PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Chalkies - Indianapolis, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 09:50 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > Indianapolis > Chalkies
Chalkies Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Chalkies
Overall: Great    Score: 79 / 100
5603 East 82nd Street
Indianapolis, IN 46250
United States
(317) 578-2221
Listed Since: November 1999
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Indianapolis, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Chalkies
22 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Beer Sellar
(0 mile)

2) Ale Emporium
(0 mile)

3) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(0 mile)

4) Loon Lake Lodge
(0 mile)

5) Claddagh Irish Pub
(3 miles)

6) The Hop Shop
(3 miles)

7) Brugge Brasserie
(3 miles)

8) Brugge Brasserie
(3 miles)

9) Broad Ripple Brewing Company
(3 miles)

10) Union Jack Pub
(3 miles)

11) Pawn Shop Pub
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES KEYSTONE
2) BEST WESTERN CASTLETON INN
3) CASTLETON HOTEL
4) COMFORT SUITES FISHERS
5) DAYS INN INDIANAPOLIS NE
6) DAYS INN INDIANOPLIS IN
7) EXTENDEDSTAY CASTLETON
8) EXTENDEDSTAY INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
9) HAMPTON INN NORTHEAST CASTLETO
10) HOMEWOOD STE INDIANAPOLIS
11) INDIANAPOLIS MARRIOTT NORTH
12) OAKWOOD FISHERS
13) OMNI INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
14) RAMADA INN FISHERS IN
15) RESIDENCE INN IND FISHERS
16) SHERATON INDIANAPOLIS HOTEL
17) STUDIO 6 INDIANAPOLIS FISHERS
18) SUPER 8 NE CASTLETON AREA
19) THE KENDALL INN
20) TOWNEPLACE SUITES IND-KEYSTONE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Fort Harrison Terminal Station
2) Haverstick, Hiram A., Farmstead
3) West--Harris House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 8 China Buffet
2) Abruzzi's Italian Restaurant
3) Ale Emporium
4) Alvin's Bar & Grill
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Arby's
7) Asaka Japanese Restaurant
8) Asian Chao
9) Avalon
10) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
11) Beer Sellar
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
14) Bonefish Grill
15) Boston Market
16) Bravo Kitchen Italiana
17) Briggsy's Pizza King
18) Buca Di Beppo
19) Burger King
20) Burger King
21) Burger King
22) Bw-3 Castleton
23) Cancun Castleton Mexican
24) Cancun Castleton Mexican
25) Capone's Pizza
26) Castleton Grill
27) Charleston's
28) Charley's Steakery
29) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
30) Chicago Street Pizza
31) Chick-Fil-A
32) Chili Verde Mexican Restaurant
33) China Dynasty
34) Chow Express
35) Chuck E Cheese's
36) Claude & Annie's
37) Cold Stone Creamery
38) Culvers Frozen Custard
39) Dairy Queen
40) Dairy Queen
41) Denny's
42) Dns Drive-Ins Inc
43) Domino's Pizza
44) Don Victor's Mexican
45) Einstein Brothers Bagels
46) Einstein Brothers Bagels
47) El Rodeo Mexican Restaurant
48) Eljimete
49) Estilo Bar & Restaurant
50) Fazoli's
51) Fox & Hound
52) Free Spirit Lounge
53) Frullati Cafe & Bakery
54) G T South's Rib House
55) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
56) Gramma's Table
57) Great China Buffet
58) Guido's Gourmet Pizza
59) Hardee's
60) Hardee's
61) Hooters
62) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
63) Ichiban Noodles
64) International House-Pancakes
65) Irani Corp
66) Jack's Pizza
67) Jack's Pizza
68) Jersey Mike's Submarines
69) Joe's Grill
70) Kat's Pub
71) Kfc
72) Las Brisas
73) Le Peep
74) Le-Peep Restaurant
75) Linda J's
76) Little Mexico Mexican Rstrnt
77) Logan's Roadhouse
78) Long John Silver's
79) Long Thanh Restaurant
80) Loon Lake Lodge
81) Luca Pizza
82) Machu Picchu
83) Malibu Grill
84) Max & Erma's
85) Mc Donald's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mc Donald's
89) Mcl Cafeteria
90) Mediterrano Cafe
91) Melting Pot Restaurant
92) Montage
93) Movable Feast
94) O'charley's Restaurant-Lounge
95) Olive Garden
96) On The Border Mexican Grill
97) Outback Steakhouse
98) P S O'Rourke's
99) Panda Express
100) Panera Bread
101) Patrick Bar & Grill
102) Penn Station
103) Perkins Family Restaurant
104) Pisano's
105) Pizza Hut
106) Qdoba Mexican Grill
107) Quizno's-Rivers Edge
108) Quiznos Sub
109) Quiznos Sub
110) Quiznos Sub
111) Red Lobster Restaurant
112) Red Robin America's Gourmet
113) Ritter's Frozen Custard
114) Sapporo Japanese Steakhouse
115) Sarku Japan
116) Skyline Chili Inc
117) Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
118) Snax
119) Something Different
120) Starbucks
121) Starbucks
122) Starbucks
123) Starbucks
124) Steak N Shake
125) Steak N Shake
126) Sub-Oven
127) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
128) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
129) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
130) T D Alibi's
131) Taco Bell
132) Taco Bell
133) Taj Of India
134) Tgi Friday's
135) Thai Taste Restaurant
136) Tokyo Gourmet Buffet
137) Tony Roma's
138) Uki Japanese Restaurant
139) Velvet Lounge
140) Viet Bistro
141) Vizion Restaurant & Vapor Lng
142) Vu
143) W G Grinders Catering
144) Wasabi On 82nd St Japanese
145) Wendy's
146) Wendy's
147) Wendy's
148) Wendy's
149) White Castle
150) Your Way Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Roof leaks all the time, saw a roach in the bathroom and when I said something to the waitress, she said "So what do you want me to do about it? At least it isnt in the kitchen!" They let the roof get so bad, a pool table is ruined. There must be at least 10 leaks that they have not fixed and it just keeps getting worse.

I wait for the place to be shut down. I go there for APA pool, because it is smoke free.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, Indianapolis, IN
(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So So So
My colleague and I play pool every Friday afternoon at 3pm, until about 6pm, and used to pick Chalkies as our first choice, since neither of us are smokers, and they had good equipment, good beer, lovely waitresses, and a jukebox. A few years back when there must have been a change in management, there were a few times we were standing at the door until well after 3pm waiting for it to open. Finally one time we just bailed and went to the Fox and Hound down the street instead. We've tried going back a few times but the beautiful waitresses are gone, the bartender is rude and the service generally sucks. No wonder there is no one else playing pool there on Friday between 3pm and 6 pm. The only redeeming feature now, compared to the Fox and Hound, is the jukebox, and the tables are cheaper in the afternoon. Ian van Wesenbeeck, Fishers, IN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ian van Wesenbeeck Ian van Wesenbeeck, Fishers, IN
(01/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
Oh how the mighty have fallen! Since last summer, there obviously has been a change of ownership or management, becuase this isn't the place I complimented in two previous reviews. Belgian bers almost gone--10 taps of all types. Bar guy limited to "when Beam used to throw amazing parties" talk and horse racing on the big screen. Weak in comparison to what it was.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Chalkies is great place to eat, drink and play pool in clean, non-smokey environment. The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. I am really glad I found this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(10/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Although I've reviewed Chalkie's before, I wanted to return to see if all the comments were what I would find just a year later. Sorry guys, but it's still a great place for great beer. I told the server (Misha) that I was on a bit of a beer tour and she could not have been more helpful and really went out of her way to make me feel like I was at my favorite hometown bar. Lots of Belgians to choose from and many micros as well. There probably are times when the service or the server isn't up to par, but I can't say it's been that way for me all the times I've been here. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Those who leave good reviews always sign their name. Those of you who have bad reviews don't want anyone to know who you are. Only cowards leave their name out. If you had such a bad experience wouldn't you think that telling the owner or the manager would have been the first response to such service. But then like most bad reviews, people want to critisize instead of help make things better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dawn Dawn, Fishers, IN
(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy So So
Old tasting beer! Food So So! Service Sucks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(03/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Visited Chalkies again and once again had a great time. Service was quick and good, server was very friendly. Marvin came over to say hi, as usual.

It seems some of the former employees have given bad reviews but I can assure everyone that nothing has changed, still one of the best places to hang out in Indy. Judging by the crowd here this visit most people agree! Awesome selection of beer, great food, and Marvin even sent over his new bananna ketchup to sample with our fries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from melissa melissa, Indianapolis, IN
(03/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I read some of the reviews that looked like sour grapes from ex-employees, but I always have a great time at chalkies. The beers and food take it up a couple of notches from anything else in this genre. Congrats Chalkies!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Atlanta, GA
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
You definitely won't see her at Chalkies again. She was one in a million!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(02/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I miss Kelly. Will I see her again?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review indianapolis, IN
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This was the absolute BEST Beer and Food Place to go Until the majority of the best people quit. Kelly, Hillary, Tiny and Richard are all GONE. Whatever happened had to be bad for all these people to follow Kelly after she quit. Going to Chalkies was like going to Cheers....now that feeling is gone and I will not go back unless they are returned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carmel, IN
(02/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome!
One of the Best hot spots I have been too. I guess I am bias, but oh well. Hope to see you soon Marvin and Dawn.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nicholas Wall Nicholas Wall, Bluffton, IN
(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The best beer bar in Indy! Best selection of beer on tap and the place is smoke free! The staff is very friendly, fantastic service. Marvin is very interesting and knowledgable. The enthusiasm of the employees adds to a great evening. There used to be a brewpub (Hops) next door but it is gone and Chalkies is packed. Our favorite stop when in Indianapolis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from missi missi, bradley, IL
(09/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Go figure. A pool hall (upscale) where you can get a wide variety of excellent beers. Well, this is the place! Kelly very helpful (a hop head!) and not bashful about giving a taste of various brews so you can pick just the right one. The best one this trip? Stone IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is a great place to play pool, eat great food, and enjoy the best tap selection of beer in Indianapolis. Marvin and the staff are very knowledgeable, and the wide selection of Microbrews and Belgians on tap have yet to be matched! Outstanding!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeremy Azevedo Jeremy Azevedo, Indianapolis, IN
(02/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The best place to go in Indy...Period.

I can't stand smoke, or degenerates. Chalkies has neither. It is a classy joint, but not over priced like some pretentious places you'll find. The challenge lies in getting a table on a Fri. or Sat. night. On those nights, you'll be lucky to even find a parking spot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Brad, Indianapolis, IN
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Probably overall one of the best places I have ever been.The staff at Chalkies are the friendliest group of people you will ever have serve you.They really made my wife and I (out-of-towners) feel welcome.The owner introduced himself to us also and was quite nice.They treat you like they want you to come back,and that they are happy you are there.The food runs from "wraps" and the like to full dinners.I had the swordfish dinner and it was great.Now for the best part,the beer.Really good selection of imports and micro-brews on tap.I had a Golden Draak from Belgium,and my wife had a Lindenmans Kriek.I also was lucky enough to be there on Feb 9th when they opened a very very rare Bass Russion Imperial Stout cask conditioned.A very very small batch brew from England.It was incredible.Great beer,great food great service.Nice looking place also,and it is smoke free.What more could you want.I cant wait to drive back down to Chalkies again.A really top notch place to go.Do yourself a favor and try it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Everett Jack Everett, Ft Wayne, IN
(02/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great selection of unique Micros and Belgians (on tap!) and you never know what they will have on tap next... Firkins of Real Ale, a True Kolsch from Germany, who knows, but you can bet it will be awesome. No tour of Indy's best beer bars is complete without a visit to Chalkies. Oh yea, the food is great as well. As an avid homebrewer and beer lover, I have been to brewpubs and great beer bars all over the country and this one (in my own hometown) is one of the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Smith Ron Smith, Indianapolis, IN
(07/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Tucked into a neighborhood near a shopping mall, big box stores and franchise eateries, Chalkie's is something of a surprise. It's a bright, contemporary sports bar and billiard parlor that, remarkably, is nonsmoking. They feature an excellent selection of imports and microbrewery beers both on tap and in the bottle, with monthly and seasonal features and specials. The staff seems to be knowledgeable about the beers and enjoys talking about them. Approximately 200 yards across the parking lot is Hops, a franchise restaurant and brewpub. You would do better to visit Chalkie's instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Des Moines, IA
(06/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Zeller Greg Zeller, Toledo, OH
(04/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Marvin is very knowledgeable about beer and always has some interesting brews on tap. Great place and it is smoke free.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Zeller Greg Zeller, Toledo, OH
(09/24/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.635 seconds) 21:50:38 54.91.25.210, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS