PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bent River Brewing Company - Moline, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 17, 2014 @ 05:38 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > Moline > Bent River Brewing Company
Bent River Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Bent River Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.3 / 100
1413 Fifth Aveneue
Moline, IL 61265
United States
(309) 797-BRBC
Listed Since: May 2001
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Moline, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bent River Brewing Company
23 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Koski Homebrew Fixin's
(0 mile)

2) Bier Stube
(0 mile)

3) Bier Stube
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Fulton's Landing
2) Weshare
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN AIRPORT INN
2) COMFORT INN MOLINE
3) COUNTRY INN SUITES MOLINE ARPT
4) DAYS INN DAVENPORT EAST
5) EXEL INN OF MOLINE
6) FAIRFIELD INN DAVENPORT
7) FAIRFIELD INN MOLINE AIRPORT
8) HAMPTON INN DAVENPORT
9) LA QUINTA INN MOLINE AIRPORT
10) RADISSON JOHN DEERE COMMON MOL
11) SIGNATURE INN DAVENPORTBETTENDO
12) SUPER 8 MOLINE IL
13) THE LODGE HOTEL CONFERENCE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams, Walker, House
2) Bettendorf, Joseph F., House
3) Bettendorf-Washington School
4) Brown, James, House
5) Burdick, Anthony, House
6) Busch, Diedrich, House
7) Cawley, James, House
8) Collins House
9) Copeland, George, House
10) Davison, Abner, House
11) Deere, John, House
12) Dils-Downer House
13) East Hill House and Carraige House
14) Eldridge, D. C., House
15) Eldridge, Theodore, House
16) Fisher, Lewis M., House
17) Gabbert, William, House
18) Goodrich, William T., House
19) Hall, Israel, House
20) Hillside
21) House at 919 Oneida Street
22) LeClaire Hotel
23) Lindsay, James E., House
24) McKinley Elementary School
25) Nighswander, Benjamin, House
26) Ockershausen, Henry, House
27) Old Main, Augustana College
28) Radcliff, Willam, House
29) Regina Coeli Monastery
30) Roberts, Edward C., House
31) Rock Island Lines Passenger Station
32) Shaw, E. A., House
33) Shields Woolen Mill
34) Smith, James, House
35) Smith, William G., House
36) Weyerhaeuser House
37) Whitaker, Charles, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adolph's Mexican Foods
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Arby's
4) Arby's
5) Arby's
6) Aunt's Mana's
7) Bad Boy's Pizza
8) Bel-Grade
9) Bent River Brewery Restaurant
10) Bierstube
11) Bishop's Buffet
12) Blackthorn Pub & Eatery
13) Blueribbon Steakhouse
14) Buckys Palace Tavern
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Bus & Doris 7th Avenue Tavern
18) C'est Michele Restaurant
19) Caffe Piccalo
20) Carlos O'kelly's Mexican Cafe
21) Celebration River Cruises
22) Cheers
23) Cheryl's Place
24) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
25) Chick-Fil-A
26) China Wok II
27) Chino's Tortilleria & Bakery
28) Christopher D's
29) Classic Fare
30) Clint's Pizza
31) Corina's Authetic Mexican
32) Country Style
33) Country Style Ice Cream Inc
34) Crooners
35) Culver's
36) Cup-A-Jo
37) D J's Ribs & Pizza Cafe
38) Dairy Queen
39) Dairy Queen
40) Dave's Dew Drop Inn
41) Denny's
42) Denny's
43) Diane De Bord Catering
44) El Pavito
45) Finney's Bar & Grill
46) Fox's Pizza Den
47) Gabby's 5th Ave Deli
48) Garfield's Restaurant & Pub
49) Godfather's Pizza
50) Governor's
51) Greenbriar Restaurant
52) Grinder & Spaghetti House
53) Habanero's
54) Hafner's Tavern & Liquor Store
55) Happy Joe's Pizza & Ice Cream
56) Happy Wok
57) Happy Wok Chinese Restaurant
58) Hardee's
59) Hardee's
60) Hardee's
61) Hardee's
62) Hardtimes
63) Harley's Tavern
64) Heart Of America Restaurants
65) Henning's Limited II
66) Hey Bryan's
67) Holiday Inn
68) Hollar's Bar & Grill
69) Hungry Boy
70) Hungry Hobo
71) IHOP
72) Jack's Place
73) Jalapeno's Mexican Cuisine
74) Kfc
75) LA Flama
76) LA Primavera
77) Las Americas Taqueria
78) Le Mekong Restaurant
79) Len Brown North Shore Inn
80) Les & Molly's
81) Long John Silver's
82) Long John Silver's
83) Loveless's Take Time
84) Maid Rite
85) Maid Rite
86) Maid Rite
87) Mandarin Chinese Restaurant
88) Mc Donald's
89) Mc Donald's
90) Mc Donald's
91) Mc Donald's
92) Ming Wah
93) Miss Mamies Catfish House
94) Mixers
95) Moline Club Ballroom
96) Moline Community Ctr
97) Montana Jacks
98) New Mandarin Restaurant
99) Old Country Buffet
100) Panera Bread
101) Papa John's Pizza
102) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
103) Pasteur Finest Vietnamese
104) Pizza Hut
105) Pizza Hut
106) Ponderosa Steakhouse
107) Porkies
108) Q C Zone LTD
109) Quad City Airport Restaurant
110) Quad City Usa Family Rstrnt
111) Rascal's
112) Restaurante El Mariachi
113) Rosy's Tavern
114) Rudy's Tacos
115) Ryan's Family Steakhouse
116) Sbarro
117) Schultzies Place
118) Speakeasy
119) St Giuseppe's Pizza
120) St Giuseppes Heavenly Coffee
121) Stan's Ice Cream
122) Starbucks
123) Steak 'n Shake
124) Steak Escape
125) Strawberry Fields Catering
126) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
127) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
128) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
129) Taco Bell
130) Taco Bell
131) Taco John's
132) Tank's Prepared Foods
133) Tgi Friday's
134) Thongsy's Thai Restaurant LLC
135) Tommy's
136) Two Young Brothers
137) Uncle Pete's
138) V I P's Restaurant & Catering
139) Village Inn
140) Wendy's
141) Wendy's
142) White Horse Inn
143) White House Lunch
144) Whitey's Ice Cream
145) Whitey's Ice Cream
146) Whitey's Ice Cream
147) Whitey's Ice Cream
148) Win's Buffet
149) Wunder-Y
150) Yankee Doodle Pizza
151) Yen Ching
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place has been a Quad City main stay for a decade. It is by far the best brewed beer I have ever tasted! THis year the building was completely remodeled inside and out so the pictures you see here are outdated. The place looks awesome including new booths and tv's in dining room and the best patio seating in the area.......you goota check it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Moline , IL
(06/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
OK, I get a little excited about good beer and this place got me excited. I tried a few samples, but settled on an excellent Raspberry Wheat - the best I've ever had. I had to buy a couple growlers to bring back to Michigan so I could show my friends. The waitress was friendly and chatted with us for a long time - even though she was busy. I am happy that I have friends in the Moline area so that I have an excuse to return here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Van Horn Bill Van Horn, Grand Rapids, MI
(02/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
The bartender at the Blue Cat slammed this place, but I came anyway. Glad I did. It was the best in the area. They had a GREAT selection. The samplers are only 4 per round, but they're 8 oz or so and they had easily 12 beers on that night. The smoke issue from a previous poster is a non-issue as the city is now non-smoking, so they were all outside.

I liked the daring of the styles. An Imperial Stout, an oatmeal Stout (with hints of chocolate), a coffee stout, a honey porter, a black lager just to name a few. All were solid and tasty. I didn't have time to drink ALL of the beers and will have to come back, but I only skipped the pilseners, jalopena wheats and tried the rest. Glad I did. They were VERY good.

The bartender was very friendly, but busy. The couple at the bar chatted me up and we were long-lost friends by the time I had to leave an hour or so later. I'd definately come back and recommend it to any wanting a diverse experience in their beers. By far the best selection in town for brewpubs that I could see.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Nelson Tim Nelson, Overland Park, KS
(01/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! So So So So Good
Ambiance seemed pretty OK for what it intends to be; namely, a no-frills brewpub in a no-frills Midwest mini-metropolis. I rather liked the bar area with the fermenting and serving tanks right behind the bartenders without so much as a pane of glass separating the tanks from the serving area. Nice touch bringing the brewing aspect right into the same space shared by the beer consumers rather than keeping it separate and inaccessible.. They had some 10 selections on tap during my visit, showing some daring such as a jalepeno pepper beer and a honey porter. Beers were not mind-blowing but still fairly solid. They also had a decent bottle selection in their two stand-up fridges. Food was pretty bland and average, even by pub-grub standards. Nothing special on the menu. Ambiance took a hit or two because of the cheap mom-and-pop-burger-joint chairs/tables, the lung-clogging smoke even with a medium-sized crowd, and because all available tables in the dining area were filthy. We waited and waited and waited for them to clean a table and seat us, but we eventually had to seat ourselves and then ask the waitress to clean the table that we just sat at. Sorry, a customer just shouldn’t have to seat himself at a filthy table and then hope for the best. This place has a lot of potential, but it hasn’t lived up to it yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(06/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was at Rock Island Arsenal, IL on business so thought I'd check out the local brewpub scene. I'd call this place a "sleeper" since it's plain-looking from without and within. But there were 14 beers on draft! I sampled a Pale Ale, a Red Ale, an E.S.B., a Pils, and a Dry-Hopped Pale Ale. All were good, and all were quite true to their style. Being Monday, it was "Brat night" so for $2.50 plus tax I a bratwurst, fries, and sauerkraut-- very tasty. There were a few patrons there, from diverse age and ethnic categories, and I must say, the place kind of grows on you. If I lived nearby, there'd probably be a barstool with my name on it. Not a ritzy place, but not quite a dump, either. If you like beer, you'll love this place-- I did.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Abingdon, MD
(06/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
Only had time for samplers of 5 beers. Fantastic selection. Great beers. Very homey feel to this place. Look forward to returning for more in depth "research".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(09/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Visited Bent River on a Monday night around 7pm. It's in a downtown setting in a relatively small town. As you walk in the front door of this fine brewery, you are tempted by all sorts of Bent River beer-wear and glasses. Mixed crowd of young people. Has a neighborhood bar kind of feel. The IPA and the Missisippi Blond were exceptional. The burgers are wonderful, and lots of very tasty looking (and inexpensive) food was being brought out to happy customers. Great display of beer bottles on the wall. This BP has coasters, pint glasses, shirts. Live music on some nights as well. Don't miss a chance to visit this fine brew pub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Byrne Tom Byrne, Perkasie, PA
(06/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Jerry's honey bear porter is to die for. Much better than last year beer, more honey taste and not as harsh taste wise. My favorite is still the dry-hopped pale ale a great beer. All in all the best place to go in the QC!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Moline, IL
(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Where 10 is best: Oatmeal Stout 7/10; Pale Ale 6/10; Mississippi Red (Marzen lager) 5/10; American Wheat 2/10; Taco Basket food ($2) 7/10.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(09/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
The stouts are great, the uncommon is a great coffe stout, the oatmeal is a some tasty stout. The dry hop ale is heaven for hop-heads. They always have during the week specials on pints. They are rebuilding the menu and have made some nice additions. Overall it is a comfortable place to drink and talk with friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Davenport, IA
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Here's an antidote for those who think most brewpubs are overly yuppified: a dingy bar in a dingy downtown area. Bent River's premises looks like it's been a bar for at least 50 years, except that the bar counter had been pushed out ten feet so the brew works, including five fermentation tanks, could be built behind it. Luckily they had already taken over the neighboring storefront so they could have tables and a small stage. And what an interesting variety of brew they had. I believe there were about beers on tap. I was driving, so I could only have a few samples. The most "normal" brew I picked was a Dortmunder which was spot on the style. The friendly brewmaster told me he has to warn everybody who tries the Uncommon Stout that it is brewed with real coffee (after two men who shot a pitcher of it couldn't get to sleep the night before a big presentation). And as a brewer of chile beers, I especially had to try their Jalapeno Pepper Ale, only the second chile beer I've found in a brewpub, and a very balanced, spicy example. And instead of the seasonal pumpkin pie beer, they had a sweet potato ale I had to try: not much to shout about, it was more spicy than anything else, but a nice experiment. They also had a guest tap pouring Young's Double Chocolate Oatmeal, and cooler with many great beers, from locals like Millstream to a few Avery the Beasts. This is a place that does not compromise by offering megabrew lite beers. Instead, when someone asks for whatever tastes most like a Bud Light, they take the time to introduce them to our wonderful world of well made beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark McDermott Mark McDermott, Park Forest, IL
(11/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
No food when were here. We always try all the beers and these were good. Nice people. Downtown, shabby area. Not an up-scale place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We were very disappointed to find a sign on the door stating that absolutely no one under the age of 21 was allowed on the premises at any time due to the City of Moline regulations which classify Bent River as a bar. Since we had our 9 year old with us, we had to go elsewhere.

Note to the City of Moline: This is a stupid regulation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donna Donna, Detroit, MI
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Currently I am on business in the Chicago area. I drove almost three hours to try what I have been told as "one of the best breweries in the US". I am ecstatic to report that it was worth every mile of the trip. All twelve brews on tap where aggressive and true to style. Most breweries in the Midwest that I have been to seem to be flat in flavor and somewhat geared toward a "crowd pleasing" light beer kind of patron. However Bend River has what most lack, flavor, flavor and don't forget the flavor. The Oatmeal Stout has body, texture and a pleasing silky end. The Jalapeno beer will surprise your senses and warm you from the inside. You haven't had REAL strawberry ale until have theirs. Light aroma of strawberries complete with a mild cream sweetness that isn't harsh or artificial. These are just a few of my personal favorites, all 12 beers that I tried are worth a return visit. The ambiance is almost as great as the beer. Friendly staff and the lively locals make the place seem more like a home BBQ. Try the food too! If you’re in the area or have a desire for amazing beer I highly recommend Bend Brewing Co. And you can't go wrong with a Micro Brewery that has song selections from Sinatra to Slayer on the jukebox. The bartender was all smiles when she said, "this is the best job I've ever had."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daphid Daphid, Woodland Hills, CA
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Unfortunatly wendsday night party is no longer a secret. I guess the only secret left is the great food in the new resturaunt. Best bartender in the world is of course Brandy on wendsday night, she is sincere and just to much fun to be around. Have you seen my heffe beer? We can only find it a front street brewery, you are loosing a lot of heffe sales for home deinking

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from HAROLD DEFRIEZE HAROLD DEFRIEZE, moline, IL
(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
they now serve food

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Davenport, IA
(10/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
One word - Oatmeal Stout. Umm wait that aint one word is it? Excellent bar with even better beer. Nice, relaxed atmosphere. If you are local- join the mug club. You get a large mug for the same price as a pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, East Moline, IL
(07/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Great
Tried a sampler the day after I had been across the river at the Blue Cat. Food fare is simpler here but the kitchen knows its limits and excels at what it does. The brewmaster is keen to show off his wares and rightfully so. Excellent stout and wheat beer choices. Now if they only had that scottish ale....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Daren Perrero, Springfield, IL
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!
As I first walked in the tanks behind the bar blew me away! It was kick ass! The pub and brewery very nice and clean and well layed out. My favorite beer was the Uncommon Stout, roast coffee, chocolate, and vanilla. My friend and I could not settle on one beer so we took home four. Make sure you put this one on the list of brewpubs to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from captain snake captain snake, okauchee, WI
(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I saw them at the Great Taste of the Midwest last summer and thought their green pepper beer was amazing! The name of the beer eludes me but the phrase "Get Bent" will forever be in my mind. An enthusiastic bunch with a lot of potential!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rhino Rhino, Iowa City, IA
(06/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Generally 10-12 beers on tap and hundreds of micros and imports in bottles. Bar seats less then 40 people but their bottled beed can be bought throughout the area.

Well worth a visit if in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve S Steve S, Moline, IL
(12/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
A beautiful wooden bar set right in front of a beautiful brewery. An oasis in a beer wasteland, this place has one of the best beer selections in the Midwest. Rare, fresh imports and domestic micros complement the house beers. The brewmaster also runs a homebrew store and is a hard core beer lover. Food limited to bar food (bar pizzas and appetizers).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Hansen Robert Hansen, Milwaukee, WI
(11/15/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.863 seconds) 17:38:16 54.237.38.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS