PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Distillery - Rochester, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 12:24 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Rochester > Distillery
Distillery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Distillery
Overall: Good    Score: 65.9 / 100
1142 Mount Hope Avenue
Rochester, NY 14620
United States
(716) 271-4105
Listed Since: May 1999
Last Updated: December 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Rochester, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
22 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(20 within 5 miles)
1) Tap and Mallet
(0 mile)

2) Monty's Krown
(0 mile)

3) Elmwood Inn
(0 mile)

4) Jeremiah's Tavern
(0 mile)

5) Old Toad
(2 miles)

6) California Rollin' Sushi Bar
(2 miles)

7) Acme Bar and Pizza
(2 miles)

8) Salinger's Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

9) Abilene Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

10) Monty's Korner
(2 miles)

11) Monty's Korner
(2 miles)

12) Shea's Brewery
(3 miles)

13) High Falls Brewing Company
(3 miles)

14) Otter Lodge Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

15) Flour City Brewing, Incorporated
(3 miles)

16) The Distillery
(3 miles)

17) J. B. Quimby's Public House
(3 miles)

18) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(3 miles)

19) Rohrbach's Railroad Street Brewery
(4 miles)

20) Johnny's Irish Pub
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed & Breakfast At Dartmouth
2) Bed & Breakfast-428 MT Vernon
3) Edward Harris House B & B Inn
4) Executive Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN DIPLOMAT HOTEL
2) CLARION RIVERSIDE HOTEL
3) COMFORT INN CENTRAL
4) COMFORT SUITES ROCHESTER
5) COUNTRY INN STES ROCHESTER S
6) COURTYARD ROCHESTER BRIGHTON
7) DAYS HOTEL ROCHESTER
8) DAYS INN ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN
9) DAYS INN ROCHESTER THRUWAY
10) EXTENDEDSTAY HENRIETTA
11) HAMPTON INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
12) HOMEWOOD SUITE HENRIETTA
13) HYATT REGENCY ROCHESTER
14) INN ON BROADWAY
15) PARK PLAZA ROCHESTER AIRPORT
16) SUPER 8 HENRIETTA
17) WELLESLEY INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Andrews Street Bridge
2) Anthony, Susan B., House
3) Bevier Memorial Building
4) Brick Presbyterian Church Complex
5) Brown, Adam, Block
6) Building at 551--555 North Goodman Street
7) Campbell-Whittlesey House
8) Chamber of Commerce
9) Child, Jonathan, House & Brewster-Burke House Historic District
10) City Hall Historic District
11) Cohen, H. C., Company Building--Andrews Building
12) Court Exchange Building--National Casket Company
13) Court Street Bridge
14) Cox Building
15) Dewey, Chester, School No. 14
16) East High School
17) Eastman Dental Dispensary
18) Edwards Building
19) Ely, Hervey, House
20) Emmanuel Presbyterian Church
21) English Evangelical Church of the Reformation and Parish House
22) Erie Canal: Second Genesee Aqueduct
23) Federal Building
24) First National Bank of Rochester--Old Monroe County Savings Bank Building
25) First Presbyterian Church
26) First Universalist Church
27) Gannett Building
28) German United Evangelical Church Complex
29) Granite Building
30) Grove Place Historic District
31) Hagaman, David, House
32) House at 235--237 Reynolds Street
33) Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Church Complex
34) Immanuel Baptist Church
35) Jewish Young Men's and Women's Association
36) Kirstein Building
37) Lehigh Valley Railroad Station
38) Leopold Street Shule
39) Little Theatre
40) Main Street Bridge
41) Michaels--Stern Building
42) National Company Building
43) Naval Armory--Convention Hall
44) Nazareth House
45) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
46) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
47) Old Stone Warehouse
48) Our Lady of Victory Roman Catholic Church
49) Powers Building
50) Pulaski Library
51) Reynolds Arcade
52) Rochester City School #24
53) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
54) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
55) Rochester Savings Bank
56) Rundel Memorial Library
57) Sibley Triangle Building
58) Spring House
59) St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
60) St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
61) St. Paul-North Water Streets Historic District
62) State Street Historic District
63) Stone-Tolan House
64) University Club
65) Vanderbeck House
66) Wallace, Timothy, House
67) Warner, H. H., Building
68) Washington Street Rowhouses
69) Watts, Ebenezer, House
70) Wilder Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 Vine
2) Abbott's Frozen Custard
3) Abbott's Frozen Custard
4) Acme Bar & Pizza
5) Al's Stand
6) Aladdins Natural Eatery
7) Alexander Street Pub
8) Alexandria's Mediterranean Csn
9) All City
10) Angermayr's
11) Arby's
12) Arby's
13) Aria By Portobello
14) Atlanta Bread Co
15) Atomic Eggplant
16) Avenue Pub
17) Avenue.Net Cafe & Deli
18) B & C Deli
19) Baba Emad
20) Bacco's Ristorante
21) Bachelor Forum
22) Barrister's Pub & Meeting Pl
23) Basha
24) Basta Pasta
25) Bay Tree Restaurant
26) Beale Street Cafe
27) Bee Licious Foods
28) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
29) Bill Gray's
30) Bill Gray's
31) Billy's Place
32) Blimpie Subs & Salads
33) Blue Room
34) Bug Jar
35) Buon Giorno Cafe
36) Burger King
37) Burger King
38) Burger King
39) Busy Bee Restaurant
40) C J's Soups
41) Cafe Cibon
42) Canopy's
43) Carl's Catering
44) Carribean 2000
45) Center Stage Cafe
46) Charlie's Frog Pond
47) Chasers
48) Chen's Garden
49) Cheryl's Catering
50) Chester Cab Pizza
51) China Star
52) Chopstix Restaurant
53) Christopher's Time Square
54) Classic Fare Catering
55) Classy Cookie & Delicatessen
56) Cny Blimpie Developement Co
57) Cobbs Hill Pizza & Pasta
58) Corn Hill Cookery Ltd
59) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
60) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
61) Cutler's Restaurant
62) Dac Hoa Restaurant
63) Daily Perks
64) Damian's
65) Danny's East End Cafe
66) Darlene's Pantry
67) Dashen Restaurant
68) Dew E Sub
69) Dicky's Restaurant
70) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
71) Dodie's Jump Cafe
72) Domino's Pizza
73) Domino's Pizza
74) Drinks By Marydawn
75) Eastman Lounge
76) Edibles
77) Edwards Restaurant
78) Elixir
79) Elmwood Inn
80) Enigma Bar
81) Enright's Thirst Parlor
82) Esan Thai Restaurant
83) Executive Deli
84) Fast Chinese Restaurant
85) First Taste Grill
86) Fitz & Hugh Deli
87) Five Pac Inc
88) Five50pub
89) Formula One Caterers
90) Fresno's Southwest Restaurant
91) Friendly's Restaurant
92) Fruit & Salad Co
93) Fruit & Salad Co
94) Galleria Pizza
95) Gatherings At The Inn Broadway
96) General Products
97) German House
98) Gina's Old Fashioned Subs
99) Glady's Place
100) Golden Dynasty Restaurant
101) Golden Port Dim Sun
102) Golden Unicorn
103) Grill & Greens
104) H2o Bar & Grill
105) He's Chinese & Japanese Rstrnt
106) Heritage House Of Rochester
107) High Falls Deli & Cafe
108) Highland Park Diner
109) Hogans Hideaway
110) Hunan Wok
111) India Cafe
112) India House
113) India House
114) India House Store
115) India Palace
116) J D Oxford's
117) J W Prepp & Co LTD
118) Jack Astor's Bar & Grill
119) Java's Cafe
120) Jeremiah's Tavern
121) Jerry's Family Restaurant
122) Jines Restaurant
123) Jing Li Chinese Food
124) Joey's
125) Julienne
126) Karma
127) KCT Noodles Restaurant
128) Kessler Group Inc
129) Keys Piano Bar
130) Kfc
131) Kim's Asia
132) Kobay Japanese Restaurant
133) L J's II Jamaican Cuisine
134) Lacagnina Italian Deli
135) Le Lemon Grass
136) Leave It To Us Catering
137) Legal Lunches
138) Lin's Garden
139) Little Venice Pizza
140) Lloyd's Bar & Grille
141) Lola Bistro
142) Long & Sons Inc
143) Loop Lounge & Kitchens
144) Lorraine's Catering
145) Lorraine's Lunch Basket
146) Lorraines Lunch Basket Express
147) Luca Pizza
148) Lux Lounge
149) Lylou Food Express
150) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
151) Magnolia's Market & Deli Inc
152) Mark's Pizzeria
153) Mark's Texas Hots
154) Mark's Texas Hots
155) Martini Grille
156) Matthew's East End Grill
157) Max Of Eastman Place
158) Mc Curdy & Co Inc
159) Mc Donald's
160) Mc Donald's
161) Mc Fadden's
162) Mc Gillicuty's Cafe
163) Metro Ultra Lounge
164) Mex Restaurant
165) Mexican Village
166) Milestones Restaurant & Music
167) Ming's II
168) Ming's Take Out
169) Monroe Gitsis Texas Hots
170) Monroe Hots
171) Monty's Korner
172) Monty's Krown
173) Mount Hope Family Diner
174) Mr Shoes Pizza
175) Muther's 40 Union
176) Mykonos Express
177) Nasty D's
178) Nathaniel's Pub
179) New Number One Chinese Restrnt
180) Nick Tahou Hots
181) Oasis Mediterranean Bistro
182) Oceans Place
183) Old Toad
184) Olive Tree
185) On The Rock Ny Grill
186) Open Face
187) Opus 25 Restaurant & Bar
188) Palladio Restaurant
189) Palladio Restaurant
190) Panda Chinese Food Take Out
191) Panzari's Italian Bistro
192) Paola's Burrito Place
193) Papa John's Pizza
194) Paradise Alley
195) Park & Oxford Cafe & Deli
196) Park 54
197) Park Avenue Pub
198) Pat's Coffee Mug
199) Pat's Coffee Shop
200) Paulino's Italiano Classico
201) Pearl
202) Pelligrino's Deli Cafe
203) Phillips European
204) Pita Pit
205) Pizza Gourmet & Regular Pizza
206) Pizza Hut
207) Pizza Hut
208) Pizza Stop
209) Plaza Coffee Shop
210) Plum House Japanese
211) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
212) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
213) Portobello Ristorante
214) Raj Mahal
215) Richmonds
216) Rio Bamba
217) Roc Ny Market Deli
218) Rochester Club Ballroom
219) Rooney's Restaurant
220) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
221) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
222) Rubino's Italian Submarine
223) Rund's The Catering Div
224) Sal's New York Pizzeria
225) Salena's Mexican Taqueria
226) Salinger's Bar & Grill
227) Savory Thyme Catering Svc
228) Sesame Garden
229) Shantel Lounge Inc
230) Shiki Japanese Restaurant
231) Skippy's Vegeterian Restaurant
232) Slice Of Life Cafe
233) Snuffy Magees Sports Emporium
234) Soho East
235) Southwedge Diner
236) Special Events Catering
237) Spike's
238) Spin Caffe
239) Spin Caffe
240) Spin Caffe
241) Sports Page Restaurant & Bar
242) Spot Coffee Rochester Cafe
243) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
244) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
245) Starbucks Coffee Co
246) Starbucks Coffee Co
247) Starry Nites Cafe LLC
248) Starz Cafe
249) Steak World
250) Stock Exchange Restaurant
251) Streppa's Bistro
252) Stromboli Express
253) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
254) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
255) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
256) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
257) Sue's Place
258) Superb Catering
259) Supper Program
260) Sweet Dawn
261) Sweet Dawn
262) Swillburg Bar & Grill Rest
263) Tara Cocktail Lounge
264) Tavern 26
265) Tgi Friday's
266) Thai Taste
267) Theatre Confections Inc
268) Tiki Bob's Cantina
269) Tip Top Restaurant
270) Toasted Head Bar & Grill
271) Tonic
272) Two Paisans Pizza
273) Uptown Pizza Cafe
274) Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
275) Vertex Club Of Rochester
276) Village Hut & Restaurant
277) Warfield's Restaurant
278) Water Street Music Hall
279) Wendy's
280) Wendy's
281) Women's Coffee Connection
282) Woody's
283) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
284) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
285) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
286) Yumbo's
287) Zebb's Deluxe Grill & Bar
1) 2 Vine
2) Abbott's Frozen Custard
3) Abbott's Frozen Custard
4) Acme Bar & Pizza
5) Al's Stand
6) Aladdins Natural Eatery
7) Alexander Street Pub
8) Alexandria's Mediterranean Csn
9) All City
10) Angermayr's
11) Arby's
12) Arby's
13) Aria By Portobello
14) Atlanta Bread Co
15) Atomic Eggplant
16) Avenue Pub
17) Avenue.Net Cafe & Deli
18) B & C Deli
19) Baba Emad
20) Bacco's Ristorante
21) Bachelor Forum
22) Barrister's Pub & Meeting Pl
23) Basha
24) Basta Pasta
25) Bay Tree Restaurant
26) Beale Street Cafe
27) Bee Licious Foods
28) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
29) Bill Gray's
30) Bill Gray's
31) Billy's Place
32) Blimpie Subs & Salads
33) Blue Room
34) Bug Jar
35) Buon Giorno Cafe
36) Burger King
37) Burger King
38) Burger King
39) Busy Bee Restaurant
40) C J's Soups
41) Cafe Cibon
42) Canopy's
43) Carl's Catering
44) Carribean 2000
45) Center Stage Cafe
46) Charlie's Frog Pond
47) Chasers
48) Chen's Garden
49) Cheryl's Catering
50) Chester Cab Pizza
51) China Star
52) Chopstix Restaurant
53) Christopher's Time Square
54) Classic Fare Catering
55) Classy Cookie & Delicatessen
56) Cny Blimpie Developement Co
57) Cobbs Hill Pizza & Pasta
58) Corn Hill Cookery Ltd
59) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
60) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
61) Cutler's Restaurant
62) Dac Hoa Restaurant
63) Daily Perks
64) Damian's
65) Danny's East End Cafe
66) Darlene's Pantry
67) Dashen Restaurant
68) Dew E Sub
69) Dicky's Restaurant
70) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
71) Dodie's Jump Cafe
72) Domino's Pizza
73) Domino's Pizza
74) Drinks By Marydawn
75) Eastman Lounge
76) Edibles
77) Edwards Restaurant
78) Elixir
79) Elmwood Inn
80) Enigma Bar
81) Enright's Thirst Parlor
82) Esan Thai Restaurant
83) Executive Deli
84) Fast Chinese Restaurant
85) First Taste Grill
86) Fitz & Hugh Deli
87) Five Pac Inc
88) Five50pub
89) Formula One Caterers
90) Fresno's Southwest Restaurant
91) Friendly's Restaurant
92) Fruit & Salad Co
93) Fruit & Salad Co
94) Galleria Pizza
95) Gatherings At The Inn Broadway
96) General Products
97) German House
98) Gina's Old Fashioned Subs
99) Glady's Place
100) Golden Dynasty Restaurant
101) Golden Port Dim Sun
102) Golden Unicorn
103) Grill & Greens
104) H2o Bar & Grill
105) He's Chinese & Japanese Rstrnt
106) Heritage House Of Rochester
107) High Falls Deli & Cafe
108) Highland Park Diner
109) Hogans Hideaway
110) Hunan Wok
111) India Cafe
112) India House
113) India House
114) India House Store
115) India Palace
116) J D Oxford's
117) J W Prepp & Co LTD
118) Jack Astor's Bar & Grill
119) Java's Cafe
120) Jeremiah's Tavern
121) Jerry's Family Restaurant
122) Jines Restaurant
123) Jing Li Chinese Food
124) Joey's
125) Julienne
126) Karma
127) KCT Noodles Restaurant
128) Kessler Group Inc
129) Keys Piano Bar
130) Kfc
131) Kim's Asia
132) Kobay Japanese Restaurant
133) L J's II Jamaican Cuisine
134) Lacagnina Italian Deli
135) Le Lemon Grass
136) Leave It To Us Catering
137) Legal Lunches
138) Lin's Garden
139) Little Venice Pizza
140) Lloyd's Bar & Grille
141) Lola Bistro
142) Long & Sons Inc
143) Loop Lounge & Kitchens
144) Lorraine's Catering
145) Lorraine's Lunch Basket
146) Lorraines Lunch Basket Express
147) Luca Pizza
148) Lux Lounge
149) Lylou Food Express
150) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
151) Magnolia's Market & Deli Inc
152) Mark's Pizzeria
153) Mark's Texas Hots
154) Mark's Texas Hots
155) Martini Grille
156) Matthew's East End Grill
157) Max Of Eastman Place
158) Mc Curdy & Co Inc
159) Mc Donald's
160) Mc Donald's
161) Mc Fadden's
162) Mc Gillicuty's Cafe
163) Metro Ultra Lounge
164) Mex Restaurant
165) Mexican Village
166) Milestones Restaurant & Music
167) Ming's II
168) Ming's Take Out
169) Monroe Gitsis Texas Hots
170) Monroe Hots
171) Monty's Korner
172) Monty's Krown
173) Mount Hope Family Diner
174) Mr Shoes Pizza
175) Muther's 40 Union
176) Mykonos Express
177) Nasty D's
178) Nathaniel's Pub
179) New Number One Chinese Restrnt
180) Nick Tahou Hots
181) Oasis Mediterranean Bistro
182) Oceans Place
183) Old Toad
184) Olive Tree
185) On The Rock Ny Grill
186) Open Face
187) Opus 25 Restaurant & Bar
188) Palladio Restaurant
189) Palladio Restaurant
190) Panda Chinese Food Take Out
191) Panzari's Italian Bistro
192) Paola's Burrito Place
193) Papa John's Pizza
194) Paradise Alley
195) Park & Oxford Cafe & Deli
196) Park 54
197) Park Avenue Pub
198) Pat's Coffee Mug
199) Pat's Coffee Shop
200) Paulino's Italiano Classico
201) Pearl
202) Pelligrino's Deli Cafe
203) Phillips European
204) Pita Pit
205) Pizza Gourmet & Regular Pizza
206) Pizza Hut
207) Pizza Hut
208) Pizza Stop
209) Plaza Coffee Shop
210) Plum House Japanese
211) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
212) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
213) Portobello Ristorante
214) Raj Mahal
215) Richmonds
216) Rio Bamba
217) Roc Ny Market Deli
218) Rochester Club Ballroom
219) Rooney's Restaurant
220) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
221) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
222) Rubino's Italian Submarine
223) Rund's The Catering Div
224) Sal's New York Pizzeria
225) Salena's Mexican Taqueria
226) Salinger's Bar & Grill
227) Savory Thyme Catering Svc
228) Sesame Garden
229) Shantel Lounge Inc
230) Shiki Japanese Restaurant
231) Skippy's Vegeterian Restaurant
232) Slice Of Life Cafe
233) Snuffy Magees Sports Emporium
234) Soho East
235) Southwedge Diner
236) Special Events Catering
237) Spike's
238) Spin Caffe
239) Spin Caffe
240) Spin Caffe
241) Sports Page Restaurant & Bar
242) Spot Coffee Rochester Cafe
243) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
244) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
245) Starbucks Coffee Co
246) Starbucks Coffee Co
247) Starry Nites Cafe LLC
248) Starz Cafe
249) Steak World
250) Stock Exchange Restaurant
251) Streppa's Bistro
252) Stromboli Express
253) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
254) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
255) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
256) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
257) Sue's Place
258) Superb Catering
259) Supper Program
260) Sweet Dawn
261) Sweet Dawn
262) Swillburg Bar & Grill Rest
263) Tara Cocktail Lounge
264) Tavern 26
265) Tgi Friday's
266) Thai Taste
267) Theatre Confections Inc
268) Tiki Bob's Cantina
269) Tip Top Restaurant
270) Toasted Head Bar & Grill
271) Tonic
272) Two Paisans Pizza
273) Uptown Pizza Cafe
274) Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
275) Vertex Club Of Rochester
276) Village Hut & Restaurant
277) Warfield's Restaurant
278) Water Street Music Hall
279) Wendy's
280) Wendy's
281) Women's Coffee Connection
282) Woody's
283) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
284) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
285) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
286) Yumbo's
287) Zebb's Deluxe Grill & Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So Good Good Good
This place used to brew their own beers but they no longer do. Their beers were decent but nothing to write home about. Anyway with their new expansion (at least one new location on Ridge road) they decided to do away with their brewing operations. It's really too bad because that was really the only reason I went there. The food is good (by bar food standards) but far from excellent. Their beer selection is only slightly better than what you would find at Tops/Wegmans. If you want to go to a sports bar this place is probably better than most, if you want a brewpub go to Rorbachs (it's pretty much the only one left in rochester)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Rochester, NY
(01/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Awesome!
The Distillery is truly one of the greatest sports bars I have ever been to. I think if you go here expecting to get a good house beer that was made on premises you will be extremely disappointed. The distillery bought the brewing equipment that they use from the now closed Rochester Brew Pub. Like the Brew Pub, they continued the tradition of making malt extract beers that just do not hold up to today's standards. It would not take much to make this the ultimate Rochester bar. If someone began to brew real craft beer here the place would be over the top. However, for now the Distillery is simply the best sports bar with the worst home brew in the Rochester area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review rochester, NY
(08/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy
Wretched so-called "brewpub" that rivals only the Syracuse Suds Factory for their watery, insipid, tasteless beers. Add in the loud, undiscriminating,college age patrons and you can understand why serious microbrew drinkers avoid this place like the proverbial plague.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(03/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
Friday fish fry is the best, if only, reason to go to Bru.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(01/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
After a bad experience at Bru, I figured things couldn't get worse, but I guess I was wrong. We headed to the Distillery on the way back to our hotel after a hockey game. We were greeted by a hostess who told us that there was a 10 minute wait, despite the fact that we could see numerous empty tables throughout the restaurant. Once we were seated, it took the server 5 minutes to even acknowledge us. There were only 3 of their own beers available last night and none of them really seemed all that appealing. It took nearly 10 minutes for our soups to arrive, which, came out lukewarm (shocking) and another 10 minutes for our entree to come out, also luke warm. I'll stick with Flour City from now on when in the Rochester area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mitch mitch, philly, PA
(01/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Good So So
We tried dinner there on a Thursday a couple of weeks ago. It was very crowded, very loud and had TV sets everyplace - typical sports bar atmosphere. This seems to pack in the college students, but it left me cold.

My wife and I tried all 4 of the house beers. The fact that I can't remember what they were should tell you something. The fact that we sent two of them back and got Saranac instead should tell you more. All four are insipid and overfiltered, but not filtered well enough to hide the strong diacetyl aftertaste. I made better brew from kits when I first started homebrewing. If I made a batch as bad as the beer here, I'd feed it to the sink, not paying customers. The "brewery" here is obviously a "dump and stir" kit microbrewery run by someone who doesn't know what they're doing or doesn't give a damn.

The food was decent and reasonably priced, but unremarkable. My wife described her Jamaican Jerk Chicken Salad as "uninspired" - with a skimpy amount of chicken and jerk seasoning over iceberg lettuce. I had the Muffaletta sandwich special, which was made with institutional grade lunchmeat and not enough muffaletta dressing. Oh, well; that's what I get for ordering a New Orleans specialty 50 miles from the Canadian border.

My advice is to leave The Distillery to the fake-ID and Millerwieser crowd. If you want good house beer drive to Rohrbach's or go to the MacGregor's in Canadaigua (the one in town tends to be crowded and noisy). If you want decent beer and good food, go to Flour City. For that matter, find any local restaurant that serves Ithaca, Middle Ages, Flying Buffalo, Saranac, Dogfish Head or Brooklyn beers. If you hanker for a more commercial product, settle in with a Genesee Cream Ale, which is made in Rochester. New York State is chock full of good breweries and brewpubs - but The Distillery isn't one of them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Barnes Thomas Barnes, Rochester, NY
(11/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
The beer is forgettable at best. They didn't lack for customers, however, so something brings 'em in. Seemed as though about half were into mixed drinks so maybe that's the ticket. Nothing I had in my sampler tasted spoiled, but I didn't bother to finish all the samples either. Too many other places for great beer in Rochester to waste beer drinking time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Love all the TV's, Quick Draw, and wonderful food and the service is excellent! Atmosphere is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donna J. Dolan Donna J. Dolan, Rochester, NY
(04/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So Lousy
The beer here is just bad. Nasty. So bad I actually let them throw it away--and I'd rather see a church burn than to throw away beer but it was not good. The food and service was just ok. Thank God they did have Saranac so I didn't have to drink iced tea.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy So So
tonight I witnessed a server use a utensil she saw the bartender drop on the floor of the bar to strain a drink! she then served the drink to some poor customer! health department anyone?!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(04/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
thier wings were very poor. any true wing lovers will be dissapointed. Must be rookies who gave any good reviews. they were sad, wings like these give rochester a bad name.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kel varnsen kel varnsen, rochester, NY
(12/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great Good Good
I think I would have definitely enjoyed it more if I was into sports more. I went there on Monday night once, and it was nuts, but people were having fun. Food was pretty good, I had some sampler appetizer. Waitress was a little too ditzy and talkative, but nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Rochester, NY
(11/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love going to the Distillery me and my friends go there all the time and every thing there is great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kevin, Rocester, NY
(05/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good
I find that their beer is pretty bad. It doesn't have much flavor at all, you'd hardly know that they brewed it themselves if you couldn't see the equipment. You would think they would get better with time, but no. The service at the bar is never good, but service at tables is great! I love the food there, and being vegetarian it is hard to find brewpubs with a good selection of vegetarian items. I give them a thumbs up for that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, Rochester, NY
(03/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So So So
I won't rate The Distillery's beer as Lousy, because the beer I've had there wasn't sour, or infected, or horribly stale (as I have had in some places); it was just boring and bland and woefully undifferentiated. Luckily they have taps of Saranac Pale Ale and Black Forest to go with the great food. Service pretty much sucked, though: our bartender wasn't busy, but couldn't be bothered to pay much attention to empty glasses and requests for more napkins and a glass of icewater. I've had to go here twice for research, but I won't be going back except at gunpoint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(07/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So So So
If you happen to find yourself here - always order your beer in a bottle. It just seems like all of their beers taste aweful out of the tap. Maybe they need to look into flushing chlorox through their lines or something. With that said, they do have a nice deck. And it's not too bad to catch a game at. But this place is no Rohrbach's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Buck Jason Buck, Rochester, NY
(07/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So Lousy
I had read the bad reviews, but was looking for someplace to watch football and have a beer. What a bad idea. I tried 1 beer--the English Ale. It tasted like REALLY BAD homebrew. It was undrinkable-sweet, no hops, no head. I tried the food, and it was marginally better. Avoid this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, Birdsboro, PA
(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
The house beers are actually brewed using an extract and premeasured hops, yeast, etc. Essentially an idiot proof home brew kit on a larger scale. That being said, the beer is not bad, just not worth seeking out. The service at the bar was lousy, but table service was good. They also have the usual macros as well as a few decent craft selections like; Sam Adams, Bass, Dundee's Honey Brown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(09/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
This was one of the worst brewpubs I have been in. 3 beers on tap Raspberry Wheat, Pale Ale and Dark Amber?? It only took me about 10 minutes to get a beer! The bar was not even crowded. I tried the Dark Amber and could barely get it down. They seem to have a great food business since the tables were full. I was too turned off to try the food so I left and went to the next pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Burdman Burdman, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So
This may be a great sports bar and restaurant but craft brewing is definitely a sideline here. As a brewpub, it is disappointing. Three house beers on tap, one of which was a reasonably good lager. Hard to find the house taps in between the Bud, Coors Light and other mass produced beers though. I guess the Empire Brewing Co. is a tough act to follow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Heine Frank Heine, Ithaca, NY
(01/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Distillery - the name should tell you something about their seriousness about being a brewpub. Since beer is obviously not distilled, it's clear that brewing beer is not their top priority. As a brewpub, they are my #3 choice in Rochester.

There were four unremarkable house brews available. They did have a good variety of commercial beers on tap and I saw them serving a lot of margaritas.

The d├ęcor is great and they have a great assortment of small patio seating areas on the roof.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Bushman Chris Bushman, North Hollywood, CA
(09/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Distillery is the #1 Sport's Bar in Rochester with over 30 T.V.'s and 5 satellite dishes to watch any event telecast in the world. They have a great menu and beer selection and are well known for the best chicken wing's in Rochester.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brendan Noon Brendan Noon, Rochester, NY
(05/06/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.257 seconds) 12:24:50 107.22.37.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS