PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


DuClaw Brewing Company - Hanover, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 02:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Hanover > DuClaw Brewing Company
DuClaw Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
DuClaw Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75.8 / 100
7000 Arundel Mills Circle
Arundel Mills Mall
Hanover, MD 21076
United States
(410) 799-1166
Listed Since: June 2001
Last Updated: July 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hanover, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
33 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:30AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Clipper City Brewing Company
(3 miles)

2) Blob's Park
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES BALTIMORE B.W.I.
2) B W I AIRPORT MARRIOTT
3) BW BALTIMORE WASHINGTON ARPRT
4) COMFORT SUITES BWI AIRPORT
5) COURTYARD BALTIMORE BWI ARPT
6) COURTYARD FORT MEADE
7) ECONO LODGE ELKRIDGE
8) EMBASSY SUITES BWI AIRPORT
9) EXTENDEDSTAY BALTIMORE BWI ARPT
10) FAIRFIELD BWI AIRPORT
11) FAIRFIELD INN BWI AIRPORT
12) FAIRFIELD INN COLUMBIA
13) FOUR POINTS BY SHERATON
14) HAMPTON INN BWI/BALTIMORE
15) HAMPTON INN STES BWI-ARUN MIL
16) HILTON GARDEN INN BWI AIRPORT
17) HOMEWOOD SUITES BWI ARPT
18) KNIGHTS INN BALTIMORE S JESSUP
19) MICROTEL INN & SUITES BWI
20) RAMADA INN
21) RED ROOF WASHINGTON DC BW PKWY
22) RED ROOF WASHINGTON DC BWI APT
23) RED ROOF WASHINGTON JESSUP
24) RESIDENCE INN BWI APT-BALTIMORE
25) SPRINGHILL SUITES BWI AIRPORT
26) WINGATE INN BWI AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Benson-Hammond House
2) Elkridge Furnace Complex
3) Thomas Viaduct, Baltimore & Ohio Railroad
4) Trinity Church
5) Turkey Hill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Al's American Grill
3) Auntie Anne's
4) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
5) Ben & Jerry's
6) Burger King
7) Cajun Grill Of Arundel Mills
8) Cancun Cantina Inc
9) Cantina Mamma Lucia
10) Charwood Deli
11) Chevys Fresh Mex-Arundel Mills
12) Chick-Fil-A
13) Chili's Too
14) China Wok
15) Chubs Subs
16) Cinnabun
17) Dairy Queen
18) Damon's Arundel Mills
19) Denny's
20) Duclaw Brewing Co-Restaurant
21) Flying Fruit Fantasy
22) Foodbrand
23) Friendly's
24) Fuzios
25) Golden Corral Buffet & Grill
26) Gunning's Seafood Restaurant
27) Hardee's Food Systems Inc
28) Hms Host
29) Hms Host
30) Hunan Pagoda
31) Key West
32) Key West Bar & Grill
33) Kfc
34) Matthews Park
35) Mc Donald's
36) Mc Donald's
37) Orient Express
38) Panera Bread
39) Parkway Deli
40) Quiznos Sub
41) Roy Rogers Restaurant
42) Sol Inc T-A Chevys
43) Starbucks
44) Starbucks
45) TGI Friday's
46) Timbuktu Liquor Store
47) Timbuktu Restaurant
48) Triangle Grille
49) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Have been able to enjoy DuClaw's beers more frequently the past year, so I thought I would try out the "mall" location again. Tried some beers new to me: Consecration is an American Brown Ale, caramel nose, hops noticable throughout, a pretty decent beer. El Guapo--a light pils, just kinda "there", some flavor, more for the mass appeal. Snake Oil is an Imperial Pils which must have hit me the wrong way; I didn't really catch all that much from it. Hellrazer isn't bad, but is a disappointing substitute for Venom, which is on hiatus, due to the "hop shortage". Alchemy is an Oatmeal Stout which I found to be lightly carbonated, roasty and slightly sweet. Bartender Emily had a perfect amount of attitude, kept the glasses filled, and was very efficient and funny.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great
A nice walk along the harbor worked up a good thirst. The service was okay, as was the food, certainly neither would knock anyone's socks off. But the beer was worth the visit! The Irish ale was a great way to start off, and the Bad Moon Porter was a deeply satisfying way to end. Fells Point is a great place, and this is a good place to start an afternoon there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DreamFielder DreamFielder, Dyersville, IA
(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
First time at this location, although I've been to others and am acquainted with DuClaw's beers. I love the Venom on nitro, but it seems that, no matter the location, it's at best a 1 out of 10 visit propositon. (The regular pour Venom is great, too so this is a niggling point.) Tried Kismet IPA and was very pleased; a good balance and enough hops to keep me satisfied. Crab and corn chowder was pretty good. The fellow down the bar had an order of steamed mussels which he recommended. Steve the bartender did a good job seeing to the lunch crowd and those of us at the bar. Not sure I like the "mall vibe", but I do like DuClaw beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So Good
DuClaw has a rich beer selection augmented by seasonal brews throughout the year. The sampler is a good way to start for first-timers, but try to avoid the food at all costs. The only redeeming menu item is the fish and chips battered in their Venom brew. Venom is, by far, their best beer. Tangy, hoppy, and more kick for your buck. A growler of Venom is wonderful to take home for a party or gathering. I also enjoyed the Bad Moon Porter with its chocolate and coffee hints. Many porters are starting to adopt this flavor "enhancement" (probably because no stout can compete with Guinness) though majority of them fail in taste or are too powerful to enjoy. DuClaw's porter is nicley balanced for casual drinking though saddly, there's no decent food at the pub to compliment it. Their Baltimore chicken dish should be fed to Gitmo detainees. Again, Venom and the porter are your safest picks--litterally. Once you have them in hand, walk out, nothing else is worth your time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Baltimore, MD
(07/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
Routinely excellent beer, especially at the high-end/expensive end of the menu. Last visit had a quirk of service, as I asked for a menu and received it--never to see the server again. I ran out of time to eat before another server (who was excellent and forthcoming) managed to pick up the slack, and what remained of the tip. Such service pitfalls seem common to chain brewpubs, especially in shopping mega-malls such as Arundel Mills, but I really expected better of DuClaw.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Consistency seems to be the biggest problem here. Most times the service is great-at the bar- and at other times it is so-so. Same with the food(just once I would like to have my fries still hot when they get to me). Some great beers, though, especially the seasonals. Be prepared for big crowds on their release dates. DuClaws is about the only reason I can find to visit this mega mall (unless you're into shoe stores). Good place for Monday Night Football and other sports events.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from lawrence breiner lawrence breiner, hanover, MD
(09/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
Great beer but they are having trouble with their license in Bel Air for refilling growlers....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard Beardsley Howard Beardsley, Bel Air, MD, MD
(07/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
I have been going to DuClaw for the past two years and have not been disappointed. As with most Brew Pubs, the food is secondary to the beer. Of their staple beers, Venom is one of my favorites and has a distinctive citrus taste that is different than most beers. Of the seasonal beers, Devil's Milk, their Barleywine, is by far my favorite beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Hermans Shawn Hermans, Omaha, NE
(01/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Second visit 11/13/04, still did not try the food but it looked good. Saturday night at the mall was busy and the bar was a perfect spot to get out of the big crowds. Had a pint of Venom and really enjoyed it, could have stayed for more but...Will definately stop again anytime in the area and do the sampler platter of beer and maybe even some food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jimbo jimbo, frankentrost, MI
(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I cant understand how someone can complain as long as you did in the last review and still give a "good" for service? Its good that DuClaw is so busy that you had to wait..it means they will be around to serve us great beers for years to come!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beertrekker beertrekker, catonsville, MD
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good N/A
I researched several brewpubs through this sight. I reviewed the DuClaw sight as well. I was really looking forward to some good beer and a nice time. We found the resturant and a parking space close to it. If you have been to the Arundel Mill Mall you already have cause to doupt me! At DuClaws We were given a piece of paper with an approximate seating time. I didn't have a sence of how they could keep track of the order we came in. There are eight seats in the mall in sight of DuClaws. I have a couple of bad knees so that is where I waited. The time goes by. You don't know if you should wait all of the,"Aproximate Time", or go in and check. I went in to check on the time. I saw a minimum of five empty tables on my way in so I had reason to believe it was time to be seated. I was told to come back in five to ten minutes!!! I was told that they could only seat someone every five minutes so the food preperation area could keep up with their orders. I asked if I and my family could simply be seated so we could sit together while we waited. I was offered a chair to wait. I declined and was told to come back in five minutes and we would be seated. We did this and were seated. While we waited two more groups were seated and provided drinks. We had decided it was time to leave when we were offered service as well. I have no issue with the individuals who provided the service. I enjoyed the beer very much and took some home. The decor was dull. But it doesn't matter to me. I won't go back to a place where the customer's needs comes somewhere after the cook's. If it was not the chef who was running the confussion then to whom ever has the control issues! I rated the stablisment an overall, N/A because I felt stonger terms would have been more appropriate than,"Lousy".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George Henderson George Henderson, Baltimore, MD
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Beer was all very good and drinkable, but nothing outstanding to write home about. The Venom was hoppy and the best of the bunch, although the porter came in a close second. Missed out on the barleywine, but tried their other seasonal the Chocolate/Raspberry stout. I thought it was too stong of raspberry, but the others in my party really liked it. Everyone had good meals and the service was exceptional. Definately a worthwile trip if you're in the area as you can shop at the mall and have lunch/dinner at DuClaw.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Venom is the star of the show. A balanced, well hopped american pale ale. Bring your growlers, you'll want to take some home. Among the other regular offerings, honorable mention goes to Bad Moon Porter - true to style with roasted malt, coffee and chocolate flavor notes. The reliable consistency of the regular offerings is noteworthy, but the real fun is in the seasonal beers which may vary from year to year. Just about every month a limited batch of a something appropriate for the season is released. The Devil's Milk barleywine and Mad Bishop Octoberfest are two favorites.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Abell Thomas Abell, College Park, MD
(10/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So
A few months ago the mussels were great. The last two times they were the worst I have had anywhere. Overcooked and the size of a pea. I won't make the same mistake a third time. I even asked the waitress how they the mussels were before I ordered them to make sure they weren't the shiveled up overcooked ones. I was led astay. Won't go back. Even the mashed potatos and garlic seemed to be out of a box.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Robert, Silver Spring, MD
(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob funk bob funk, balto, MD
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
This brewpub has a contemporary industrial feel with a separate bar area and restaurant. I ordered the sampler of eight beers. I thought it a bit odd that there were two different seasonal wheat beers. Another beer billed as an Australian style lager was fairly true to style and rather flavorless. Their most popular beer is called Bare Ass Blonde Ale, probably because of the name. Another offering was a kolsch. There were several more interesting ales: the Bad Moon Porter with prominent coffee notes, an American style pale ale called Venom that represented the only significantly hopped beer, and my favorite, Misfit Red, which had a somewhat complex malty taste. We just had an appetizer so I won't comment on the food. This place is just a few miles south of BWI airport.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Great beers good food at a mall? Yes it may seem odd but it works. The real reason to go is the beers. I have had the following DuClaw brews: Sawtooth, 13 degrees, Venom, Serum, Devil's Milk, and the Oatmeal Stout. All of these are excellent. I am a particular fan of the Devil's Milk, a barleywine, and the Serum, a double or imperial IPA. I have had the good fortune to chat with the brewer on a number of occasions, a really nice guy brewing outstanding beers. The food was good, not excellent, and priced right.

Overall, well worth a trip to the mall. One advantage of it being in a mall is that if shopping is not your thing, you can wait out the shoppers in your family at the DuClaw bar!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Clark Jeff Clark, Fairfax, VA
(07/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
I was introduced to this brewery through the Maryland Brewing Festival at Deep Creek Lake, MD. Great people, great beer!! Try the VENOM!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larna Larna, Baltimore, MD
(06/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
MUST HAVE BEEN A BAD NIGHT!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RICHARD CROZIER RICHARD CROZIER, GLEN BURNIE, MD
(01/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david e cathcart david e cathcart, middle river, MD
(11/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Hands down, the best brewpub kolsch I've ever had. The pale ale and porter were also very good. The blonde ale, as advertised, was a typical intro-beer. The only disappointment was the red ale which to me seemed thin and lacking in character compared to the other brews. The menu was large and much more interesting than typical brewpub fare. The waitress was fun, attentive and efficient. A great experience, and I'll definitely go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Gaithersburg, MD
(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Tried their beer for the first time at the Stoudt's Brewfest in Pennsylvania and was impressed by the Bad Moon Porter. Got a chance to stop in on a recent trip to Md.and was not disappointed. The Porter was outstanding but the real standout was the Venom Pale Ale. This is a beer for Hopheads make no mistake!!The bouquet,flavor and bitterness of the Cascade hops are amazing.This brew pub is brewing some out of this world ales.Food was good as well with a very diverse menue to accommodate all palates.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, erie, PA
(08/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Overall, fairly decent selection of food with 5 main beers on tap, as well as 1 or 2 seasonal. Venom Pale Ale easy the best, standing out from the others tried in a sampler, hoppy apricot overtones. About $3.50 a glass, not a bad deal for a mall brewpub. 6 beer sampler was $5.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from timmy timmy, glenn dale, MD
(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Stopped in recently for the re-introduction of the Naked Fish chocolate-raspberry-coffee-stout. Raspberry is the most notable flavor, but not so much as to overpower the others. The stout qualities still come through. It's not as sweet as many fruit beers are, which should please many people, but I personally prefer raspberry stout when it's sweeter than this.

They had free T-shirts for people on their e-mail list. I was surprised to find out 45 minutes into the event that the largest size left was L. Come on, we're talking about beer drinkers here! ;-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(01/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Sorry, but in two visits in the last two weeks I must take exception to some of the reviews here. I tried EVERY beer as a sampler each time, and compared to the better Baltimore breweries they just don't stack up. The Ravenwood was solid, and the Bad Moon Porter was nice and chocolatey- even the Mad Bishop Octoberfest was well rounded and tasty. But the Venom was over the top even for a hophead like me- it made my wife gag and reach for the barleywine as a chaser. For a mall though, why complain? The chili in a bread bowl was awesome (although Remomo's food blows everything else at the mall away), and I will stop back next time I find myself at the mall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Naylor Mike Naylor, Baltimore, MD
(12/05/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.625 seconds) 02:21:28 50.16.112.199, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS