PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Fred's Lounge - Mamou, LA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 07:40 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > LA > Mamou > Fred's Lounge
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Fred's Lounge
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 87.1 / 100
420 6th Street
Mamou, LA 70554
United States
(318) 468-5411
Listed Since: January 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Mamou, LA
Beer Guide for Louisiana



Read our BLOG:
What Makes a Bar a Beer Bar?
User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Fred's Lounge
9 Reviews / 8 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Casanova's Bar
2) Diane's Brass Rail
3) Fred's Lounge
4) Linita's
5) Pardners Steak House
6) Pardners Steak House
7) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A N/A Awesome!
I recently went to Fred's Lounge for the first time at Mardi Gras. To my delight my cousin, Mark Young was playing his fiddle! What a talented man! What a great venue for all things Cajun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ardoin Devaney Sherman Chris Ardoin Devaney Sherman, Fall River, MA
(02/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The house accordionist was Don Thibodeaux (trademark: Bayou Accordions) a very few years ago. He'd know who the current guy is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Richard, LA
(11/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'd have to believe a lot of these reviews complained of date from when Fred Tate was still alive, and Revon Reed doing the radio broadcast on Saturday mornings, and Ambrose Thibodeaux leading the house band when he showed up. All has changed now -- all three are long dead -- and the bar is a Saturday-morning tourist stop. I think the National Park Authority has something to do with its survival, but I don't know that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Richard, LA
(11/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Looking for good beer? This is not the place for you. Looking for a great time? Then definitely, put your taste buds on hold, choke down some of the mass market swill, and enjoy a rollicking good time with Tante Sue and Cajun bands. I just visited this legendary hot spot while on Cycle Zydeco. I can't really add much to what others have written already. Wow, what a place. If they actually served good beer, I probably never would have left.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Rask Tim Rask, Iowa City, IA
(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Good
Fred's is the classic Cajun music location. The brass historical marker by the door gives you the details about the French speaking revival. Inside is packed even on an off-weekend. There is not room for the lively traditional Cajun dancing; but, that doesn't stop folks from doing as much as they can. It is a great place for genuine Cajun music. But, as for beer, forget it. The colorful lady proprietor drinks Hot Damn schnapps from a belt holster bottle. The bar serves the typical mass market lites, not even the local Abita. The reviewers who rated the place awesome for beer quality and selection were just plain lying. My advice is to bring your own beer and drink it in the parking lot, while supporting the place by buying a t-shirt, cap, or cd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stewart Eastman Stewart Eastman, New Orleans, LA
(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Fred's Lounge is definitely a place that you are guaranteed to "pass a good time". I've been going there for years. Tante Sue is a trip. I have to go there at least 3 times a year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Stephanie, Nederland, TX
(03/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I had a blast dancing with a nice and cute guy named Toby. He was the brother to one of the band members. We drank and drank and had a blast with Sue. We love her. Thank you very much for a great time!!!! Does anyone know how I can find out Toby's last name? His brother was the Accordian player in the band. Thank again for the best time of my life.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rebecca Rebecca, Austin, TX
(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
THOSE CRAZY CAJUNS....WE LOVED IT AND HAD A BALL...COMING BACK SOON. PAPAW

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TERRY MATTHEWS TERRY MATTHEWS, MOORINGSPORT, LA
(10/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Fred’s Lounge is open only one day/week. On Saturday morning they open their doors at 8. They close at 1:30 PM. That 5 ½ hours is packed with more raw fun than you thought possible. We get to Fred’s 5-6 times/year. If we are lucky enough to have a meeting on Friday within 500 miles of Mamou, we make our way to I-10 and head to Fred’s. It is located on the corner of 6th and Chestnut. From I-10 take Rte 13 north about 25 miles. Take a right at the water tower. You’ll run into it. Get there before 9 AM because the place fills up fast. It has been at the same site since 1946 and has changed very little. Tradition is respected here. Fred’s was founded in 1946 by Fred Tate. Fred passed away in the early 90’s, but Tante Sue De Mamou, who had been married to Fred, is still behind the bar each Saturday. There is live French music beginning at 9:15. The show is carried on a local radio station, KVPI, and over the internet on LouisianaRadio.com. The music is in the Cajun style, featuring two-steps, waltzes and jitterbugs. The band plays straight through with no breaks. Many in the crowd are familiar with the music and join in by singing, applauding or dancing. There is no dance floor as such, but people find room to move around. The customer mix is about 1/3 local, 1/3 Louisiana, and 1/3 from around the world. There are no strangers at Fred’s. Tante Sue greets everyone and within minutes, you belong. Beer is featured at the bar. OK, not craft beers. Mostly Coors Light, Miller Lite and Bud. Some of the old timers still drink Falstaff. At 11 AM a box of Boudin from Charlie’s Meat Market is delivered. Boudin is a spicy pork and rice sausage readily available in South Louisiana. Great bar food. Charlie’s makes the best Boudin in the state. All in all a unique and wonderful experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(06/11/2000)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.581 seconds) 19:40:03 54.91.35.130, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS