PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery - Ann Arbor, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 21, 2014 @ 03:22 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Ann Arbor > Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery
Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 73.2 / 100
523 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
United States
(734) 747-9806
Listed Since: November 1999
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ann Arbor, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
35 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Arbor Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Grizzly Peak Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Ashley's
(0 mile)

4) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Amadeus Cafe and Restaurant
(0 mile)

6) Blue Tractor BBQ
(0 mile)

7) Jolly Pumpkin Cafe and Brewery
(2 miles)

8) Lord Fox
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Artful Lodger
2) Bed & Breakfast on Campus
3) Judy's Place B & B
4) Urban Retreat Bed & Breakfast
5) Vitosha Guest Haus
6) Wood's Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN AND STE ANN ARBOR
2) BELL TOWER HOTEL
3) BEST VALUE INN
4) CAMPUS INN
5) COMFORT INN AND BUSINESS CNTR
6) COMFORT INN ANN ARBOR
7) COURTYARD ANN ARBOR
8) DAYS INN ANN ARBOR
9) EXTENDEDSTAY DETROIT ANN ARBOR
10) FAIRFIELD INN ANN ARBOR
11) FOUR POINTS ANN ARBOR
12) HAMPTON INN ANN ARBOR NORTH
13) HAMPTON INN SOUTH
14) OAKWOOD ANN ARBOR
15) QUALITY INN AND STES ANN ARBOR
16) RED ROOF ANN ARBOR UNIV NORTH
17) RESIDENCE INN ANN ARBOR SOUTH
18) STUDIOPLUS DETROIT ANN ARBOR
19) SUPER 8 MOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Anderson, William, House
2) Ann Arbor Central Fire Station
3) Bell--Spalding House
4) Bennett, Henry, House
5) Delta Upsilon Fraternity House
6) Detroit Observatory
7) Dixboro United Methodist Church
8) Earl, Thomas, House
9) First National Bank Building
10) Frieze, Henry S., House
11) Germania Building Complex
12) Harris Hall
13) Hoffstetter, Jacob, House
14) Kellogg--Warden House
15) Main Street Post Office
16) Mechem, Floyd R., House
17) Methodist Episcopal Church Parsonage
18) Michigan Central Railroad Depot
19) Michigan Theater Building
20) Newberry Hall
21) Nickels Arcade
22) Northern Brewery
23) Palmer, William B. and Mary Shuford, House
24) President's House, University Of Michigan
25) Stone School
26) Ticknor, Dr. Benajah, House
27) Tuomy Hills Service Station
28) Unitarian Universalist Church
29) Weinmann Block
30) White, Orrin, House
31) Wilson, Judge Robert S., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Abe's Coney Island
3) Achilles Restaurant
4) Afternoon Delight
5) Ali-Baba
6) Amadeus Cafe
7) Amer's
8) Angelo's On The Side
9) Angelo's Restaurant
10) Arbor Brewing Co
11) Arby's
12) Arby's
13) Argiero's Italian Restaurant
14) Ashley's
15) Aut Bar
16) Azure Restaurant
17) B D's Mongolian Barbeque
18) Backroom
19) Banditos Inc
20) Banfield's Bar And Grill
21) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
22) Benny's Family Dining
23) Bev's Caribbean Kitchen
24) Blimpyburger
25) Blue Nile Of Ann Arbor
26) Bob's Big Boy
27) Boston Market
28) Broadway Cafe
29) Broken Egg
30) Burger King
31) Cafe Habana
32) Cafe Rendez-Vous
33) Caffe International
34) Campion Restuarant
35) Cava Java Bistro
36) Champion House
37) Chia Shiang Restaurant
38) China Gate Restaurant
39) Chop House
40) Cleveland's Gill & Grill
41) Cloverleaf Restaurant
42) Coffee Break
43) Conor O'neill's Traditional
44) Cottage Inn Pizza
45) Cottage Inn Pizza
46) Cottage Inn Pizza
47) Cottage Inn Pizza
48) Cubs' Ac
49) D Zanzibar
50) Daikalok Cafeteria
51) Dairy Queen
52) Denny's
53) Dinersty Restaurant
54) Dominick's
55) Earthen Jar
56) Escoffier
57) Espresso Caffe Corp
58) Espresso Royale Caffe
59) Espresso Royale Caffe Iii
60) Foods Of India
61) Frank's Restaurant
62) Fraser's Pub
63) Fuji Restaurant
64) Full Moon Restaurant & Saloon
65) Good Time Charley's
66) Gratzi
67) Heidelberg Restaurant
68) Hinodae
69) Iris Cafe
70) Jerusalem Garden
71) Jimmie Johns Gourmet Sandwich
72) Jimmy Johns Gourmet Sandwich
73) Joe Joe's Cafe & Raw Juices
74) Jonathon B Pub
75) Kai Garden
76) Kave's Kafe
77) Kerrytown Bistro
78) Lamplighter
79) Le Dog
80) Le Dog
81) Leo's Coney Island
82) Makkara
83) Manchu Wok
84) Mary's Fabulous Chicken
85) Max & Erma's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mediterrano
89) Michael's Chop House
90) Mitch's Place
91) Mr Greek's Coney Island
92) Mr Pita & The Coffee Beanery
93) Mr Pizza
94) Mr Spot's
95) New Star Chinese Restaurant
96) Northside Grill
97) Oasis Deli
98) Old China Restaurant
99) Olga's Kitchen Inc
100) Olive Garden
101) Oriental Express
102) Paesano's Restaurant
103) Palio
104) Panchero's Mexican Grill
105) Papa Chulo's
106) Parthenon Restaurant
107) Pita Pit
108) Pizza House
109) Ponderosa Steakhouse
110) Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe
111) Raja Rani
112) Real Seafood Co
113) Red Hawk Bar & Grill
114) Red Hot Lovers
115) Rick's American Cafe
116) Rod's Diner & Corp
117) Romano's Macaroni Grill
118) Sabor Latino
119) Saigon Garden
120) Sbarro
121) Seoul Garden
122) Seoul Korner Cafe
123) Seva Restaurant
124) Shalimar Restaurant
125) Shehan-Shah Indian Restaurant
126) Siam Cuisine
127) Sottini's Sub Shop
128) Southside Cafe
129) Steve's Lunch
130) Studio Four
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunflower Cafe
137) Sushi Shop
138) Sweet Lorraine's
139) Taste Of Italy
140) Tim Hortons
141) Tim Hortons
142) Tios Restaurant
143) Tony Ba'lony's Pizza & Subs
144) Touchdown Cafe
145) Tubby's Sub Shop
146) University Cafe
147) University Club
148) Victors At The Campus Inn
149) Villa Pizza
150) Wendy's
151) Wendy's
152) Wendy's
153) Wendy's
154) Yamato
155) Yes Sandwich Cafe
156) Zingerman's Catering
157) Zingerman's Delicatessen
158) Zydeco Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great Great
Leopold Brothers was a unique establishment in AA and I was sorry to see it go. I met there for Euchre with friends for many years and enjoyed the friendly, relaxed atmosphere and good food. As a home brewer though, I will not miss their beer. Much of it was undrinkable and I spent many evenings there nursing a Coke instead of enjoying a brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Farmington, MI
(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It was a sad day for me to find out that they will be closing in June. I will have to find a new place to have a couple before the M games, best of luck to Todd & Scott they will be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Leopold Bros. is closing come June 2008 and the business is moving to Denver (where the the brothers are from).

The new operation in Denver will focus on spirits (no beer). Supposedly, their distiller liquors have become more popular than the beers they make.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(02/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great Good
The beer continues to struggle, but let me tell you, I would go back just to have another bloody mary. They use their own vodka and their closely guarded mix recipe. They would not tell us what was in it, but it had a black bean, southwestern flavor to it. Oh so good! Second only to Milwaukee Ale House, maybe better. I wish I could say such nice things about their beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(09/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
The beer is really hit-or-miss with this place. That goes both for individual brews and individual taste: some beers are outstanding while others fall very short and some folks love the beer while others can't stand it.

My personal favorite here is the Oatmeal Stout, though the Porter is also good and the Red Lager is very tasty for a lager.

The servers are fun and eccentric if you talk to them a bit. The open beer-hall atmosphere is what makes this place great. The robust selection of board games provides great entertainment.

Food is pretty good, I like the artichoke dip personally.

They also distill their own vodka and gin.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrijus Perkunas Andrijus Perkunas, Harrisville, MI
(06/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Good So So So So
Oh how the mighty have fallen. Leopold Brothers was one of the best brewpubs in the state when it opened, and for several years thereafter. They only served lagers back then, all wonderful beers. But now the quality of the beer has dropped and the average bar food that was introduced a few years back has not helped pick up the slack. Leopold's pilsner is still excellent, but there is no guarantee that it will be on draft at any given time. Beer selection seems entirely random, with the better lager beers frequently absent. (Let's just say that Leopold's does not brew particularly good ales.) Service at Leopold's is as nonexistent as ever, as there never seems to be anyone working there save for a single bartender. Prices are high, like most bars in Ann Arbor, though Leopold's happy hour specials are good. I still hold an affection for the place, and wish it would turn around. But until the quality and selection of the beer improves, my visits will invariably be limited to a pint or two on the way to one of Ann Arbor's other fine watering holes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ann Arbor, MI
(02/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So Good
The bar itself is really nice. The atmosphere is really great too.

The beer is OK, but over priced. Going on Thursday for the 1/2 off coin flip is your best bet to get it a little cheaper.

Never had the food.

Service...?? Well, my boyfriend and I have some good memories with this place, and when we were in there one night having a few on the couch and we leaned into each other and got a little mushy from memories...the bar tender came over and (in a kinda nice way) told us that if we keep it up she'll have to ask us to leave. It's not like we were making out, and the place really didn't have too many people in it. Maybe she had PMS, or just broke up with her man, but who knows. It made me (and my boyfriend) feel uncomfortable about going in there. We are looking for places to have a wedding reception, and now I've pretty much crossed this place out. Weird how one person can ruin it for you, eh?

As a side note, she did apologize to my boyfriend afterwards when he went up to pay the tab; but it still weirds us out to go in there and have her be the bartender.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from June June, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
Walked in on a holiday weekend and even thought the bar was not busy I felt as though I was either too old for the establishment or they just didn't care. I had the Hefe which left a odd taste in the back of my throat. It was a dry odd flavor that I didn't care for. I stopped after one becuse they don't offer a sampler... A brew pub with no sampler??? What a shame, this could be an outstanding place to have a good brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy
I sampled 3 beers the porter tasted like soap the imperial stout was so infected I thought I would vomit the schwarzbier beer was tastless and the bar tender sat at the bar and ate food. There was 4 people in the whole place. I will not be back

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rosebush, OTHER
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
The beer is funky, but not as bad as I would have thought based on some of the previous reviews. I sampled four, and ordered a pint of the golden lager. When they realized that they were not out of the porter (which I really wanted to try), I was given a pint of it on them. So, they at least were attempting to please their customers. Lots of business types in for happy hour, most having mixed drinks however.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
I decided to give Leopold another chance, and dropped in yesterday. What a mistake. I TOTALLY agree with the previous two reviews; if it's possible, the beer has gotten worse since I last visited almost a year ago. They had four on tap, I think, and I tried the Hefeweizen, Oktoberfest, and Porter. Bleccchhh! All three were plagued by the same funky, sour aftertaste.

I really like the building, the atmosphere is cool (the anti-yup scene), and the service is ok. What an absolute crying shame that their beer is among the worst I've had across the country. Please improve the brewing ASAP!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(09/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So
Beer: Horrible. The Hefe was poor, and the Dunkel had a strange sour taste. The Red wasn't any better.

Service: Quick, but crabby.

Atmosphere: It's got potential - a nice german-style bier hall.

I'd rate this as one of the worst brewpubs I've visited, simply because of the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Lyons Greg Lyons, Angola, IN
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Good
I don't know what these people are talking about, but I've tried every beer this place has made and they are uniformly undrinkable. Strange, bitter twinges and sour aftertastes abound. On the other hand the place itself is attractive and a relatively fun place to hang out. They just need to have beer delivered.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Bruce, Ann Arbor, MI
(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
I would guess the place is qurky. We stopped for beer which was decent considering there were a lot worse on our trip to MI/OH. they had 3 beers On tap. No food, No frills, could be better. Maybe at night its better?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenny Kenny, Anaheim, CA
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great
No. Not much on selection. But the brew is excellent. I usually get the Pilsner which is usually wonderful, but being a micro-brew, each batch is unique, and I have found a few not-so-hot pints among many excellent ones. We bought a half-barrel of Pilsner for our wedding, and it was a huge hit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Coldwater, MI
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Always that 10% or a lil' more to bitch. This place does a great job,a bit eccent ric on the environment,BUT,now there's food!Just a few real beer drinking wannabees ruin the Pub review! CHEERS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muff muff, Sandusky, OH
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Great
Okay okay okay...so the beer's not that great, it gets overcrowded all the time, and they don't serve any food. BUT, this place gets props just for being the world's first ecobrewery. It's a German style beer hall with a compost pile and greenhouse attached; from what the mgmt. says, the place is entirely environmentally sustainable. It's worth checking out at least once, and the environment might be the only cause that makes spending more money on so-so beer more than ok in my book. Go Green! Go Blue!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Lake Nebagamon, WI
(01/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
We stopped in after the Wisconsin-Michigan game and had a couple here. The beers were good, but the selection left a bit to be desired. For those who like ales, this might not be your place. From what I've seen, this is a lager-only brewpub. But if you are looking for a place near the stadium where you can find a few good beers before or after the game, this is a decent option.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew L. Buteyn Matthew L. Buteyn, New Berlin, WI
(12/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Great So So
Good atmosphere and pleasant service, but where's the beer? Only three on tap today (Red, Pilsner, Kolsch), all of which were on the thin side. C'mon guys, it's December; where are the stouts, holiday ales, scotch ales - hell, for that matter, how about an IPA, Belgian Trippel, or just a simple Brown, Amber, Porter....yada yada yada

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(12/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good
Great place for the alternative crowd. The bands get loud and the people are "unique". Only four beers available this time, up from three. The Dunkelweiss was hard to finish. The red was weak but more drinkable. Not much of a food menu. No reason to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Fielding Carl Fielding, Ann Arbor, MI
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Awesome!
I found my new favorite bar. The hefeweizen was just what the doctor ordered and reminded me of Boulevard Wheat back in Kansas City. I didn't venture into the other beers just yet, but the wheat was perfect. The chill atmosphere was perfect and I love the board games. One interesting thing is that the bar has great air circulation. Those green tarps that flap around help reduce the smokiness of the bar. Great work Leopold Bros.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Colonel Kustard Colonel Kustard, Overland Park, KS
(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Leopold Brothers is a neat place to check out - it's a beautiful brick wharehouse with long wooden tables, some nicer furniture (couches), real dartboards, a fine commitment to the environment, and an even stronger commitment to german style brews. The beer itself is usually well done - i had a rather tasty winter lager - but can be inconsistant, as i've been less pleased in the past. They have some sandwiches from a classy local deli, but most folks order in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Henne Sean Henne, Waterford, MI
(03/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
a very original place. an old warehouse with couches and boardgames. we dint want the food there, a freind was over heard saying pizza sounds good and the waiter broght us the phone and said order one. just like having a beer at a buddy's house, what a trip

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael jones michael jones, marquette, MI
(10/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I would highly recommend Leopold Bros. The Schwarzbier was one of the best that I have ever had. Service was great and we had a great discussion with one of the owners about their brewpub. It was great to be able to go to a brewpub so dedicated to brewing lagers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Kasen Dan Kasen, Chicago, IL
(11/20/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.257 seconds) 03:22:02 54.211.157.103, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS