PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Erie Brewing Company - Erie, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 22, 2014 @ 12:47 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Erie > Erie Brewing Company
Erie Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Erie Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.5 / 100
1213 Veshecco Drive
Erie, PA 16501
United States
(814) 459-7741
Listed Since: June 1999
Last Updated: August 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Erie, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Erie Brewing Company
11 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(10 within 5 miles)
1) Oscar's Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Porter's Taproom
(0 mile)

3) Molly Brannigan's
(0 mile)

4) Sullivan's Pub and Eatery
(0 mile)

5) Lavery Brewing Company
(0 mile)

6) King's Rook Club
(1 mile)

7) Moonlight Lounge
(2 miles)

8) The BREWERIE at Union Station
(4 miles)

9) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(5 miles)

10) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Spencer House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AVALON HOTEL
2) BEST WESTERN ERIE INN AND STES
3) CLARION HOTEL BELL-AIRE CONF
4) DAYS INN ERIE
5) FAIRFIELD INN ERIE PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boston Store
2) Cashier's House
3) Cashiers House and Coach House (Boundary Increase)
4) Dickson Tavern
5) Erie Armory
6) Erie Federal Courthouse and Post Office
7) Erie Land Lighthouse
8) Hamot, Pierre S. V., House
9) Hill, John, House
10) Koehler, Jackson, Eagle Brewery
11) Lovell Manufacturing Company
12) Main Library
13) Modern Tool Company
14) Old Customshouse
15) Presque Isle Light
16) Qhandlery Corner
17) Reed, Charles Manning, Mansion
18) Thayer--Thompson House
19) U.S.S. NIAGARA
20) Villa Maria Academy
21) Warner Theater
22) Watson-Curtze Mansion
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 10th St Cafe & Market
2) A Thousand French
3) Academy Dinor
4) Alfee's Pizza & Sub Shop
5) Anastasia Mansion
6) Angela's Last Stop
7) Antler's Pub
8) Arby's
9) Arnone's Italian Restaurant
10) Ash Street Pub
11) Ashley's Pizza
12) Avalon Hotel
13) Barbato's Italian Restaurant
14) Barbato's Italian Restaurant
15) Barcardi Joe's
16) Barilla's Tavern
17) Barnie's Restaurant
18) Baybreeze
19) Beaners Restaurant
20) Beer Mug
21) Benjamin's
22) Bertrand's
23) Bleachers Sports Bar & Grill
24) Blessed Sacrament Cafeteria
25) Bob's Big Boy
26) Bobango's Cafe
27) Burger King
28) Burger King
29) Cafe 38
30) Calamari's Squid Row
31) Catarina's
32) Cathay Express
33) Cavatells
34) Chan An
35) Chestnut Street Pub
36) China Buffet
37) Chrisandra's Corner Tavern
38) Chuck & Ginny's Place
39) Chuckles
40) Clancy's Pub & Pizza
41) Coach & Four Restaurant
42) Colao's Ristorante
43) Creole Cafe
44) Czartoryski Cafe
45) Dairy Queen
46) Dana's 24 Carrot
47) Dee's Delicatessen
48) Denny's Ice Cream Stand
49) Docksider Tavern
50) Dominick's 24 Hour Eatery
51) Dominick's 24 Hour Eatery
52) Domino's Pizza
53) Dowling's Tavern
54) Eli's Tavern
55) Esper Enterprises
56) Europa Delicatessen
57) Fat Boys Deli Pub
58) Fergies Restaurant
59) Flip's
60) Fortune Garden
61) Fox & Hound
62) French Street Cafe
63) Fun Factory
64) Gas Light Lounge
65) George's Restaurant
66) Golden Goose Cafe
67) Goofie's
68) Greenburg's Old Country Store
69) Greg's Place
70) Haggerty's Bar & Diner
71) Hall-A-Day Catering
72) Happy Garden
73) Harry Miller Catering
74) Hector's Italian Restaurant
75) Helen & Jerry's Place
76) Hunter's Inn
77) Hut's Place
78) It's Greek To Me Rstrnt & Bkry
79) J J's Pub
80) J R's Last Laugh Comedy Club
81) Kfc
82) Klb Management
83) Knotty Pine Tavern
84) Lamas
85) Latino's Restaurant Bar
86) Lefty's
87) Liberty Plaza Restaurant
88) Little Anthony's La Pizzaria
89) Little Caesars Pizza
90) Lombardo's Tavern
91) Los Compadres Restaurant
92) Luchetti's Pizza
93) Lucky Strike Cafe
94) Luigi's Grill
95) Madeline's Restaurant
96) Maria's Tasy Delights
97) Marina Pub & Grill
98) Marketplace Grill
99) Martucci's Restaurant
100) Martucci's Tavern
101) Marty's
102) Masonic Temple Building
103) Matthew's Trattorie
104) Mays Tavern
105) Mc Donald's
106) Mc Donald's
107) Mister Pizza
108) Mojo's Pizza
109) Molly Brannigans Irish Pub
110) Morrone's Italian Ices
111) Mr Sub
112) Napoli Pizzaria
113) New York Lunch
114) New York Lunch
115) Odis 12 Bar & Grille
116) On Deck
117) Papa Joe's Coffee Shop
118) Papa John's Pizza
119) Papermoon
120) Parade Street Pizza & Deli
121) Peccadillo's
122) Pete's Pub
123) Pie In The Sky Cafe
124) Pio's Italian Restaurant Inc
125) Pizza Hut
126) Plymouth Tavern
127) Port City Java Roasterie
128) Porters Restaurant & Tap Room
129) Preston's Restaurant
130) Pufferbelly Restaurant & Bar
131) Quiznos Sub
132) R-Bar
133) Red Hot
134) Red Hot Family Restaurant
135) Relfections Bistro
136) Revolution Cafe
137) Rose Garden Cafe
138) Rum Runners
139) Sabella's Catering
140) Sabella's Of Union Station
141) Sammy's Food Mart Deli
142) Scooters Lounge Inc
143) Scotty's Jazz & Cigars
144) Scully's Pub Inc
145) Sharie's Downtown Deli
146) Sherlock's
147) Sicilian Deli
148) Sloppy Duck
149) Smugglers' Wharf Inc
150) Sophia's Tavern
151) Soup Du Jour
152) South Philly Steak
153) Starbucks
154) State Street Tavern
155) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
156) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
157) Sullivan Pub & Eatery
158) Teresa's Italian Deli
159) The Brewerie at Union Station
160) Three Chances
161) Tickle's Deli
162) Tivoli Tavern
163) Tj's Traffic Jam
164) Trance Dance Club
165) Trina's
166) Two Friends Italian Market
167) Village Supper Club
168) Wagner's Tavern
169) Waterfront Seafood & Steak Hse
170) Willow's
171) Zone Dance Club
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
These guys (and girl) were great. We were the first tasters of the day and they opened up the tasting room and the fun began. We tried all the taps and then they brought in bottles that wasn't on tap. We told them we were setting up a bar in our basement and they hooked us up. We were given a grand tour of the brewery and met the brewer. This is a hard working group of people that love there job. They can't sell the brew at the tasting room but they can give direction to the Beer store.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scaler Scaler, Rural Retreat, VA
(10/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The Erie Brewing Co. has been in chapter 11 for more than 3 years, and is producing more beer, employing additional people and distributing in 4 additional states since the filing. It is my understanding that the Erie Brewing Co. was forced into this position by a transfer of ownership gone bad and is working toward emerging from the bankruptcy in 2007. LONG LIVE EBC, PRIDE, STRENGTH, PURITY

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review erie, PA
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good
EBC is bankrupt and they are no longer is business (the way of Kholer beer)!!!!! its a shame that owners didn't have the know how to keep the business alive because they did have some pretty good crafted beers... Oh well guess Erie will have to find an other way to get on the map!! :-(

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Erie, PA
(07/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
First tried EBC beer at the now defunct Hoppers (as mentioned already below). Railbender was always my favorite, but if you are looking for something lighter, yet not sacrificing taste - try the Presque Isle Pilsner - the way a regular beer should taste. Mad Anthony Ale is also good. But, if you live in Erie don't miss the seasonal brews (only on tap at some local establishments). The only place I know of that has them is "Fox & Hound" outside Milcreek Mall. They also have $2 pints all day Tuesdays until Midnight! I no longer live in Erie, but when I visit, I am will be visiting them often. They keep one seasonal brew on tap - this time it was the Maibock, and it was great! Wish I could buy it to take home. Hoppers used to sell Growlers, but don't know if there is anywhere that will sell them now. I need to check into it...all EBC beers are very good tasting and well balanced, while also complex. Good Job, EBC - keep up the good work! and how about bottling those seasonals at least into 6/12 packs. Oh, yeah - the "6 Pack Shop" on Pittsburgh Ave. sells the regular brews if you want to give each a try first without buying a case :-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DCA DCA, Columbus, OH
(12/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
Don't know what this last guy is talking about Erie Brewing is not a resturant, Its a brewery. they are more consistant lately. Railbender is their best. They should take a tip from the fact that Railbender is a good seller. Lets see some more of those harty ale's . Let's see that Drake's Crude again.(a good oatmeal stout)should sell it year round.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Erie, PA
(11/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Erie, PA
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
I'm lucky enough to live in Erie so I can get any of the 3 year-round brews whenever I want. If you want a truly great beer, make it to the German Heritage Fest held in September every year. They sell a German Wheat Beer that will blow your mind. Its a well balanced quality beer perfect for a hot end of summer festival.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Messenger Scott Messenger, Erie, PA
(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I took Lew Bryson's literary advice and recently made the three hour trek to the nearest PA "beer distributor" (lovely New Castle) from Toledo and picked up a case each of Penn Pilsner, Penn Dark, and Erie Railbender. I liked both Penn Brews a great deal, and am addicted to the Railbender. I typically don't care for over-the-top malt beers, but this is clearly the exception; there is just enough hop balance to keep the malt somewhat in check. It's a beautiful thing. I'll be heading back to New Castle soon...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(01/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
I admit a prejudice for rail-themed or station-brewed beers, but none of that is in play with the bottle i'm sipping now, hijacked to me from an attendee of Pennsic Medieval Wars. Railbender is sadly unusual--a stron golden ale, crossing the best of West Coast hoppiness and assertiveness with firm (6.8%) alcoholic strength. Call it an American version of a British Old Ale or Belgian bock. I want more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Erie Brewing Co. is all the important components of the no-longer-brewing Hoppers (now re-named Porter's, evidently): the recipes and Bob Shaffer, and thank God, he's still making the mind-bending Railbender. Keep an eye out for the upcoming Oatmeal Stout: GOOD beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Pennsylvania Breweries Bryson Lew Pennsylvania Breweries Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(10/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Just stopped in for a brew or two and did not eat, but the service was quite good. The porter here was only so-so, but the Railbender Ale was wonderful: hoppy and bitter. I will be back for a couple cases of this, and more good conversation with the friendly folks in Erie.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Sisler Mark Sisler, Richmond, VA
(08/22/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.279 seconds) 12:47:37 107.21.135.68, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS