PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ram Restaurant and Brewery - Wheeling, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 03:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > Wheeling > Ram Restaurant and Brewery
Ram Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Ram Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 70.7 / 100
700 North Milwaukee Avenue
Wheeling, IL 60090
United States
(847) 520-1222
Listed Since: December 2001
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wheeling, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Gators
(0 mile)

2) Flatlander's Brewing Company
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN & SUITES GLENVIEW
2) BEST WESTERN PALWAUKEE INN
3) COUNTRY INN & SUITES DEERFIELD
4) COURTYARD LINCOLNSHIRE
5) DOUBLETREE GUEST SUITES
6) EMBASSY SUITES NORTH SHORE
7) EXEL INN OF PROSPECT HEIGHTS
8) EXTENDEDSTAY BUFFALO GROVE
9) FAIRFIELD INN CHICAGO GLENVIEW
10) GLENVIEW COURTYARD
11) HAWTHORN SUITES LINCOLNSHIRE
12) HILTON NORTHBROOK
13) HYATT DEERFIELD
14) LINCOLNSHIRE RESORT MARRIOTT
15) OAKWOOD BUFFALO GROVE
16) RADISSON HOTEL NORTHBROOK
17) RAMADA INN MOUNT PROSPECT
18) SPRINGHILL SUITES LINCOLNSHIRE
19) TWELVE OAKS AT NORTHBROOK
20) WINGATE INN PROSPECT HEIGHTS
21) WOODFIELD SUITES NORTHSHORE
22) WYNDHAM GARDEN BUFFALO GROVE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Banta, Nathaniel Moore, House
2) Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway Passenger Depot
3) Muller House
4) Wheeler--Magnus Round Barn
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 94th Aero Squadron Restaurant
2) Arby's
3) Arcadia Deli
4) Bar Louie
5) Baskin-Robbins
6) Bellacino's Pizza Grinders
7) Benihana
8) Bob Chinn's Crabhouse
9) Boca Delrio
10) Buca Di Beppo
11) Buona Sera Ristorante
12) Burger King
13) Carm's Pizza
14) Chen's Wok
15) Chevy Chase Country Club
16) Chicago Bagel & Bialy Deli
17) Compass Rose
18) Crawdaddy Bayou
19) Cy's Crab House North
20) Dam Inn
21) Deli 4 You
22) Desert Rose Cafe
23) Dog Den
24) Don Roth's Restaurant
25) Edwardo's Natural Pizza
26) El Pastor
27) European Spot Restaurant Inc
28) Famous Restaurant & Deli
29) Fast Food Distributors
30) Fastbreak Beverages
31) Fish One
32) Golden Chef
33) Golden Chop Sticks
34) Hackney's In Wheeling
35) Hangar 21 Restaurant and Bar
36) Hong Kong Chop Suey
37) Il Burrito Lozo
38) J K Gyros
39) Joe's Pizzeria
40) Kilcoyne Redwood Inn
41) Le Francais Restaurant Inc
42) Lionfish Zushi
43) Market Square Restaurant
44) Mc Donald's
45) Mc Donald's
46) Mr E's Fast Food
47) New Canton Chop Suey
48) Original Granny's Inc
49) Pico De Gallo Restaurant
50) Pita Inn
51) Sing Kee Carry-Out
52) Skippers Restaurant
53) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
54) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
55) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
56) Sushi Joon
57) Tong's Hunan Restaurant
58) Tuscany
59) Wa-Pa-Ghettis Pizza
60) Wah Feng
61) Weber Grill Restaurant
62) White Hen Pantry
63) Yau's Chow Chinese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
So I came to The Ram in Wheeling. I have had the best service that I have had at restaurant & brewpub in a long time. The selection of beers has also made up my mind. They have a selection of at least 10 different micro brews that they offer at all times. They are also offering $3 pints at ALL TIMES! This is unbelievable to me! The food menu is all over, offering everything for my family. Not only is it family friendly, but a sports bar also that has everything that I'm looking for my family and a night with my friends. Atmosphere and options are perfect. I can't picture a better place & value for anyone!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greg, Chicago, IL
(08/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I'd been to the Ram in Schaumburg a few times, and hadn't been that impressed. I stopped in here (Wheeling) in mid-December, and tried the seasonal Frosty's Delight Baltic Porter. A step or two up from their regular Total Disorder Porter, thicker and more balanced. Maybe a hint of licorice or molasses? Nice. I came back at the end of December, and had another Frosty's, then tried another seasonal, their Icebreaker Java Stout. Wow! The coffee flavor is definitely not a Folgers, more like something approaching espresso, but it doesn't overwhelm. Great balance. Brett the bartender was very knowledgeable about their locations and beers, and offered information regarding some of their upcoming specials and other promotional stuff. Good guy. These things are making me take Ram more seriously. Schaumburg was a place we could go because my wife enjoys their "Buttface" amber ale, and I'd have a Total Disorder. They're improving. Today at Wheeling, they had four seasonals on tap, which made a total of 11 beers/ales brewed on site. Every time I go now, I have an empty growler or two to be filled. The seasonals in Wheeling and the seasonals in Schaumburg are not the same. The brewer at each location determines his offerings outside the standard selections. Wheeling seems to be geared a little more toward the serious beer geek, and Schaumburg seems geared toward the crowd leaving the mall and stopping for a bite and something to wash it down with. Wheeling is about a half-hour out of my way, but I'm making it a fairly regular stop, even with the Schaumburg location about ten minutes from my house.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Bruce, Palatine, IL
(02/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy So So
This is actually a review for the Rosemont location, which is not listed on pubcrawler. Service was asleep, which was surprising for Monday Nite Football. When I walked in I knew I was entering another corporate microbrew house. When I saw the beer menu, I realized it was just another CB Potts/Big Horn. Had a Butt Head Red (once it finally arrived). Seemed a little more bitter than I remembered from other locations, but still OK. Bar area seemed a little dirty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Parker, CO
(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
A strange building for a brew-pub. Looks like a police HQ. More of a sports bar focus, inside. We always try all the beers and these were all good. Did not eat here. If you are going north, turn left before the bar and come in from the back. If you are leaving north, you must go out the back and take the side road and go to the left. LOTS of TV's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good Good
Am not a beer drinker, so can only rate the restaurant. For all of you who complained about the food...try the meatload. Absolutely the BEST you will ever have.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mt.Prospect, IL
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The atmosphere here was more sports bar than brewpub. Beer was good but not outstanding. While not an unpleasant experience I would rather patronize one of the other brewpubs in the area than this chain restaurant. Nice place to watch football on a Sunday afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from missi missi, bradley, IL
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy Lousy
Beer is Ok but the service sucks. Never again. When your in Chicago there is no reason to go to Ram. Too many other fine establishments.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Des Plaines, IL
(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Haven't been there in a year. Pretty good turn around from my last review. Try the Red IPA. Good choice of hops, smooth finish. The food is good. They are currently featuring Copper River Salmon. Excellent fish, my wife enjoyed it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Brandenburg Bob Brandenburg, Buffalo Grove, IL
(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Salem, WI
(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
Gigantic Disney-like venue in the grand American tradition of oversizing everything. Quality comes last. I think this is the "regular guy's" place he referred to on April 1st circa 1990 on WXRT called "Here Eat This". It's now called "Here Eat This and Drink This While Your at it". I had a "Russian Imperial Stout". The only good thing about it was the higher alcohol content. I was constantly licking the crud from my mouth while drinking it. The "IPA" was a joke. That's as far as I dared to go. Had an incorrectly cooked pile of meat called a burger. Do these people live their whole sheltered lives in this area? Oh well. Some one else will do the dirty work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from South Side Sully South Side Sully, chicago, IL
(12/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
GOOD BEER AND VERY NICE SPORTS BAR SCENE. WISH THE WOULD GET THE INTERACTIVE GAMING IN THIS LOCATION

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BRIAN BRIAN, DEERFIELD, IL
(04/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Beer was ok, nothing spectacular. Food was good but somewhat pricey. This place is located in an area called restaurant row in Wheeling. Several better places around so only try it if you really want beer and not food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Brandenburg Bob Brandenburg, Buffalo Grove, IL
(04/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
I wasn't expecting great things from a chain, and I wasn't disappointed. The beer selection at the time was ok, slanted towards the meet market crowd (variations on a Bud-light theme), but the IPA was good. The food was much better than I expected, and worth a second trip. The bar was packed w/ Friday night suburban yuppies when we arrived and finding a place to stand while waiting and drinking was difficult.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john zillmer john zillmer, mundelein, IL
(01/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
The IPA and Amber are the best beers offered. Large bar with big screens for sporting events.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kett Carr Kett Carr, grayslake, IL
(01/04/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.283 seconds) 03:49:41 54.204.215.209, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS