PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company - Kutztown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 06:24 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Kutztown > Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company
Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75.6 / 100
272 West Main Street
Kutztown, PA 19530
United States
(610) 683-9600
Listed Since: June 1999
Last Updated: November 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kutztown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company
58 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Main Street Pub was K'town Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) New Smithville Country Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Deisher, H. K., Knitting Mill
2) Hottenstein Mansion
3) Kemp's Hotel
4) Kutz's Mill Bridge
5) Kutztown 1892 Public School Building
6) Sally Ann Furnace Complex
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arby's
2) Bandit Diner
3) Basin Street
4) Bean Cellar
5) Camillo's Italian Restaurant
6) China King
7) Demarco's Italian Restaurant
8) Dori Martin Catering Svc
9) Double Deckers
10) Fancy Pantry
11) K'Town Pub
12) KDS Caterers
13) Kutztown Inn Family Restaurant
14) Kutztown Tavern & Golden Co
15) LA Cocina Mexicana
16) LA Piccola Cucina
17) Letterman's Diner
18) Mamma Delight Pizza Restaurant
19) Mark's Sandwish Shop
20) Quality Shoppe
21) Sal's Pizza Roma
22) Season's Grille
23) Shorty's Bar
24) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
25) Tavern Take-Out
26) Uptown Expresso Bar
27) Woogie's Coney Island Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
Four of us ate at the Kutztown Tavern AKA Golden Avalanche Brewery on 8-18-2012. The brewpub is large with high ceilings like many brewpubs today. The tanks are in the middle of the pub. The tables are well distributed. The restrooms were clean. I was disappointed to find no Wi-Fi internet access as more and more restaurants are offering this. The service was exceptional with an attentive waiter who promptly addressed our needs without hurrying us. The Young Allen’s Lager was well balanced with no outstanding flavors. The food was very good overall and offered great variety. My partner described her chicken quesadilla as too cheesy but everyone else except me thought the food was very good. My brew burger was excellent—one of the better ones I have eaten. The Boardwalk fries were not “boardwalk fries”—way too little grease. I rate them as good typical beer pub fries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Larry, Lancaster, PA
(08/18/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Awesome! Good
Very nice looking inside. Bartender was great and talkative. Pizza was fantastic. Got the sampler and it was just alright, nothing great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Lousy So So
I tasted the full flight of their offerings and was only impressed by their lightest. This has been my experience from previous visits. Service was abismal even on a slow mid-afternoon. Eventually had to move to the bar to get any attention. A growler of the light was good but faded quickly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom abell tom abell, allentown, PA
(12/31/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Good
I've been to this establishment several times and found the selection good, the beers well made but nothing exceptional. Considering how far they are off the beaten path they receive special commendation. Service at the bar has been especially poor...so be warned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom abell tom abell, allentown, PA
(12/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
After being at the Allentown Brewery the night before this place was a disappointment. The beer and the service was so so. The conversation that was going on in the place was not the normal talk that I have hear at other breweries. I come to a place to drink, eat and find out about the place not to hear sex talk between the barmaid and a customer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Horton James Horton, camb springs, PA
(06/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Beers not overwhelming, but not foul either. 8 on tap was a plus compared to 4 earlier in the day at Barley Creek. Most of the beers faded rather quickly, but I did enjoy a few of them. Olde Brick Alt starts out really nice, but left me hanging. Onyx Cream Stout had lots of good flavors in there, it just seemed as if they never had the chance to mesh together. The Barleywine was good, but not as a Barleywine--I would have thought it to be a full-bodied ale, but not to that next step of malt and alcohol. Pot stickers weren't bad; the location is nice, now how about ramping up the beers a little?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Another stop on our latest beer journey. The beer selection was very fresh tasting as well as just being very tasty. The food menu is huge (and different) and I need to come back to try more of the food and hit them when they have some of their seasonal beers on draft. Another place well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy
The house beers all have the same aftertaste, which is bad. The selection of beers is pretty limited. The menu is really limited, and the food is horrible.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Kutztown, PA
(01/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So So So
All beers were very bland. Tasted like Light beers. No body.Had the taster and the Stout was the best of the lot. Next was the Wheat beer and wheat beers are my least favorite style

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Flourtown, PA
(10/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Stopped in for a beer after a trip out to the Kutztown PA. German Festival. I'm a big fan of hefeweizens during summer, so I had the Donner Weiss. It wasn't bad, just not very good. Somewhere between so-so and good. It didn't have much tartness (the lemon helped a little, but a good hefe doesn't need it), was a little paler and thinner-bodied than it should have been. My wife had the same impression. Place seemed nice otherwise, and I'd give it another shot if back in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We started with the corn fritters, which were golden brown and served with honey. Being good Dutch folk, we had the Baverian Sampler--knockwurst, bratwurst and kielbassa served over sauerkraut with Dutch Fries--nothing French about this food! I had a pint of very smooth Oktoberfest and a pint of the Olde Brick Alt which was hoppy and refreshing. My dinner companion had the Onyx Cream Stout that she enjoyed very much--creamy and with a great aftertaste. An excellent place to eat and drink!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(09/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Had the Winter Bock. Very good. Tasty hops. More hop taste than hop bitterness. Maltiness survives. Smooth, moderately heavy mouth feel. Not complex, but very "clean" malt / hop taste. A pint costs $3.95 (ouch). Had the brewburger. Ordered it medium rare. Part of it was med rare, the rest was "well done".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Bethlehem, PA
(03/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Stout has thinned out a lot since last year. My friend had the alt, and he said it was thinned out too. Bogus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review JOhn, b, PA
(02/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Great food,Great atmosphere,smiling waitstaff. Winter bock and stout were my favorites. Convenient stop on the way home from Cabela's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bud Usinowicz Bud Usinowicz, Blairstown, NJ
(02/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
Always great beer - A worthwhile stop!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony Anthony, Philadelphia, PA
(08/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Stopped in Sunday afternoon for lunch. Of the 5 beers in the sampler, all were at least good, drinkable beers. The Onyx Stout was a little thin. The Blonde was surprisingly decent for their lightest offering, but I liked the Alt the best. I thought it was a solid beer. My wife enjoyed the Donner Weiss. The food -- Rueben on a Pretzel Roll and a Burger -- were very good, and our service was great. I'd visit again when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review steve, somerset, nj
(03/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Just had the Octoberfest. Good. Pretty hoppy and tart. Sort of like Sierra Nevada Pale ale without the citrus of SN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(11/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Went in late July, 2002. Had the Seasonal Brew, which was a Helles Lager. It was excellent. Fresh tasting (don't ask me to explain that) , great mouth feel, and a subtle citric taste. Just totally excellent. It was $2.75 per pint. Pretty good price. Had 2. I didn't try anythinbg else, since I've had all their house a standards, and know them well. I wish they would make the Helles a standard brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(08/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
The beer is not very consistent. The first time I visited, all the beers were very good. Subsequent visits, however, have been disappointing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, Emmaus, PA
(05/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
Started out the evening at Shorties, with a couple Mooseheads, an Alt, and an Onyx Stout. I am spoiled, I guess, because I was not blown away by the alt and the Onyx. Guess I've had them too often. But there was nothing WRONG with them.... Later, after taking in a movie at the Strand, sitting alone, with the other lonely psychos, I crawled back to the upstairs place, the Avalanche, and tried their Seasonal brew, which right now is the Spring Bock. This beer was quite nice. Didn't taste like I expected. Not bock-like. Not even dark. But it was quite good. Mouth feel : the beer foams somewhat in the mouth, releasing pleasant hop bitterness. The foam is good, not bad. Also has a hint of apricot, from what, I have no idea. Sort of tastes like a Magic Hat #9 (which I also like). I recommend the Spring Bock !!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(05/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Awesome!
Actually, I spend most of my time downstairs in Shorty's (same place), where I have never had a problem with the service, and most of the food is the same.

Upstairs at the GA, the table service can be spotty, but the food is still terrific. Go for the buffalo wings, and the burgers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Mongolian Stomper The Mongolian Stomper, Allentown, PA
(03/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've been to this place about 10 times over the last few years. Tried all the beers. Everyone else is right when they say the house beers are "weak". The only one worth drinking, although the prices are reasonable, is the Alt. That's what I always have there now. BUT.... if you can get one of the Lanch's seasonal winter brews, like the "Winter Solstice", which was on site in the winter of 2000/2001, then you will not be using the word "weak" to describe the taste. The WS was very strong, nicely hopped, and must have had some flavoring grains thrown in too. I never found out what was in it. I did hear it was the made from the same recipe as for the Alt, but with twice as much of the ingredients (thus curing the "weak" problem). It was the same price as the usual weak stuff, too ! Go figure. Well, needless to say I maxed out on the Winter Solstice while I was there, thank God, because, sure enough, the next time I stopped in it was gone ! This winter (2001 / 2002) they have a Munich(?) lager as the seasonal brew. It is OK, about as good as the Alt, but a bit heavier, but nowhere as good as the Winter Solstice (our waitress pronounced it Solst - Ice).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, bethlehem, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Awesome! Good
Beer is nothing to write home about--great for college drinkers, but dull for beer snobs. Food (open-faced broiled reuben on pretzel roll, fries, etc.)was excellent, help terrific. Go for the food, not the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(01/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Okay, I need to revise my review. I had the Tavern Ale last nite and it was great! A hoppy, aromatic IPA! Looks like they're learning!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(12/30/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.492 seconds) 18:24:50 54.198.140.182, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS