PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Strange Brew Tavern - Manchester, NH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 06:13 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NH > Manchester > Strange Brew Tavern
Strange Brew Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Strange Brew Tavern
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.6 / 100
88 Market Street
Manchester, NH 03101
United States
(603) 666-4292
Listed Since: September 2001
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Manchester, NH
Beer Guide for New Hampshire

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
35 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 02:00PM - 01:30AM
Mon 04:00PM - 01:30AM
Tue 04:00PM - 01:30AM
Wed 04:00PM - 01:30AM
Thu 04:00PM - 01:30AM
Fri 04:00PM - 01:30AM
Sat 04:00PM - 01:30AM

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing
(0 mile)

2) Wild Rover Restaurant and Pub
(0 mile)

3) Candia Road Brewing
(4 miles)

4) Nutfield Ale and Steak House
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ash Street Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW EXEC COURT INN AND CONF CTR
2) COMFORT INN MANCHESTER
3) COURTYARD MANCHESTER AIRPORT
4) ECONO LODGE MANCHESTER
5) FAIRFIELD INN MANCHESTER
6) FOUR POINTS MANCHESTER
7) HAMPTON INN STES MHT BEDFORD
8) RADISSON HOTEL MANCHESTER
9) RAMADA INN MANCHESTER
10) SPRINGHILL SUITES MHT AIRPORT
11) THE HIGHLANDER
12) TOWNPLACE SUITES AIRPORT
13) WAYFARER INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ash Street School
2) Athens Building
3) Bedford Town Hall
4) Building at 418--420 Notre Dame Ave.
5) Carpenter and Bean Block
6) Carpenter, Frank Pierce, House
7) Currier Gallery of Art
8) Gay, Alpheus, House
9) Harrington--Smith Block
10) Hill--Lassonde House
11) Hoyt Shoe Factory
12) Hubbard, Thomas Russell, House
13) Kennedy Hill Farm
14) Kimball Brothers Shoe Factory
15) Manchester City Hall
16) New Hampshire State Union Armory
17) Old Post Office Block
18) Smith and Dow Block
19) Smyth Tower
20) St. George's School and Convent
21) Stark, Gen. John, House
22) Straw, William Parker, House
23) Varney School
24) Victory Park Historic District
25) Weston Observatory
26) Zimmerman House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Lil' Taste Of Seattle
2) A Taste Of Europe
3) Adela Sandwiches
4) Ahh-Som Country Buffet
5) Ahh-Some Gourmet Coffee
6) Ahh-Some Gourmet Coffee
7) Albee's On Amherst
8) Alexander The Great-Macedonia
9) Alley Cat Pizzeria
10) Amory St House Of Pizza
11) Amoskeag Restaurant & Brewery
12) Andres Diner Inc
13) Andy's Place
14) Annula's Pizza & Deli
15) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
16) Athens Restaurant
17) Bagel Works
18) Bagel Works Inc
19) Bahtsi's Great Atlantic Stkhse
20) Baldwin's
21) Bamboo Garden Corp
22) Bean-N-Bagel
23) Beauty's Pizzas Subs & Salads
24) Belmont Hall & Restaurant
25) Bickford's Family Restaurant
26) Bickfords Family Fare
27) Black Brimmer American Bar
28) Blake's Family Restaurant
29) Blake's Family Restaurant
30) Bob Shaw's Italian Sandwich
31) Bolero Restaurant & Nightclub
32) Boston Market
33) Brando's
34) Breezway Pub
35) Brother's Pizza
36) Burger King
37) Burger King
38) Cactus Jacks Southwest Grill
39) Caesario's
40) Cafe 324
41) Cafe Momo
42) Cafe On The Park
43) Cafe On The Park
44) Cahoots Sports Bar Grille
45) Cappuccinos & More
46) Capri Pizza & Restaurant
47) Captain Zorba's
48) Captain Zorba's
49) Carribbean Spice
50) Charley Pepper's
51) Chateau Caterers
52) Chateau Restaurant
53) Chez Vachon
54) Chiggy's Place
55) Chili's Grill & Bar
56) China Buffet
57) China Gourmet
58) Clam King
59) Club Liquid
60) Cotton
61) Cozy Culinary Cafe
62) Cremeland Drive In
63) Currier's At The Ctr Of Nh
64) D'angelo's Sandwich Shop
65) D'angelo's Sandwich Shop
66) Dairy Queen
67) Dave's Cosmic Subs
68) Derryfield Deli
69) Dickie Boy Subs
70) Domino's Pizza
71) Don Qui Jote Restaurant
72) Don Quijote Restaurant
73) Dots Spot
74) Down'n Dirty Bbq
75) Dragon Gate Take-Out Svc
76) Dragon House
77) E & C Restaurant Management
78) East West Restaurant
79) Element Lounge
80) Elm House Of Pizza Inc
81) Evans Management
82) Fairway Bar & Grill LLC
83) Ferrari's Pizza
84) Fitzy's Deli & Wine Bar
85) Frank-N-Stein's Restaurant
86) Fratello's Ristorante Italiano
87) Friendly's Restaurant
88) Front Street Pizza Restaurant
89) Gala Cafe
90) Geoff's Place LLC
91) Golden Oldies Diner
92) Grand Slam Pizza
93) Grandstands Bar & Grill
94) Greg's Place
95) Hanover Street Chophouse
96) Hillview Restaurant
97) Hooksett II House Of Pizza
98) India Palace
99) J C's Roast Beef Bar & Grill
100) J D's Tavern
101) J W Hill's Sports Bar & Grill
102) Jack's Snack & Lunch
103) Java Barn
104) Jillian's Billiard Club
105) Jimmy's House Of Pizza
106) Joe Kelly's
107) Julian's Pizzeria
108) Juliens Corner Kitchen
109) Just Jitters Cafe
110) K C's Rib Shack Barbecue
111) Karageorge Restaurant Inc
112) Kfc
113) Kilrain's Market Inc
114) KOBE Japanese Steakhouse
115) Korean Place Restaurant
116) La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
117) Lafayette Club
118) Lakorn Thai Restaurant
119) Lava Bar & Nightclub
120) Liquid Restaurant
121) Little Caesars Pizza
122) Little Saigon Restaurant
123) Luigi's Pizza
124) Luisa's Italian Pizzeria
125) Margaritas Mexican Restaurant
126) Margie's Dream
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mc Donald's
129) Mc Garvey's
130) Merrimack Restaurant
131) Mill West Cafe
132) Moe's Sandwich Shop
133) Munch Co
134) New Canton Chinese Retsaurant
135) New Taiwan Garden
136) New Yee Dynasty
137) Nicky D's LA Trattoria
138) Nutfield Ale & Steak House
139) O'k Parker's
140) On The Rocks
141) P J O'sullivans Inc
142) Panera Bread
143) Papa Gino's
144) Papa Gino's
145) Papa John's Pizza
146) Pappy's Pizza
147) Peking Garden
148) Peking Garden Chinese Rstrnt
149) Pete's Dragon
150) Piccola Italia Ristorante
151) Pizza Express
152) Pizza Hut
153) Pizza Market
154) Pizza Market
155) Pizza Quest
156) Purebred Hot Dog Eatery
157) Puritan Backroom Restaurant
158) Puritan Function Rooms
159) Puritan Ice Cream & Takeout
160) Queen City Motor Inn
161) Quiznos Sub
162) Rack Em Up Lounge
163) Ramada Inn Of Manchester
164) Red Arrow Diner
165) Richard's Bistro
166) Salona
167) Saraj Grill
168) Sassafras
169) Seasons Tickets Sports Pub
170) Shirley D's Diner & Truck Stop
171) Shogun Japanese Steak House
172) Siam Orchid
173) South End Bar & Grill
174) Spanish Corner
175) Stage Door Cafe
176) Starfish Grill
177) Steve's House Restaurant
178) Strange Brew Tavern
179) Stuffed Sub
180) Sub Contractors
181) Subway Manchester
182) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
183) Suzie Q's
184) Szechuan House Chinese Rstrnt
185) Taco Bell
186) Tapei & Tokyo 3
187) The Front Anchor
188) Theos Pizza Restaurant & Lng
189) Thousand Crane
190) Three Sons Catering
191) Times Square Pizza & Deli
192) Tinker's Seafood
193) Tiya's Restaurant
194) Tong Ho House
195) Tony's Grinders & Restaurant
196) Unwine'd
197) Uptown Tavern
198) Venetian Canal Espresso Caffe
199) Vetro
200) Way We Cook
201) Wendy's
202) Wendy's
203) Wild Rover
204) Yard Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Thankfully I didn't listen to the employees at Milly's (shame on you!) who advised me that this place only has bottled beer, "you know, Bud and Coors", or I would have missed a great experience. 60+ taps of excellent beers (many New England brews). Had a tasty Long Trail double IPA, and a Double Bag, as well as some Dogfish 90, all on happy hour pricing! Appetizer deals for HH were super--more than one person could finish (chix fingers), but definitely were good later that evening! Big crowd for Happy Hour--opens at 4, I was told. A nice beer oasis in Manchester, NH. Well done!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy Lousy
Visited Strange Brew with six friends on Saturday for beers and dinner. Split the check with 5 cards, were each charged on average 5 times for 5 different amounts. Total of the charges over $1,400.00 on a $170.00 check. Called to try and get this resolved and have been treated like dirt, blown off, and disrespected. Going on 4 days now with these funds tied up not being able to be used. Banks are waiting for Strange Brew to release the holds but they will not act. Have called daily just to be insulted. Do not recommend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Shawn, Newton, MA
(06/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Lots of variety on tap, and the Bartender gave me samples until I found one I really liked. We had buffalo chicken tenders and the shrimp/scallops platter. The tenders were good. The seafood wasn't anything special.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, Newark, DE
(10/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Bartenders very attentive. This place is jammed packed during happy hour. They did raise their prices a little that ruffles my feathers somewhat but I think that I will still go there. I have lived in Manchester all my life and have partied a great legal portion of it in this city, this place has stuck around and I only hope that they continue to please. I would suggest they get in more, "excitement" push the envelope a little, Manchester needs it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trisha Trisha, Hooksett, NH
(02/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
65+ plus beers on tap, & is now smoke free. Great food & beer deals almost every day for happy hour. App's are nothing fancy but you can get a half-price sampler for 5 bucks on most days. Stay away from the potato wedges though. Great location, best bar in Manchester - hands down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, manchester, NH
(02/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
More Great News! More Micros! 61 Now on Tap! Best Selection in the area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom tom, manchester, NH
(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Good
This is a great all around bar with a great atmosphere. The only issue is the smoke. After about 20 minutes my eyes start to burn, and be make sure to wear clothes you don't mind smelling like an ash tray for a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Manchester, NH
(02/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rousseau rick rousseau, franklin, nh
(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I was in Manchester for a week for business. This pub was by far my favorite place to hang out. I found it 'calling my name' on many occasion. Lots of great beers on draught, and a great place to try a few of the 'Local' brews. I only sat at the bar, but the staff were friendly, and knowledgeable. I saw a few reviews, indicating the bartenders were chatty with each other. and the bar service was slow. While I found this to be somewhat true, they were also very willing to chat with patrons. Which is a lot better than them being stuffy, direct, and to the point. So if you are in a hurry and just want a beer, hit the local liquor store and take some home. If you want a great place to hang out, try a few of the 40 something beers on tap, and just have a good time. Go here! Two thumbs up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al, Salt Lake City, UT
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Viva Manchester! Viva the Strange Brew! One of my favorite place in Manchvegas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review manchester, NH
(11/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Went since there was nothing else to do... now we look forward to evenings when there are no plans, always go up to Strange Brew (2-3 times a week). The crowd is mixed, so noone feels like the odd ball out. Servers are nice. Beer is geat!!! And in case you dont know, the popcorn is help youself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Maggie Maggie, Nashua, NH
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Wide variety of beers on tap and a nice atmosphere too. The waitstaff was great, but avoid the bar for more speedy service (bartenders tend to chit-chat amongst themselves). Happy hour is the best...all drafts (well just about) are $2 and 1/2 price apps. Doesn't open till 4 tho....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Ang Bob & Ang, Lebanon, NH
(06/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Great local micro selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Roswell, GA
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Everything about the place ROCKS!!

I go there 2 -3 times a week

Keep it up!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Manchester, NH
(02/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank J. Russo Frank J. Russo, Havelock, NC
(02/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I had heard about this place on the radio, so we gave it a try on a Saturday night. We couldn't believe that we lucked out and all the beers were $2!!! And they have a SUPER selection! I especially love Boddingtons - YUM. PLUS they had a blues band that came on at 9pm that was really good. We'll definitely be back - even when the beers are regular price. Food is good too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heather Gollnick Heather Gollnick, Methuen, MA
(11/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Best bar in Manch by far, better than many in Boston. Bartenders remember you and take care of the regulars. The "Cheers" of Manch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alex Alex, Salem, NH
(11/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I love Strange Brew. I am there 1-2X per week even though I have moved to MA since I started going. I still make the 1hr 15min drive (one way) to get there. It has a great atmosphere and I get to see friends from when I used to live up there. The crowd is usually great. I prefer the upstairs with the live music. Teusday is $2 draft, Thursday is Ladies Night (women get half off drinks) and if you want to be able to dance fridays and saturdays are the best nights but I always manage to get on the dance floor just about every time I go. They are one of the only places that I know sell Hoegaarden (an awesome german white beer), which I highly recommend. (more about the beer click here: http://www.interbrew.com/content/brands/hoegaarden.html)

The best waiter is defiantely Troy. Troy you rock!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cara Cara, Saugus, MA
(10/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
Stopped to pick up my wife who was there with a group of friends. Was told by doorman to go wait in line outside. Whole group left, ruined everyones night. Six people out there giving bad reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Deerfield, NH
(10/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Has become a weekly stop for hubby and I!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Mailhot Karen Mailhot, Deerfield, NH
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
An Oasis in Manchester. One of the very few places with a good beer selection where you can relax on a friday night after work and enjoy a fine Belgin ale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Yeasthead Yeasthead, New Boston, NH
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Manchester isn't much of a town for nightlife although my brother who lives in the area says it's getting better but Strange Brew is a jewel. Lot's of New England beers. Got into a discussion with a very knowledgable bartender about hoppy ales and he put out a selection of shots for me to sample without knowing what was what and it was crowded! I'd go again. All the beers I sampled were fresh. Just a great place with great atmosphere. By the way, in the blind taste I prefered Sierra Nevada Pale Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hopman Hopman, Lancaster, PA
(08/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Incredible selection, great atmosphere, friendly service, live music every night.. Manchester's best secret!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review manchester, NH
(06/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MitchS MitchS, manchester, NH
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Great
We love this place. The music runs from great to excellent, the beers are cold, the crowd is behaved, the food is 'just average', the wait staff is the biggest weakness. With that said, there is no better place in the area to hear great music and grab a cold one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Frank, Manchester, NH
(04/07/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.705 seconds) 06:13:03 54.167.185.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS