PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub - Asheville, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 06:38 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Asheville > Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub
Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 78.9 / 100
27 Biltmore Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
United States
(828) 252-1922
Listed Since: August 2001
Last Updated: February 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Asheville, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub
19 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(25 within 5 miles)
1) Barley's Taproom
(0 mile)

2) Green Man Brewing Company/ Dirty Jack's
(0 mile)

3) ED Boudreaux's Bayou Bar-B-Que
(0 mile)

4) Scully's Signature Dine and Drink
(0 mile)

5) Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

6) Thirsty Monk
(0 mile)

7) Rankin Vault
(0 mile)

8) Craggie Brewing Company
(0 mile)

9) Wedge Brewing Company
(0 mile)

10) Wild Wing Cafe
(0 mile)

11) Scully's
(0 mile)

12) Lexington Avenue Brewery
(0 mile)

13) Highland Brewing Company
(0 mile)

14) Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery
(0 mile)

15) Bier Garden
(0 mile)

16) French Broad Brewing Company
(0 mile)

17) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

18) Charlotte Street Grill
(0 mile)

19) Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company
(4 miles)

20) Nine Mile
(4 miles)

21) Fred's Speak Easy
(4 miles)

22) Westville Pub
(4 miles)

23) Root Bar Number One
(4 miles)

24) Burgermeister's Kitchen and Tap
(4 miles)

25) Ruby's Tap House
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed of Roses
2) A Hill House Bed & Breakfast
3) Abbington Green B & B
4) Aberdeen Inn
5) Acorn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
6) Albemarle Inn
7) Applewood Manor
8) Beaufort House Victorian Bed
9) Biltmore Village Inn
10) Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast
11) Bridle Path Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT ASHEVILLE BILTMORE EST
2) BW ASHEVILLE BILTMORE
3) BW OF ASHEVILLE BILTMORE EAST
4) COMFORT INN RIVER RIDGE
5) COMFORT STES BILTMORE SQ MALL
6) COUNTRY INN STES ASHEVILLE TUN
7) COUNTRY INN SUITES ASHEVILLE
8) COURTYARD ASHVILLE
9) DAYS INN ASHEVILLE NORTH
10) DAYS INN ASHEVILLE PATTON AVE
11) DAYS INN ASHVILLE MALL
12) DOUBLETREE HOTEL BILTMORE
13) ECONO LODGE BILTMORE ASHEVILLE
14) EXTENDEDSTAY TUNNEL ROAD
15) FAIRFIELD INN STES ASHEVILLE
16) FAIRFIELD INN STES ASHEVILLE S
17) GROVE PARK INN RESORT AND SPA
18) HAMPTON INN ASHEVILLE I26
19) HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL
20) HOWARD JOHNSON ASHEVILLE
21) QUALITY INN AND SUITES SOUTH
22) RAMADA LIMITED CENTRAL
23) RAMADA PLAZA HOTEL - ASHEVILLE
24) RENAISSANCE ASHEVILLE HOTEL
25) RESIDENCE INN ASHEVILLE
26) SLEEP INN BILTMORE
27) SUPER 8 BILTMORE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams, Judge Junius G., House
2) Alexander, Mrs. Minnie, Cottage
3) All Souls Episcopal Church and Parish House
4) Arcade Building
5) Asheville City Hall
6) Asheville Transfer and Storage Company Building
7) B & B Motor Company Building
8) Barker, Clarence, Memorial Hospital
9) Battery Park Hotel
10) Biltmore Estate Office
11) Biltmore Shoe Store
12) Biltmore Village Commercial Buildings
13) Biltmore Village Cottage District
14) Biltmore Village Cottages
15) Biltmore-Oteen Bank Building
16) Breese, William E., Sr., House
17) Bryan, William Jennings, House
18) Building at 130--132 Biltmore Avenue
19) Building at 134--136 1/2 Biltmore Avenue
20) Building at 140 Biltmore Avenue
21) Buncombe County Boys' Training School, (Former)
22) Buncombe County Courthouse
23) Church of St. Lawrence
24) Church of the Redeemer
25) Claxton School
26) Conabeer Chrysler Building
27) Demens-Rumbough-Crawley House
28) Downtown Asheville Historic District (Boundary Increase II)
29) Downtown Asheville Historic District (Boundary Increase)
30) E. D. Latta Nurses' Residence
31) Ellington, Douglas, House
32) Fire Station Number 4
33) First Baptist Church
34) George A. Mears House
35) Grove Park Inn
36) Jarrett, Thomas, House
37) Kenilworth Inn
38) McGeahy Building
39) North Carolina Electrical Power Company Electric Generating Plant
40) Ottari Sanitarium
41) Overlook
42) Ravenscroft School
43) Reed, Samuel Harrison, House
44) Reynolds House
45) Reynolds, Dr. Carl V., House
46) Richbourg Motors Building
47) Richmond Hill House
48) Sawyer Motor Company Building
49) Schoenberger Hall
50) Smith-McDowell House
51) Southern Railway Passenger Depot
52) Spinning Wheel
53) St. Luke's Episcopal Church
54) St. Mary's Church
55) St. Matthias Episcopal Church
56) Wolfe, Thomas, House
57) Young Men's Institute Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 23 Page Catering
2) 9 Pleats Catering
3) Akumi Sushi Saki Bar
4) Ali Baba Middle Eastern Rstrnt
5) Anntony's Caribbean Cafe
6) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
7) Arby's
8) Asheville Pizza & Brewing Co
9) Asheville Take-Out
10) Atlanta Bread Co
11) Back Yard Burgers
12) Barley's Taproom & Pizzeria
13) Beanstreet Coffee
14) Bearly Edible
15) Bier Garden
16) Biltmore Depot Restaurant
17) Biltmore Estate
18) Biltmore Estate Catering
19) Bistro 1896
20) Blimpie's Of Pac Square
21) Blue Ridge To Go
22) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
23) Boston Pizza
24) Boston Way Cafe
25) Bourdreax's Cajun Cafe
26) Broadway's
27) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
28) Burger King
29) Burger King
30) Cafe 445 & Catering
31) Cafe On The Square
32) Cafe Soleil
33) Cahoots Eating & Drinking Emp
34) Capitol Funds Inc
35) Charlotte Street Grill & Pub
36) Chef In Motion
37) Chelseas & The Village Tea
38) Cinjades
39) City Diner
40) College Street Pub
41) Corner Stone Restaurant
42) Cottonwood Cafe
43) Country Kitchen
44) Courtside Cafe
45) Daisy's Diner
46) Damon's The Place For Ribs
47) Decades
48) Denny's
49) Doc Chey's Noodle House
50) Dolores & Jose Mexican Rstrnt
51) Don Pablo's
52) Early Girl Eatery
53) East Buffet
54) Ed Boudreaux's BBQ
55) Ed's Snack Shop
56) Emerald Lounge
57) Excalibur Ventures
58) Fifty-One Grill
59) Five Points Restaurant
60) Flamingo Restaurant
61) Flying Frog Cafe
62) Fred's Speak Easy
63) Frog Bar & Deli
64) Fuddruckers
65) Gabrielle's
66) Gold Hill Espresso & Fine Teas
67) Golden Horn
68) Goodfellas Italian Ristorante
69) Grape Escape
70) Gray Area
71) Greenery Restaurant
72) Grill House Catering
73) Grove Park Inn Resort
74) Grovewood Cafe
75) Gypsy Moon
76) Hannah Flanagan's Pub
77) Hathaway's Cafe Market & Bkry
78) Heiwa Shokudo
79) Horizons
80) Hot Dog King
81) Hot Shot Cafe
82) Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
83) Il Paradiso Steak & Chop House
84) Indigenous
85) Izzy's Coffee Den
86) Jack Of The Wood
87) Jerusalem Garden Cafe
88) Joe's Crab Shack
89) John Henrys
90) Kamm's Custard Shops LLC
91) Kat's Restaruants
92) La Caterina Trattoria
93) La Paz Restaurante & Cantina
94) Laughing Seed Cafe
95) Laurey's Catering
96) Left Bank
97) Lexington Avenue Brewery
98) Limones
99) Little Pigs Bar-B-Que
100) Little Pigs Bar-B-Que
101) Lobster Trap
102) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
103) Long John Silver's
104) Loretta's
105) Magnolia's Raw Bar & Grille
106) Mama's Fast Food
107) Mamacitas
108) Marble Slab Creamery
109) Margie's Battery Park Cafe
110) Market Place
111) Marketplace Cafe
112) Marta's Catering
113) Martin's Creative Catering
114) Max & Rosie's Restaurant
115) Max's Celebrity Deli Grill
116) Mayfel's
117) Mc Donald's
118) Mc Donald's
119) Mc Guffey's Restaurants Inc
120) Mediterranean Restaurant
121) Melanie's
122) Mellow Mushroom Pizza
123) Mexico Lindo Mexican Rstrnt
124) Mikado Japanese Steak House
125) Mo Jazz
126) Mountain City Coffee Roasters
127) Mr Gene's Family Restaurant
128) New French Bar
129) New French Bar Courtyard Cafe
130) Noodle Shop
131) O Henry's
132) O'charley's Restaurant-Lounge
133) Old Europe Coffee House
134) Olive Garden
135) Oliver & Annabelle's
136) On Broadway
137) On Broadway
138) Orange Peel
139) Orchard At Broadmoor
140) Orchards
141) Osaka Japanese Cuisine
142) Outback Steakhouse
143) Peace Of La Paz
144) Peddler Steak House
145) Pedro's Porch
146) Peking Garden Chinese Rstrnt
147) Picnics Bake Shop & Restaurant
148) Pizza Hut
149) Pizza Hut
150) Pizza Hut
151) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
152) Quizno's Classic Subs
153) Rabbits Restaurant
154) Red Lobster Restaurant
155) Richmond Hill Inn
156) Rio Bravo Cantina
157) Rio Burrito
158) Ritz
159) Rosetta's Kitchen
160) Salsa Mexican Caribbean Food
161) Sassafras Cafe & Catering Co
162) Savoy Restaurant
163) Shangri LA Fusion Cafe
164) Shotzy's At The Historic S & W
165) Silver Dollar Restaurant
166) Smokey Tavern
167) Sonic Drive-In District Office
168) Souper Sandwich
169) Specialties Cafe & Catering
170) Starbucks
171) Stella Blue
172) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
173) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
174) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
175) Sweet Heaven Ice Cream & Music
176) Sweeten Creek Pub & Grill
177) Taco Bell
178) Temptations
179) Thaibasil
180) Three Brothers Restaurant
181) Tina Bone Catering
182) Tomatoes
183) Tomo Japanese Cuisine
184) Tressa's Downtown Jazz & Blues
185) Trevi Pasta Seafood & Pizza
186) Trio's Pizzeria
187) Tripps Restaurant
188) Tuna Tini's
189) Tupelo Honey Cafe
190) Twelve Bones Smokehouse
191) Two Guys Original Olde Style
192) Uptown Cafe
193) Village Tea Room
194) Vincent's Ear Coffee House
195) Vincenzo's Restorante
196) Viva Europa
197) Waffle House
198) Wasabi
199) Wendy's
200) Wendy's
201) Wild Wing Cafe
202) Windmill European Grill
203) Yamama's Smaqueria
204) Yoshida Japanese Steak House
205) Zambra
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The service and selection was absolutely top notch.100% sure will recommend and revisit the next time in Asheville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Seawright John Seawright, Elberton, GA
(07/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Hannah's is a great place to hang out on a weekday evening. Food's good (fish & chips are my personal favorite) and the atmosphere is very casual.

It could do with a lot more Irish music but the fact is there just aren't many musicians in the Asheville area who play it. Still, they have some pretty good bands roll through; nothing top-shelf, but usually spirited and fun.

And yes, there are lots of "hippie-types" in Asheville, so if you're a judgmental jerk go somewhere else. Weird is wonderful in Asheville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Asheville, NC
(06/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy So So
Went there on a slow afternoon, we were wedged between a musical sandwich of Lionel Richie and Richard Marx. We asked the server if they could do anything about the music, she said the bartender had the music selection. We were the only ones there...

Nice beer and general atmosphere, but people make a place. I want the tip back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Asheville, NC
(12/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Awesome!
I was on a business trip in Asheville in fall 2005, and my group stumbled on this bar one night. We watched a live band in the outdoor area next to the bar. Great selection of beer. Band was decent. Great atmosphere.

A couple of days later I went back for a very late night drink and burger (good burgers!). I went with a co-worker, but she has become my best friend and love of my life. We sat right at the bar and talked all night. We didn't stop until the bar closed. It was one of the best nights of my life... actually a turning point in my life.

We talk every single day, and this little pub was really the start of it all. If you are looking for a place to remember, this is it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hank Hank, Scottsdale, AZ
(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
Very unbelievably rude waitress named Tracy. Don't go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tara Tara, Houston, TX
(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
If you're in the mood for a good British beer, this is the place! They had more Brit beers on tap than I've seen anywhere outside Britain! Had a nice McKewan's (sp?) IPA, Young's Special Bitter, and Hobgoblin. I would suggest asking for a taste before ordering a pint if it isn't busy. Brit beers can be variable, and not necessarily the bar's fault. The Fuller's London Pride was buttery, fortunately I asked for a sample. They even had a Maredsous beer on draft. As soon as that silly 6% law is kicked, this place will probably have some fine higher gravity imports as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Chicagoland, IL
(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Long bar, with booths and tables for dining. 40 taps, with only 5 reserved for macros. 75+ bottles of a good quality and selection. Food looked (and smelled) great. Prices fair, $3 pints for most; lots of local products on tap--Highland Black Mocha Stout was terrific! Another great place for beer lovers when they are in Asheville!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
If there was another Irish Pub in town, Hannah Flanagans staff would have to work a little harder at it. As it is, they pour a nice pint of Guinness, and the food isn't bad at all. However, like so many "Irish" pubs, they've let it become just another bar-- at least when we were there. There was no hint of Irish music on the sound system -- unless you count one Van Morrison song.

The re-run of Andy Griffith on the telly wasn't exactly what I had in mind.

Burned-out, tattooed, hippie types sat at the bar playing computer games (downtown Asheville seems to be full of these 20-somethings who think it's still 1970).

The waitstaff had the audacity to bring in Subway Sandwiches and sit at the bar eating them in front of the customers -- as if the food there wasnt't good enough for them.

All in all this could be a wonderful Irish pub experience if they put a little more effort into it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Rich Craig Rich, Holland, MI
(06/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A Lousy So So
Eight friends and I (All 35+ years of age - Career Professionals)stopped in this pub because we had heard good things, however, we were treated rudely by the wait staff, since we were in the back room playing pool and foosball. We also had to suffer through Rap Crap & Hip-Hop Music for God sake in an Irish Pub! We had two drinks each, left and spent $500 elsewhere. Won't go back again!! Although the beer selection was very good, a little customer service would have been nice!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Virginia Beach, VA
(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
I really enjoy going there. I like the little area outside. It is a great place. The bartenders are great too. They are very friendly. I wish I could go there more often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Asheville, NC
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The last time I was here was in 2001 and this place was a blast!!! One of the best times my friends and I have ever had. And we are coming back Labor Day Weekend 2003. The beer was awesome, great selection, excellent service. But the good time was the band but I can't remember who it was. I believe they were local but by the end of the show, it turned into a jam session that lit the place on fire. People were going nuts, dancing and just rocking out! Hopefully they have someone that is going to blow the roof off this Labor Day Weekend because I am sooo looking forward to coming back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brooks Brooks, Montgomery, AL
(08/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
We stumbled upon this lovely little pub almost by accident and am I ever glad I did!! Superb beer, superb service by a lovely young lady, the food was quite good - I remember taking in a violent thunderstorm while quaffing a pint and feeling oh so safe. The booths were old church pews, which made me feel like ol' Saint Patrick was protecting me, ready to drive out the snakes. Don't pass this pub up!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Beck Glenn Beck, Bloomsbury, NJ
(06/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Love the pub. My friends and I go there alot. Need to bring in Loch ness Johnny again. Haven't seen them there in a while, but every time I sqaw them the place went NUTS!!! more bands like that. lotsa energy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jason jason, Greenville, NC
(01/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
I never quite figured out what was "Irish" about this pub other than its name. This place is 100% American beer bar. I'd say they had about 40 beers on tap. Lots of regionals like Highland and Catawba, decent European ales, etc. Bartender was very friendly. Small and intimate. Not very loud or crowded when i went. Nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Good Irish pub atmosphere, good beer selection, but way too smoky for me unless I sit outside. However, the outside atmosphere is not so good: new decking, plastic chairs, and a hemmed-in feeling. I don't go here much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Road Mode Road Mode, Asheville, NC
(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Great Great Great
Odd to find an Irish pub with a huge amount of both bottled beers and taps, but then again, Asheville is a bit different. Excellent atmosphere (when the drunken middle-age yuppies are not breaking glasses), excellent food, and enough of a selection to please almost everybody….//TB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TBissell TBissell, San Diego, CA
(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Odd to find an Irish pub with a huge amount of both bottled beers and taps, but then again, Asheville is a bit different. Excellent atmosphere (when the drunken middle-age yuppies are not breaking glasses), excellent food, and enough of a selection to please almost everybody...//TB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TBissell TBissell, San Diego, CA
(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Odd to find an Irish pub with a huge amount of both bottled beers and taps, but then again, Asheville is a bit different. Excellent atmosphere (when the drunken middle-age yuppies are not breaking glasses), excellent food, and enough of a selection to please almost everybody...//TB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TBissell TBissell, San Diego, CA
(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The 40 taps include several regional products, including those from the new French Broad Brewing Company of Asheville. Try the IPA from these guys. The menu offers traditional Irish pub fare at reasonable prices including fish and chips, shepherds pie, bangers and mash, and corned beef and cabbage. A very popular spot and frequently crowded late and on summer weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(08/17/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.373 seconds) 18:38:43 54.167.174.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS