PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Anacapa Brewing Company - Ventura , CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 09:58 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Ventura > Anacapa Brewing Company
Anacapa Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Anacapa Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
472 East Main Street
Ventura , CA 93001
United States
(805) 643-2337
Listed Since: July 2001
Last Updated: January 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ventura , CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
29 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ancient Aromatics
2) Bella Maggiore Inn
3) LA Mer's Gaestehaus
4) Victorian Rose Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN INN OF VENTURA
2) COUNTRY INN SUITES VENTURA
3) HOLIDAY INN VENTURA BEACH RST
4) VAGABOND INN VENTURA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bard, Elizabeth, Memorial Hospital
2) Feraud General Merchandise Store
3) Franz, Emmanuel, House
4) San Buenaventura Mission Aqueduct
5) Ventura County Courthouse
6) Ventura Theatre
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adelita's Mexican Deli
2) Aloha Steakhouse
3) Barrera's Restaurant
4) Ben & Jerry's
5) Bench Warmer
6) Bernadette's On Main
7) Cafe Bariloche
8) Cafe Fiore
9) Caffrodite
10) Chicago For Ribs Ventura
11) Coastal Cone Co
12) Cooke's Smokehouse
13) Costa De Mariscos Costa De Oro
14) Costa Del Sol Restaurant
15) Deco
16) Derby Club
17) Django's Coffee House
18) Drink
19) Fanfare
20) Front Street Cuisine & Ctrng
21) Front Street Cuisine Deli
22) Fuji Sushi
23) Full Of Beans
24) Harbor Sushi
25) Hi Cees Cafe
26) Hobson Seaview Grill & Store
27) Hula Girl Hot Dogs
28) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
29) Jamaicamekrazee Restaurant
30) Jawz Cocktails
31) Johnny's Mexican Food
32) Kelly's Coffee & Fudge Factory
33) Lake Casitas Snack Bar
34) Le Petit Cafe Bakery
35) Margarita Villa
36) Meridians Cafe
37) Natural Cafe Ventura
38) Paddy's Cocktail Lounge
39) Palermo
40) People's Restaurant
41) Pier Beach Grill
42) Pizza Chief
43) Red Cove
44) Reyes Markets
45) Scotch & Sirloin
46) Snookys III
47) Spinnaker Seafood Broiler
48) Star Lounge
49) Starbucks
50) Starbucks
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
53) Taco Bell
54) Taco Bell
55) Taj Cafe Inc
56) Thai Star Fine Cuisine
57) Tony's Pizzaria
58) Tratoria Cappelletti
59) Tucks Point
60) Tutti's Off Main
61) Valentino's Take & Bake Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Nice little place. Food was good. Beer selection was a little weak, but I think they had a guest tap that was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Gary, St. Louis, MO
(03/27/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
Wow, what a disappointment. I just moved to the area and was overjoyed to find that Ventura has its very own brewpub. First impressions were great, just great. But as I returned (at least half a dozen times over a couple of months), my enthusiasm was curbed.

First of all, I have never gone in if it looked busy, so scratch that excuse.

I always pulled up to the bar, but never will again. I really can't figure it out. Several different barmaids, and they all ignored my presence to the point where I started wondering: do I have BO with a ten foot throw? is there blood all over my shirt and I look like an axe killer? What gives? I would follow them with a stare, making it seemingly impossible to avoid eye contact, but nope, they somehow found a way to walk past me once, twice, three times, four times five and even six times without ever ONCE acknowledging that I had come out of my way to enter their world and throw some money at them. Mind you, it's not that busy, and even if it WERE busy, damn it, just say hello, I'll get to you sometime soon. And this is not an isolated incident, or one particular girl. This is consistent behaviour, the bar's MO.

Then there's the beer. I love hops, double IPA's and such. Their IPA could be good, maybe it was good at one time (it won an award???), but hell, it is SOAPY. Sad little soap bubbles sit on top of it and try to pass themselves off as a head. And it tastes, well, SOAPY!!!

The food is fine. Not the dreamlike burger Father's Office has, but I really did enjoy the pork sandwich. I have come to find out that if you order fries with your sandwich, just learn to let go of any idea that $5 french fries should be crisp and crunchy. No no no, stop fighting it and just learn to love that heap of soggy slices of greasy potato, cause that's what you're getting. And when you send them back because they really really suck, and they still haven't come back from the kitchen even after you have oh so slowly eaten your sandwich, don't make the mistake of telling the barmaid that it's too late or you'll get an extra side of her attitude, no extra charge.

Too bad, so sad. The owner should visit Stone Brewery in San Diego and see how it's done. Maybe the "brewpub monopoly" the have on Ventura negates any need to change. Jesus on a stick, just say "Hi" when people sit down at the bar. Is that so much to ask?

I guess the whole service thing really gnaws at me. Way too much attitude, dude. That's why I give it an overall "soso".....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from happycheetah happycheetah, ojai, CA
(01/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Anacapa has the same brewer as Santa Barbara BC, so this reviewer is a bit off in his assessment. Furthermore, the IPA won the Gold Medal at the GABF in 2005--that's the most competitive category and the most prestigious to win within the brewer brotherhood. Locals know that ABC has THE best food in town by far--they win "Best of" awards every year from locals. My wife and I have been coming here almost weekly since they opened over 6 years ago!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Denny C. Denny C., Ventura, CA
(09/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
The Pale Ale is as good as Sierra Nevada. The Red is a disapointment after the wonderul hop experience of the Pale so drink the Red first! The Stout is Expresso as advertised. The food is OK and the staff is friendly. This place is worth a visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GD Elder GD Elder, La Plata, MD
(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Huge improvements to the beer since they opened. Food is always terrific. Hard to beat Downtown Ventura for a location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Camarillo, CA
(05/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Worth a trip out of town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Medbury T. Medbury, Los Angeles, CA
(04/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Not many beers available, but the ones they have are tasty enough. The food is always above average, and for a place that's focused more on the beer, that's a compliment. Very friendly staff. Busy but never loud. The vats are right behind the bar which is cool. The location is great, right along the "old town" Main Street of Ventura. We always stop in when shopping or after a movie.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Koivu Jason Koivu, Carpinteria, CA
(02/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Awesome! Good
The building has a very nice brewpub feel to it. Was not impressed with the food. The sampler came with 5 beers. The Offshore Amber Ale had a nice flavor. The Hurricane Hefeweizen was tasteless. The Harvest Moon is a pumpkin spice beer,could not make out the pumpkin flavor. The Pierpoint Pale Ale was pretty weak as Pale Ales go. The Gold Medal I.P.A. was also very weak for an I.P.A. If you are driving the coast and want a good I.P.A. or Pale Ale try The Santa Barbara Brewing Company further north, it's worth the drive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo de Leon Leo de Leon, Redlands, CA
(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
It looked interesting through the window, so I thought "What the heck". What a great decision that was.

I only had the chance to try the Red, which was very pleasant indeed. The food was nicely prepared and certainly hit the spot with this reviewer. Service was excellent, nice friendly folk who enjoy what they do.

If I ever get the opportunity to visit Ventura again, I'll certainly give this place another visit - but leave the car behind so I can fully "test" the place!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Wilshaw Stephen Wilshaw, Derby, UK
(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Nice location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Awesome! Good
Had a beer with my dog. Thanks! woody

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from woody woody, west linn, OR
(04/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
I would rate this beer inbetween so-so and good. Five different beer on tap. Curious is hefeweizen suppose to be clear! Heavy dextrose after taste in all beers. Very palitable for domestic drinkers and was served at a good temperature.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Dennis, Kenosha, WI
(04/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
On our motorcycle rides out to Cold Spring Station, we always stop here for lunch. The hefe weizen and pale ale are above average offerings. They even carry guest brews like Stone Brewing Co.'s "Arrogant Bastard Ale". The food is excellent, especially the fish tacos. A must stop and see if you're in Ventura.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donnie Ebelt Donnie Ebelt, Norwalk, CA
(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
On our motorcycle rides out to Cold Spring Station, we always stop here for lunch. The hefe weizen and pale ale are above average offerings. They even carry guest brews like Stone Brewing Co.'s "Arrogant Bastard Ale". The food is excellent, especially the fish tacos. A must stop and see if you're in Ventura.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donnie Ebelt Donnie Ebelt, Norwalk, CA
(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
Me and my brother stoped here after we took his dog Lucky to the beach for the first time. We were starving and looking for a good place to eat. Some surfers on the beach suggested this place.

The Beers were surprisingly great. I had my usual Red but it was a bit heavy for the delicious BBQ Chicken Sandwhich I had.

The service can get a bit slow on the patio but the waitresses were nice once you flagged them outside.

They do sell Crawlers for $15 also if you want to take some beer to the beach with you. It reminded me of the Manhatten Beach Brewing Company in Manhatten Beach California but without a view of the Sunset.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(12/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
This is a nice brewpub in a nice location, but I thought the beer was only slightly above average. They had a decent hefeweizen, a good pale ale, a dry, sour alt called Attitude Adjustment Ale, a good red ale, and an interesting Burnt Toast Brown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Rose Jeff Rose, Oakland, CA
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
This brewpub his one of the best food menus and food quality of any brewpub around. The beers are well done also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Kochanowski Ed Kochanowski, Woodland Hills, CA
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The Pierpont Pale Ale was a bit flat and watery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brew Brew, Phoenix, AZ
(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I have been regular customers at this establishment for the last couple of years. We live only a few blocks away and its our favorite place to visit in Downtown Ventura. They always have an excellent selection of brew, all of which are outstanding. The food is well prepared and something that the kitchen can be proud of. Mark, Shawn and the rest of the staff are great. If you enjoy outstanding beer, excellent food and extremely friendly service then this is a must stop when you are in the Ventura area. Check out the website @ anacapabrewing.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Troy Woodstock Troy Woodstock, Ventura, CA
(06/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the best brew pub I've ever been in!!! Excellent portions, high quality and creative food and outstand selection of beers that never leave a palate unsatisfied!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review jgottfried, Ventura, CA
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great establisment, friendly staff. Great location. Excellent Cobb salad (minus the cheese). I plan to go back for a few pints nextime i am in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MicroBrew Mike MicroBrew Mike, Northern NJ, NJ
(01/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is my favorite brewpub of all time, and I've been to quite a few! The food is first-rate (try the creme brulee for dessert!), the bartenders are very friendly and knowledgeable, the atmosphere is perfect, and the beers, excellent. I obviously have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. I was lucky enough to try the Ebenezer Ale in July 2001 for their 1-year anniversary (a half-barrel was on reserve since the previous Christmas), man, that was some good stuff... abv somewhere around 9 or 10%... I hope to visit this place again someday... unfortunately I live in Wisconsin!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David M. Taylor David M. Taylor, Two Rivers, WI
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I have been steady customers of Anacapa (at least until we moved out of ventura a week ago). Their anniversary ale (out in June) is excellent, they recently released a hoppy amber called Attitude Adjustment Ale that was excellent. Their hefe is always great. As for food, the newport is an awesome choice! It's a must for lunch. The usual bartender on Saturday afternoons is Mark and he's awesome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Foster City, CA
(09/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I've closed pubs - but never opened one before. Was the first cusomer in today (Saturday) @ 11:30. They had two pale ales available: Both 4.9% ABV, one with approx 30 IBU and the other with 35 IBU. Both were good, but I preferred the 35 IBU. The nice thing is that they were relatively low gravity when compared to some other pales that are out there. Suggest the pulled pork sandwich - spicy, sweet, finger-licking sauce. This is definitely worth a visit when you're in Ventura. Downtown Ventura is slowly developing into a trendy, antique zone and there is plenty to see and do. Bartender was 1st rate but I'm afraid that I can't remember his name. I must offer my appology should he read this. On a scale of 1 to 4 mugs, give this a 3.5

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(08/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
WENT WITH OTHER FAMILY MEMEBERS AND ALL THE FOOD CHOICES WERE EXCELENT. I TRIED THE SANTA CRUZ CREAM, THE FOGHORN PORTER, AND THE SANTA CLARA RED. A MEMBER OF THE GROUP HAD THE HEFEWEIZEN. ALL WERE EXCELENT. LOCATED IN A WONDERFUL DOWNTOWN AREA THAT IS WORTH THE WALK-ABOUT AFTER THE GOOD FOOD AND BEER. JUST OFF HWY 101 IN DOWNTOWN VENTURA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WEASEL WEASEL, ANTIOCH, CA
(05/06/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.732 seconds) 21:58:56 54.234.0.85, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS