PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Big Tree Inn - Geneseo, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 29, 2014 @ 01:33 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Geneseo > Big Tree Inn
Big Tree Inn Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Big Tree Inn
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
46 Main Street
Geneseo, NY 14454
United States
(716) 243-5220
Listed Since: October 1999
Last Updated: December 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Geneseo, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
7 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Idle Hour
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Macphail House Bed & Breakfast
2) Some Place Else
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN GENESEO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Williamsburg Cemetery
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Burger King
2) Destiny's Door
3) In Between
4) Leon's Pizza
5) Mama Mia's Pizza
6) Mc Donald's
7) Miceli's Main Street Deli
8) Pizza Hut
9) Pizza Paul's
10) Ponderosa Steak House
11) Starbucks
12) Statesmen
13) Subway Geneseo
14) Uptown Lounge
15) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good N/A
I'm sorry to report that the Big Tree has gone steeply downhill since a change of managers in the fall of 2004. The new manager has no background in or understanding of craft beer and has been dumbing down the beer selection since he took over.Most of the regular tavern customers have stopped going due to the lack of interesting beers and the overall decline of the tavern. One now finds Labatt Blue, Blue Light, and (shudder!)Michelob Ultra taking up tap space. There are still a few micros on tap, but they are mostly run-of-the-mill beers from Custom Brewcrafters. They've had Red Seal recently but charge $5.00/pint for it compared to $3.50 over at the Idle Hour. The selection of bottles has been reduced as well, although there remain enough quality offerings. Draught beer is the main draw for most quality beer bars and the Big Tree's selection is very pedestrian. The current bar staff have no beer knowledge and can't answer customer questions. The attitude now seems to view the tavern as more of a place for restaurant customers to wait for their table rather than an entity in it's own right. Until last fall the place had numerous regulars who gathered there on Friday nights after work as well as Saturdays and even some weeknights. You could count on seeing your friends there. Alas, no more. I've talked with the current manager a number of times in an effort to reverse the decline with no success. I even gave him a connection to obtain west coast micros(twice) but he didn't act on it. He claims he dumbed down the beer because we (craft beer drinkers stopped coming in, but the obvious reality is that we've been absent due to the decline of the tavern. The only hope now is that Campus Auxiliary Services, owner of the Big Tree, notices a decline in tavern revenue and puts someone in charge who knows beer and understands the customers who seek out quality beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(05/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Good
The service and food were excellent. I was just there on Saturday (24 April 2004) and the bartender was friendly and knew a lot about the beers on tap. There weren't however, a huge variety on tap. Bonus points though for no Coors or Bud on tap. They have an extensive bottle choice--although most seemed to be Belgian style (not my favorite style). If you're in the area this is a great place to stop in. I'm not so sure it's worth a special trip though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I'm cursing myself for not visiting the Big Tree earlier and including it in my New York Breweries book: this place is GREAT. Excellent, well-kept draft selection, informed and well-tempered bartender, beautiful place, good spirits selection, and an extremely picturesque setting (if it's not wintertime...): what more could you ask? Outstanding bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Andy...I said i'd send this site along:

http://swannydude.tripod.com/whatsnew.html

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from swanny swanny, mount morris, NY
(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Geneseo would be a beer wasteland without the Big Tree. When I visit my daughter at SUNY Geneseo, this is a must stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Still one of the largest selections of microbrews & single malt scotches in WNY . Food is excellent, w/Daily Specials, & now open 7 days a week. Only 1 tap out of twelve WASTED on a domestic. Really Nice Place!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Roch, NY
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Geneseo has gained a second quality beer bar with the renovation and reopening of the Big Tree Inn earlier this year.The tap room features 7-8 micro-brewed draughts and over 40 bottled craft brews,including Orval and the full range of Chimay trappist ales from Belgium.The Big Tree is also a top notch restaurant.Meals and beers can be enjoyed on the large deck that was added to the side of the inn,which dates back to 1833.Well worth a visit if you're in the Rochester area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(08/25/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.789 seconds) 01:33:15 54.87.109.201, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS