PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barley and Hops Grill and Microbrewery - Frederick, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 21, 2014 @ 07:39 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Frederick > Barley and Hops Grill and Microbrewery
Barley and Hops Grill and Microbrewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Barley and Hops Grill and Microbrewery
Overall: Good    Score: 67.5 / 100
5473 Urbana Pike
Frederick, MD 21704
United States
(301) 668-5555
Listed Since: November 1999
Last Updated: October 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Frederick, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
54 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00PM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Catoctin Inn & Conference Ctr
2) Hill House Bed & Breakfast
3) Inn At Buckeystown
4) Mc Cleery's Flat
5) Turning Point Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COURTYARD FREDERICK
2) DAYS INN FREDERICK
3) ECONO LODGE FREDERICK
4) EXTENDEDSTAY WESTVIEW DRIVE
5) HAMPTON INN FREDERICK
6) MAINSTAY SUITES FREDERICK
7) QUALITY INN HISTORIC FREDERICK
8) SLEEP INN FREDERICK
9) TRAVELODGE FREDERICK
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Fat Oxen
2) Frederick Armory
3) Gambrill House
4) Guilford
5) Hessian Barracks
6) Linden Grove
7) Linganore Farm
8) Loats Female Orphan Asylum of Frederick City
9) Markell, George, Farmstead
10) Prospect Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Below Deck Bar & Grill
2) Burger King
3) Champion Billiards Cafe
4) Chipotle Mexican Grill
5) Chuck E Cheese's
6) Deli Plus
7) Fox's Pizza Den
8) Ice Cream Cafe
9) Log Cabin Soups
10) Mc Donald's
11) Mediterranean Corner
12) Mediterranean Grill
13) Milanos Pizza
14) Monocacy Crossing
15) Panda Express
16) Panera Bread
17) Pizza Blitz
18) Quiznos Sub
19) Romano's Macaroni Grill
20) Ruby Tuesday
21) Screwy Scoops Custom Ice Cream
22) Shahi Restaurant
23) Starbucks
24) TGI Friday's
25) Waffle House
26) Xii
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
The worst, has really declined in the last three years

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Randolph Jason Randolph, Leesburg, VA
(04/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good
Server Casey's first night. He did very well. Never had Maryland crab soup before but never would have thought it would taste like vegetable beef soup. Really enjoyed the Cream of Crab. Wings were okay. They're made for the conservative masses. Pale Ale is very good. The stout lacked body but had a pleasant smokey aftertaste

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
New TV's ??? Music in Bar area ???

Just a nice place to hang out-newcomers and regulars alike.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Russell Bill Russell, Middletown, MD
(10/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Greg Curran no longer brews at B&H. The beer selection is mediocre and the beer is OK but no longer outstanding. Management decisions often result in no Pale Ale or Red Ale for extended periods of time. I go there mostly because of the atmosphere, the people, and the decent beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Myersville, MD
(04/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
Stout was Great - malty, dry, and smooth; Nut Brown had a sharp edge - not nearly as good as Brewers Alley where we had lunch earlier in the day. Food was cold and teh fish and chips were extremely greasy -- probably had the frying grease too cold. Waitress didn't seem overly concerned that the food wasn't up to our expectation and charged us for the full meals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeannette, PA
(11/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Oktoberfest was okay all around, not over the top, but nice. It had a malty sweetness and a decent body to it. Alpenkindl was pretty thin--a beer for the masses. Good bar crowd enjoying some late afternoon sports.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Middletown, MD
(08/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
We stopped here after having dinner at Brewers Alley so we did not eat anything. We sat in the bar area and enjoyed the view of the dining area below. We loved the decor. I had the sampler and found most of the beers to be standard brewpub quality which is not a bad thing! Greg is a very good brewer and certainly excelled on the seasonals, Lust for Lupulin and India Amber Ale. The maltiness of the Red and the Nut Brown got my attention also and the roastiness of the Stout was very good. Keep up the good work. We will stop here again on our way through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
We stopped in for the first time after having dinner at Brewers Aley so we did not eat anything here. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the decor was. I somehow had it pictured differently. We sat in the bar area and I had the sampler. I didn't find anything particularly bad about the beer. It was standard brewpub quality which is not a bad thing. I enjoyed the seasonals, Lust for Lupulin and the India Amber Ale. I found the stout to be quite tasty also. We will certainly stop again on our way through. I saw a hand pump there and wondered if they use it. I do love cask-conditioned beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy So So
I can say nothing good about the "service" if that is what they are calling it at Barley and Hops. either they have no clue what you are talking about, or moreso they could care less.... i have a feeling it's both. Do not ask about beer styles or differences, they are likely not to know.....but i guess that happens when you servers are too young to even taste the differences and nuances.

But the beer.....ahhhhh.....how good the libation is here. the Brewmiester, Greg Curran, is very experienced with over 10 years of experience under his belt. in the spring he has a double ipa, "lust for lupalin". Currently he has an aged jim bean cask beer on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brew-Misstress Brew-Misstress, Damascus, MD
(01/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Located in a stand-alone building in a mall south of the town proper. Brick/wood interior with grain bags as decor. The beers all had very little body over all, and seemed to be quite thin in character. For instance the description of Tuscarora Red says, "brewed to bring out the most malt". Sorry, but it very bland. Udology Oatmeal Stout semed more like a very mild porter. Lust for Lupulin IPA was, at 9%, the "heavyweight" of the bunch; it tasted sweet, honey-ish and lemony to me, however it was drinkable, and at the Monday rate of 1.50 for house pints, a good deal. Daily bar specials revolve around mixed drinks,save for the Mon. pint deal. Probably wouldn't return without some encouraging reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Visited here on the way to Brewer's Alley; it was a pleasant surprise to find a decent brewpub in a shopping center amid the ubiquity of retail alley. Though the selection was not diverse, the beers I tried, Nut Brown and the special (can't remember the name, but it was tasty) were enjoyable. It may give Brewer's Alley a run for its money (though I hope not, as I enjoy both - along with Brewer's Alley affiliate Summit Station in nearby Gaithersbarrio).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tried the Annapolis Rocks Pale Ale and OktoberFest seasonal at the http://www.mdoktoberfest.com Maryland Brewer's OktoberFest. They're brewing some good beers now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(10/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
We go to Barley & Hops all the time, and we are always quite pleased. The new brewer has done wonders for their beers. The red ale and the pale ale are particular favorites of mine. The staff is very friendly. I like this place a LOT better than Brewer's Alley.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Etheridge Mark Etheridge, Myersville, MD
(10/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Much better than the rating shows. Actually went to Frederick to try out Brewers Alley, but the building had a power failure, so went to Barley & Hops instead. They had about 7 of thier brew on tap, we tried 4, and all were very good. The food was above average too, so I would definitely go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbus, NJ
(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I'll agree with what Lew said here. I stayed away from this place for years, as it was always panned as being mediocre, but a trip there today showed me the new brewer has made all the difference in the world. I sampled three beers while I was there, the Big Ben Nutbrown, the Stout, and the Annapolis Rocks Pale Ale. I found all three impressive, and the pale ale was abrassively hoppy and delicious. Food was excellent, atmosphere was nice, I'm a sucker for all that wood, the service fast and friendly. A very good brewpub that I will return to as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T, Sherman John T, Sherman, Northen, VA
(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good N/A
The new brewer has begun an amazing change in the beer. He has updated the mainstays of the brewery and really changed them for the better. The Nut Brown has much more flavor and maltiness, the Red has gone from a half-assed knock-off of Killians to a rich and complex brew, and the seasonal 'lust for Lupulin' Double-IPA really makes a statement. It is hoppy and alcohol-y but still a good session beer. The brewery has obviously gone from an extract, Mr. Beer gimmick-y waste of time to a credible brewpub. Thank you, Greg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Schobel Eric Schobel, Frederick, MD
(05/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
New brewer indeed: Greg Curran is doing a great job here. Made my first visit yesterday, sampled the taps and truly enjoyed everything I tasted, from the Dirty Little Blonde Ale to the Lust for Lupulin double IPA. My burger was deliciously rare, just as I ordered it, although the spicy peanut cole slaw wasn't that spicy and had no discernible peanut flavor. The place itself is clean, attractive, and has some very interesting brewery touches: note the painted hopsacks on the walls. Barley & Hops suffers a little from a real generic look in the dining room, but overall, definitely a place I would return to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
The beer is inconsistent, usually just plain bad. Each time I’ve had a meal or burger it has been served cold. The management/kitchen staff doesn’t seem to put any pride in what is served to the customer. How difficult would it be to assure that the food is prepared properly and served at the appropriate temperature? When I join friends for a drink eat before I come. I’ve just had one bad meal to many at this place. It sad because the bartenders and serving staff are quite personable and the atmosphere is not bad but the food and beer leaves a lot to be desired. I understand there is a new owner but nothing has changed. Hopefully the new owner will read this and realize something needs to be done sooner than later.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Bakka J. Bakka, Walkerville, MD
(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Frederick, MD
(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
This establishment is really bad. The local Helath Department should visit at night. The place is dirty, the food is bad, the bear is lousy. My food is always cold, my salad is served on hot plates. Imaging cold food is served hot and hot food is served cold. The owners and managers do not really seem to care. But somehow, they come out as the best of Frederick on a regular basis. I guess if you buy enough books you can fill them out for your patrons.

The food is overpriced and continues to rise almost on a weekly basis, but the quality of the food does not match or improve. The regulars even seem to complain and often gather to discuss how bad things are. I asked them why the keep coming and they say they are shopping for a new place and meet to discuss potential options.

I guess I am that way too. I do not eat at this place other than a burger every once and a while. I have now switched from drinking their beer to mixed drinks. I figure other than water them down they come out of a reputable bottle. When the drinks get watered down, it will be time for me to leave.

It seems that everyone comes for happy hour and then leaves. This place has potential and seemed like it was going to be great. The kitchen staff seems less than motivated, the servers and bartenders are very friendly and have always seemed to empathize with the problems I have had each time I have ordered food. Even to the point of taking the food right back to the kitchen, only to bring back food that still was not right.

The owner seems only interested in paling around with the local radio station than making sure the quality of the food and beer are up to quality standards. SO do like I do, grab a bottled beer and enjoy the company of your friends, for eating the food and the micobrew will only make you desire Fastfood when you leave and that is pretty bad!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Frederick, MD
(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Awesome!
Great deal for families! Good prices and specials. Beer's nothing great but definately passable. Overall a good deal and it's definately not like going to one of those bland chain restaurants which I hate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P.H. P.H., Middletown, MD
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
If you haven't been here in a few months, try it now: They've hired a new brewer as of a few months ago, just as someone in an earlier review wished. And the beer is a vast improvement from before. I ranked it good, but make that a -solid- Good; nothing really stood out, but it's basic, well-made beer now, and we'll see how it develops -- promising so far. (And the specials prices are a really good deal.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Middletown, MD
(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in for a couple of beers & a bowl of soup. Had the Annapolis ale & the seasonal Hefeweisen. Liked both, the Hefeweizen was a very refreshing summer brew. Met the owner-brewer & had a really nice bartender (Cari). Mirco brews are $1.00 all day Monday & $1.50 al day Thursday. A real deal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Miller Bill Miller, Denton, MD
(08/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
pale ale was the annapolis ...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(07/08/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.321 seconds) 07:39:29 54.87.130.240, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS