PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Papa Jake's Saloon - Buffalo, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 04:32 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Buffalo > Papa Jake's Saloon
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Papa Jake's Saloon
1672 Elmwood Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14207
United States
(716) 874-3878
Listed Since: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Buffalo, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
5 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Flying Bison Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Cole's Restaurant and Bar
(0 mile)

3) Sterling Place Tavern
(2 miles)

4) Buffalo Tap Room and Grill
(3 miles)

5) Pearl Street Grill and Brewery
(5 miles)

6) Colter Bay
(5 miles)

7) Prespa
(5 miles)

8) McCarthy's Irish Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arlington Park Inn
2) Beau Fleuve Bed & Breakfast
3) Richmond Place
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAMS MARK BUFFALO
2) BEST WESTERN INN ON THE AVENUE
3) COMFORT INN FORT ERIE
4) HAMPTON INN AND SUITES
5) MICROTEL INN
6) SUPER8 KENMOR BUFFAL NIAGAR FL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 33--61 Emerson Place Row
2) Albright-Knox Art Gallery
3) Berkeley Apartments
4) Blessed Trinity Roman Catholic Church Buildings
5) Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
6) Buffalo City Hall
7) Buffalo Gas Light Company Works
8) Buffalo Main LIght
9) Buffalo North Breakwater South End Light
10) Connecticut Street Armory
11) County and City Hall
12) Dorsheimer, William, House
13) Durham Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church
14) Eberhardt Mansion
15) Hellenic Orthodox Church of the Annunciation
16) How, James and Fanny, House
17) Johnston, Edwin M. and Emily S., House
18) Kelly, Col. William, House
19) Kibler High School
20) Kleinhans Music Hall
21) Lafayette High School
22) Laurel and Michigan Avenues Row
23) Macedonia Baptist Church
24) Martin, D. D., House Complex
25) Martin, Darwin D., House
26) NASH (harbor tug)
27) Prudential Building
28) Riviera Theatre
29) Roosevelt, Theodore, Inaugural National Historic Site
30) Shea's Buffalo Theater
31) St. Andrew's Evangelical Lutheran Church Complex
32) St. Paul's Cathedral
33) St. Paul's Episcopal Cathedral
34) Stone Farmhouse
35) Trico Plant No. 1
36) U.S. Post Office
37) US Post Office--Tonawanda
38) Wile, M., and Company Factory Building
39) Woodlawn Avenue Row
40) Young Men's Christian Association Central Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amelia Family Restaurant Inc
2) Amici Ristorante & Cafe
3) Anderson's Frozen Custard
4) Angie's Pizza House
5) Anthony Michael's Cosmopolitan
6) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
7) Ashley's Bar & Restaurant
8) B S Baileys
9) Bella Pizza
10) Bella Roma Pizzeria
11) Benny's Pizza Co
12) Black Rock Saloon
13) Bob's Branch Office
14) Bottom Line
15) Buffalo Wild Wings
16) Burger King
17) Calogero's Pizza
18) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
19) Casey's Dock
20) Casey's Tavern
21) China Apple
22) China One
23) City Limits
24) Clark's Frontier Grill
25) Coconut Grove
26) Cole's Restaurant
27) Condrell's Candies & Ice Cream
28) Cones N Cakery Inc
29) D J's Pizzeria
30) Dairy Queen
31) Dalmatia Hotel
32) Domino's Pizza
33) Don Pablo's Mexican Kitchen
34) Eddie's Spaghetti House
35) Edritos Fresh-Mex Grande
36) Embassy Family Restaurant
37) Erick's Place
38) Far East Chinese Take Out
39) Faso's Restaurant
40) Fletcher's Grill
41) Fortunato's
42) Franco's Pizza
43) Gourmet Sausage Co
44) Gramma Mora's Catering
45) Greg E Devlin Inc
46) Hamilton Restaurant
47) Harry's Harbour Place Grille
48) Hi-Tone Restaurant & Lounge
49) Hong Kong Kitchen
50) India Gate
51) J P Bullfeathers Wine Cellar
52) Jinlan Chinese Restaurant
53) Jovi's Italian Grille & Bistro
54) Joyce's Kitchen
55) Just Pizza Franchise Syst Inc
56) Karen's Restaurant
57) Kate's Bar & Restaurant
58) Kelly's Tavern On The Green
59) Kenmore Lanes
60) Kenmore Village Restaurant
61) Kfc
62) KLUB Karaoke
63) Kronie's Bar & Grill
64) LA Cantina Pizzeria
65) LA Pizzeria
66) Larry & Kelly's East Inn
67) Legends Pizzeria
68) Leo Enterprises Inc
69) Lier's Delicatessen
70) Ling Ling Chinese Restaurant
71) Louie's Foot Long Hot Dogs
72) Malone's Bar & Grill
73) Manzella's Restaurant
74) Marcos Italian Deli
75) Marotto's Restaurant
76) Matt's Baja Grill
77) Mattina's Pizzeria
78) Mattina's Pizzeria
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Donald's
82) Mc Donald's
83) Mc Donald's
84) Meister's Restaurant
85) Mighty Taco
86) Mike's Pizzeria
87) Mike's Subs-Kenmore's Original
88) Mil & Bert's
89) Millie & Dave Tavern
90) Mixer's Inc
91) Morgan's Restaurant
92) Mr Denny's Restaurant & Lounge
93) New Star Buffet
94) Nick's Place
95) No Place Tavern
96) Nortel Restaurant
97) Number 1 Kitchen
98) Our Bar Inc
99) Pad Thai Cafe
100) Panda
101) Pano's Restaurant
102) Papa Jake's Saloon
103) Park Place Restaurant & Tavern
104) Parkvue Pizza & Subs
105) Pat's Pizzeria
106) Pelligrino's Bar & Grill
107) Pizza Bella
108) Pizza Palace
109) Pizza Pizza
110) Pizza Zone
111) Plaka Restaurant
112) Plant 6
113) Plate Oh Restaurant
114) Plate-O
115) Pokey Joe's Club Bar
116) Pokey Joe's Inc
117) Premier Gourmet
118) Prime Time Pizza & Submarine
119) Quick Check Food Mart
120) Quiznos Sub
121) Rascals
122) Regal Chinese Restaurant
123) Ricotta's Pizza
124) Riverview Restaurant
125) Road House
126) Roasted Pepper
127) Royal Pheasant
128) Sahara Restaurant
129) Saigon Cafe
130) Saratoga Restaurant
131) Schultz's Tavern
132) Scooge's
133) Sensations II Saloon
134) Sharon's Apple Dumpling Diner
135) Sit & Chat Cafe
136) Sportsman's Tavern
137) St James Place
138) Stanley's Restaurant
139) Star Of India
140) Steel Drums
141) Steffie's Food Mart
142) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
143) Sully's
144) Suzy Q's Barbq Shack
145) Suzy Q's Barbque
146) T C Jr's
147) Tony's Pizzeria
148) Townline Inn
149) Tsunami
150) Vince's Pizza Plus
151) Vizzi's
152) Ziggy's Taco & Sub
153) Zip's Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Service was Horid. Had to go to bar for our own drinks. Waited for Onion Soup for 40 minutes and all I got was a bowl of raw onions, no juice, garlic bread strips on top of bowl with cheese. Aweful....complained to waitress after having to get own drinks, she said the place was packed today and no-one complained. I would like to see her tips.....waited way too long for food and waitress was miserable...will not go back!!!!Mgmt. better take another looke at how business is run and emplpoyees hired !!!!! First time ever, i left NO tip

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Francine Francine, bUFFALO, NY
(10/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
Was a regular.... with 4-5 others every other Friday generally. The service and food quality started to get poor so we stopped going. Haven't been there in a few years, but heard Jakes has a new owner. So we thought we would give it another shot! Wow! Things got worse!

I mean Wow!

Read on!

This is a restaurant....... food service ...... there are some basics. Like.... Good management, food to serve, enough help, enough knives and forks, enough glasses and the help/management should not be nibbling and eating off of the food plated and waiting to be served. Especially when the customers can sit at the table at the entrance of the kitchen (no door) and watch this going on. It would also be nice if the help had enough manners to not pick at the customers food waiting to be served with knives that were just in their mouth!

Two people at our table witnessed that happen last evening. 8-27-10. We confronted the help/manager who we just watched do that and he flatly denied it. 2 people at our table in perfect view within 10'! It must happen so often he does not even realize he is doing this OR that it is wrong! Neither is acceptable.

We were asked to leave. Thank you actually!

So Let's review........

No food! ......poor service!........no help!.........no glasses or flatware!...... and a manager/(owner?) who would rather pick at the customers food with dirty utensils than pitch in and help wash to get what limited equipment out to the customers!

Get me out of there!

Leaving was the best thing that could have happened.

This is Buffalo there are LOTS of great restaurants for Friday Fishfrys

We are good for at least $3000. per year (Min $60x50) just for Friday Fishfrys. Not another nickel here!

Count on it!

You may think you had a great meal there...but were you actually watching? We were and it was disgusting! What are we not seeing in there?

Want to guess what happened to the food we ordered and never got??

Yeah......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TR TR, Buffalo, NY
(08/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Wouldn't know to go if it weren't for the mailman who is a retired minor league umpire. Amazing hand cut fries, get 'em loaded. The firehouse across the street boasts "built in 1903" and the firehouse chilli is firehouse hot: the best I ever had. Thank goodness we could chase it with a the ice cold beer. Be sure to check out the mural: we were thinking Edith Bunker might be looking here for Archie, and voila! We topped off lunch with a steak sandwich that was broiled to perfection, served in a unique style that was melt in your mouth great! The only reason the service is rated great rather than awesome is that the keep was kept busy, but all was worth waiting for. Thank you, Papa Jake's, for a great afternoon at the saloon watching the NCAA's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vicki and Steve Hertz Vicki and Steve Hertz, Spokane, WA
(03/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
We were up in Buffalo for a wedding and went to this place on Pubcrawlers advice. The food was amazing. A tuna steak sandwich with steak part as big as my hand, and a fresh salad wiht homemade mushroom vinegrette. The taps were in full Octoberfest glory...Flying Bison Octoberfest and Oatmeal Stout, Spaten Munich and another german Hefeveisen. Some other import taps, sprinkled with Red Hook and other imports. Definitely would go back you again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Baltimore, MD
(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Jake's is not strictly a beer bar, though it sports an excellent selection of taps and a decent array of bottles. But you'd short yourself if you didn't hog into some of their delicious food, like the grilled meatloaf on french bread, a slab of robust meatloaf the size of a Steven King paperback with fried onions and melted probolone, or the justly celebrated fresh-cut fries, or the snappy, tangy barbecue wings. Great, friendly place, one of Buffalo's best taverns. Go. Now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(01/27/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.19 seconds) 04:32:11 23.20.149.27, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS