PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company - Asheville, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 01:28 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Asheville > Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company
Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.9 / 100
675 Merrimon Avenue
Asheville, NC 28804
United States
(828) 254-5339
Listed Since: April 1999
Last Updated: October 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Asheville, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
33 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(25 within 5 miles)
1) Nine Mile
(0 mile)

2) Barley's Taproom
(4 miles)

3) Green Man Brewing Company/ Dirty Jack's
(4 miles)

4) ED Boudreaux's Bayou Bar-B-Que
(4 miles)

5) Scully's Signature Dine and Drink
(4 miles)

6) Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company
(4 miles)

7) Thirsty Monk
(4 miles)

8) Rankin Vault
(4 miles)

9) Craggie Brewing Company
(4 miles)

10) Wedge Brewing Company
(4 miles)

11) Wild Wing Cafe
(4 miles)

12) Scully's
(4 miles)

13) Highland Brewing Company
(4 miles)

14) Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery
(4 miles)

15) Bier Garden
(4 miles)

16) Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub
(4 miles)

17) French Broad Brewing Company
(4 miles)

18) Mellow Mushroom
(4 miles)

19) Charlotte Street Grill
(4 miles)

20) Lexington Avenue Brewery
(4 miles)

21) Root Bar Number One
(5 miles)

22) Burgermeister's Kitchen and Tap
(5 miles)

23) Ruby's Tap House
(5 miles)

24) Fred's Speak Easy
(5 miles)

25) Westville Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed of Roses
2) A Hill House Bed & Breakfast
3) Abbington Green B & B
4) Aberdeen Inn
5) Albemarle Inn
6) Applewood Manor
7) Beaufort House Victorian Bed
8) Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast
9) Bridle Path Inn
10) Carolina Bed & Breakfast
11) Chestnut Street Inn
12) Colby House
13) Cumberland Falls B & B Inn
14) Day Dreams Inn B & B
15) Dogwood Cottage Inn
16) Dry Ridge Inn
17) Flint Street Inns B & B
18) Inn on Main Street
19) Inn on Montford
20) Lion & the Rose
21) Miller's Mountain Cabin
22) Old Reynolds Mansion
23) Scarlett Inn & Cottage
24) Secret Garden
25) Sourwood Inn
26) White Gate Inn & Cottage
27) Wright Inn & Carriage House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW ASHEVILLE BILTMORE
2) BW OF ASHEVILLE BILTMORE EAST
3) COUNTRY INN STES ASHEVILLE TUN
4) COURTYARD ASHVILLE
5) DAYS INN ASHEVILLE NORTH
6) DAYS INN ASHEVILLE PATTON AVE
7) DAYS INN ASHVILLE MALL
8) ECONO LODGE BILTMORE ASHEVILLE
9) EXTENDEDSTAY TUNNEL ROAD
10) GROVE PARK INN RESORT AND SPA
11) HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES SOUTH
13) RAMADA LIMITED CENTRAL
14) RAMADA PLAZA HOTEL - ASHEVILLE
15) RENAISSANCE ASHEVILLE HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alexander, Mrs. Minnie, Cottage
2) Arcade Building
3) Asheville City Hall
4) Asheville Transfer and Storage Company Building
5) B & B Motor Company Building
6) Battery Park Hotel
7) Bryan, William Jennings, House
8) Building at 130--132 Biltmore Avenue
9) Building at 134--136 1/2 Biltmore Avenue
10) Building at 140 Biltmore Avenue
11) Buncombe County Boys' Training School, (Former)
12) Buncombe County Courthouse
13) Church of St. Lawrence
14) Church of the Redeemer
15) Claxton School
16) Conabeer Chrysler Building
17) Demens-Rumbough-Crawley House
18) Downtown Asheville Historic District (Boundary Increase II)
19) Downtown Asheville Historic District (Boundary Increase)
20) E. D. Latta Nurses' Residence
21) Ellington, Douglas, House
22) Fire Station Number 4
23) First Baptist Church
24) George A. Mears House
25) Grove Park Inn
26) Jarrett, Thomas, House
27) North Carolina Electrical Power Company Electric Generating Plant
28) Ottari Sanitarium
29) Overlook
30) Ravenscroft School
31) Reynolds House
32) Reynolds, Dr. Carl V., House
33) Richbourg Motors Building
34) Richmond Hill House
35) Sawyer Motor Company Building
36) Schoenberger Hall
37) St. Luke's Episcopal Church
38) St. Mary's Church
39) St. Matthias Episcopal Church
40) Weaverville United Methodist Church
41) Wolfe, Thomas, House
42) Young Men's Institute Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Asheville Pizza & Brewing Co
2) Back Yard Burgers
3) Beaver Lake Seafood & Steak
4) Bellagio Bistro
5) Blue Marine Sub Inc
6) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
7) Burger King
8) Circle In The Square Pizza
9) Dog Day Cafe
10) Domino's Pizza
11) El Chapala Mexican Restaurant
12) Fine Friends Restaurant
13) Fireplace Restaurant
14) Granny's Kitchen
15) Grove Park Inn Resort
16) Grovewood Cafe
17) H B's Drive In
18) Home Folks Diner
19) Horizons
20) Hunter's Lodge
21) Marco's Pizza
22) Mc Donald's
23) Merrimon Stick House Grille
24) Michael's Restaurant
25) New China Chinese Food
26) Nick's Sandwiches & Subs
27) Nine Mile
28) Noi Thai Kitchen
29) Northside Grill & Bar
30) Palatable Catering
31) Papa John's Pizza
32) Pit Stop Sportz Bar
33) Pizza Hut
34) Pizza Hut
35) Port City Java
36) Savoy Restaurant
37) Sisters' Cafe
38) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
39) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
40) Sunnyside Cafe
41) Taquiera Fast
42) Urban Burrito
43) Usual Suspects
44) Zen Sushi
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
I think we hit this place at a bad time. They were completely mobbed. Trying to eat on the Salad/Pizza bar was an adventure. There was no pizza or no plates. But, the beer was good.

They had 8 different beers on tap and all except th stout were quite good, most notable the Shivia IPA, Scottish Ale, and ESB.

If you are in Asheville looking to sample the local brews this stop is a must on your list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(12/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
I think we hit this place at a bad time, it was completely mobbed. The places seems really unorganized, trying to eat from the pizza buffet was an adventure. Either there was no pizza or no places. They didn't seem to be able to keep up on the salad fixin' either. But the beer is good! We samples the current drafts, had I believe 8. Most notable were: Shivia IPA, Scottish Ale, and the ESB. The rest were all pretty good as well, the only beer I did't care for was the stout. If you are in touring Asheville and looking for the good local brews, inspite of the chaos, the beer makes this place worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(12/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Great
We just goooottt Bacck . . . An enjoyable visit, had a Greaaat time. Waitress was really cute ~ but _not_ on the calendar (what's _that_ about???).

Got a sampler. They were out of the Red Light and all of of the Seasonals. (Which is a shame beacuse the JT's Oatmeal sounded great!)

Started with the Ninja Porter. It was pretty good. Friedn Tom (I _still_ owe him goats for my sister!!! tha bastard.) started with Rolands ESB (She _was_ on the calendar, AND working toay!). Yummy. Slightyly sweet, but improved with drinking as his beer googles took effect.

Mickey says please excuse the honest review after many brews . . . (He "thinks he's a poet and don't know it")

We graduated to their Shiva IPAS ~ Tom's personal favorite ~ which we think is also our personal favorite. At first lacked a little depth. Returning after numerous other beers it became full-bodied and delicious! (Rather like their fund-raising calendar, which we had examined by then.)

Lots of cute girls in the bar. Thoguh Mickey thinks he's a chubby milf chaser.

Ooops. Did I say that out loud???

Hmmm. Must mean the beer was good, and abunatly available. (Our bill, food and drinks for five, and a couple of hours socializing, was over a hundred dollars. We were blessed in that the police did not ask us to leave and we _DID_ leave a well earned tip.)

Slante'

We had fun. You will too!

Peace out Brothers! ~ Mickey & Tom & Carl (&Pat & Dad!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Thomas Michael Thomas, Highlands, NJ
(12/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
I was in Asheville for work and of course was looking for a brewery to try some local beer when I stumbled upon this gem. Tried the Houdini ESP and the Rook Porter, both were fabulous. To eat I had the Greek pizza which was very good. The reason I rated the overall excellent is for the atmosphere and the movie theater they have. If you are in Asheville this is a must see.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Roanoke, VA
(05/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good
This is a great place to go and enjoy a good movie and good food for a very desent price. The service is a little slow but the food is worth it. If you go just remember to look for the best seats because some seats are broken and also to let you know the seats do rock so dont think that there all broken.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from meagan meagan, Arden, NC
(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Went to Asheville for the Brewgrass Festival and ate here the night before. I was kind of skeptical of how the beer would taste since I had not really heard much about it. Started with a pitcher each of the Shiva IPA, and the Houdini ESP. Both were outstanding, and I think our party of 6 drank 6 pitchers between us. I figured we would taste the other beers at the Festival, and was not disappointed by any of them. The pizza too was outstanding. It's a couple miles from downtown, but well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim McDonald Tim McDonald, Jamestown, NC
(10/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great
Wide selection of their own beers although a lot of them fall into the same general spectrum. They usually have a nice set of guest beers as well. In the winter, and before movies start it can be nearly impossible to get a table and/or a beer here. The downtown location is a lot more relaxed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Good Great
stopped in there 2 times in ashville and had a really good sandwich, pizza was good, and the chips and cheese sauce app. was good. its a cool place and an odd one for a brewpub. kinda felt like if brewpubs were in the 80s, this would be the local hangout. asheville has a few nice beer spots and this would be great to have around my house. i mean i like the brewpub atmosphere of a meal and beers, but this place is like a pizza parlor meets a microbrewery. what a cool concept. the beers were easy to drink and fine with what i tasted, the last reviewer must have had a bad batch or so. i drank the ESB and the ESP and found them enjoyable. the rook was an ok porter to have. stop in, have a slice, and enjoy a movie. its very kid friendly there too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Great So So
Beer: absolutely 2nd, possibly 3rd, rate. Houdini esp had so much diacetyl in it that it was marginally drinkable and, in my opinion, unsaleable. The rollands (sp?) esb also had elevated levels of diacetyl. the porter and scottish ales seemed to be better crafted but i didn't taste more than an ounce or 2. Food: I should've ordered pizza, I suppose, but the pasta was terribly non-descript. Nothing wrong with it, just a little disappointing. The place, otherwise, seemed pretty fun and funky... a good place to take your kids. Very smokey bar scene

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ray mcneill ray mcneill, brattleboro, VT
(11/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Uniqueness of this place scores major points. The movie theater was great looking...wish I could have taken in a flick while there. Lunch buffet had ecclectic pies...nice change of pace from standard pepporoni selections. Only downside is that they have no sampler-sized portions. I always get the samplers, then a pint or two of what I liked. Without the sampler, was only able to try two brews (it was lunch, after all).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Asheville is blessed to have so many fine places to enjoy beer and Asheville Pizza & Brewing should be at the top of the list. It's quirky, funky; just like so much of this great town. 6 of their beers on tap (they were out of 2) and overall they were excellent! The Scottish was mild--a good beer for the long haul. Houdini ESP was a nice ale, just hoppy enough to keep you wanting more. Two IPA to pick from and while both were nice, I favored the Shiva over the Red Light--it had just more of the hop bite that I've come to crave. Rook Porter evened out the dark end of their beers, smooth and chocolatey. $3 pints are more than reasonable for this quality. No samplers to buy, but they accomodate you with tastes of anything. Daily pizza buffet for $6 is a good way to soak up the beer. The decor is unique and lets you know right off that you're in for a good time. There's also a theater attached--beers are available, $2 a ticket--new flicks every Fri (they were playing a belly dance video the first evening I was there!). My server Angela was a sweet girl, and was more than helpful and a good conversation partner. All the staff here are enthusiastic and seem to enjoy their jobs. A second location downtown is scheduled to open soon--more great beer news for Asheville!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great
Great atmosphere, friendly service, rather quick with the food, best beer in Asheville, NTN trivia is a big drawing card here. Only thing they need to do is revise the menu a bit and do a little better job with preparation. Pizzas are great but other part of the menu is rather outdated and needs refreshing a bit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Banks Don Banks, Mars Hill, NC
(04/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Good
I should start off by saying that for our honeymoon, we took a beer trip from Asheville to Memphis so you may see a few reviews from me. This place is a great family place obviously. We never found our waiter so a wonderful manager had to take care of us. They dont offer samplers which so it took so several tries to find a beer that we liked. We both agreed that the Red Light IPA was really tasty. We werent too impressed with the others. They pizza we ordered was delicious and the buffet they offered had a lot of selections.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
Only one I could find in Ashville

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
About the least pretentious brewery you could ever find, they usually have about 8 of their brews on tap (The Porter and Scottish are my favorites) and maybe anoth 8 interesting guest beers. Pizza is fantastic. My only complaint is that the bar could be a little bigger, it's pretty much always full.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(07/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
They had a good selection of beers--two IPAs, a pale ale ("ESP"), ESB, porter, stout, and scottish. I thought the pale ale (ESP) was the best for it's style. The IPAs were a bit weak for their style. Pizza was great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TexJets TexJets, Cary, NC
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Asheville Pizza and Brewery is a unique establishment that was constructed out of a former two- screen movie theatre. One side of the theatre still shows movies while the other side has been converted into a game room with a giant screen television for sports viewing.

Six different craft brews were available when I visited: Looking Glass Gold, Roland's ESB, Houdini ESP, Shiva IPA, Rook Porter, and Scout Stout. All were good, with Shiva IPA and Rook Porter the standouts.

The pizza here is incredible, and so is the staff. Head brewer/owner Doug Riley is a nice, friendly guy- the type you expect when you visit a brewpub. The combination of great food and beer, combined with a unique atmosphere, makes Asheville Pizza and Brewery one of the nation's best brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Carey Bryan Carey, Kettering, OH
(04/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
One of the best pies I have had outside of Chicago and Pizza Port (Solana Beach Brewing, CA). Waitress was friendly and helpful with suggestions. Lots of guest beers. Their own beers, the Shiva and the Houdini, were very good. If I lived in Asheville I'd be here at least once a week. Only gripe is that we thought they would be showing the NCAA tourney in the theater, but I guess since UNC-Asheville Dawgs were already gone, they opted to go with some lame Sandra Bullock movie. Oh well, games were on the small TVs in front.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Actaully went there twice on my visit to Asheville. Beer is very good, I think between the two trips we tried all their beers. the Stout was our favorite. Pizzas were very good too. Theater sized screen was great for watching the NFL playoffs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bullock Bill Bullock, Atlanta, GA
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Very Cool Place with a little bit of everything, I even found game boards for the kids to play. A Real Nice Tap selection and a cool theater with comfy chairs. A must visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
An interesting place, that didn’t really win me and my girlfriend over until our third and last visit. This place consists of basically three areas. A small front room (good luck getting a table there), with an average-sized bar and a few TV’s. A huge back room, with a movie-sized big screen and an odd selection of video games (DigDoug, anyone?), a few pool tables, and picnic tables. For the first two times, we had to place our food order at the bar, and make multiple trips from the “TV Room” to the bar for any sort of liquid refreshment. Tedious, especially with the high-schoolers running amok, and no A/C. Service was also a bit spotty. The highlight of this whole place, on the other hand, is the second back room, i.e. the movie theatre. Comfy seats (or couches), with a table in front of each row (for beer and the excellent beer-sponges), air-conditioning, and it’s own bar for food and drink. Rather cool to pay $2 for Star Wars II, to laugh at the übergeeks, while within 10’ of the well-stocked bar. As far the beer goes…. Shiva I.P.A: You know you’re in good hands, when this mighty tasty Cascade-ridden IPA is their flagship beer. Houdini ESP (Extra Special Pale): Very nice, similar to Full Sail’s stuff. Scout Stout – Basic Irish-style dry stout. Scott’s Scottish: Not as heavy-handed as most ales of this type; quite interesting. Worth checking out...//TB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TBissell TBissell, San Diego, CA
(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Disagree with the earlier rave reviews on the beer--it was good, but not nearly as varied or flavorful as many other brewpubs. The pizza was very good ("kind of grows on you", as my wife put it). The decor is nothing short of bizarre, but along with the pizza is one of the things that makes the place worth a visit if you are in the neighborhood. Service was very friendly and helpful, but visits from the server were a somewhat distantly spaced. Summary: Average

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Kelly Brian Kelly, Dunwoody, GA
(08/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is a college establishment with interesting decor and fantastic pizza. Very diverse crowd of people there. I had the IPA which was very good. Service was prompt and attentive even though the place was packed. Great place to go after touring the Biltmore Estate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Huber Matt Huber, Suffield, OH
(03/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Good Good
The purple exterior paint, scenes painted on the interior, movie theater, specialty pizza and laid back atmosphere all seem to fit together after a beer or 2. Unfortunately they only offered a Pale and IPA, but both were very good. The gourmet pizza was also very good, but the crowds come for the cheap movies. This place is definitely worth a visit, but be prepared to go back to college for an hour or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(06/05/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.315 seconds) 13:28:41 54.161.214.221, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS