(05/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This was my second visit and was hesitant since the last visit a few years ago was nothing but rude service. I was pleased to find the servers attentive and nice. Beer quality very good and food excellent. This place gets packed early, so make a reservation. Only hitch was asking them to fill my growler, which they initially refused since it was from another BP. After some prodding and a talk with the manager, they did fill it. I emailed them asking about the reason for the growler policy but didn't receive a response.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Randolph, NJ
(05/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
This place is located overlooking a lake. Very crowed in warmer months,parking can be rather hard to come by. The first time (8/2000) we went there we walked about a 1/2 mile, just to find that there was no room at the bar, it was at least 3 deep. But the second time we went (4/2001) the place was empty,The beer was flavorful, I would go back again. But not in the summer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Teaneck, NJ
(05/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hampton, NJ
(02/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was fortunate to have some good timing on my side today. I found a parking spot that was not an obnoxious walk, and the brewer tapped his latest release, a very tasty mildly hopped porter that was nice and toasty with a slight hint of caramel. I ordered the wings and paired the two. What a perfect combination-the bite and pungency of the wings allowed the sweet subtleties of the beer to show through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Corona Corona, Lafayette, NJ
(01/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
The beer is very refreshing. The bar tenders, Jane,Nancy,and Karen are very accomidating and friendly. They are one of the reasons why you don't have to say to yourself "why did I bother coming here again."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Larry, Lafayette, NJ
(01/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
It's the best brew I've ever been to. Don't miss this little gem on Lake Mohawk. Christmas Celebration Ale has more flavor than any beer I've tasted, smooth, flavorful and rich. Food is outrageous!!!!!! Louis

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louis Sullivan Louis Sullivan, Albany, NY
(12/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Never before have I been to such a GREAT place. Log cabin on a lake with great beer, food and service. Prices were right on and I wish I lived closer. Octoberfest was the best I ever had and the stout was better than that. Nachos are to die for and I can't say enough about this awesome brew pub. If you like beer, food or just having a great time, go to Krogh's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from William Grabb William Grabb, Ann Arbor, MI
(10/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Cute place tucked away on a beautiful lake. Anyone who enjoys great beer, excellent food and exemplary service must make the trip to Krogh's. Too bad I live far away, I would become a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John McClair John McClair, Avalon, NJ
(09/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great beers for those who like light, drinkable beers. I am new to the brew pub scene and appreciate a variety of styles and flavors and Krogh's has it all. Best food and service I have ever experienced. Valet parking is great and shirts, hats and glassware for sale is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barbara Barbara, Andover, NJ
(08/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was my first visit to Krogh's while visiting family in nearby Newton, NJ. I was very happy with the selection of beers and quality was outstanding. The service we had at dinner was excellent and the manager very friendly. I will be back to Krogh's on my next visit to New Jersey. Don't miss this Brew Pub it is worth the trip.

Karen, Syracuse, New York

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Cipollone Karen Cipollone, Syracuse, NY
(07/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited Krogh's for the first time and was very impressed. Service was superior where the staff is caring and knowledgable. Had the best fajita in my live. The homemade Mud Pie was totally awesome. Pale Ale was my favorite and oatmeal stout was the best I ever had. Had always enjoyed Hartland Brewpub in New York City and now Krogh's is my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam Sam, Cedar Grove, NJ
(07/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Very friendly, helpful service... knowledgeable waitress explained beers, and their beer sampler platter helped make my choices easy! Hard to choose a favorite between the "hoppy" Pale Ale and the creamy Red Ale! Food was fantastic (I had an Andoullie Sausage Pizza from the Lunch Specials) and the variety of menu items was very impressive... everything from burgers to pasta to Mexican to seafood! I'm glad I live nearby, there's plenty of reason to come back again and again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Sparta, NJ
(07/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been to over 50 brew pubs and this, by far, was the very best!!! Beers are fresh, uniquely different and all delicious. Food is "out of this world," and the service is second to none. Nacho Supreme is unbelievable and I am now a full fledged regular. Log cabin interior is rustic and classy. Have found no other Brew Pub to compare with this GREAT SPOT!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Newton, NJ
(07/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Nice friendly place. I had the pale ale and nut brown. Both were very good. The food was tasty too: potato leek soup and a grilled chicken with blue cheese. Also, nice little town to walk around after a brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BrewPubGuy BrewPubGuy, Scranton, PA
(07/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good Lousy Lousy
I've been seeing the ads in regional brewspapers for a while, and my wife and I finally made the trip. Parking was impossible, service was rude, and the beer was akin to second rate homebrew. The food saved the evening from being a total disaster. Won't be going again; There are much better brewpubs in NJ for the price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newton, NJ
(07/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
This was my second visit to Krogh's (my first since they added their brewpub). Both times the food was excellent. The broiled seafood platter was great and the blackened ribeye special was absolutely mouthwatering. The nachos supreme orders at the other tables looked delicious. To get a taste of their beer lineup (selection of 7 hand-crafted on tap) I started with a 4 beer sampler. I chose their oatmeal stout, nut brown, pale ale and pilsner (seasonal). All four were very drinkable and enjoyable. I brew my own and would be very happy if my oatmeal stout or pilsner tasted as good. I hope that someday Krogh's adds a really hoppy IPA to its selection (possibly they had it as a seasonal at one time.) The place is small and reservations are definitely recommended (unless you sit at the bar.) I'm looking forward to my next visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Montvale, NJ
(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Pretty location in a little village on the lakeshore. Seafood dinner was superb. Pale ale was OK, a little watery. Seasonal pils was better. Lotta babes in the bar area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(06/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
As a response to the question: 'Why have valet parking', there are 2 reasons. First is lack of parking in the area. Second is the guy parking your car is a police officer, who gauges if people are too intoxicated to drive & calls them in to be arrested. Notice how he talked to everyone, especially the driver on your way out? This is not BS; this is the absolute truth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from _ _, _, _
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Great Celebrator Ale, Good Nut Brown, not many dark or cask conditioned choices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Parsippany, NJ
(01/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The red ale was very good as was the service. Why have valet parking for a brewpub????????????

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pd Pd, Verona, NJ
(11/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Good
Beer was good, one of the better microbrew stouts I've had; food was good. My visit was somewhat overshadowed by the service, which started with the incredibly rude guy parking cars (there is NO parking). Then, we asked for a table & they said an hour and 45 minutes; there were tables open. We asked & they said they were reserved. We ate/drank at the bar, getting good attention from the bartenders but the tables never filled. An hour & a half later, the hostess came over & said (sarcastic) "well, I guess you don't need a table, then". At this time more than half the tables were empty. Don't bother with this place unless you can deal with the overtly rude and snooty staff. I mean, it's a beer bar in Sparta, not a 5 star restaurant in Manhattan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, West Orange, NJ
(08/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So So So
Although I am not a beer drinker, I do enjoy good food, which we found here. When you ask for a "doggie" bag ask that the sauce or gravy be included and leave out the used lemon slice and parsley. Doubt that I'd make the trip again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Celeste Lombardo Celeste Lombardo, Elmwood Park, NJ
(07/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
I hate to take exception to everyone else, but I wouldn't make the trip again. The food was good but the bus people wouldn't let us alone. They kept trying to take our plates even though we weren't finished. The beer was good but again not worth the trip. If you like hops this is not the place. Their Pale Ale could have used more bittering hops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Elmwood Park, NJ
(07/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
While the beer was, overall, very good, I found little difference between them. The serving staff was excellent. Very nice little hole in the wall. I'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Bravado Phil Bravado, Bronx, NY
(07/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Second visit since they converted to a Brewpub and already I can taste an improvment in the quality of home brews. Again the food was as awesome as anticipated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(05/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
Average to above average in quality, though not for hops lovers as malt dominates most selections. OK variety with solid bottle selection. Decor a real drawback - tacky pseudo logs; regulars seem to get better service. Prices standard, no bargain. Worth a try if in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(04/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
Visited when just converted to Brewpub,beer was good,selection was limited food was awesome and service was great.2/27/99

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
They also have alot of other beers on tap .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louis Ambrosini Louis Ambrosini, Staten Island, NY
(03/22/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.3 seconds) 14:58:59 54.145.183.126, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS