PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bube's Brewery - Mount Joy, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 20, 2014 @ 11:08 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Mount Joy > Bube's Brewery
Bube's Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Bube's Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 73.8 / 100
102 North Market Street
Mount Joy, PA 17552
United States
(717) 653-2056
Listed Since: December 2001
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Mount Joy, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bube's Brewery
46 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Shank's Tavern
(4 miles)

2) McCleary's Public House
(4 miles)

3) Bully's Restaurant and Pub
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) B F Hiestand House
2) Green Acres Farm B & B
3) Hillside Farm Bed & Breakfast
4) Lavender Patch
5) Noble House Bed & Breakfast
6) Old Square Inn
7) Railroad House Restaurant
8) River Inn Bed & Breakfast
9) Rocky Acre Farms
10) Victorian Rose
11) Vogt Farm Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) OLDE SQUARE INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ashley and Bailey Silk Mill
2) Brown's, George, Sons Cotton and Woolen Mill
3) Bucher, Joseph, House
4) Byers--Muma House
5) Central Hotel
6) Donegal Mills Plantation
7) Forry's Mill Covered Bridge
8) Linden House
9) Nissly Swiss Chocolate Company
10) Risser's Mill Covered Bridge
11) Seigrist's Mill Covered Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Acorn Farms Reception & Ctr
2) Alois's At Bube's Brewery
3) Beanies Bar & Grill
4) Bottling Works At Bube's
5) Bramar Italian Ice
6) Bube's Brewery
7) Burger King
8) Carlos & Charlies
9) Clearview Diner & Restaurant
10) Country Table Restaurant
11) Den's Pizza House
12) Gathering Place
13) Gimmies Sport Bar
14) Grandma's Family Restaurant
15) Groff's Farm Restaurant & Golf
16) Hennigan's Restaurant
17) Keystone Restaurant
18) Kwh
19) Little Inn
20) Mosby's Pub
21) Mount Joy Family Restaurant
22) Panda House Chinese Restaurant
23) Papa's Pizza
24) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
25) Today's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
26) Twin Kiss Drive-In
27) Two Cousins Pizza
28) Watering Trough
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
stopped in for a beer & lunch was very impressed with the whole place. Would tell anyone it would be worth a try.History of the brewery is really interesting will be going back for more!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brady Brosious Brady Brosious, Selinsgrove, PA
(06/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The Catacombs is not for persons who are unsteady on their feet- very uneven surface and stairs are hard to navigate. Neat old brewery artifacts, though. Hotel section- Walked in and it smelled of old fryer grease. Not pleasant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York Haven, PA
(03/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Have been twice and would have recommended after the first time but not now. We were told 20 mins wait for the brew pub it took 50 mins, the host for both areas were so confused for some reason. We were seated but waited another 20 mins before a waitress came by with attitude to take our order. The order was wrong for half of us and the food was cooked wrong for the other half. Never knew a signature burger could taste so bad, sad because I had this same thing the month before there to great delight. She came back after we had all finished, I asked for the bill, she came back again 15 mins later. We payed and started to head out but were stopped at the door for not paying 18% tip for parties of 6 or more. We had six but only 4 ate as 2 were feed up with the place before we ordered. Just so you know tipping is always optional, the law does not require you to pay it. I am a big tipper normally and we left 15%, much more than was earned. The manger threatened to call the cops we tried to talk to him but he did not seam to care as he repeated that it was their policy. Some one dished out the extra 2 dollars and left. Something has to of happened there for it to have gotten so bad so fast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, laurel, MD
(10/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Lousy So So
Things have really changed for the worse at Bube's. This used to be a great place to eat. They have increased the prices substantially on most of their entrees, the portions have gotten relatively smaller, and the quality has gone way down. Don't get me wrong, the food still tastes good, but the portions and quality don't justify the high prices. For example, we ordered the cheddar cheese puffs, (a Bubes favorite - $5.95) as an appetizer, and got 5 slightly larger than marble size puffs. We complained and they gave us 2 more. What a joke. I am of course only speaking about the Bottling Works. I don't know about Alois' or The Catacombs. Its been a while since we've eaten at either, and I'm sure we won't be going anytime soon. Also, if you plan on eating outside in the Biergarten, make sure you bring bug spray. Two of us had ticks crawling on us while we were there. Hopefully the management at Bubes will wake up - I miss the old Bubes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mount Joy, PA
(07/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Bube's also includes a Biergarten with an outdoor bar and pool table, 3 different restaurants are on the premises, 2 bars, a hotel, and a museum, all in an origial, intact 19th century brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam Allen Sam Allen, Marietta, Pa
(04/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Awesome!
What an awesome place! There was a Murder Mystery going on while we were eating in the area bar, they gave a tour of the place with a little Ghostly history. There were 3 dining areas as well as a "Beer Garden" that I heard gets packed in the summer.

Saw the new brewers brewing that day too! Very cool!

I had the Grilled Chicken Salad and it was delicious! My friend had "The Ultimate Grilled Cheese" (grilled cheese with crab meat!) YUM!

My favorite beer was called "Top Secret"- Not quite sure what style it was as that's the "Top Secret" part! All I know was that it was good. They had a Dunkle and a Red on too. Looks like there might be a Koelsch coming up and a Robust Porter.

I will be back since it's not real far for me!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lori Lori, Wrightsville, PA
(02/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!
Just wrote a long review but the website ate it!

In short - we had a great experience here. The venue must be seen. Great to see an example of America's vibrant brewing past. Our food was good, service was great, and the beer was tasty. Only three beers brewed on premises were available, bolstered by a decent list of other brews.

It definitely has a dark and slightly grungy feel. Not for those looking for a well-lit McBrewpub experience. We'll definitely be coming back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ian Ian, Alexandria, VA
(12/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
We decided to head out to Hershey Park for the afternoon. On the way we decided to stop at Bube's for lunch. When we arrived at 1130am I was sure the place was closed but we parked right in front of the door and we tried the door... it was open. This is the first time in around twenty years that I have walked into Bube's. I had come here quite a few times back when I was working at the PA Renn Faire.

So we were sat in the bar area where four people were quietly drinking beer and smoking. The smoke was pretty heavy so we asked to move. The waitress was VERY nice and seated us back by the old stage. It was less smoky but you could still smell it.

I asked what they had on tap and the waitress was telling us... then I asked what they had on tap that was brewed there. She said they only had the Red Ale. So I ordered a pint. It was pretty good. But I am pretty sure it came out of a nitro tap. No biggie. As far as food: I ordered the Punicchi Sandwich, Lisa the Ultimate Grilled Cheese, Anna the Bacon Cheese Burger and Zoe had the chicken fingers. We were all pretty happy with the food.

My ratings are lower then I could have given for the following reasons... I think Bube's is probably a much better place for dinner then it is for lunch... The Cooper Shed (aka Gift Shop) was not open... an most importantly... they only had one of their beers on tap... isn’t this place a brewpub??? Sort of???

The service, however, was great... and the memories from twenty years ago were even better. I know that the next time we head to Bube's it will be after 500pm. When they are serving dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(11/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Lousy So So
It was a perfect summer evening so we opted for the patio. It looks great especially for Lancaster Co. Big mistake. FLIES!!!!!!!!!! We spent the entire time shooing away flies from our drinks & food but they were all over our table and us anyway. Thirteen beers on tap. We ordered a black & tan. Out of Guinness. Got a Magic Hat, very weak. Got a Smithwick, very good. Asked for an order of Calamari, got an order of fried clams without a sauce, no less. Finally got the Calamari, about a 3 out of 10 with a pizza sauce aka marinara. Ordered a steak salad. The steak was fresh and plentiful. Grilled? Too anemic in appearance but it tasted fine. The salad made Wendy's or Subway's look gourmet. Just about the most pathetic I've ever had. All iceburg and sliced tomotoes. The girl serving looked cute in her short/shorts but otherwise, not good. I could probably have tolerated much of this if it weren't for those flies!! A beautiful evening spoiled...........

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lancaster, PA
(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is a rather amazing place. We took the tour through the hisoric brewery building - catacombs, upstairs, etc. We ate in the Bottling Works section of the place. A lot of folks that evening were in the adjacent Biergarten. I was disappointed that there were only two house beers available at the time of our visit – kolsch and hefeweizen. Both were fairly good – the hefe was the cloudiest of this style that I have ever seen. The server says they go through a batch of the hefe about twice as fast as their other beer styles. I finished up with a Troegs Troegenator, one of several decent guest taps. We had a couple of pretty good sandwiches – mine was the Reuben. Stepping back into a fascinating example of American brewing history is the primary reason to visit Bube’s, but the beer and food should not leave you overly disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A N/A
The American Pale Ale was undrinkable. The nut brown ale was marginally drinkable. Not a fun place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
Only 4 of their own selections available on this visit. I tried the Red Ale and the Steam Beer. Both were very good; as was the French Onion soup.

An aside to Mellisa and Nate - if you are going to have an affair, don't sit at the bar and discuss it with others sitting in close proximity

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Found these notes from a little while back: 5 beers on tap when I visited shortly after the opening bell. Hefe--OK, not as intense banana/clove as many; Kolsch--malt pretty prevalent, nothing special. The Red and the Steam beers had a really foul nose (probably unclean lines), not very appetizing. Irish Stout best this trip, pretty mild and drinkable. If you've never been here, this might give you an example of the vibe; signs were posted recruiting female roller derby participants throughout the bar. (Not that there's anything wrong with that)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer was great and true to style, My bar maid was no only beatiful and friendly, but very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the brews. I enjoyed all three flavors that I tried. I just wish they had more styles to choose from. The historic building nad atmosphere is reason enough to visit even if you don't drink beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Dunbar, PA
(01/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
This a great establishment, with something for everybody. From pirate feast in the catacombs, to pub fare and victorian dining, I have never been disapointed. Make sure to take the tour and check out the homebrew store upstairs. Can't complain about the uniforms, either :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lancaster, PA
(12/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
(+)Such a beautiful building with great history. The "Feasts" they have in the catacombs can be very entertaining, and the creepy-cool victorian bar upstairs is great for a manhattan. But, this site is about beer and food, right? Their beers are average to good, but they do offer national brands as well.

(-) My biggest complaint is the service. The waitstaff, bartenders, and cooks all seem like a bunch of hippies. I like hippies to hang out with, drink with, etc. But, when I'm out to dinner I'm expecting my waitstaff to be a bit more motivated. Everyone there is set on "SLOW" and "We'll get to it when we can, man" speed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Evil Pete Evil, lancaster, PA
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Just stopped in and tried their maibock. Different type of set up but would return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james Horton james Horton, cambridge spirngs, PA
(06/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Just a few comments about the Bottling Works: I can’t right a review on the food because it never came, apparently when it rains their computer systems go down and they don’t know how to use the yellow slips in the kitchen behind the waitress’s order tags. So food comes out at a slug crawl or nothing at all.

We had a 7pm reservation, with 10 people, and a waitress that had just started the day before. Three people at the table just wanted a Pepsi for a drink. Apparently the Pepsi boys dropped off root beer instead of Pepsi, big deal at least offer another type of soda for a choice instead of nothing at all.

The menus need updated as well, because some of there appetizers are no longer offered, but are still shown on the menu. Go order chips and salsa and wait for 45min till they come back and tell you that is no longer on the menu.

It was finally 7:50pm, the waitress came back and took our food order. Finally about 1 hr and 15 minutes into it, we asked to talk to a manager. He came out quite defensive about us being disappointed, saying the Soda thing wasn’t their fault. By that time it wasn’t about the Pepsi, any drink would have done for a drink by then. I could have driven down the street to Burger King, and came back with a drink before they told up something was wrong. Just to get the first beer out to 4 of the people took 20mins.

By 8:20pm, we manager came back, and we came to an agreement with him that we were just going to leave because, even at that time they just had put our food order in the kitchen. I know I will not be going back, or any other person that was at our table. The whole experience left a very bad taste in our mouths like warm skunked beer. I will not be recommending this place ever again, unless you have a lot of time to waste on a rainy night and you eat and drink before you go there. By the time your food settles in your stomach and you start to get hungry again, you might get your appetizer by then.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lancaster, PA
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Love the catacombs! Food was exceptional. Another museum type place and lotsa fun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brian harto brian harto, milltown, NJ
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
We were here twice over a snowy weekend when not too many people were around. We did not try all of Bube's beers, but the ones we tried were very good. The IPA was truly excellent, with wonderful, well-balanced hop character. The trippel, dunkelweizen and the stout were all true to style and very good.

I don't buy the argument that a brewpub has to serve every beer style to be great. Each pub only has a limited facility and can only offer so many beers at a time. The fact that they had 5 Bube's beers and many other brands on tap makes this place exceptional.

Food and service in the pub area (called The Bottling Works) were very good as well. There are three restaurants connected to Bube's in the same building, and you can get anything from basic bar snacks to multi-course dinners. We liked it a lot.

By the way, if you go here with a wine drinker, tell them to skip the Shiraz.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Laurel, MD
(03/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Stopped in a week ago to see what was happening and tried all five. They were all pretty decent with the stout and ipa leading the way. I didn't have any problem with service. Looking forward to gettin back for a more extended session.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(01/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy
Customers were great to chat with and bartender was adequate but the waitress' service was horrible (why I moved to the bar and gave-up on trying the food) If she spent 1/10 her time doing her job as flirting things would not have been so bad Their own beer was so-so at best so I went with a national brand Ambiance was nice but considering the total lack of service from the waitress after our long drive to check this place out... I'm never going back to that place again! Don't waste your time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jose Jose, Reading, PA
(03/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just a couple of comments on the last review: 1) Who cares if the beers are named, it's quality that matters. 2)Did you ever think to go up to the bar and complain to the waitress or manager that you needed service? 3)Free refills are NOT the norm at most non-chain restaurants. You should have been happy that you got one freebee. 4)The wait staff makes UNDER minimum wage. Instead of paying higher prices at the restaurant, it is expected and necessary in this day and age that a tip be given to a server to bring their salary to an acceptable level. 12-15% should be given for sub-par to ok service and 20-25% for good to great service. Maybe it was the customer here that abyssmal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Lousy So So
I'm gonna leave it short, because otherwise I'd go on and on for an hour. Beer: Tasted Ok, but they dont even name their beer. Thats just wrong if you ask me... if you're going to advertize as a brewpub, if you're going to go to the trouble to make beer, at least give it the respect it deserves and name it. Their beer menu consisted of "Belgian Strong, Red Ale, IPA, and Kolsch"

Service: Abyssmal. We waited 25 minutes for a refill (each time) while the waitress stood at the bar flirting with the bartender and the customers. And you'd think she could have gotten our order right, given all the free time she had. Nope.

Resturant honesty: After we got our bill and saw we were charged for 8 iced teas for the 4 of us, we asked why. You get ONE free refill, then you have to buy your iced tea again. Whats funny is the iced tea is served in 8oz glasses for $1.42. So, in essence you pay $1.42 for each 16oz iced tea you drink (1 8oz + the free refill)... thats the same size and price as every other resturant out there that gives free refills. Might not be so bad if this were stated on the menu, but its not, and nowadays, free refills, especially on iced tea, is the norm.

Service again: We didnt tip our waitress, as the service was less than abyssmal. After we got outside, another waitress came out after us, and stopped us and quite rudely asked us why we did not tip our waitress. I am sorry, a tip is a GRATUITY, a THANK YOU for good service, and NO ONE is ENTITLED to that tip. Apparently, she felt she could treat us like an afterthought who bothered her to have to wait on us, and then demand a thank you for all her hard work.

We will NEVER be going back to this poor excuse for a resturant/brewpub, ever.

If you do go, make sure you tip... otherwise the other wait staff will follow you outside to ask you why you had the nerve to NOT tip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Benckert Ed Benckert, Belcamp, MD
(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Been to this establishment many times, and each time has been a delight -- got a chance to try the Oatmeal Stout-- very good without being too overpowering..and their Santa's Helper was nice and strong with a hint of spice...

It may be dark and a bit "spooky" at times, but the good food, service and beer make it one of my favorite haunts....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tara Tara, Harrisburg, PA
(02/09/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.123 seconds) 23:08:46 54.91.120.148, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS