PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Jack Quinn's - Norfolk, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 07:06 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Norfolk > Jack Quinn's
Jack Quinn's Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Jack Quinn's
Overall: Great    Score: 70.9 / 100
241 Granby Street
Norfolk, VA 23510
United States
(757) 623-2233
Listed Since: February 2002
Last Updated: May 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Norfolk, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 10:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Mo and O'Malley's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

2) Taphouse at Ghent
(1 mile)

3) New Belmont
(1 mile)

4) Colley Cantina
(1 mile)

5) The Birch Bar
(2 miles)

6) Trolley Club
(2 miles)

7) Bier Garden
(2 miles)

8) Alt Platz Brewing Company
(2 miles)

9) Gosport Tavern
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Page House Inn
2) Glen Coe Inn
3) Olde Towne Bed & Breakfast Inn
4) Patriot Inn B & B
5) Port Norfolk Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE INN AND SUITES CHESA
2) CLARION HOTEL JAMES MADISON
3) COMFORT INN OLDE TOWN
4) COMFORT SUITES CHESAPEAKE
5) COURTYARD NORFOLK DOWNTOWN
6) DAYS INN NORFOLK N PORTSMOUTH
7) ECONO LODGE AIRPORT
8) HAMPTON INN CHESAPEAKE
9) HAWTHORN AT GOVERNOR DINWIDDI
10) HGI CHESAPEAKE GREENBRIER
11) NORFOLK MARRIOTT WATERSIDE
12) RADISSON HOTEL NORFOLK
13) RED ROOF CHESAPEAKE
14) SHERATON NORFOLK WATERSIDE HTL
15) TAZEWELL HOTEL & SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allmand-Archer House
2) Attucks Theatre
3) Boush-Tazewell House
4) Christ and St. Luke's Church
5) Commodore Theatre
6) Confederate Monument
7) Drydock No. 1
8) Epworth United Methodist Church
9) First Baptist Church
10) First Calvary Baptist Church
11) Fort Norfolk
12) Freemason Street Baptist Church
13) HUNTINGTON (Tugboat)
14) James Blair Junior High School
15) Kenmure
16) Lafayette Grammar and High School
17) LIGHTSHIP No. 101, PORTSMOUTH
18) Monticello Arcade
19) Myers, Moses, House
20) Norfolk Academy
21) Norfolk City Hall
22) Old Norfolk City Hall
23) Old Portlock School #5
24) Portsmouth Courthouse
25) Pythian Castle
26) Quarters A, B, and C, Norfolk Naval Shipyard
27) Seaboard Coastline Building
28) Shea Terrace Elementary School
29) St. John's African Methodist Episcopal Church
30) St. Mary's Church
31) St. Paul's Catholic Church
32) St. Paul's Church
33) Taylor-Whittle House
34) Trinity Episcopal Church
35) U.S. Customhouse
36) US Post Office and Courthouse
37) Virginia Bank and Trust Building
38) Wells Theatre
39) West, John T., School
40) Willoughby-Baylor House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 219 Restaurant
2) 21st Street Deli
3) 456 Fish
4) A J Gators Sports Bar & Grill
5) A2Z Cafe
6) Alice May's Soul Food
7) Alice's
8) Amalfi Ristorante
9) Amory's Wharf
10) Anthony's Restaurant
11) Aramark Monarch Catering Svc
12) Aunt Dorian's Country Kitchen
13) Azar's Market & Cafe
14) B J's Snack Shop
15) Baker's Crust Bread Market
16) Balaban's Gourmet Barbecue
17) Bamboo Hut
18) Bangkok Garden House Of Thai
19) Bar Norfolk
20) Bardo Edibles Plus Elixirs
21) Baron's Pub & Restaurant
22) Basil Italian Seafd Ristorante
23) Bella Pizzeria
24) Ben & Jerry's
25) Betty's Den
26) Bienville Grill
27) Bier Garden Inc
28) Bier Garden Inc
29) Blue Hippo
30) Blue Plate
31) Blues Alley
32) Bob's Bbq & Country Cookin
33) Bobbie B's Deli
34) Bodega
35) Breckenridge Restaurant & Lng
36) Brothers Paradise Food Lounge
37) Brown Bag Lunch Co
38) Bruttis' Cafe
39) Bugatti's
40) Burger King
41) Business Opportunities-Blind
42) Business Opportunity Blind
43) C & C Restaurant
44) Cafe Europa
45) Cafe Rosso
46) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
47) Carlos Home Cooking
48) Castaldi's Market & Grill
49) Cave
50) Centerplate
51) Chanello's Pizza
52) Charlie Wong Restaurant
53) Charlie's Cafe
54) Chen Garden Chinese Restaurant
55) Chez Beau
56) Chick-Fil-A
57) Chili's Grill & Bar
58) China Garden Restaurant
59) China Inn
60) Chinese Tea Garden
61) Chocollage
62) Church's Chicken
63) Church's Chicken
64) Cobia Grill
65) Cogan's Instant Art
66) Colley Cantina
67) Colley's Char Grille
68) Colonial Shoppe
69) Colony House Restaurant
70) Conundrums Restaurant
71) Cora
72) Courtyard Cafe
73) Crackers
74) Crocodile Rocks
75) Cuisine & Co
76) D C Chase's
77) D'Eggs Diner
78) Daily Grind
79) Dairy Queen
80) Deck Restaurant Inc
81) Del Vecchios
82) Deli Plus
83) Diesel Pizza
84) Dixie's Tavern
85) Dog-N-Burgergrill
86) Domino's Pizza
87) Domino's Pizza
88) Domo Japanese Restaurant
89) Doumar's Cones & Barbecue
90) Downtown
91) Downtowner Restaurant
92) Dragon City
93) East Meets West Gazebo
94) Eaton Gogh
95) Elocoqui
96) Empire Buffett
97) Empire-Little Bar Bistro
98) Encore Restaurant
99) Esplanade Restaurant
100) Fahrenheit Restaurant & Bar
101) Fair Grounds
102) Famous Uncle Al's
103) Feather-N-Fin Chicken Seafood
104) First Colony Coffee House
105) Flagship Resteraunt
106) Foggy Point Bar & Grill
107) Frankie's Place
108) Frankies Place
109) Freemason Abbey Restaurant
110) Genco Of Va Inc
111) Gli Food Svc
112) Golden City
113) Golden Fortune Restaurant
114) Golden Gate Restaurant
115) Gourmet Gang
116) Granby Lounge
117) Grandy Bistro & Deli
118) Greater Grinders
119) Guatalagara City Cafe
120) Gustos Restaurant
121) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
122) Harbor Club
123) Hardee's
124) Hardee's
125) Hardee's
126) Harry's Famous Barbecue
127) Havanna
128) Have A Nice Day Cafe
129) Hell's Kitchen
130) Heritage Funeral Home
131) Hits At The Park
132) Hms Host
133) Hooters
134) Huckleberry's Frozen Custard
135) Hummingbird Caribbean
136) International House-Pancakes
137) Invisible Chefs
138) Jack Quinn's Irish Pub
139) Java One
140) Jeannie B's Inc
141) Jeepers
142) Jeff's Cafe
143) Jem Banquet Facility
144) Jillian's
145) Joe's Crab Shack
146) Johnny Rockets
147) Katana
148) Kelly's Tavern
149) Kfc
150) Kfc
151) Kin's Buffet
152) Kin's Wok Restaurant
153) Kincaid's Restaurant
154) King's Hibachi At Waterside
155) Kosher Place Cafe & Market
156) Kotobuki
157) La Galleria Ristorante
158) LA Tolteca
159) Lobscouser Restaurant
160) Logan Raye's Raw Bar & Pub
161) Los Amigos-Portside Portsmouth
162) Luna Maya
163) M P Caribbean Restaurant
164) Machismo
165) Magnolia Steak
166) Mango's
167) Margarita's Mexican Rstrnt
168) Mark IV Lounge
169) Max
170) Max & Erma's
171) Mc Donald's
172) Mc Donald's
173) Mc Donald's
174) Mc Donald's Restaurant
175) Mei Wah Chinese Restaurant
176) Mekong Express
177) Metro
178) Michael's Family Restaurant
179) Mighty Mo Hot Dogs
180) Mo & O'malley's Irish Pub
181) Modeans Carribean Restaurant
182) Moe's Southwest Grill
183) Monastery Restaurant
184) Mongolian Express
185) Ms Marian Soul Food
186) Murphy's Stars & Stripes
187) Nacho Mama's Express
188) New Belmont
189) New York Deli
190) Nex-Freshens
191) No Bologna
192) No Frill Bar & Grill
193) Normandie Restaurant
194) Nyc Deli & Pub
195) Oasis Cafe
196) Old Towne News & Coffee
197) Omar's Carriage House
198) Open Wide
199) Orapax Inn
200) Outback Steakhouse
201) Paddy O'brian's
202) Pagoda Garden Tea House
203) Painted Lady Tea Room
204) Palette's Rstrnt & Catering
205) Panera Bread
206) Papa John's Pizza
207) Pastaria
208) Pastavita Italian Restaurant
209) Pfeiffer's Books Cards Fine
210) Phantoms
211) Phil's Cafe
212) Pizza Hut
213) Pizza Hut
214) Pizza Hut
215) Pizza Hut
216) Plume Street Grille
217) Pollard's Chicken
218) Pop's Kabobs
219) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
220) Pretzel Time
221) Quenna's Raw & Vegan
222) Quiznos Sub
223) Quiznos Sub
224) Rainforest Cafe
225) Rajput Indian Cuisine
226) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
227) Rio's Cafe
228) Riverview Coffee Parlor
229) Riverwalk
230) Roger Brown's Restaurant Sport
231) San Antonio Sam's Cafe Saloon
232) Sbarro
233) Schlotzsky's Deli
234) Seamen's Club
235) Seasons-An American Bistro
236) Shrimpboat Restaurant
237) Shula's 347
238) Simply Salads Plus
239) Sing Wong Restaurant
240) Sirena Cucina Italiana
241) Skinney's
242) Spaghetti Warehouse
243) Spirit Of Norfolk Harbor
244) Starbucks
245) Starbucks
246) Starbucks
247) Steak Escape
248) Steak Master
249) Sterlings
250) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
251) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
252) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
253) Sun Island
254) Sun's Sub & Pub
255) Sunrise Pizzaria
256) Sweets & Treats
257) Szechuan Garden Restaurant
258) Szechuan In Ghent
259) Tabb's At Riverview
260) Taco Bell
261) Taco Bell
262) Takis Gyros
263) Tap House Grill At Ghent
264) Taste Of Chicago
265) Taste Unlimited
266) Taste Unlimited
267) Ten Top
268) Terra Nova Cafe Ymca
269) Thai Cuisine
270) Thumpers Downtown Bar & Grill
271) Time
272) Todd Jurich's Bistro
273) Tony Jr's Hot Dogs
274) Tony's Diner
275) Toques In Ghent
276) Tortugaz Restaurant
277) Tropical Smoothie Cafe & Deli
278) Tycorp Pizza
279) Urban Bite
280) Vic Zodda's Restaurant
281) Villa Pizza
282) Vintage Restaurant Group LLC
283) Virginia Wings Of Waterside I
284) Voila
285) Voodoo Rouge
286) Wasabi Systems Inc
287) Watergate Restaurant
288) Waterside Hamburgers
289) Waterstreet Landing
290) Wendy's
291) Wild Monkey Gourmet Diner
292) Wolfy's World Famous Hotdogs
293) Zelicks
294) Zero Submarine
295) Zero's Granby LTD
296) Zero's Subs
297) Zero's Subs
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Good
I was shocked to find a bar that carried such an array of beers. Very impressive! The dinner menu was alright but lacked key Irish dishes, i.e. boxty dishes, rashers, more potato based items. I was however simply disgusted by the promiscuity of this pub. Irish pubs are supposed to be family welcoming. I brought my husband and two children there for dinner (around 6:30pm) a couple weeks ago. Our server was great. We never had to ask for anything (minus more descriptions on the beer which the server seemed to lack knowledge about because a menu was not yet made) but he made up for it with his charisma. As I was taking my daughter to the restroom (which was not stocked) I noticed some of the bar guests to be ooeing at the female bartender bending over, revealing her underwear. I find this offensive and inappropriate for a family setting. The last thing I want is for my daughter to immitate this girl lack of self respect. As an Irish pub, hospitality is key, not sexuality. Our service and my husband's love for beer will bring us back to give it one more try, hopefully I do not have to witness such sensuality at dinner time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Theresa Spellings Theresa Spellings, Norfolk, VA
(01/15/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
It was impossible to get a beer, the staff really had there head up there butt. And the guy that said he owned the place was a joke, he was drinking then going behind the bar and not having a clue what he was doing. If he is doing the books I don't see the place staying open long (2-50= looks like it'd give him trouble) considering he gave me the wrong change not once but twice. Over charging (or the inability to do math) then not charging at all. And the themes, news flash it's an Irish bar not a night club, it's a joke. And the Little girl (under age) that was talking to us telling us how she drank there all the time but it was cool she used to hookup with the owner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chesapeake, VA
(12/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I frequent Granby Street pretty often and have seen a lot of places come and go. Everyone was excited when Jack Quinns opened back up, but I was apprehensive because of how muched I liked the old one. Fortunately, I had nothing to worry about. I think that they had a rough time reopening, but now when I go in, the staff is very attentive and my beer and food are alawys delicious. It is different from the old Quinns in that it is a more youthful crowd and plays the occasional rap song, but for a good lunch or a good beer, you can't go wrong.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brook Brook , Norfolk, VA
(10/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I was at Jack Quinn two nights ago and didn't find anything I read on this site to be true. Maybe juding a place a few days after they open is not a wise move. After I sat at the bar I was helped by Elana who pretty much paid complete attention to me all night despite the large number of folks sitting at the bar. I ordered the same item mentioned below and I thought it was great. In defence of the person who posted it the manager told me that they changed the fish they used after they opened.

Overall the night was great. I met a ton of people and enjoyed a great water battle behind the bar. The Guiness in my glass was cold and I don't much more about that.

I am on my way up to Jack Quinn tonight only this time I booked a room at the hotel accross the street. It is worth the drive from Suffolk.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug L Doug L, Chesapeake, VA
(07/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
This has to be the worst Irish bar I've ever been in. It looks authentic, but the food and service really sucks. The guy who said he was the owner walked around, but was clueless. My food took so long to be served and was tasteless and cold. I said something but it fell on deaf ears.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Neil, Va Beach, VA
(03/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Terrible experience. I expect a decent Guinness from an Irish bar. Very bad pour and it took me a very long time to order it. Had the fish and chips to eat and it was over cooked and the fries tasted like shoe leather. Not a good Irish bar and not a good bar in general. If you are looking for a good Irish bar on Granby try Mo and O'Malley's. If you and looking for a good bar on Granby go anywhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Justin Todd Justin, Portsmouth, VA
(03/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Jack Quinn's, Norfolk is CLOSED!!! Went by there on 19 Apr 07. Too bad, I'm a fan of Jack Quinns in Colorado Springs, CO. Go by there if you're in town, especially on a Thurday evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Orlando, FL
(05/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
Had a light lunch here recently, few appies. They were OK at best. Guinness was properly poured, although I probably would have sampled something else if the waitress came back in time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Oxford, NJ
(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Loved Fishtank Divers and our waitress with Pigtails! Absolut was absolutely fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Helen McDonald Helen McDonald, Sandbridge, Virginia Beach, VA
(08/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
Okay, a very good Irish pub on the surface, but the staff was distracted, service extremely poor, and prices horrendous. I was willing to give the place another shot after a poor first time, but two subsequent visits have shown absolutely no improvement. Visit only if you have plenty of money and patience and every other pub in Southside has burned to the ground.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Norfolk, VA
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
I was going to write and disagree with the earlier comment about Jack Quinn's international beer selection being "all that", but a phone call today revealed that Jack Quinn's has vastly improved the beer selection they offer. Currently they have a 'fair' draft selection and some very good bottled offerings. They have in bottles: Hoegarden, Aventinus, St. George Porter and IPA (excellent local microbrewery), Brooklyn Chocolate Stout, Road Dog, Sam Smith's Nut Brown, Blue Moon Belgian style White, Newcastle, Pilsner Urquell, and 2 ciders. Draft are things like Guinness, Bass, Harp, Tennents. While I still would not call their international beer selection the "best anywhere", the above choices indicate that beer lovers should find something they like. My personal picks for best choices are the Aventinus, Hoegarden, Brooklyn Black Chocolate, and the St. George. I have not eaten here for a while, so I will not comment on the food. The decor is nice, with the woodwork supposedly imported from Ireland. On weekends, there are usually bands at night and the place gets a lively crowd. Jack Quinn's is a short walk from numerous other bars, restaurants, theaters, MacArthur Mall, and the Norva, and can be a good stop on a visit to downtown Norfolk and/or a Granby Street pub crawl.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Diane, Norfolk, VA
(03/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The best true Irish expierence in downtown Norfolk. Great food, good hearty portions, and the best selection of international beers I have seen anywhere. The service was excellent, the staff was very friendly and fast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kymmie, Va Beach, Va
(02/23/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.317 seconds) 07:06:38 54.167.176.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS