PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Coopers Cave Ale Company Limited - Glens Falls, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 01:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Glens Falls > Coopers Cave Ale Company Limited
Coopers Cave Ale Company Limited Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Coopers Cave Ale Company Limited
Overall: Great    Score: 79.6 / 100
Sagamore Street
ON THE WARREN COUNTY BIKE TRAIL
Glens Falls, NY 12801
United States
(518) 792-0007
Listed Since: January 2001
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Glens Falls, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
27 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A B & B on the Green
2) Glen Falls Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICA'S BEST INN QUEENSBURY
2) DAYS INN LAKE GEORGE QUEENSBUR
3) QUEENSBURY HOTEL
4) RAMADA GLEN FALLS LAKE GEORGE
5) SLEEP INN AND SUITES QUEENSBU
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 18th Separate Company Armory
2) Argent Apartments
3) Bemis Eye Sanitarium Complex
4) Bemis Eye Sanitarium Complex
5) Birdsall, Stephen T., House
6) Burnham, Thomas, House
7) Colvin, Addison B., House
8) Cowles, W.T., House
9) Cunningham House
10) Delong, Zopher, House
11) Dix, James L., House
12) Ferguson, Dr. James, Office
13) First Presbyterian Church
14) Fort Edward D&H Train Station
15) Foster, Dr. Charles A., House
16) Fredella Avenue Historic District
17) Fredella, Joseph J., House and Garage
18) Glens Falls High School
19) Glens Falls Home for Aged Women
20) Goodman, Stephen L., House
21) Hoopes House
22) House at 216 Warren Street
23) Hyde House
24) Joubert and White Building
25) Krum, Hiram, House
26) Little, Russell M., House
27) McEchron, William, House
28) Old Fort House
29) Ordway, Jones, House
30) Parks, George H., House
31) Parks--Bentley House
32) Parry, John E., House
33) Peyser and Morrison Shirt Company Building
34) Potter, Ephraim B., House
35) Rosekrans, Enoch, House
36) Rugge, A. S., House
37) Sanford House
38) Sherman House
39) Smith Flats
40) Society of Friends Hall
41) St. James Episcopal Church
42) St. Mary's Academy
43) Stilwell, Thomas, House
44) US Post Office--Hudson Falls
45) Wait, F. W., House
46) Wilmarth, Martin L. C., House
47) Wing, Helen, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 132 Glen Bistro
2) 21 Bay Cafe
3) Adirondack Bagel Cafe
4) Aimie's Dinner & Movies
5) All Points Diner
6) Antonio's Pizza Place
7) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
8) Ar-Dee's Diner
9) Bay Street Cafe
10) Bella's Italian Cafe
11) Big Gregg's Pizza
12) Brooklyn Pizza
13) Bullpen
14) Burger King
15) Buttoms Up
16) Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar
17) Chopsticks
18) Club Twenty-Two
19) Commons Deli
20) Cool Beans
21) Cool Beans
22) Country Fare
23) Crock-N-Boulle Restaurant
24) Dango's Irish Sports Bar
25) Davidson Brothers Brewing
26) Denny's
27) Domino's Pizza
28) Downtown Emporium
29) Dugout Restaurant
30) East Wok Chinese Restaurant
31) Event
32) Fiddleheads
33) Fireside Grill
34) Fitzgerald Brothers Beverage
35) Fitzgerald Brothers Beverages
36) Friendly's Restaurant
37) Giavano's Pizzeria
38) Gino's Pizzeria South
39) Glens Falls Civic Ctr
40) Glens Falls Diner
41) Glens Falls Queen Diner
42) Godfather's Pizza
43) Gold Star At Ridge Hall
44) Grandma's Corner Kitchen
45) Great Wall
46) Habana Premium Cigar Bar
47) Harvest Restaurant
48) Heidelberg Inn
49) Heritage Hall
50) High Peaks Java
51) House Of Pizza
52) Humbuggs
53) Ideal Restaurant
54) Irish Pizza
55) Irish Pub
56) Jake's Round-Up
57) Kfc
58) La Buaena Authentic Mexican
59) Lam Fong Yuen Chinese
60) Len & Peg's Country Inn
61) Loft Drive In
62) Luisa Italian Bistro
63) Main Moon Chinese Take-Out
64) Manley's Route 149 Restaurant
65) Massie's Restaurant
66) Mc Donald's
67) Melucci's
68) Mikado Restaurant
69) Mikes Tavern
70) Monahan-Chase Caterers
71) New Way Lunch
72) New Way Lunch
73) North Country Pizzeria
74) O'tooles Restaurant & Pub
75) Old China Buffet Corp
76) Olive Garden
77) Park St Tavern Inc
78) Pat & Jerry's Ice Cream
79) Peppermill Family Restaurant
80) Peter's Diner
81) Peter's Pub
82) Pitchers
83) Pizza Hut
84) Pomeroy's Pub
85) Poopie Di Manno's Lunch Inc
86) Prime Time
87) Quaker Road Restaurant
88) Queensbury Hotel
89) Rainer's Gourmet Inspiration
90) Red Lobster Restaurant
91) Ridge St Coffee Co
92) Rocco's Pizzeria & Restaurant
93) Rock Hill Bakerhouse & Cafe
94) Roxy's Exotic Nite Club
95) Sam's Restaurant
96) Samantha's Cafe & Catering
97) Sandy's Grill
98) Siam Thai Sushi
99) Southside Subs
100) Steve's Place
101) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
102) Taco Bell
103) Talk Of The Town Restaurant
104) Tilley's
105) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
The food and service are very good. I really enjoy the pub. I highly recommend the turkey club made with real on-premises cooked turkey. Most of their beers lack in complexity of flavor. The Octoberfest is a bit better than the others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Glens Falls, NY
(09/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good Good
About a year ago I purchased a few assorted 20oz bottles. All the beers had a distinct after taste I couldn't put my finger on. It tasted a bit chemically - or sulfur like previous reviews mentioned. After opening EVERY bottle, and having one of my home brew friends try as well, we had the same opinion. I e-mailed the owner asking if there was an issue with the equipment or any reason why it would have a skunky flavor. She responded they have no idea and nobody else complained. She did offer to refund my money.

I went today to the Pub. It was OK as far as atmosphere, but not bad, and it was clean. Had a Tavern Ale and English Pale Ale. Both again had the same skunky taste and were probably the worst brewery beers I've ever had. The Tavern Ale is was just a slightly less hoppy version of the Pale Ale. Both were watery, very light in color, one dimensional with an overwhelming skunk aftertaste.

Overall very disappointing - and hope that maybe someone over there reads the reviews. PIck up an anchor, or better yet - Davidson Bros and put them side by side and compare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Saratoga Springs, NY
(02/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A N/A
This has to be the worst beer I have ever tasted. They have a great concept but honestly I don't know how anyone could possibly like their product. I just had a Blueberry beer and it tasted like I licked a rubber tire. I couldn't get the taste out of my mouth even after eating a few Cheeto's. I've tried several of their ales and all of them have a distinct funky taste...not sure if it is the water or something in the brewing equipment that needs to be cleaned. I love their concept with the soda, ice cream and pub, but they need to produce better ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(12/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Great So So
Had the sampler and every beer had the same sulfur type aftertaste. The food and everything else was great .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard M Roesch Richard M Roesch, Egg Harbor , NJ
(07/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A So So Good
I had the same experience as the last reviewer. The lady in the tasting room was not-friendly at all. All I did was inquire if they used lactose in their beer (my wife is lactose intolerant) and she went into snobby mode and said why in the world would we do that? I was dumbfounded at her response and replied that some stouts have lactose in them in which she replied that that was stupid and she had never heard of such a thing and wanted to know why they would do this. I decided not to enlighten her. Then I mentioned I was from out of town and she went into another shut down mode saying business was good and that they served the locals and had no intention of me spreading the word about their brewery. She then realized somehow what a B she had been and pawned off her bad attitude toward the new restaurant they opened and how tired they were. Giving the benefit of the doubt, I decided to buy some 22 oz bombers to take home. Boy was that a mistake. The sagamore stout tasted like ass. Way to carbonated as well. Most likely a contaminant. I threw it away. porter however was not bad. Yet to try the IPA. Hope your experience is better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Conesus , NY
(05/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
Follow up from last visit. Tried a few I hadn't sampled earlier. Brown, IPA were good to better than average, liked the dopplebock best, took a bottle home for a friend. If I was a local and stopped by here often, I certainly hope that the lady who works the sample room would be a bit friendly. She almost seems to resent people coming in and sampling their product. The sign inside states 3 samples per visit. If she pours 1/2" of beer into each glass you're lucky. Oh well, there's always Davidson Bros!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
A unique place, for sure. Beer, soda, ice cream all in one stop. IPA I had was the best of the four I tried that day. English Pale nice, pretty true to style. Maibock OK, but I picked up a hint of corn in the nose. 80 Shilling's smokiness was overwhelming, not my cup of tea (or beer). A nice family business success story to be proud of.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just a note: Lake Placid Brewpub's lawyer has the same opinion about growler fills. And from my experience with state booze law enforcement, it doesn't really matter so much what WE think the law says, what matters is what the local enforcement agent thinks. Sad, but true. Growler laws usually come under labeling laws, and some of that's interpretation. Mostly, though, it depends on the local agent's interpretation. And I like the Pathfinder Porter at Cooper's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
The Bumppo’s Brown is fairly decent (the best is 50-miles south in Albany) and the Radeau Red is quite good. But the Tavern Ale is the worst concoction of I-don’t-know-what I’ve ever had. The whole crew of us at Tap NY ended up pouring it out. My only thought is it would make a good mosquito repellent.

I will never be back to CCAC as I made the mistake of bringing in a “foreign” growler to get filled with the Red. I thought that would be a compliment for someone to drive an hour to procure one of their fine-crafted brews, but was instead treated to a combination of Linda Blair’s head spinning around (ala the Exorcist) and Zoltar’s flashing red eyes (the movie BIG) along with a dissertation of non-existent laws as to why they can’t fill it. I’ve thoroughly researched the laws and your wrong. Wrong, wrong, wrong.

With that said, we have plenty of brew pubs in and around the Capital District that are more than happy to hear their cash-register’s ring filling “foreign” growlers. Off to the Pump Station

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Wayne, IN
(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Must Stop! Owners are great to talk to and support the local community. Also have great sodas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
great place to stop in and check out. i missed the tour as we caught them on an odd weekday afternoon but got to sample the brews. their sagamore stout is quite good with rich coffee overtones (its best on tap as the bombers don't really do the brew justice). the porter was also excellent...possibly even better than the stout. sounds like an excuse to go back for another round...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review shane, saratoga, ny
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
Definitely worth a stop for a tasting. Too bad everything at the brewery is to go only. The good news is that you can drive 2 blocks down the road to Dingo's and get eight of Cooper's beers on tap, although they are served way too cold. The staff is super friendly and they know their stuff. The stout was the best that I tried. They also brew a large array of sodas and make their own ice-cream.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mitch, Claremont, NH
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Worthy of a detour from the Northway. An eclectic place; where else can one get handcrafted beer, soda and ice cream without moving! Our hostess was teriffic, knew her brews well, and wisely guided us in our tasting. The IPA was a real treat, a true English style. A great range of brews from the smallest brewery in the state.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gordon Lester, Silver Spring, MD
(08/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I rarely rate anything an awesome across the board but this Microbrewery stands alone. A super friendly staff and the beer is indeed awesome. Stop by for their tastings when your in the area. You will not be disappointed and may want to go back again to purchase some. Give it a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
2nd year in a row back here and they are still one of my favorites. Kolsch was sweet. Porter and Pale real nice as well. The ice cream was great on the other side, nice place to sit outside and enjoy the good weather. I hope they do well they are nice folks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Austin, TX
(08/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
We really enjoyed this place! Very friendly family run business. Beers were all very good. Loved the porter and the tavern ale. Others in the group loved the seasonal Kolsch. We left with growlers of beer and soda, as well as a case of mixed bombers, on sale for the holiday weekend. We even left and then came back to try the ice cream side of the operation, which was very tasty!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(05/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Cooper's Cave falls short of Awesome on their Beer Selection only due to their focus: they make British-style ales. They make a lot of them, though, which puts them in Great territory. They only fall just short of Awesome in Quality of Beer because I like to see a really big beer in a line-up to see how a brewer handles that assignment. HOWEVER!! They definitely rank Awesome Overall because the beers they make are delicious, the place is just way too cool, and the Bethel family does things right, the way they like them. Plus they sell Whalen's horseradish, which utterly rocked my world. (Patty, you were right about the horseradish pickles!) If you have time for only one beer at CCAC, make it Pathfinder's Porter, one of the two richest, blackest, most delicious porters I've had, comparable only to Mystic's Wizard's Wonder. Wow, what a great beer. And don't miss their delicious sodas (I got a growler of orange cream for my kids), hard ice cream, and ... all the other great stuff! Cool place: find it, fall in love.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Vacationed in LG this summer (as always) and had a pint at the Queensbury Inn which made me seek them out for my week on the lake. I ended up picking up 4-5 bombers and all the brews were really great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Round Rock, TX
(10/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Super nice people. The small size of their operation dwarfed their large heart and soul.Felt like all their best was going into each batch of beer made, and their results did not prove me wrong.Great, great tasting beer.Friendly too.Do stop by whether on the bike trail or motoring near Glens Falls, you won't regret it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don SDawchuk Don SDawchuk, Canton, MI
(09/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Wonderful people brewing wonderful beer!!! That's what it's all about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Delmar, NY
(06/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Wonderful people brewing wonderful beer!!! That's what it's all about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Delmar, NY
(06/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Not a pub but a microbrewery that sells ice cream on the bike trail. Great porter, stout, and brown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john busteed john busteed, columbia, MD
(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Wow! Six fantastic brews and several oldfshioned sodas. Staff (owners) are knowlegable and friendly. You are only a stranger there until you walk in the door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard  D. Haines Richard D. Haines, South Glens Falls, NY
(10/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The Radeau Red is their award winner -- it was made of leftover ingredients and surprisingly emerged as their flagship. The porter and pale ale were also excellent. Call these people and find out more about them -- they're really neat. They also make root beer and orange cream soda for the kids -- my son sucked down more samples than I did!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John K. Read John K. Read, Yarmouthport, MA
(09/07/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.328 seconds) 13:53:28 54.197.189.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS