PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Turtle Mountain Brewing Company - Rio Rancho, NM
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 12:13 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NM > Rio Rancho > Turtle Mountain Brewing Company
Turtle Mountain Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Turtle Mountain Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.6 / 100
3755 Southern Boulevard
Rio Rancho, NM 87124
United States
(505) 994-9497
Listed Since: September 2001
Last Updated: January 2011
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Rio Rancho, NM
Beer Guide for New Mexico

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
34 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Fat Squirrel Pub and Grille
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn At Paradise & Golf Club
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RIO RANCHO
2) BRIDGESTREET COTTONWOOD RANCH
3) DAYS INN RIO RANCHO NM
4) EXTENDEDSTAY ALB RIO RANCHO
5) HGI ALBUQUERQUE N RIO RANCHO
6) RAMADA LIMITED NORTH
7) RAMADA LTD ALBUQUERQUE
8) SUPER 8 RIO RANCHO NM
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barela, Adrian, House
2) Chavez, Rumaldo, House
3) Gomez, Refugio, House
4) Lucero y Montoya, Francisco, House
5) San Ysidro Church
6) Tafoya, Domingo, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) Banana Leaf Asian Grill
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Bien Shur Restaurant
5) Domino's Pizza
6) El Madrid
7) Federico's
8) G & K Management
9) Geo's
10) Heaven Dragon Restaurant
11) Hot Tamales
12) Las Cazuelas
13) Osaka Steak House
14) Pastrami & Things
15) Quiznos Sub
16) Sal E Boy's Pizzeria
17) Sonic Drive-In
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
19) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
20) Susie's Cafe
21) Tazza Coffe Bar
22) Twisters Grill
23) Twisters Grill
24) Your Place Or Mine Catering
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I just wanted to correct my mistake. The old location is now Fat Squirrel. I combined the name with Fox and Hound when I typed it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Drewski Drewski, Albuquerque, NM
(06/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Good
My friends and I used to be weekly customers of the old Turtle Mountain (Where Fox and Squirrel is now) and the food and beer were always amazing.

Unfortunately, something changed with the new location. The beer is even more hoppy than before and the different styles all taste very similar. Don't get me wrong, the beer is still very high quality - I feel the brewmaster does take his work seriously. Unfortunately, it won't appeal to everyone.

The food is still incredible. I recommend the Three Rivers grinder or the Adam Bomb pizza (Be careful with the latter - the green chile is *hot*!).

All in all, it's still very much worth a trip, but as far as the beer is concerned, there are better microbreweries in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Drewski Drewski, Albuquerque, NM
(05/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Either or in a group or just a date, wonderful food fun and spirits every time

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea B Andrea B, Albuquerque, NM
(12/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
We have become regulars at Turtle Mountain. The beer selection is always great and great tasting beer no matter what your preference is in brewing styles. The food matches the beer, great pizzas and sandwiches. Turtle Mountain is definitely a must if you are in the Albuquerque area or live there.

AL

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AL AL, Albuquerque, NM
(02/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
On a Saturday afternoon, traffic on Rio Rancho roads leading to Turtle Mountain Brewing is horrible. Be advised. It is probably as bad or worse during rush hour. That's the bad, everything else about Turtle Mountain was Great. I had second thoughts about visiting TMB while driving through Rio Rancho, struggling with the traffic, thinking it was a small strip mall establishment with mediocre brews. Was all the bumper banging going to be worth the trip? TMB is on a short street, not well signed, causing me to drive by and miss the turn a couple of times. Parking was somewhat a problem, but was accomplished. Once inside TMB, I was impressed. It is spacious, clean and there is a big outdoor patio. Unfortunately, it is on the patio where the smokers hang out. No smoking inside. Had a couple of Ale pints and taste tests. All the Brews were excellent. Serving staff was very informal in their dress and the way they carried themselves. The server was very helpful in describing the beer/ale. Food and service was very good. Want to visit again when in Albuquerque.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MW MW, Granger, IN
(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Had a Texas Twister Brown, a Red Rye and a Golden Ale. The Twister is a VERY sggressive beer. It is very hoppy, but in the best possible way, it had a slight sweet back to balance the hops some. The Red Rye was exquisite. I recently brewed my first original homebrew recipe, and this beer is exactly what I was shooting for. The Golden Ale wnas a little too hoppy. it needed some more malt to balance it a little better. For the food, I have never eaten better. For an appetizer we got the Artichoke Spinich dip. I kept deciding that I was "done" only to find myself happly munching on another pita triangle slathered with dip. We had a Manzano and a Sandia calzone. The cheese was real, not the processed "cheese" you find in a lot of places. They were so big, we had to get to go boxes (at least I have something to look forward to tomorrow.) They also sell beer in growlers, mine came home ful of the Red Rye. I will definately be making the trip out to Turtle Mountain again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harold Harold, Albuquerque, NM
(08/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
OK beer fans, I'll update my review from last year when I visited, looked around and walked out. Visited the NEW location of the Mountain and my mouth and stomach were equally happy (or hoppy) The menu has been updated and the beer was exquisite. There are 2 IPA's on tap along with many other house offerings. Being a hop head, I throughly enjoyed the offering of "TMBC IPA" along with a Hatch Burger. Being in New Mexico, green chiles are required with any meal and this is enforced by the restaurant police. Turtle Mountain's other IPA was equally good, but I preferred the hoppier TMBC. A friendly atmosphere, good brews and knowlegeable staff gives new meaning to term Afternoon Delight!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, hackensack, NJ
(06/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
There isn't much really good microbeer in the Albuquerque area, so given that, Turtle Mountain is a rather good effort. While none of their beers are drop-dead great, there are no absolute dogs either. I give them kudos for their effort.

I visited in mid-afternoon, so I don't know about their evening ambiance or their food. But they have a nice space and good outdoor seating and they host a number of bands.

If you want to escape the Coors/Bud/Miller swill, it's worth the trip a few miles west of Albuquerque to seek Turtle Mountain out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Kane Ken Kane, Portland, OR
(05/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite in the area. Be warned, they serve BIG beers here with lots of hop and character. Incredibly friendly service. Totally worth the drive out into the 'burbs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Sacramento, CA
(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
they are moving to a new location so that might be why they only had 5 beers on tap. the ipa was awesome not overhopped it's just what type of hops you like. the food was pizza/calzone/sandwiches/salads. we got a pizza and a sandwich both were very good. would try this place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike and Dollie Motter Mike and Dollie Motter, harrah, OK
(07/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I was there on 5/24 and was very disappointed. There were 6 beers on tap and all of them were way over-hopped. They all had extreme amounts of bittering hops and no flavoring hops or malt to balance the bitterness. The best was the stout though it too had way too much bittering hop. Didn't get the chance to ask any questions. Service and food were okay. They shoud try to expand the menu from just pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, Ogden, UT
(05/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great So So
The floor is unfinished & the tables are a bit crowded together, but there is a friendly bar area with an island. Also, they have a $30/yr mug club which gives you a reduced rate on their microbrews. There are often families with small kids here, with smokers lighting up at the bar. Turtle Mountain does have a separate, glassed off area where smokers could sit, but they don't seem inclined to take the hint. The wait staff is fantastic - always helpful & quick to get you water or beer.

Reason the decor is shabby is the company is expanding into a new location - we are told they plan to expand the size of the current location into the next space, put in billiard tables & have a cigar lounge. We are also told the new restaurant will be a family friendly location.

Stay tuned for July - the opening date keeps getting pushed back. Even Stone Brewing has that problem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Potter Potter, San Diego, CA
(05/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good So So
I was not impressed by the facility. They're evidently not spending much money on the decor or flooring.

The menu was focused on pizza and I would rate them avaerage although the choices were numerous.

Service was okay but not knowledgeable.

The IPA was hoppy and overall very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shane Hollett Shane Hollett, Las Cruces, NM
(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
If you want a meal with your beer, be advised this is a pizza place and not much else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, hackensack, NJ
(03/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(02/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Turtle Mountain is the defenition of the "Brewpub". We spent the last day of our vacation with the owners and staff of this fine establishment. We had never been there before but by the way we were treated you'd think we went there everyday. We had a pizza & calzone (quality ingredients and lots of them). We had Steam,Uber Steam,C3 PA (a very drinkable IPA), and the Imperial Stout. This place gets it! They love what they do and it shows. Keep it up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Bobee Joe Bobee, Hinesburg, VT
(06/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Always has great pizzas. The Atom Bomb was fantastic, thin crust, cheesy, thick toppings to eat with a fork. Had the sampler try of brews: The Red Rye wins overall as it is one of the best reds I've ever had full of body and flavor; Ol' Brown Eyes was flat and thin (no body) lacked taste; Steam was dark, good body, seemed like an ESB; Imperial Stout had good smooth body but too sweet (chocolate); ESB was like a red/amber, smooth, flavorful, not too bitter; IPA was bitter, lightly hoppy, unfiltered taste (like a hefe?); Arsenal Porter was smooth, sweet, dark, flavorful; Whiplash Wheat was like a pale with a hint of cider (tasty); Honey Wheat was good and minorly sweet (too much for a whole pint though).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(02/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
went there yesterday and had the xxx ipa, a very good clean hoppy easy to drink ipa. really enjoy the atmosphere here, beer poster etc. cover every wall, fun place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Hughes Tom Hughes, Albuquerque, NM
(12/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great
I had the pale ale; I liked it a lot.

Was there on a Saturday night, not too late, but the kitchen had ran out of dough, so that eliminated 2/3 of the menu (pizza and calzones). I had a spinach salad, which I thought was fabulous.

Our particular server wasn't very attentive, and was overly familiar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nowatney Michael Nowatney, Owasso, OK
(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Turtle Mountain was the first brewery we found after moving here last year. In Maine you have a host of breweries to choose from. Here, I am happy Turtle Mountain is here....I don't think I would want to go to another!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sioux Sioux, Rio Rancho, NM
(10/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Awesome!
I loved their IPA. A great brewery - I plan to return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Absolutely loved the Amnesia! And the Steam was great too (made a great breakfast)! Can't wait till my next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Price Kevin Price, Lubbock, TX
(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I've been a big fan of Turtle Mtn since they opened and have never been disappointed by their beer or their "specials" selection. Their beer is always hoppy, strong, and flavorful because they don't cater to the mass market. Good for them! Get a pizza or sandwich to wash down the tasty suds, it's worth it. They just opened a tap room in the east mountains, it's going to be a "hoppin" place. Good luck!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Baron Beer Baron, Albuquerque, NM
(06/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Younger crowd, laid back, definitely a local hangout. Great beers: Red Rye and Ol' Brown Eyes were tasty. Cute logo, but they were out of most merchandise. Bummer. Worth a trip, check it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenny Kenny, Flagstaff, AZ
(05/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
It's incredible to find such a quality brewpub in unassuming Rio Rancho, NM! The Steam beer here is about the best microbrewery beer I've ever had. Food's great (though I'd love to see the menu selection increase, but what they have is great).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Glen Gilchrist, Rio Rancho, NM
(04/20/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.566 seconds) 00:13:37 54.161.191.154, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS