PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station - Albany, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 10:32 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Albany > C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.6 / 100
19 Quakenbush Square
Behind Nicoles Bistro/@ Albany Pump Station
Albany, NY 12207
United States
(518) 447-9000
Listed Since: June 1999
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Albany, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
82 Reviews / 11 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) McGeary's Pub
(0 mile)

2) Bayou Cafe
(0 mile)

3) Wolff's Biergarten
(0 mile)

4) Lionheart Blues Cafe
(1 mile)

5) 61 Local
(1 mile)

6) Pauly's Hotel
(2 miles)

7) Mahar's
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mansion Hill Inn
2) Pine Haven Bed & Breakfast
3) State House
4) State Street Mansion B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBANY MARRIOTT
2) BEST VALUE INN ALBANY EAST GREE
3) BEST WESTERN ALBANY AIRPRT INN
4) COMFORT INN ARPT AND CONF CTR
5) DAYS INN ALBANY
6) DESMOND HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
7) ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN
8) ECONO LODGE GLENMONT
9) FAIRFIELD INN EAST GREENBUSH
10) HAMPTON INN ALBANY WOLF
11) HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY ARPT
12) MORGAN STATE HOUSE THE
13) QUALITY INN GLENMONT
14) QUALITY INN HOTEL ALBANY
15) RAMADA INN
16) RAMADA REGENCY INN AND SUITES
17) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
18) RED ROOF ALBANY
19) RODEWAY INN EAST GREENBUSH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abrams Building
2) Aiken House
3) Albany Academy
4) Albany City Hall
5) Albany Institute of History and Art
6) Albany Union Station
7) Bacon--Stickney House
8) Beverwyck Manor
9) Bryan's Store
10) Buildings at 744, 746, 748, 750 Broadway
11) Burden Ironworks Office Building
12) Byrne, Senator William T., House
13) Cathedral of All Saints
14) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
15) Cherry Hill
16) Church of the Holy Innocents
17) Cramer, Frederick, House
18) D. D. T. Moore Farmhouse
19) Delaware and Hudson Railroad Company Building
20) First Reformed Church
21) First Trust Company Building
22) Fort Crailo
23) Fort Orange Archeological Site
24) Fuller, Royal K., House
25) Gorham House
26) Hall, James, Office
27) Hedge Lawn
28) Henry--Remsen House
29) Hook and Ladder No. 4
30) Hughson Mansion
31) Humphrey, Friend, House
32) Kemp, John Wolf, House
33) Lawton, George H., House
34) Lil's Diner
35) Menand Park Historic District
36) Menand, Louis, House
37) Menands Manor
38) Merchant, Walter, House
39) New York Executive Mansion
40) New York State Court of Appeals Building
41) New York State Department of Education Building
42) Newtonville Post Office
43) Newtonville School
44) Newtonville United Methodist Church
45) Nut Grove
46) Old Post Office
47) Osgood, J.C., Firehouse
48) Palace Theatre
49) Patroon Agent's House and Office
50) Public School No. 10
51) Pumpkin House
52) Quackenbush House
53) Quackenbush Pumping Station, Albany Water Works
54) Renshaw, Alfred H., House
55) Schuyler, Philip, Mansion
56) Springwood Manor
57) St. Mary's Church
58) St. Peter's Church
59) Ten Broeck Mansion
60) Trimble, George, House
61) Troy Gas Light Company
62) United Traction Company Building
63) USS Slater (Destroyer Escort)
64) Washington Avenue (Tenth Battalion) Armory
65) Wheeler Home
66) Whipple Cast and Wrought Iron Bowstring Truss Bridge
67) Whitney Mansion
68) Young Men's Christian Association Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 110 Cafe
2) 112 Deli Restaurant
3) 2nd Avenue Daily Grocery
4) 325 Central
5) 41 State Cafe
6) AAA Pizza
7) Albany Coffee Shop
8) Albany Pump Station-Ch Evans
9) Amazing Wok Chinese Inc
10) Amo La Bella New York
11) Angel's Cafe B & B LLC
12) Angelo's 677 Prime
13) Angelo's Submarine
14) Anna's Coffee Shop
15) Antica Enoteca
16) Aunt Glo's Southern Kitchen
17) Barbi-Lee Catering Consultants
18) Barnaby's
19) Bayou Cafe
20) Ben & Jerry's
21) Bentley's Burgers
22) Big House Brewing Co
23) Big John's Restaurant
24) Bleecker Cafe
25) Bombers Burrito Bar
26) Bongiorno's
27) Branch Restaurant
28) Broadway Joe's Of Albany
29) Broadway Luncheonette
30) Brooklyn Sub
31) Brown Eyes Fish & Chips
32) Bumpers Cafe
33) Burger King
34) Buttery Restaurant
35) Cafe Capriccio
36) Cafe Hollywood
37) Cafe Lulu
38) Cagney's Bar
39) Capital Fried Chicken
40) Capitol Cafeteria
41) Capitol Hill Deli
42) Capitol House Chinese Kitchen
43) Caribbean Soul Restaurant
44) Caribbean Treats
45) Casey's Restaurant
46) Chang's Chinese Restaurant
47) China House
48) Chubby's
49) Citone's Italian Restaurant
50) City Hall Cafe
51) Clancy's Well
52) Clayton Caribbean American
53) Club Phoenix
54) Coffee Exchange Cafe
55) Colosseum Pizzeria
56) Comedy Works
57) Cook's State Street Cafe
58) Corner Food Court
59) Crown Chicken & Pizza
60) Crowne Plaza
61) Daily Grind Cafe
62) Dan's Place Two
63) Daniel's At Ogdens
64) Dave's Snack Bar
65) De Julio's Inn
66) De Pietro's
67) Dejohn's Restaurant & Pub
68) Deli Mill
69) Dinner Box
70) Doc Mc Cutchen's
71) Douglas Anthony's Restaurant
72) Duffy's Lucky Charm
73) Eagle Restaurant
74) Eagle Street Cafe
75) Edith's American & Caribbean
76) El Loco Mexican Cafe
77) El Mariachi Mexican Restaurant
78) El Mariachi Mexican Restaurant
79) Elbee One Caterers
80) Elbow Room
81) Elda's
82) Elena's Italian Caffe
83) Encon Coffee Shop
84) EPD Corp
85) Falafel & Subs
86) Fallon & O'brien's Larkin
87) Family Sub
88) Fort Orange Cafe
89) Fox Creek Sandwich Shop
90) Franklin's Tower
91) Freeman's Restaurant
92) Fuze Box
93) Gandhi Indian Restaurant Inc
94) Gaspary's Restaurant
95) Gli Food Svc
96) Golden Dragon Restaurant
97) Golden Fried Chicken
98) Golden Fried Chicken & Pizza
99) Ground Round
100) Hamilton Street Cafe
101) Hill Street Cafe
102) Hollyanns
103) Hong Kong Bakery
104) Hot Dog Heaven
105) Hudson Harbor Steak & Seafood
106) I Love Ny Pizza
107) Ichiban Restaurant
108) Ike's Pizzeria
109) Iron Gate Cafe
110) Island Restaurant
111) J G's Pizza
112) Jack's Oyster House Inc
113) Jack's Pizza
114) Jernie's Cafe
115) Jesenia Restaurant
116) Jillian's
117) Jim's Place
118) Johnny's Hot Dogs
119) Jonathan's Pizza Inc
120) Just Ny Pizza
121) Justin's
122) Kapp's Beans Garden
123) Kaye's Caterers
124) Kenneth's Tastebud
125) Kfc
126) Kfc
127) Kolu's African Caribbean Amer
128) La Serre Restaurant
129) Lam's Chinese Kitchen
130) Lark Street Deli
131) Lark Tavern
132) Lexy's Eatery
133) Lil Italy Pizzeria
134) Lionheart Blues Cafe
135) Lombardo's Restaurant
136) Long Branch Tavern
137) Mad River Bar & Grill
138) Mamoun's Falafel
139) Mansion Hill Inn
140) Marie Smith
141) Marquis Catering
142) Martel's Restaurant At OTB
143) Maurice's Pearl Street Deli
144) Mc Donald's
145) Mc Donald's
146) Mc Donald's
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Geary's Restaurant
149) Mc Guire's
150) Michele's Deli
151) Milanoe's Pizza
152) Miss Albany Diner
153) Mother Earth Cafe
154) Mr B's Best
155) Mr Subb Inc
156) Mrs Sunshine's Cafe
157) Muffy's
158) Muffys
159) Nelsons Steak Out
160) New Day Cafe & Catering
161) New Hong Kong Restaurant
162) New Image Deli & Variety Store
163) New Madison Grille
164) Next Door
165) Nick's Subs & Fish Fry
166) Nickelodeon Emporium
167) Nicole's Bistro
168) Nino's Deli & Subs
169) O B's Fast Food Restaurant
170) Ogden's Restaurant
171) Old Stadium
172) Oliver's Beverage Ctr
173) Other Co Restaurant
174) P J's Pizza
175) Pagliacci Ristorante
176) Palais Royal Restaurant
177) Panda Chinese Restaurant
178) Papa & Mamas Pizzeria
179) Papa John's Pizza
180) Patroon Inn
181) Paulys Hotel
182) Pearl Banquet & Catering
183) Pearl Restaurant & Lounge
184) Philly Steak House
185) Pit
186) Pizza Baron
187) Pizzeria 54
188) Pizzeria Sapienza
189) Players
190) Plaza Deli
191) Plaza Grill
192) Quintessence Inc
193) Quiznos Sub
194) Raffaele's Pizza
195) Ramona's
196) Ray's Tavern Of Albany Inc
197) Red Room
198) Restaurant Saigon
199) Risko's Tavern Inc
200) Ristorante Paradiso
201) River Front Cafe
202) Riverfront Bar & Grill Inc
203) Riverside Restaurant & Ctrng
204) Roberto's Italian Deli
205) Roberto's Spanish Restaurant
206) Rome
207) Romeo Pizzeria
208) Rosie's Heavenly Cafe
209) Roy's Caribbean-Restaurant
210) Saba's Restaurant
211) Sade's Restaurant
212) Sandwiches To Go
213) Saso's Japanese Noodle House
214) Savannah's
215) Scenarios
216) Scoreboard Lounge
217) Seattle Sub & Pita Co
218) Shades Of Green
219) Shahnee's Caribbean Bakery
220) Shalimar Restaurant
221) Sign Of The Tree Restaurant
222) Silver Slipper
223) Simply Fish
224) Sneaky Pete's
225) Soho Pizzeria
226) Somewhat Limited
227) South Pearl Coffee
228) Sovrana Grocery Bakery & Deli
229) Starbucks
230) Stephanie's On The Park Rstrnt
231) Stovalls Fast Food Take Out
232) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
233) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
234) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
235) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
236) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
237) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
238) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
239) Sukhothai
240) Sun Fai
241) Ta-Ke Restaurant
242) Tandoor Palace
243) Taste Italy
244) Taste Of Greese
245) Ten Eyck Cafeteria
246) Thatcher Street Pub
247) Torino Cafe
248) Totem
249) Tropical Smoothie Cafe
250) Tumminello's Deli & Catering
251) Twins Deli & Grocery
252) Unlimited Feast Inc
253) USa Fried Chicken
254) V & R Italian Ristorante
255) Van Restaurant
256) Victory Cafe
257) Water Work Pub LTD
258) Wendy's
259) Willie's Wonderful World
260) Willow Inn
261) Xing Wang Chinese Restaurant
262) Yanas
263) Yono's Restaurant
264) Zuzu's Wonderful Life Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by once again on New Year's Day and had their version of a kristalweissen, ta da, sans lemon. It was wonderful. Enough of that. Everything was "awesome" but the food left a bit to be desired this time. Meat loaf was a bit spongy (too much time in the mircowave?), and the Caesar salad uninspired. Our server (can't remember his name) was entertaining and very efficient.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BR549 BR549, State College, PA
(01/05/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
To Glenn, stuy, NY (wherever that is), I'm surprised it's taken me this long to read your response to my review, but I need to respond by saying that while I respect your opinion, I object to your elitist attitude that those of us who like this addition to our beverage are Blue Moon or Shock Top drinkers. Why would you compare a Belgian fake to a hefeweizen in the first place?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BR BR, State College, PA
(12/27/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Despite a bizarre location, Albany Pump Station is well worth seeking out. Big interior with views of the brew kettles, two dining areas and upstair seating for special events. Nine taps were running to go along with a full bar. Tried the Oktoberfest, Kick Ass Brown, Blueberry Trippel(13%) and the State St. Porter. Excellence all around. The Trippel goes down smooth and sneaks up on you. Lenghty food menu. Plenty of great selections. Had the Pump House burger w/sweet potato fries. Great burger. Even better fries. Love the open air feeling of the place despite being buried under a couple freeway on/off ramps. Well worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
To BR State College PA.......... It is considered an insult to put a lemon into a decent hefeweizen. That is more for the un-educated Blue Moon and Shock Top drinkers as I suspect you are. George brews a great beer and is proud of it. It needs no doctoring up with lemon as do the lesser quality Hefeweizens. His awards were because that certified beer judges sampled his beers "without" any lemon added and felt that they were an exemplary sample of the beer style.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, stuy, NY
(10/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Our second visit to one of our favorite brewpubs. Another great example of adaptive reuse, this time under a megaton crane that was actually used to set the brewing equipment. All was awesome, and the brewmeister's love for his craft was everywhere in evidence by all the award banners on display. We will go back again and again, but will never understand the brewmeister's desire for us customer types to NOT put lemon in his hefeweisse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(01/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We knew we were in for a treat when my wife and I each took a sip of the Scottish Light and said, "This is a dangerous beer" -- it went down that easy and was that flavorful. Each of the beers on tap in the sampler was excellent. The hefe was pleasant with banana and clove notes; the altbier was delicious, its bitterness nicely offset by its maltiness; the stout was full-bodied and powerful (and served at the proper temperature), with cocoa and coffee notes; the brown was hoppier than most brown ales but rich with caramel malts. Even the APA was good, and I don't normally like pale ales. The food was very good and affordable, and the service was outstanding. It was also kid-friendly. There was everything to like and nothing to dislike.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Pleasant, NY
(09/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
As I tried to say on their Facebook page...The Smoked Hefe just doesn't do it for me and I much prefer the better, regular, unfiltered, tasty, Hefe. The Wit is drinkable and a somewhat acceptable substitute. Best beers ever brewed; the Grand Cru and Dawn's Dry Stout! The kitchen staff do an outstanding job with food and the servers are the best! What a great building too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark C. Van Sluyters Mark C. Van Sluyters, Newtonville, NY
(08/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
First, the beer was very good. All we had was IPA, but it was excellent, akin to a Dogfish Head 60 Minute. The food was interesting. They tried, but it didn't always work out, however, I give them extra points for trying. Had the calamari, which the jalapeno sauce on the bottom of the dish really helped kick it up and enliven it. The Thai Chicken Wings were an interesting take on the traditional wings, but it worked. I'd definitely try this place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(03/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Hard place to find if you do not know your way around the town. Nicole did a great job in explain the food and beer that was offer. Beer selection was good and enjoyed all. Their sample platter came in a nice beer holder. If in the area again will stop. Great directions Nicole!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Horton James Horton, camb springs, PA
(04/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
We stopped in for some beer and a bite to eat on a saturday at around 2pm. We sat in the tap room, and ordered the sampler. All of the beers were flavorful and interesting, and i ended up ordering the Belgian style brown with Sour Cherry, and my dh ordered the Pale Ale. Both were magnificent! Next came our appetizer. We had ordered the spinach and artichoke dip. It was served in a bread bowl that was more like a croissant, and it was absolutely delicious! My dh ordered the pumphouse burger, and i ordered the turkey burger, and we both enjoyed our meals. Our server was attentive without being bothersome, and all in all, we had a fabulous experienc there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from catherine barnes catherine barnes, Baldwinsville, NY
(09/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I really enjoyed this brewery, I really like the old building. Being on business I limited myself to a Pale and a Brown, both were quite good. I hope to visit again when I have more time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dustin Dustin, Bend, OR
(03/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Enjoyed an exceptional dopple bock, also liked the Scottish light ale. Two of the four members of our party were disappointed with their entrees (both a bit too dry, different items) but this was probably because the kitchen was pretty busy. This was my second visit and I would return. Slainte'

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(10/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Stopped by while I was in town. I tried a few new to me this visit. Scottish Light had a slight smokiness or peatiness to it, relatively light in nature. Belgian Strong, a triple, seemed subdued and drinkable, definitely not over the top. Old Musty Barleywine didn't strike me as too good. It seemed rather acidic; maybe it was on for a while, or whatever. Bartender much too busy with personal conversations to properly attend to customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped by on the way to Vermont (see my review); it is located on Quakenbush Square (who I believe was a Groucho Marx character)in a large airy building with extensive parking and a comfortable, yet small, bar area. It is right off I287 and makes a good pubcrawl with Brown Brewing Company in nearby Troy (15-20 Minutes?)

APH/Evans offers 7 Taps: A belgian ale, which was served in the proper glass; a mildly hoppy "Pump Station Pale Ale," boasting three varieties of hops; a porter ("State Street"), with an abv of 5.5; and, on a similar note, a malty brown ale at 5.6. (By the way, Tom (see previous entry), it is called "Kick-Ass" Brown.) Decent place worth stopping by when in the Albany area - or on the way to Vermont.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
During a July 06 tour we stopped at C. H. Evans. We were there at lunch time and the place was packed. After lunch it pretty much emptied our. The atmosphere of the building was great. The bartender knew the history of the building and a great knowledge of microbrews. We sampled almost every beer that they make and enjoyed them all. My favorite was the Kiss Ass Brown while my friend's favorite was Quacken Bush Blonde. Would definately return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Canastota, NY
(08/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Dan was at the bar when we first dropped in from Chicago to check out some New York State brewing. Initially tried the Kick Ass Brown, and were so blown-away by this ale we scarcely tried anything else. Wonderful full-mouth sensation: from lips, to tongue, to palate, to gullet...all satisfying in varying ways. The Old Musty Barley Wine, despite the name, is a rich and powerful beer, wisely served in a small but brimming snifter. My buddy was out of the room when I initially ordered this beer. By the time he returned, the glass was empty: his eyebrows shot up when the waitress, on her next pass by the table, inquired if I'd like "another Old Musty..." The food was the best I've ever enjoyed in a brewpub. Well plated and served. Try the Shrimp and Chicken Gorganzola (lots of sun-dried tomatoes). A spectacular space, within walking distance of Pearl Street Restaurant Row and the Riverfront walk. Excellent parking too, with easy access right off I-787.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clark Maxfield Clark Maxfield, Chicago, IL
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I Have been to this place many times but just recently started with pubcrawler so here goes.

Tim was behind the bar after a day off and the phone kept him very busy. All that said his service was only down to great from the usual awesome.

Their Hefe {my favorite] was unavailable so i had a sampler and got a pleasant suprise. 6 beers in the sampler Scottish Light true to their description and much better than I expected as i prefer spicy sweet beers or Dark Beers. Quakenbush Blond was good but not my style. Next was very pleasant surprise indeed, Belgian Pale. I drink a lot of craft beers and this one is a delight, a Hefe style spiciness and a pleasant balance of hops at the end that i usually dont prefer but wow. After that Rowlands Porter, Pumping Station Pale, and finally Kick Ass Brown, all good as usual. Before I move on to the food I would like to say their conistent beer quality amazes me.

The Veggie Burger. Beans, corn, bun, LTO, guacamole, chipotle mayo and smoked mozz. Great, we opted for the sweet potato fies and they were also great. Thanx Mr. Evans for keeping a fine establishment up to par all the time even down to clean bathrooms.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ashton Stymus Ashton Stymus, Norwich, NY
(03/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
AWESOME!!!! I do believe I could live off of thier porter and steak sandwiches!!!! This is a must stop when in the area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hi all,

I'm the Brewmaster at the Pump Station. I'm responding to Robin Inman's recent review describing poor service at our eastablishment. Since this site allows reviews with no way to contact the writer, I am forced to take up space here.

There is no excuse for the rude behavior you received, and for that I apologize. I do wish you had spoken to a manager or at least e-mailed us before writing a negative review on the internet, where it will likely persist long after the offending server has left our restaurant. We work hard to make every customer's experience a good one. If something is not to one's liking we will do our best to make it better, but we need to be told about the problem to act on it.

I hope that you give us another chance. If you would like to contact me directly, please visit www.EvansAle.com for contact information.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George de Piro George de Piro, albany, NY
(12/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I live in Daytona but return to hometown Albany about once a year and always try to stop by the Pump Station. Aside from the excellent brews, the historical restoration warms my heart, and the food is always appealing if a bit pricey. Bar staff have always been attentive and cordial. Nice place for lunch if you're doing the historical tour based at the Heritage Center next door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Brown Thomas Brown, Daytona Beach, FL
(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Lousy Good
For years we have savored the beer, food, and ambiance here. After our recent experience, however, we may not return. I have never been so rudely insulted by a waitress. We paid our dinner bill with a credit card and added the tip to the charge. When Johanna, our server, returned, she questioned my addition, which was flawless, and snidely commented on the amount of the tip, which would have been less than what I wrote down if one were to believe *her* incorrect addition. Now I’m happy to have someone double check my addition after I’ve had a couple beers, but such rude treatment is inexcusable. Be forewarned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robin Inman Robin Inman, Malden, MA
(11/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
It had been quite a while, so I stopped by. Tried the Evans Wit. Nice--spicy and refreshing. Coriander/ginger in a good balance overall with all other flavors. State St. Porter a good choice as well, roasty and satisfying. Brick interior with tanks in the loft above bar. An expansive seating area, but good atmosphere overall. Jazz music playing gives it a real comfortable feel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Second time in 3 years. Up from Baltimore to go to TAP New York...awesome beer/food fest!!! Food a little pricey for what you get and the beer is way too much $ in the restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
My wife and I stopped for a quick snack and beer before dropping me off at the airport for a work trip. I had the kick-ass brown. My wife the Stout. The Brown's a Gold Medal winner and deservedly so. I never tire of this one no matter how often I have it. It's always clean and crisp with the right amount of bitter/burnt and hoppy balance. A wonderful beer! My wife's stout was also very good. It seemed balanced the right way with malt vs. hops and the initial nose was perfect. However, after the brown, I had trouble with the hops flavor in the Stout due to the saturation level from the brown so I can't tell you if the taste balance was truely there.

We had the small nacho platter. It's more than enough for two!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Guilderland, NY
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Decided to stop by after attending the Jet/Giants practice at SUNY Albany. Since this was a Saturday, I was lucky to arrive before the dinner crowd started to fill the place. Had three excellent beers in addition to two great appetizers on the menu. Even though I was seated by myself at one of the high tables near the bar, a number of people constantly asked if I needed anything. By the time I left, the place was filled to capacity, and there appeared to by a wait for tables. Judging by the upscale atmosphere, this seems like one of the top places to eat on a Saturday night. Will definately go back on my next visit to Albany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rudy Giordano Rudy Giordano, Orange County , NY, NY
(08/17/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.539 seconds) 10:32:26 54.81.68.185, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS