PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hair of the Frog Brewery - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 05:23 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > Hair of the Frog Brewery
Hair of the Frog Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hair of the Frog Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.3 / 100
[Closed]
3113 Plaza Drive
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
United States
(616) 365-BREW
Listed Since: May 2001
Last Updated: May 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hair of the Frog Brewery
24 Reviews / 10 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Hideout Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Graydon's Crossing
(1 mile)

3) Bob's House of Brews aka B.O.B.'s House of Brews
(4 miles)

4) Founders Brewing Company
(4 miles)

5) Taps Sports Bar
(4 miles)

6) Logan's Alley
(4 miles)

7) HopCat
(4 miles)

8) Brewery Vivant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Grand Rapids
2) Fountain Hill Bed & Breakfast
3) Madison Street Inn
4) Peaches Bed & Breakfast Ltd
5) Tobermory Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMWAY GRAND PLAZA
2) COURTYARD GRAND RPDS DTWN
3) DAYS INN GRAND RAPIDS DOWNTOWN
4) GRAND INN & CONFERENCE CENTER
5) RADISSON HOTEL GRAND RAPIDS N.
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aldrich Building
2) Aldrich, Godfrey, and White Block
3) Berkey and Gay Furniture Company Factory
4) Blodgett, John W., Estate
5) Fine Arts Building
6) First (Park) Congregational Church
7) Ford, President Gerald R., Jr., Boyhood Home
8) Goodspeed Brothers Building
9) Grand Rapids Savings Bank Building
10) Ladies' Literary Club
11) Ledyard Block Historic District
12) Loraine Building
13) Medical Arts Building
14) Michigan Trust Company Building
15) Monroe Avenue Water Filtration Plant
16) Paddock, Augustus, House
17) Peck Block
18) Pike, Abram W., House
19) Sixth Street Bridge
20) St. Cecilia Society Building
21) Third Reformed Church
22) Turner House
23) U.S. Post Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adobe In & Out
2) Anna's House
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Arby's
6) B C Pizza Of Belmont
7) Baker Catering
8) Baskin-Robbins
9) Beanabox Cafe
10) Beaner's Gourmet Coffee
11) Bill Knapp's Restaurant
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Blimpie Subs & Salads
15) Blue Water Grill
16) Boone's Brew Inc
17) Bostons Gourmet Pizza & Sports
18) Breakfast Nook
19) Bud & Stanley's Restaurant
20) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
21) Burger King
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Burger King
25) Captain Lou's
26) Caramba
27) Catered Creations
28) Celebration Cinema's Wave Room
29) Charlies Bar & Grill
30) Cheers Good Time Saloons
31) Chef Brech Catering
32) Chicago's Deep Dish & Dogs
33) Chicago's Express
34) Chili's Grill & Bar
35) College Inn
36) Cousin's Catering
37) Cousins Tasty Chicken
38) Cream Cafe
39) De Wilde Catering Co
40) Denny's
41) Domino's Pizza
42) Donotas Pizza
43) Famous Dave's
44) Faro's Italian Pizza
45) Fast Wok
46) Fat Boy Burgers
47) Fish Net
48) Florentine Pizzeria Ristorante
49) Four J's Pizza
50) Fraternal Order Of Police
51) Fred's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
52) Frenz Coffee House
53) Fricano's Riverside Pizzeria
54) Golden Dragon Restaurant
55) Golden Wok
56) Grand Inn & Conference Ctr
57) Hubba Pubba
58) Hubba Tubba Hot Tub Rentals
59) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
60) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
61) Ice Cream Junction
62) IHOP
63) Johnny Carino's Country Itln
64) Jukebox Joe's Diner & Ice Crm
65) Kfc
66) Kim Kim Restaurant
67) Little Caesars Pizza
68) Little Caesars Pizza
69) Long John Silver's
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mc Donald's
72) Miracle Lanes
73) Mylen LLC
74) Non Pub AAA
75) Nona Russos
76) North Park Cafe
77) O'Charley's
78) Oriental Forest
79) Panera Bread
80) Papa Romano's
81) Pete Brown's Office
82) Pita House Samis Gyro
83) Pizza Hut
84) Pizza Hut
85) Qasim Abughoush Restaurant
86) Qdoba Mexican Grill
87) Quiznos Sub
88) Quiznos Sub
89) Rolly Polly Rolled Sandwiches
90) Russ' Restaurant
91) Sanitary Sea Foods
92) Schlotzsky's Deli
93) Scoreboard
94) Smiths Snack Shack
95) Starbucks
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
99) Susie's
100) Taco Bell
101) Taco Bell
102) Taco Boy
103) Taste Of The Garden Cafe
104) Tcby
105) Thai Cuisine
106) Tom Nienhuis Catering
107) Too Talls Pizza & Tasty Treats
108) Urban Mill Bread & Coffee Co
109) Vinny's Bar
110) Vitale's Pizza
111) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
112) Wendy's
113) Wendy's
114) Your Way Catering
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Dan it figures you went here! Rob Simpson

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Simpson Rob Simpson, Nowhere, ME
(10/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Shawn, we love HOTF. The service is great, My hubby loves the beer, and Joyce makes awesome wine. It was our perfect little watering hole. Please tell us you will be re-opening soon!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, GR, MI
(05/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
This place is closed. :-(

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Joyce & I (Sweet management Ltd.) stopped operating Hair of the Frog Brewery. Our last day was Friday, January 9th 2004. This is due to issues between the City of Grand Rapids and the building owner. It has been a roller coaster for several months. There isn't much use in going into the issues at this time. That's between the city & the building owner. Only, we ended up having to close because of it. Joyce & I would like to thank all of you for your support! Shawn

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Shawn, Grand Rapids, MI
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Can anyone verify if this place is still open? I just stopped by Tonight (Wed. Evening Feb 11) and they were closed. My recollection is that they were only closed on Mondays. It's been less than a month since last time I've been there, and there wasn't any signs of them closing. I've also noticed most everything has been taken off their web page.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
This is proof that the whole is more than the sum of its parts. The Hair of the Frog is a great beer experience (or maybe brew adventure?) Shawn was a gracious host, gave us a tour, talked beer/brewing, and made us feel at home. My only regret is that I had a cold and couldn't appreciate the finer qualities of some of his beers. A return trip is in order.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave B Dave B, Cary, NC
(01/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Imperial Stout is strong and smooth, the black and tans are very good. I really like the Black Ale which is dark and a good sipper (pretty strong) and the Batch 12, which is a hoppy IPA. The wine selection is always changing, but has variety and great taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cory Cory, Los Angeles, CA
(10/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
The quality of the beer wasnt quite that of the new holland brewing company, im a fan of the hops, and I think their beer could use more of that, but at any rate, there isnt a better place to sit outside and watch a good indie/live act with a local brew in your hand, great people and great scene.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from eric eric, grand rapids, MI
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great
I believe they had 9 beers on tap. Everything from Pilsners to Stouts ... I tried one of the IPA's & the Copper Lager, both good. I didn't have any food although they do offer snacks, and meals on the weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(09/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I too arrived early, two hours before opening, but was still invited to partake in a great IPA. I then enjoyed a Brown ale before finishing with a stout. I would have to admit that I am a hop head, so the IPA was under hopped for my liking but was still very good. The other two beers were awsome....Great, small place to enjoy a beer!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Fairborn, OH
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been a major fan of this brewery ever since I moved nearby. The business is clean, the beer great, the service efficient, atmosphere cool and the people wonderful. This brewery has surprises and a lot of personality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Verna Prusikavetch Verna Prusikavetch, Grand Rapids, MI
(07/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
As with the Kalamazoo gentleman, I too wore a local brewery shirt and was served samples of all the beers (10 or 11) as I sat down. The beer was great, as was the atmosphere, the service, and the people. I'd be a regular if I lived closer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mel Mel, Ann Arbor, MI
(06/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Very cozy place. Nice line-up of beer and wines. Nice, friendly, service, too. Tried the brown and the IPA. Brown was just right, the IPA wasn't hoppy enough. Still, a great little place for the beer fan. Hard to find - make sure you get a map or ask directions, it's worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
love the porter, and the ipa, definatly one of the best breweries around, and interesting atmosphere, like the logo pint glasses to. i go to bells in kzoo, and visit many breweries in colorado and this ones worth your time

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jeff dykhuis jeff dykhuis, kalamazoo, MI
(12/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great Handcrafted Brews, Nice atmosphere, and not your typical smoky bar. Great People ! A must for every beer lover.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(10/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
One of Grand Rapids best. Our bartender was fantastic and he really knows his stuff about movies. A fun place to visit with great beer and friendly people. If you're in town, it's worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marcus Marcus, Clarkston, MI
(05/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
I agree with the other reviewers, this is a great little place with some excellent beers. It's a little out of the way, but worth finding. Keep up the good work. Great IPA and stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Fielding Carl Fielding, Ann Arbor, MI
(03/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Great Great
I love the wine. Each trip to your place as been a great time. I've brought in friends and family from outside the GR area and they always want to go back for another visit. They love the beer but I've never tasted it (or the food)...I'm happy with the wine and the fine service received from Jesse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pamala Bannick Pamala Bannick, Grand Rapids, MI
(03/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
My son Tim and I were on our way to Grand Haven and spotted this place from the highway. We made an unplanned but very worthwhile stop. As with the previous reviewer, we got there 1 1/2 hours before their normal opening time, but were cordially invited in. The owner was there and was more than happy to let us sample anything he had on tap. The IPA was excellent as were the Pale and the Sweet Irish Stout. I wish this place was closer to Lansing ... we'd be regulars for sure. Nice job Larry & Jacob. Keep up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Dornbos Terry Dornbos, Lansing, MI
(03/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
We arrived before scheduled opening time, but the gentleman doing some maintenance offered samples--all of which were excellent. We had a pint of the dry stout, which was outstanding. The gentleman went back to work and told us we were on the honor system. Unfortunately we were just passing through and needed to get some lunch. Will definitely return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(12/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Best beer in Grand Rapids, freindly, helpful staff (they saw my Bell's T-shirt and offered me samples of all 7 beers before I even sat down!). I especially liked the Bock and the American Brown,they have a nice Pale Ale, I also liked their Brown Ale. I also tried their imperial stout which I felt was still a little too young. They had just ran out of I.P.A. so I could'nt try it ,maybe next time. I've tried all the other brewpubs in G.R. and have always been disappointed till now, will come back when in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
11 beers on tap. Simple menu. Food is good. Nice place to stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(07/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
A must visit if you're in the Grand Rapids area. A limited menu but what they have is great. I tried the pale ale, the IPA and the stout. The stout was excellent! Thick and chewy with just the right amount of sweetness from brown sugar. Be carefull though; it's 11% alcohol! Over all a truly unique place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Wittner Mike Wittner, Clinton Township, MI
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good
I was a little leary about a brewery hot tub combo at first. However, they do a good job with their beer. Very nice brown ales. They also make wine. Simple pub grub offered, but nicely prepared. The wait staff very friendly and informative.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Imbault Eric Imbault, Cedar Springs, MI
(06/07/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.254 seconds) 05:23:39 50.16.130.188, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS