PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Franklin's - Hyattsville, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 12:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Hyattsville > Franklin's
Franklin's Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Franklin's
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.6 / 100
5121 Baltimore Avenue
Hyattsville, MD 20781
United States
(301) 927-2740
Listed Since: March 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hyattsville, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Franklin's
47 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Colonel Brooks' Tavern
(3 miles)

2) Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill
(4 miles)

3) Cafe Berlin
(4 miles)

4) Doctor Granville Moore's Brickyard
(4 miles)

5) Belga Café
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Capitol Place Bed & Brkfst
2) Bull Moose B & B on Capitol
3) Davis Warner Inc
4) Doollittle Guest House
5) Hereford House
6) Maison Orleans Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN DOWNTOWN CAPITOL
2) BLOOMINGDALE INN
3) BW COLLEGE PARK INN AND FUNDOM
4) COMFORT INN
5) COMFORT INN COLLEGE PARK
6) COURTYARD GREENBELT
7) DAYS INN COLLEGE PARK
8) DAYS INN GATEWAY
9) ECONO LODGE COLLEGE PARK
10) ECONO LODGE TAKOMA PARK
11) EXTENDEDSTAY WASH DC LANDOVER
12) HAMPTON INN WAS I95 LARGO
13) HOTEL GEORGE
14) HOWARD JOHNSON CHEVERLY
15) HOWARD JOHNSON COLLEGE PARK
16) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS
17) HYATT REGENCY WASHINGTON
18) KELLOGG CONFERENCE HOTEL
19) MARRIOTT GREENBELT
20) PHOENIX PARK
21) QUALITY INN AND SUITE COLLEGE P
22) QUALITY INN SILVER SPRING
23) RAMADA LTD COLLEGE PARK MD
24) RAMADA LTD WASHINGTON DC NE
25) SUPER 8 DOWNTOWN D.C.
26) THE CAPITOL HILL SUITES
27) TRAVELODGE GATEWAY
28) UMD MARRIOTT INN & CONF CENTER
29) WASHINGTON COURT HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams Memorial
2) Armstrong Manual Training School
3) Ash Hill
4) Augusta Apartment Building
5) Bayly, Mountjoy, House
6) Beall's Pleasure
7) Bostwick
8) Brodhead--Bell--Morton Mansion
9) Brooks Mansion
10) Bunche, Ralph, House
11) Central National Bank
12) Christ Church
13) Davis--Warner House
14) East Capitol Street Carbarn
15) East Corner Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
16) Eastern Market
17) Fletcher Chapel
18) Folger Shakespeare Library
19) Friendship House
20) Gallinger Municipal Hospital Psychopathic Ward
21) Germuiller Row
22) Glenwood Cemetery Mortuary Chapel
23) Gompers, Samuel, House
24) Hampshire Garden Apartment Buildings
25) Harrison Apartment Building
26) Hecht Company Warehouse
27) Hilleary, William, House
28) Hyattsville Armory
29) Jefferson Apartment Building
30) Lenthall Houses
31) Market Master's House
32) Mount Hope
33) Northeast No. 2 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
34) Northeast No. 3 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
35) Northeast No. 4 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
36) Northeast No. 5 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
37) Northeast No. 6 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
38) Northeast No. 7 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
39) Northeast No. 8 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
40) Northeast No. 9 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
41) O'Dea House
42) Old Naval Hospital
43) Polychrome Historic District
44) President's House, Gallaudet College
45) Roosevelt Apartment Building
46) Sewall-Belmont House National Historic Site
47) Smith, Harry, House
48) St. Aloysius Catholic Church
49) St. Mark's Church
50) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
51) Terrell, Mary Church, House
52) Trades Hall of National Training School for Women and Girls
53) Union Station
54) Union Station Plaza and Columbus Fountain
55) United Brick Corporation Brick Complex
56) US Post Office--Hyattsville Main
57) Washington, George, House
58) Watterston House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 94th Aero Squadron Restaurant
2) Acapulco Spririt
3) Alamo Mexican Restaurant Inc
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Asian Restaurant
6) B J's Catering
7) Bamboo Joint Cafe
8) Baskin-Robbins
9) Beijing Palace
10) Boardwalk Fries
11) Bourbon St Grill
12) Burger Delite
13) Burger King
14) Cajun Gourmet
15) Calvert House Inn
16) Cameron's Seafood Express
17) Caribbean Superior
18) Carl's Foods
19) Cartel Du Ciel LTD
20) Checkers
21) Checkers Drive In Restaurant
22) Chef Valerie
23) Chiltin Market & Fish Bar
24) China Cafe
25) China Express
26) Cielito Lindo Mexican Rstrnt
27) Cluck U Chicken
28) Cluck-University Chicken
29) Cornerstone Grill & Loft
30) Crossroads Night Club
31) Cuc Of Maryland
32) D & A Restaurant & Carry Out
33) D C Tunnel Events Ctr
34) Danny's Sub Shop
35) Deli Corner
36) Domino's Pizza
37) Douglas Discount Pharmacy
38) Eastern Carryout
39) Eddy's Carry Out
40) El Campesino Mexican Restrant
41) El Paso Disco Ctr
42) El Tapatio Mexican Resteraunt
43) Emeritas Carry Out
44) Family Buffet
45) Flamers Charbroiled Hamburgers
46) Four Way Stop Market
47) Franklin's General Store
48) Fratelli
49) Friendly Inn
50) Gene-Gene's
51) Golden China
52) Golden China Restaurant
53) Golden Garden Carry Out
54) Golden House
55) Golden Wagon Restaurant
56) Good Humor Ice Cream
57) Grand China Carry Out
58) Heartys 2
59) International House-Pancakes
60) International House-Pancakes
61) Iron Castle Inn
62) Janice Burke
63) Jerkhill Restaurant
64) Jerry's Pizza & Subs
65) Jerry's Restaurant
66) Jimmy's Carryout
67) Joe's Restaurant
68) JTK Inc Restaurants & Lounge
69) Julita's Restaurant
70) K Dynasty Inn Inc
71) Kfc
72) Kfc
73) Kingston Arbor
74) La Sirenita Restaurant Inc
75) La Villa Restaurant
76) La-Taqueria
77) Lee's Restaurant
78) Manchu Wok
79) Mannie's Carry Out
80) Marathon Deli
81) Marlon's Barbeque
82) Mary's Cafe
83) Mauricio's Restaurant
84) Mc Donald's
85) Mc Donald's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mc Donald's Restaurant
89) Mc Donalds
90) Metro II Cafeteria
91) Mexico Lindo Restaurant
92) Mike Carryout
93) Mustangs
94) New Centry Carry Out
95) New Century Carry Out & Rest
96) Nick's Italian Sausage
97) Ocean Fish House
98) Outback Steakhouse
99) Papa John's Pizza
100) Paris Caterers
101) Park's Cafe & Restaurant Inc
102) Pasta Amore Inc
103) Peking Garden Chinese Rstrnt
104) Piccadeilly Express
105) Pizza Hut
106) Pizza Mart
107) Plato's Diner
108) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
109) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
110) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
111) Potomac Fish House & Deli
112) Professional Coffee Shop
113) Pupuseria Morazan
114) Queen's Way Restaurants
115) Queens Chapel Deli & Market
116) Quiznos Sub
117) R J Bentley's Restaurant
118) Rib Pit
119) Roman Delight Pizza
120) Roz's Place
121) S & J Restaurant
122) Sahara Oasis
123) Sammy's Carry Out
124) Santa Fe Cafe
125) Scoops
126) Shoney's
127) Smoothie King
128) Special Seasoning Caterers
129) Starbucks
130) Steak Escape
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunny's Carry Out
137) Surf Club
138) Taco Bell
139) Taqueria LA Placita
140) Terminal Snack Bar
141) Three Brothers Caterers
142) Three Captains House-Seafood
143) Tina's Deli & Liquors
144) Torrie's Carryout & Catering
145) Tortilleria Rotisserie
146) Velma's Carry Out
147) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Had the sampler and lunch today on our way back from North Carolina. The Maryland Crab dip was excellent as was the mater salad. Worked my way through the sampler and enjoyed all. The Milk Stout could have been a bit sweeter - but the Van Damme Belgian ale was on the money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al , Lower Burrell, PA
(08/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
A gem in P.G. County. I never new this placed existed until a few years ago. The beer is decent, sometimes lacks enough flavor for me and they seem to be very low on CO2. Food is pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
I, too, used to work at Franklins and enjoyed [almost] every minute of it! The local clientele and community atmosphere provide a distinct contrast to the jam-packed chains two miles down the road, and my tips were more than enough to cover all the whimsical jewelry, toys, and sundries I found in the adjoining store. While I will be the first to admit that service from some waitstaff was spotty, the core team during my years there (2004-2006) was extremely dedicated and talented. Recently, a new chef and more seasoned kitchen staff have moved from a rather schizophrenic menu to a more focused approach, and this is reflected in the quality and consistency of meals. On a side note, I was very surprised to find that the previous poster considered our serving sizes small and overpriced - with a shared appetizer, two beers per person, and entrees and desserts for each (though how you would have room for dessert after all that is beyond me), the meal shouldn't have totaled more than $80-85 plus tip. (The exception would be if each person ordered the special, which tends to be slightly more expensive due to market prices on high-end fish.) The beers are tenderly hand-crafted but often too hoppy for tender palates; on the plus-side, the choices range from very light to very dark so almost everyone can find a suitable flavor. Be sure to ask your server for a smaple if you're unsure of a brew! Bottom line: Great restaurant - have fun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amy Amy, Gaithersburg, MD
(06/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Great
Since getting a new chef, this place has improved dramatically. The beer is really strong but has a unique flavor that will make you overlook the fact that you are buzzing off of one pint. The sandwiches have always been good along with the appetizers. The presentation is good but the portions are a little small for the price. A party of three can easily drop $120 if you include drinks and dessert. The service really needs improvement as they become more popular. There is too much standing around by the wait staff around the kitchen. They have a few seasoned servers but they really need a good floor manager. Additionally, they need to be more strict about uniforms for the wait staff.

The atmosphere is what made me continue to frequent the establishment even when the food was horrible. The owner is very friendly and the decor is really good. They serve alcohol in addition to beer now and it makes for a great happy hour haunt. It is a great part of Hyattsville and we are lucky to have it as our local pub. Stop by and have a look

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Moore J. Moore, Hyattsville, MD
(07/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great
I didn't find this place until the last 8 weeks of my undergraduate career at UMD, and I miss it terribly. They have a great happy hour after 10pm on Thursdays -- $2 cover for free buffet (with ok fare -- can't rate the restaurant items) and $3 draughts. The beer selection is pretty hit and miss, but the good ones make up for the lousier ones. Personal favorites are the IPA, Terrapin Ale, and ESB (especially off of the nitro tap -- delicious!!!!). Anything Doppel or Drittel is far too strong in flavor and has a distinct alcohol taste (to agree with the poor reviews). The Bombshell Blonde was a little weak for my taste. What Franklin's does right, they do excellently. DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED. Especially for of-age UMD students who cannot stand the limited, crowded, deafening, fraternitized/sorostituted offerings on Rt. 1.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Hickey Mike Hickey, Blacksburg, VA
(10/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I used to work at Franklin's when I attended University of Maryland. I miss it dearly and can't wait to travel back for visits. The enviornment of Franklin's wouldn't be so friendly and inviting if it wasn't for its owner, Mike Franklin. Thanks Mike!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jimmy Jimmy, Annapolis, MD
(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Hands down, the best brewpub in the DC area-- I only wish it were closer. Some of the negative reviews are mysterious to me-- JoJo has not written a single good review of anywhere he/she has been (maybe works for Budweiser..); others complain about non-filtered beer-- they should also stick to Bud. Franklin's beers are distinctive and fun. Even if one is not to your taste, it's going for something different. I love this place: great beer, great bartenders, tasty food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Foster Eric Foster, Washington, DC
(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The beer was excellent! cask barley wine and nitro pour ESB were highlights! The food was good, the sammich I had rated well. But I was really impressed by the beer becuase it's not your run of the mill brewpub brew, it had character and was not overly filtered (i love un-filtered beer!) I had a sampler tray and i beleive there was only one beer I did not like. my only issue is that it's not closer to baltimore!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bstill bstill, Baltimore, MD
(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
Despite having read some negative reviews about this place, I thought I'd give it a try anyway. I enjoy going to brewpubs, and have been to most other ones in MD, so I wanted to check this one out. While they did have a large selection of beers on tap, there was no real description of the brews, so you either had to get a taster, or just go for it. Would be nice to describe the beer styles, as many of the names did not give you a clue as to what kind of beer it was. Having said that, a lot of the beers didn't really fit into style categories anyway. Most of the beers I tried were way over hopped for their style. I love IPAs with lots of hops, but other styles shouldn't necessarily be so hoppy. All the beers I had were cloudy in appearance, and did not have good malt/hop balance. The Imperial Stout was downright undrinkable, with overpoweringly strong fusel alchol and astringency. The decor was interesting, and there was a decent crowd there. However, the beers were very disappointing and the food wasn't good enough to make up for it. Afterall, the main reason I go to a brewpub to enjoy the beer. Overall it was disappointing experience, and I doubt I'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jojo jojo, rockville, MD
(01/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Another great visit to Franklin's. Was on my way home looking for a good rest stop, and perhaps a chance to pick up some growler fills for later. Bartender very helpful with tastes to help me make up my mind (so many places seem bothered by doing whatever is needed to sell beer!). Liked everything I tried; their Private IPA and the ESB were good and clean--not overwhelming. Their barleywine was offered on regular and nitro pour, with the nitro just a tick above for my tastes. The best brew this time around was the Silver Lining, which I was told was "their SN Celebration clone". It certainly had that hoppy/malty blend I come to expect each holiday season--a good effort! I was encouraged to hear my server say, "we really take it as a compliment when people bring another brewery's growlers in here for a fill; it means you like our beer as much or more than theirs". Whether that's true or not, I like the attitude! Why can't more places be like that?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Interesting place. The food was decent. The beer struck me as a little homebrewish, which is not a bad thing, but not what you would expect from a brewery. All the beers had great hop flavor but were lacking in malt content. Almost seemed as though they were partial extract beers. I would also advise doing something about the protein haze. I realize this has no affect on flavor but it does make the beer rather unappealing, especially to folks who don't travel to brewpubs often. Unfortunately I would not recommend Franklins to anyone interested in traveling for beer, visit Baltimore instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Beatty Mike Beatty, Chambersburg, PA
(10/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Well, I did have the opportunity to stop back and spend some time getting to know the place and the beers. Got in for an early lunch and ordered a sampler of 9 beers, plus an additional version of stout on nitro. They're all very drinkable and clean. Enough different styles to satisfy most all tastes, so bring a beer loving friend! I especially liked the Sierra Madre, which they describe as a Sierra Nevada turned up a few notches. It's definitely not over the top, but would make for a good evening (or two) of enjoyment. Growler fills (bring your own) for $7.95 was a great bargain. I'll be back, again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Unfortuately only had time for a sampler, but definitely I will stop back for more at my first opportunity! All the beers were top-notch, with their ESB and imperial IPA as my favorites. Even though most were ales, there was a good range of flavors to satisfy all parts of my palate. Big thanks to the lady at the wait stand as she tipped me off to (a brought a sample of) the Imperial IPA from another (upstairs?) bar--it was huge! Funky building with a general store attached (Belgian beers, too!). A future repeat stop, to be sure!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Drank through a sampler rack. Beer is across-the-board *seriously* hoppy and quite flavorful; there's enough variety in the rack to please anyone if you find the right ones (for me it was the ESB and Imperial Stout, the latter an 11% super-roast, almost syrupy stout-on-steroids). And who woulda thought to put a 10% barleywine on a nitro line? But it worked! Tips: Happy hour is 4:00 to 6:30; the bar is UPSTAIRS, not back at the window to the kitchen on the first floor (and by the time I figured that out it was 6:33, darn it); Thursday night has a late happy hour with free food (10-2); and firkins are tapped Fridays. Do note the incredibly funky "general store" through the door, which has a great selection of bottled beers and wines to go (Unibroue, Avery, Belgians, six-packs, etc.).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(03/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So Good
Very expensive food compared to the quality, however a good place for drinking beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review far, college park, MD
(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
We moved to the Hyattsville area from Arlington where we took great beer and great food for granted. Franklin's is phenomenal and equals or exceeds other microbreweries in the area. The food is great!!!! We are frequent visitors at Franklins. I also must mention the General store which sells a great selection of reasonably priced wine. In Arlington, we bought wine ONLY at Arrowwine, but I have quite impressed with Franklin's selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amy Amy, Hyattsville, MD
(09/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review College Park, MD
(09/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I go there for lunch almost every Friday and have never been disappointed. The staff (at least at the bar) is teriffic. The brew master is always accessible to shoot the breeze and talk about the ales. Now, I don't drink bad Scotch so I can't speak to the veracity of the last reviewer's use of it as a benchmark for beer comparison.

The stuff in the general store is worth the trip alone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Silver Spring, MD
(07/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good Lousy
Wide variety of styles and beers, but none were drinkable. Anything that was 'hoppy' was overly floral and tasted like chewing a handful of hops. Anything 'malty' was too sharp to stomach. Several bers had the medicine taste of bad scotch. The beerlist bragged about the complexity of the beers, bragging about how many different types of hops and malt each beer had. I counted 5 types of hops on one beer. This left everything tasting muddled and confused. I actually left half a beer unfinished. The food was okay, but it's hard to get a burger and fries wrong. Bartender was cool but the hostess out front waqs clueless when we asked a simple question "How late are you open?"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Schobel Eric Schobel, Frederick, OTHER
(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Brew pub? Newly aquired statis as an art district? Sound like Hyattsville future as a potential cultural mecca (well mini mecca) is at last a real potential. Now they need a music venue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Craig, Greenbelt, Md
(04/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
a quick trip from baltimore many house beers 10 to choose from 3 high octane an imperial stout a dubbel and a 10.5% tripple yum! fun shopping at the general store after a few of these.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review j ferner, baltimore, md
(04/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
A must stop if in the area!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
I've been to this place about 6 times. Definitely recommend! The beers are consistently !GREAT! with the seasonals (e.g. barleywine or the Russian Imperial) wonderful as well as the standard beers. The food can be a hit or miss. Stick with a simple fare and the beer unless you are in a daring mood. The service has varied, too - sometimes good and sometimes less than good. Don't arrive there too hungry, you may have to wait for a table on weekends. Lots of parking right next door and the meters only go until 6pm on Saturdays. Worth many return trips.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, College Park, MD
(02/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Great Great
I lived around the corner from Franklin's for 7 yrs on 43rd Ave. and enjoyed shopping there. Having recently bought a house nearby,I still enjoy shopping there but the dining experience is awesome! Thanks for the vegan dishes! I've taken family and friends there and they agree.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ms. Dale T. Jenkins Ms. Dale T. Jenkins, Hyattsville, MD
(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Food? Beer is food right?! Only had time for the sampler of 9 (plus an additional taste of the Firkin (red ale). Tell you what...all hopheads and malt heads unite. 8 out of 9 of these beers rock (I'm just not a big Kolsch fan) The absolute standouts are the Barley Wine, Imperial Stout, IPA, and ESB. Really though, they were all very good. Gotta go back and try the food soon. The menu looks likes it has lots to offer as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Elkridge, MD
(01/08/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.709 seconds) 00:52:34 54.81.123.216, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS