PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


All-American Rathskeller - State College, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


  >
October 20, 2014 @ 10:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > State College > All-American Rathskeller
All-American Rathskeller Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
All-American Rathskeller
Overall: Great    Score: 77.3 / 100
108 South Pugh Street
Corner of College Avenue
State College, PA 16801
United States
(814) 237-3858
Listed Since: June 1999
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for State College, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Zeno's
(0 mile)

2) The Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Cafe 210 West
(0 mile)

4) Mad Mex
(0 mile)

5) Otto's Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

6) The Phyrst
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Accommodations
2) Carnegie House
3) Chatelaine Split Pine Frmhse
4) Fairmount Bed & Breakfast
5) Limestone Inn Bed & Breakfast
6) Springfield House
7) Starry Night Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ATHERTON HOTEL
2) CARNEGIE HOUSE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Camelot
2) Centre Furnace Mansion House
3) Centre Furnace Mansion House
4) Dale, Felix, Stone House
5) Hill House
6) Thompson, Gen. John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Allen Street Grill
2) Autoport Restaurant
3) Autoport Restaurant & Lodging
4) Baby's Burgers & Shakes
5) Backyard Burgers
6) Backyard Burgers
7) Bell's Greek Pizza
8) Bella Sicilia Pizza & Pasta
9) Ben & Jerry's
10) Bench Warmer Cafe
11) Big Bowl Noodle House Inc
12) Big Eats Food Co
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Bonfatto's
15) Boots Dairyette
16) Brewers Caffe
17) Brewery Inc
18) Brewsky's Bottle Shop
19) Brother's Ny Style Pizza
20) Brother's Pizza
21) Brothers Pizza & Pasta
22) Burger King
23) C C Peppers
24) Canyon Pizza
25) Catering Concepts
26) Celebration Hall By Hoags
27) Charley's Steakery
28) Chili's Grill & Bar
29) Chinese Kitchen Express
30) Chopstick Express
31) Ciao Italia Italian Market
32) Clem's Barbecue
33) Coldstone Creamery
34) College Pizza
35) Corner Room
36) Crowbar
37) Daily Grind Coffeehouse
38) Damon's
39) Dante's Restaurant Inc
40) Darkhorse Tavern
41) Dee's Texas Hotdog
42) Deli Restaurant
43) Dino's Pizza-Teria
44) Domino's Pizza
45) Don Corleone's Pizza & Wings
46) Dorothy's Chinese Kitchen
47) Dorothy's Chinese Kithchen
48) Double D's Pizza
49) Faccia Luna Pizzeria
50) Famous Ernie's Steaks
51) Ferahs
52) Food Express
53) Fox's Pizza
54) Gardners Candies
55) Garfield's Restaurant & Pub
56) Gingerbread Man
57) Gopper's
58) Green Bowl
59) Gumby's Pizza
60) Happy Chinese Kitchen
61) Herlocher Foods
62) Herwig's Bistro
63) Hi-Way Pizza Pubs
64) Hi-Way Pizza Pubs
65) Hoag's Catering
66) Home Delivery Pizza
67) Honeybaked Ham Co & Cafe
68) Hooters
69) Hunan Wok
70) India Pavillion Exotic Indian
71) Irving's Bagels
72) Jack Sapia
73) Jimmy John's
74) Kfc
75) Knights Of Columbus
76) La Bamba Mexican Restaurant
77) Links Pub & Cafe
78) Mad Mex
79) Mario & Luigi's
80) Masala
81) Mc Donald's
82) Mc Donalds
83) Mio Zio
84) New China Town
85) P J Harrigan's Bar & Grill
86) Panda Express
87) Panda House
88) Panera Bread
89) Papa John's Pizza
90) Penn State Sub Shops
91) Perkins Family Restaurant
92) Phyrst Irish Pub
93) Pita Pit
94) Pizza Hut
95) Player's Night Club
96) Ponderosa Steakhouse
97) Qdoba Mexican Grill
98) Quiznos Sub
99) Rathskeller All American
100) Red's Steamed Cheesburgers
101) Roly Poly
102) Ruby Tuesday
103) Saint's Cafe
104) Saloon
105) Sammark Inc
106) Say Sushi Restaurant
107) Seoul Garden Korean Restaurant
108) Shalimar Indian Restaurant
109) Shandygaff Saloon
110) Shoney's Restaurant
111) Silver Screen Grille
112) Smoothie King
113) South Ridge Motor Inn
114) Spats Cafe & Speakeasy
115) Starbucks
116) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
117) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
118) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
119) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
120) Super Buffet
121) Taco Bell
122) Tavern Restaurant
123) Uncle Chen's Chinese Rstrnt
124) V & S Sandwiches
125) Victorian Manor
126) Waffle Shop
127) Wing Zone
128) Wings Over Happy Valley
129) Zola New World Bistro
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So
I honestly don't see what the big deal is with the Skellar. I've gone to Penn State for a few quite some time now and am familiar with the bar tour. Beer is sorta pricy, I'll give them credit for good deals on Killian's and Miller Lite though. It's a nice basement bar, but doesn't have the great atmosphere of other bars in town. The Skellar is a good place to go if you want to get in a fight.

I haven't attended the case race, so I'll give that a shot and possibly change my judgement. It's a pretty grungy bar with alot of bouncers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Waterfall, PA
(12/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
I never meant to become a regular here, but I just kept ending up here night after night.

The food from Spats upstairs is nothing fancy, but very good. On Tuesdays and Saturdays they run a "Burgermania" special - $5 for a giant burger (chicken, beef, or portabella) and fries. Happy hour is 9-11 and usually to the tune of $2 rail drinks, a different one chosen each night. There's a similar all-day beer special, about $2 for a pint of something that changes each day. The biggest draw for me is the booths, which are large enough to fit 6-8 people comfortably and have tall barricades between which helps block out unwanted noise and make conversation easier. There are only about 10 in the whole place though, so you won't get one on a weekend if you don't get there early. They keep it warm enough that you can get away with wearing short sleeves in the dead of January as long as you bring a sweater for the walk back to the car. The age of the scene is somewhat older than most bars around town - because they don't have rock-bottom $1 pints it's more of a graduate student/alumni hangout. No cover most nights, on weekends it's generally $2 and starts around 8pm, give or take.

Service is mediocre, and on the nights they have live music, it usually is too. Nights with no live entertainment are left to the internet jukebox - music of the masses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review State College, PA
(05/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
This is Penn State beer Mecca!!! Someone clean the mens room please!!! Good eats and nice beer maids and GUINNESS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Troy Schultz Troy Schultz, Reading, PA
(03/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Good overall college bar with a great staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Jacksonville, FL
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The Skeller has some of the best wings in State College-and only $2 a dozen on Thursdays after 9 pm. Add in cheap pitchers of beer and you have dinner. I have been to the Skeller many times in the last 7 years and it still remains one of my favorite bars in State College: laid back atmospher, cheap beer and a good place to see good bands. (Katsu plays there-they are awesome).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hilary Hilary, State College, PA
(05/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Awesome! Lousy So So
Meathead bouncers used to really make this place a downer, along with the low ceilings, smoke, and horrible beer. Upside? Cheap eats from the kitchen at Spats upstairs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T T, Philly, PA
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
If you plan on doing any drinking in this town (state college), do yourself a favor and stop here to enjoy a few pints of the black stuff while taking in part of this schools tradition. The Skeller is set below street level, it's dark, and the floors might as well be dirt. It is much like many of the Irish pubs I've been to. I am a Penn State student and regular to this bar. There is always a drink special, cheap Guinness and Jameson, and the atmosphere is electric.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fuzz Fuzz, Gettysburg, PA
(07/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Lousy
The ceiling is WAY too low (if you're over 6", don't even bother) and it's always horribly crowded. It's more of an alumni scene, so don't expect an exactly vibrant crowd. I wouldn't take a chick on a date here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ty ty, philly, PA
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Awesome!
I don't know...the place is a hole in the wall, like many others have said. There's just something about this place that I love. Must be the atmosphere, plus it's uncanny ability to get you smashed for as little money as possible. Ya gotta love a place where you just buy a pitcher and drink from it. (Or buy a whole case of ponies and hang out in a booth). The bands in the back room are always a treat as well. A definite stop for all PSU fans/students/alumni/etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Chesna John Chesna, Old Forge, PA
(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
This place actually has a great selection of beer on tap and in bottles.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Ingram Jon Ingram, Rockledge, PA
(01/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Good Good
This was one of THE hangouts for me and my friends when I was enrolled at PSU in the mid-late 90s. As was our policy, we almost always went with the case of Rolling Rock ponies. As a result, I never really experienced the beer selection, but I remember it being fairly extensive. While I like Rolling Rock, it was more of an economic decision at the time (see: avg beer spending budget during college years). I likewise don't remember eating anything there, although I may have in a drunken stupor. Atmosphere is very unique in that it is located underground and feels that way to. This place will remind you of your musty basement, unless you've lived in a ranch all your life. I remember seeing several PSU bands, although the names escape me in my current state of sobriety. Fairly good sized pool table room seperates the bar and the band room. While this bar is infamous for it's annual "case race", I unfortunately never participated in that holy event. Be sure to buy a souvenir bottle opener with the pony case. I've been told that Ed O'Neil of "Married With Children" fame appears on an old PSU football team poster, although I've never seen it (might be worth checking out).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Bethlehem, PA
(06/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I've been a regular at the Skellar for about 3 years now, and they have a great selection of draughts that are well-priced. Atmosphere is great, perfect for all ages just looking to have a good time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carrie Carrie, State College, PA
(09/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
If you're looking to reminisce about your old college days or moan the recent slump of the PSU football team, then this is the place. A little hole in the wall bar, the beer selection is not too bad but the food is standard fare. If you're looking for place to sample and enjoy unique beers and talk to proprieters who can tell you something about them, walk up the street to Zeno's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Bellefonte, PA
(08/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Definitely a hole in the wall, college atmosphere. A place your feet would get wet on weekends. We had the vegetarian chili, really chunky, but not too spicy. Another in the group had the alligator and crawdad pot pie. He said it was good and spicy. Another had cheese tortellini with andouille and stuff and liked it too. The menu had lots of choices and their prices can't be beat. Check out their website for selections. The beer selection was extensive and the server was very helpful and attentive. I had the local Mt. Nittany Jed's Red. It was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richelle Sweger Richelle Sweger, Millerstown, PA
(07/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Awesome!
The Skeller is all-about atmosphere. They have a good beer selection, and the food (served only during the day, although some bar food is available) is tasty, but the place is a college bar (underground, poorly ventilated, less than clean). However, there are great traditions (like Case Race, Green Sh*t and Rolling Rock pony bottles sold by the case). Also, lots of cool PSU memorabilia on the walls. A must if you are in central PA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Whitall Dave Whitall, Emerald Isle, NC
(06/30/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.714 seconds) 22:56:35 54.227.171.163, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS