PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station - Albany, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 01:08 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Albany > C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.6 / 100
19 Quakenbush Square
Behind Nicoles Bistro/@ Albany Pump Station
Albany, NY 12207
United States
(518) 447-9000
Listed Since: June 1999
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Albany, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
82 Reviews / 11 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) McGeary's Pub
(0 mile)

2) Bayou Cafe
(0 mile)

3) Wolff's Biergarten
(0 mile)

4) Lionheart Blues Cafe
(1 mile)

5) 61 Local
(1 mile)

6) Pauly's Hotel
(2 miles)

7) Mahar's
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mansion Hill Inn
2) Pine Haven Bed & Breakfast
3) State House
4) State Street Mansion B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBANY MARRIOTT
2) BEST VALUE INN ALBANY EAST GREE
3) BEST WESTERN ALBANY AIRPRT INN
4) COMFORT INN ARPT AND CONF CTR
5) DAYS INN ALBANY
6) DESMOND HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
7) ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN
8) ECONO LODGE GLENMONT
9) FAIRFIELD INN EAST GREENBUSH
10) HAMPTON INN ALBANY WOLF
11) HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY ARPT
12) MORGAN STATE HOUSE THE
13) QUALITY INN GLENMONT
14) QUALITY INN HOTEL ALBANY
15) RAMADA INN
16) RAMADA REGENCY INN AND SUITES
17) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
18) RED ROOF ALBANY
19) RODEWAY INN EAST GREENBUSH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abrams Building
2) Aiken House
3) Albany Academy
4) Albany City Hall
5) Albany Institute of History and Art
6) Albany Union Station
7) Bacon--Stickney House
8) Beverwyck Manor
9) Bryan's Store
10) Buildings at 744, 746, 748, 750 Broadway
11) Burden Ironworks Office Building
12) Byrne, Senator William T., House
13) Cathedral of All Saints
14) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
15) Cherry Hill
16) Church of the Holy Innocents
17) Cramer, Frederick, House
18) D. D. T. Moore Farmhouse
19) Delaware and Hudson Railroad Company Building
20) First Reformed Church
21) First Trust Company Building
22) Fort Crailo
23) Fort Orange Archeological Site
24) Fuller, Royal K., House
25) Gorham House
26) Hall, James, Office
27) Hedge Lawn
28) Henry--Remsen House
29) Hook and Ladder No. 4
30) Hughson Mansion
31) Humphrey, Friend, House
32) Kemp, John Wolf, House
33) Lawton, George H., House
34) Lil's Diner
35) Menand Park Historic District
36) Menand, Louis, House
37) Menands Manor
38) Merchant, Walter, House
39) New York Executive Mansion
40) New York State Court of Appeals Building
41) New York State Department of Education Building
42) Newtonville Post Office
43) Newtonville School
44) Newtonville United Methodist Church
45) Nut Grove
46) Old Post Office
47) Osgood, J.C., Firehouse
48) Palace Theatre
49) Patroon Agent's House and Office
50) Public School No. 10
51) Pumpkin House
52) Quackenbush House
53) Quackenbush Pumping Station, Albany Water Works
54) Renshaw, Alfred H., House
55) Schuyler, Philip, Mansion
56) Springwood Manor
57) St. Mary's Church
58) St. Peter's Church
59) Ten Broeck Mansion
60) Trimble, George, House
61) Troy Gas Light Company
62) United Traction Company Building
63) USS Slater (Destroyer Escort)
64) Washington Avenue (Tenth Battalion) Armory
65) Wheeler Home
66) Whipple Cast and Wrought Iron Bowstring Truss Bridge
67) Whitney Mansion
68) Young Men's Christian Association Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 110 Cafe
2) 112 Deli Restaurant
3) 2nd Avenue Daily Grocery
4) 325 Central
5) 41 State Cafe
6) AAA Pizza
7) Albany Coffee Shop
8) Albany Pump Station-Ch Evans
9) Amazing Wok Chinese Inc
10) Amo La Bella New York
11) Angel's Cafe B & B LLC
12) Angelo's 677 Prime
13) Angelo's Submarine
14) Anna's Coffee Shop
15) Antica Enoteca
16) Aunt Glo's Southern Kitchen
17) Barbi-Lee Catering Consultants
18) Barnaby's
19) Bayou Cafe
20) Ben & Jerry's
21) Bentley's Burgers
22) Big House Brewing Co
23) Big John's Restaurant
24) Bleecker Cafe
25) Bombers Burrito Bar
26) Bongiorno's
27) Branch Restaurant
28) Broadway Joe's Of Albany
29) Broadway Luncheonette
30) Brooklyn Sub
31) Brown Eyes Fish & Chips
32) Bumpers Cafe
33) Burger King
34) Buttery Restaurant
35) Cafe Capriccio
36) Cafe Hollywood
37) Cafe Lulu
38) Cagney's Bar
39) Capital Fried Chicken
40) Capitol Cafeteria
41) Capitol Hill Deli
42) Capitol House Chinese Kitchen
43) Caribbean Soul Restaurant
44) Caribbean Treats
45) Casey's Restaurant
46) Chang's Chinese Restaurant
47) China House
48) Chubby's
49) Citone's Italian Restaurant
50) City Hall Cafe
51) Clancy's Well
52) Clayton Caribbean American
53) Club Phoenix
54) Coffee Exchange Cafe
55) Colosseum Pizzeria
56) Comedy Works
57) Cook's State Street Cafe
58) Corner Food Court
59) Crown Chicken & Pizza
60) Crowne Plaza
61) Daily Grind Cafe
62) Dan's Place Two
63) Daniel's At Ogdens
64) Dave's Snack Bar
65) De Julio's Inn
66) De Pietro's
67) Dejohn's Restaurant & Pub
68) Deli Mill
69) Dinner Box
70) Doc Mc Cutchen's
71) Douglas Anthony's Restaurant
72) Duffy's Lucky Charm
73) Eagle Restaurant
74) Eagle Street Cafe
75) Edith's American & Caribbean
76) El Loco Mexican Cafe
77) El Mariachi Mexican Restaurant
78) El Mariachi Mexican Restaurant
79) Elbee One Caterers
80) Elbow Room
81) Elda's
82) Elena's Italian Caffe
83) Encon Coffee Shop
84) EPD Corp
85) Falafel & Subs
86) Fallon & O'brien's Larkin
87) Family Sub
88) Fort Orange Cafe
89) Fox Creek Sandwich Shop
90) Franklin's Tower
91) Freeman's Restaurant
92) Fuze Box
93) Gandhi Indian Restaurant Inc
94) Gaspary's Restaurant
95) Gli Food Svc
96) Golden Dragon Restaurant
97) Golden Fried Chicken
98) Golden Fried Chicken & Pizza
99) Ground Round
100) Hamilton Street Cafe
101) Hill Street Cafe
102) Hollyanns
103) Hong Kong Bakery
104) Hot Dog Heaven
105) Hudson Harbor Steak & Seafood
106) I Love Ny Pizza
107) Ichiban Restaurant
108) Ike's Pizzeria
109) Iron Gate Cafe
110) Island Restaurant
111) J G's Pizza
112) Jack's Oyster House Inc
113) Jack's Pizza
114) Jernie's Cafe
115) Jesenia Restaurant
116) Jillian's
117) Jim's Place
118) Johnny's Hot Dogs
119) Jonathan's Pizza Inc
120) Just Ny Pizza
121) Justin's
122) Kapp's Beans Garden
123) Kaye's Caterers
124) Kenneth's Tastebud
125) Kfc
126) Kfc
127) Kolu's African Caribbean Amer
128) La Serre Restaurant
129) Lam's Chinese Kitchen
130) Lark Street Deli
131) Lark Tavern
132) Lexy's Eatery
133) Lil Italy Pizzeria
134) Lionheart Blues Cafe
135) Lombardo's Restaurant
136) Long Branch Tavern
137) Mad River Bar & Grill
138) Mamoun's Falafel
139) Mansion Hill Inn
140) Marie Smith
141) Marquis Catering
142) Martel's Restaurant At OTB
143) Maurice's Pearl Street Deli
144) Mc Donald's
145) Mc Donald's
146) Mc Donald's
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Geary's Restaurant
149) Mc Guire's
150) Michele's Deli
151) Milanoe's Pizza
152) Miss Albany Diner
153) Mother Earth Cafe
154) Mr B's Best
155) Mr Subb Inc
156) Mrs Sunshine's Cafe
157) Muffy's
158) Muffys
159) Nelsons Steak Out
160) New Day Cafe & Catering
161) New Hong Kong Restaurant
162) New Image Deli & Variety Store
163) New Madison Grille
164) Next Door
165) Nick's Subs & Fish Fry
166) Nickelodeon Emporium
167) Nicole's Bistro
168) Nino's Deli & Subs
169) O B's Fast Food Restaurant
170) Ogden's Restaurant
171) Old Stadium
172) Oliver's Beverage Ctr
173) Other Co Restaurant
174) P J's Pizza
175) Pagliacci Ristorante
176) Palais Royal Restaurant
177) Panda Chinese Restaurant
178) Papa & Mamas Pizzeria
179) Papa John's Pizza
180) Patroon Inn
181) Paulys Hotel
182) Pearl Banquet & Catering
183) Pearl Restaurant & Lounge
184) Philly Steak House
185) Pit
186) Pizza Baron
187) Pizzeria 54
188) Pizzeria Sapienza
189) Players
190) Plaza Deli
191) Plaza Grill
192) Quintessence Inc
193) Quiznos Sub
194) Raffaele's Pizza
195) Ramona's
196) Ray's Tavern Of Albany Inc
197) Red Room
198) Restaurant Saigon
199) Risko's Tavern Inc
200) Ristorante Paradiso
201) River Front Cafe
202) Riverfront Bar & Grill Inc
203) Riverside Restaurant & Ctrng
204) Roberto's Italian Deli
205) Roberto's Spanish Restaurant
206) Rome
207) Romeo Pizzeria
208) Rosie's Heavenly Cafe
209) Roy's Caribbean-Restaurant
210) Saba's Restaurant
211) Sade's Restaurant
212) Sandwiches To Go
213) Saso's Japanese Noodle House
214) Savannah's
215) Scenarios
216) Scoreboard Lounge
217) Seattle Sub & Pita Co
218) Shades Of Green
219) Shahnee's Caribbean Bakery
220) Shalimar Restaurant
221) Sign Of The Tree Restaurant
222) Silver Slipper
223) Simply Fish
224) Sneaky Pete's
225) Soho Pizzeria
226) Somewhat Limited
227) South Pearl Coffee
228) Sovrana Grocery Bakery & Deli
229) Starbucks
230) Stephanie's On The Park Rstrnt
231) Stovalls Fast Food Take Out
232) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
233) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
234) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
235) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
236) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
237) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
238) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
239) Sukhothai
240) Sun Fai
241) Ta-Ke Restaurant
242) Tandoor Palace
243) Taste Italy
244) Taste Of Greese
245) Ten Eyck Cafeteria
246) Thatcher Street Pub
247) Torino Cafe
248) Totem
249) Tropical Smoothie Cafe
250) Tumminello's Deli & Catering
251) Twins Deli & Grocery
252) Unlimited Feast Inc
253) USa Fried Chicken
254) V & R Italian Ristorante
255) Van Restaurant
256) Victory Cafe
257) Water Work Pub LTD
258) Wendy's
259) Willie's Wonderful World
260) Willow Inn
261) Xing Wang Chinese Restaurant
262) Yanas
263) Yono's Restaurant
264) Zuzu's Wonderful Life Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
a great pub with great food and great beer. The Kick ASS Brown, is a meal in a glass.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Well, the reviews for this place are all over the spectrum--mine goes on the good side. I was there for lunch and was surprised at the crowd. Even had to wait for a seat at the bar--but there were appologies all around and the patrons were friendly. This is a really cool space and conveniently located--you can see it from the freeway and find your way--it's as close as it looks! On tap the day I was there: Scotish light, Quackenbash blond, state street porter, Kick-ass brown, American Amber, candy apple red, pump station pale, and braggot (? my notes are a bit sloppy). The Pump Station Pale was very good. Not only was it bitter but you could actually taste the hops--any home brewer who has stuck his/her nose in the bag of hops and sniffed knows what I am talking about. The porter was smoky and succulent! The description in the menue made it sound like it was going to be sweet but it wasn't. The kick ass brown was great--a bitter brown--can it get much better? Although I am not a fan of heffe, the patrons next to be kept raving about it so I tried it--it was actually quite good. Since I typically don't like that style, I'm not sure what that says to those of you who do. I loved this place and will certainly make it a regular stop each time I'm in Albany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I finally had a chance to try the Half Moon IPA on cask. Simply outrageous. Very dry, but the hop character is well-balanced. A big beer at 7%, but it doesn't taste so. Could be dangerous. They tap a cask each Friday and it's usually gone by Saturday, so if you'd like to try it, plan accordingly. A portion of the proceeds goes toward the Half Moon restoration fund, so you can drink great beer and support a worthy cause at the same time. Is that great or what?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Visited Sunday, 3/21, for victuals and grog before Palace tie-dye gathering Tasted the Kick Ass brown, awesome as usual, although this tasting a little more hoppy (See my previous review), and the Kolsch (not one of my preferred styles). BUT this Kolsch (German ale, which is fermented at lower temps than English ales, as I understand it) is AWESOME. Much of the Kolsch I've tasted is fruity with a clove note. I prefer a more neutral palate in beer. (I'm a lager guy) This Kolsch has lager character with a hint of spicey-ness. Paired wonderfully with their excellent Thai peanut wings. The service was awesome. Twenty+ at the bar, one server. She is a total pro. Just an awesome experience overall! (Of course the pre-concert clientele made it a little more special) Great atmosphere, music. (Just wish this place didn't close so early on Sunday (8 pm?!)Needed a post concert cool down.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, middletown, NY
(03/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
George is at it again! This time it's a "Grand Cru", the type of which I believe is a "fest" type beer originally brewed for special occasions. It is a wonderful Belgian Ale and is written up on the Web Site as having a complex, spicy character. Don't let the "spicy" part scare you. It has a wonderful malt character and is indeed complex, but without a preponderance of spices or fruits. It is perfectly balanced is the best way to put it. At 6.2% ABV it's slightly higher in alcohol than what you're usually used to, and is properly served in a tulip glass. Great job as always George!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This BP's signature product, "Kick Ass Brown Ale", although not in the traditional English brown ale style is, nonetheless, awesome. Beautiful marriage and balance of malt and hops. In the top 5 of my favorite beers. The porter and the "winter warmer" are excellent: Porter has a smoky bourbon note, clean, SMOOTH, moderate body. Winter warmer, touch of malty sweetness, rich body, moderate hoppiness. The "Vienna style lager" did not measure up. Flat (this pour) and not to style. The "style" designation made me suspicious at the start. The flavor was too estery (fruity) to be a lager. I suspect that this brew was made with ale yeast at lager temperatures (cold) to make an ale "suggestive" of a lager. My experience with the "style" designation has usually been disappointing. It's not the real deal and it shows. Also, either a BP is a lager house or an ale house. Rarely have I found one that makes both equally great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JT JT, Middletown, NY
(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hello all,

As the Head Brewer at the C.H. Evans Brewing Company I feel it necessary to correct a popular misconception, last stated in the review prior to this one. Neither Scottish Light nor Quackenbush Blonde are our best selling beers. Kick-Ass Brown, which fits into the style of an American Brown ale, is number one, with Pump Station Pale being a close second. The Blonde is third. The light beer is usually number 5 or 6 out of 7.

The beer drinkers here really appreciate full-flavored brews, and the hoppier, the better. I am quite pleased to brew for customers with such adventurous taste!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George de Piro George de Piro, albany, NY
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great
All of the beers on tap have distinct, usually good, characters; no “kit brewery” with malt extracts here! In general, each of the beers is sweeter than what I expected, but that is not a complaint. The Scottish Ale is just a sweet, pleasant BudLite type. Not bad. I guessed that this was the beer the happy hour crowd chose, but no (more about that below)! The Amber Ale was a good Scottish ale, a little light. The Quackenbush Blonde was OK--just beer, not special. This is the most popular beer; the happy hour people like it because it tastes the least like beer and the most like ice tea. It figures. This Hefeweisen was incredible! A major kick in the tastebuds from clove and coriander! Their (allegedly pilfered) yeast is gotta be working overtime!! The “Belgian Style” Strong Ale is surprisingly light (in color) ‘cause it’s actually a classic Trippel: sweet, heavy, and sneaky (9% rocket fuel). Every self-respecting microbrewery needs a Stout; they have Evans Extra Stout: I don’t know if it’s the original 1700’s recipe, but it was just another sweet, non-assertive stout (not nitrated). The de rigueur hoppy beer is the Pump Station Pale Ale: not only was it well hopped like an IPA, but also it was flavorful, with a hint of celery, like a young Chablis. Very good! I don’t understand what brown ales are for, they don’t fit into any category for me, but this one, the Kick Ass Brown, was much better than most, more aromatic malt base, with a surprising delivery of hops aftertaste. Not bad! I didn’t sample a lot of the food, but what I had was edible but a little strange; it probably reflects local tastes. The service is always good at the bar, and you can debate the beers while you taste them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The award-winning Kick-Ass Brown lives up to the hype, but the other beers I tried (amber, pale ale) were only ok. The food is quite tasty, and this place is certainly worth a stop if you're making the trek across the NY State Thruway. Oh yeah...the growlers are beautiful (and pricey because of it!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Lake Nebagamon, WI
(10/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Ooops...forgot my rating! ------------- After 2 years in Wisconsin, I drove 100+ miles out of my way to the The Man, George de P, and the ever lovely Kick Ass Brwon and Hefeweizen. The Belgian Strong must be drunk to be believed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B John B, Elmsford, NY
(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
After 2 years in Wisconsin, I drove 100+ miles out of my way to the The Man, George de P, and the ever lovely Kick Ass Brwon and Hefeweizen. The Belgian Strong must be drunk to be believed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B John B, Elmsford, NY
(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Belgian-Style Strong Ale is on now, and it's life a 200-MPH! Put on the seatbelt, because two's the limit on this one at 9% ABV (have a DD with you). It is a perfectly balanced example of the style with just the right combination of fruitiness, malt, and hint of hops. If heaven came in a glass - this is it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy Timothy, Troy, NY
(08/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Right off the interstate. Nice reuse of a old pumping station. Troy BC is close by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Alright, I typically can be pretty harsh about places that call themselves brewpubs...

This is a world class establishment with excellent staff and a great owner.

The presentation of the building is simply amazing - a great floorplan with brewing gear displayed as main attractions.

The beer is stylistically correct and the brewer is a seasoned professional.

Be sure to check out their great looking growlers and the intimate area back by the fireplace...

This is a must stop if you are anywhere near Albany, New York.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, pa
(04/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
This is a BREWPUB!!In Fact, it's not JUST a BREWPUB,it's a damn good BREWPUB.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Donamarie, Krumville, NY
(04/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
The Winter Warmer is now on, and it's excellent. A big beer with a respectable ABV, but not overpowering; nice malt character. If you like the style, check it out while you can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(01/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Just wanted to confirm the previous reviewer's comments, and congratulate George and Neil on their recent Gold Medal in the American Brown Ale Category at the Great American Beer Festival (GABF). It's George's second win in the last 3 years. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Griffin Paul Griffin, Slingerlands, NY
(10/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Went to the Pumphouse while in Albany seeing a show. The Place was jamming when we got there but we managed to get a table(thanks alot Neil!!) Everthing about this place was top notch. The food, atmosphere, the beer and the people. I tried the sampler platter of beers and not one was dissapointing. There were a couple of lighter beers in the sampler that I wouldn't normally buy anywhere, but they were crisp, clean, and well crafted. The brown ale is one of the hoppiest browns I have ever had, but finishes with a nice chocolate flavor on the tongue letting you know that you are still drinking a brown ale, great brew!! The pale is out of this world, a nice hoppy brew, with a dry finish that gives this brew a drinkability that is needed for a session brew. I could have drank this beer all night, but instead I got to the Strong Ale, which is in fact a Belgian Tripel. With a great aroma, yeasty esters, wonderful flavor,and an abv of around 9%, this is one of the best Belgian Tripels I have ever had. It stands up to anything from Belgium, and I would choose this beer over any Tripel I have tasted from this country as well. I haven't even mentioned the Hefe, or Wit yet, also two superb, world class beers. Neil Evans, and the Brewmaster, George de Piro were two of the nicest guys I have met in the brewing industry, and quite obviously, they know what they are doing!!! Keep up the great work guys, you will be seeing me again for sure!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Butler, Head Brewer Middle Ages Brewing Co. Tim Butler, Head Brewer Middle Ages Brewing Co., Syracuse, NY
(09/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The Kickass brown is one of the best beers I have had. The other 7 available beers were wonderful. A great old warehouse location that has been turned into a modern brewpub. Everyone in our party enjoyed then entrees & appetizers. Definitely worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kett carr kett carr, grayslake, IL
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Good
Some good beers here. The food can also be good (sometimes). Stick with some of the simple dishes, they turn out better. Service is not the high point. All that said, it is a nice atmosphere and a place that I hope stays open for a long time. With a little work this could be something great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
Talk about terrible……where should I begin? Well for starters, we called before visiting, because we were concerned about the Sunday dining hours… what time they stopped serving food, specifically. The person who answered the phone got annoyed with our question, sounding like she got asked that hundreds of times before, and was extremely rude. The answer was 8 pm. So, we planned an evening out to enjoy downtown albany activites and then finish off with a nice dinner & beer! (We Thought!) Anyway, we were escorted to our table by someone that wasn’t friendly or smiling. After a not too long wait, we were approached by our server. She quickly recited several beer flavors and asked what I wanted. I tried for the brown, no dice. Next to the amber or a lager, nope, none of them left either. The rest of the table scoffed, because they let me know that she had just explained all that. When It came down to it, they only had 3 or 4 beers out of the 8 or 10 listed on the chalk board over the bar. And the nightmare began…. Light, Stout, or Pale Ale, she said, very snotty. I stopped to think for a second, and that annoyed her, so she looked across the table and said grouchily, “do you know what you want.” To someone else I was seated with - Like I was incapable of ordering a drink. I went for the Pale Ale. She then went to the waitress station near by and got on a personal phone call. It took much too long for me to get my 1st beer. (not the first time that’s happened at the pump station), Anyhow, we ordered some appz. The food taste and quality were both as poor as the service and the beer selection. One app being overcooked, and the steamers, well they were a bucket of sand. I think this could be catagorized as the worst dining experience we have had for as long as I can remember. We decided to leave without entrees, choosing to go home and cook ourselves.(and we were extremely hungry) We also decided that would be our final visit to the nice building. If you are an out-of-towner or a serious diner, please be advised of this most unpleasant occurrence & take the extra 5 minute drive to another brew pub in the area. I think the Owner, Manager & Brewmaster should be ashamed of all of this and rethink how to get rid of the unhappy staff & poor selection of beverages. Like mentioned below (in other reviews), the setting and location is about the only thing this place has going for it. Have a good day!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(04/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I had the pale ale and the nice and hoppy kickass brown, which were excellent, and my wife had their awesome hefeweisen. There are enough varieties on tap so that there is something for everyone. The food was terrific and all the staff from hostess to bartender to server were courteous and efficient. All this in a very cool warehouse building...i want to go back just to hang out in the lounge area near the fireplace...very cool!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Wow, there sure seems to be a partisan character to some of these reviews! That's good and bad, I guess: good because it shows passion, bad because it's a bit misplaced. The brewpubs in the Capital District all offer something to different people. Here at the Pump Station, people get some great beer along with a truly breath-taking setting. I regret that the evidently fabulous Hefe wasn't on when I visited; maybe some other time, because between the good beer and the very easy access off I-787 I'll definitely be back. The Kick-Ass Brown deserves the GABF Gold it won in 2000. This is a dark IPA, with a long intense hop finish supported by solid malt and chocolate notes. The Dawn's Dry Stout was quite good, with a distinct coffee/roast malt aroma and flavor. The Pale Ale (which evidently sells like mad) seemed a little off the day I was in, with plenty of hop aroma and flavor, but with a slight cheesey/Band-Aid edge to it. Probably an effect of a particular batch of hops. I also tasted a very interesting tripel that had been keg-conditioned with hefe yeast, according to the bartender. It had an aroma like a slightly tart circus peanut candy, and an explosive fruit and spice flavor, sweet and sharpish, quite unlike anything else I'd ever had, a very stimulating beer. Like to go back and try some more at this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I've been to the Pump Station on several occassions and love there beer. The Kick Ass Brown Ale is definately one of my top ten favorite beers! The food and atmosphere are great! The best brew pub in the Albany area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Vacula Scott Vacula, Saratoga Springs, NY
(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
One word "yuck"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Latham, NY
(03/29/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.433 seconds) 13:08:47 54.204.142.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS