PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Olde Saratoga Brewing Company - Saratoga Springs, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 06:00 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Saratoga Springs > Olde Saratoga Brewing Company
Olde Saratoga Brewing Company  Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Olde Saratoga Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.7 / 100
131 Excelsior Avenue
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
United States
(518) 581-0492
Listed Since: April 2002
Last Updated: June 2011
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Saratoga Springs, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Olde Saratoga Brewing Company
9 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) O'Callagh was Original Saratoga Springs Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Parting Glass
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adelphi Hotel
2) Batcheller Mansion Inn
3) Brown's Beach
4) Brunswick Bed & Breakfast
5) Chestnut Tree Inn
6) Circular Manor
7) Geyser Lodge
8) Harren Brook Inn
9) Hilton
10) Kimberly Guest House
11) May West Inn
12) Saratoga Arms
13) Saratoga Bed & Breakfast
14) Saratoga Sleigh A Victorian
15) Six Sisters Bed & Breakfast
16) Union Gables
17) Westchester House Bed & Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) HLTN GRDN INN SARATOGA SPRINGS
2) PRIME HOTEL SARATOGA SPRINGS
3) SUPER 8 SARATOGA SPNGS NY
4) THE INN AT SARATOGA SPRINGS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Drinkhall, The
2) Pure Oil Gas Station
3) Todd, Hiram Charles, House
4) US Post Office--Saratoga Springs
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 9 Maple Ave
2) Adirondack BBQ Co
3) Annie's Gourmet Ice Cream
4) Arby's
5) Artisan Restaurant
6) Bayshore's Tropic Hut
7) Beekman Street Bistro
8) Ben & Jerry's
9) Black Diamond Caterers
10) Bruno's
11) Bullpen
12) Burger King
13) Burt's Burgers & More
14) Cajun Cafe & Grill
15) Caputo's Pizzeria
16) Chameleon
17) Chariots
18) Clancy's Tavern
19) Club Caroline
20) Country Corner Cafe
21) Creative Caterers
22) D'Andrea's Pizza
23) Dairy Haus
24) Dairy Queen
25) Denny's
26) Desperate Annie's
27) Dine Restaurant
28) Doc's Steakhouse
29) Eugenio's Cafe Gelato
30) Farmers Daughters Drive-In
31) Forno Tuscano
32) Friendly Ice Cream Corp
33) Friendly's
34) Giacones Pizza Deli Market
35) Giavano's
36) Glow Mist-On Tanning
37) Hall Of Springs
38) Havanna's
39) Haweli Fine Indian Cuisine
40) Hibachi Japanese Restaurant
41) Higher Grounds Cafe
42) Humpty Dumpty
43) Joe Collins Restaurant
44) Just Country Inc
45) Justin's At The Metro
46) Kings Tavern
47) Kountry Kettle
48) Legends Cafe
49) Lily & The Rose
50) Lodge At Saratoga Raceway
51) Lodge At Saratoga Raceway
52) Longfellows
53) Luna Lounge
54) Maestro's Restaurant
55) Mama Mia's Pizza & Cafe
56) Mangino's Ristorante
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Moe's Deli
60) Mr Ed's Ice Cream Station
61) Newberry Dance Club
62) Ninety Nine Restaurant & Pub
63) Omelette King
64) Omelette King Catering
65) Opera Cafe
66) Orange Julius Treat Ctr
67) Orientaste Of Saratoga Inc
68) P J's Saratoga Style Bar-B-Q
69) P J's Saratoga Style Bar-B-Q
70) Panera Bread
71) Pepper's Market & Deli
72) Pizza Hut
73) Pizza Time
74) Pope Pizza
75) Porreca's Restaurant
76) Putnam Street Market Place
77) Reel Meals
78) Roma Importing Co
79) Romeo's Brick Oven
80) Rosario's Brooklyn Pizza
81) Ruby Tuesday
82) Saratoga City Tavern
83) Saratoga Pickle Barrel Deli
84) Saratoga Restaurant & Diner
85) Sargo's
86) Sbarro The Italian Eatery
87) Silver Bullet Lounge
88) Simply The Best
89) Social Gourmets
90) Sorelli's Pizzeria & Deli
91) Soup & Salad Gourmet
92) Spring Garden China Buffet
93) Spring Street Deli & Pizzeria
94) Stadium Cafe
95) Starbucks
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Sushi & Grill
99) Sushi Thai Garden
100) Taco Bell
101) TGI Friday's
102) Tiznow Restaurant
103) Trotters
104) Turf Terrace
105) Uno's Pizzeria Chicago Bar
106) Villa Balsamo Restaurant
107) Weathervane Seafood Restaurant
108) Winebar Limited
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
The sign outside says it's the Old Saratoge Brewing Company. Who cares what they call it, it's a great place to visit. I was there yesterday, and plan on going back tomorrow with 16 others for a tour and some good beer. It is a friendly place with a friendly bar keep, and some very good beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Kerber Don Kerber, Milwaukee, WI
(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
A delightful establishment with an informed and amiable barkeep. Plenty to taste, all fresh and special. The most pleasant tasting room I've been in--fun enough to hang out in, order pizza in for delivery and chat with the Publican for hours, which I did with my sisters and brothers-in-law over the Christmas holiday. Despite a negative review above, the hoppy Red Tail is excellent, and the Select ales, Winter Ale and even the "He-Brew" were tasty and intriguing. Plan a visit, taste them all (buy some so it stays open) and take advantage of the special case pricing and fine brewery wear available. I'll be back next time I'm back in the Capital District (the brewery is just 30 minutes North of Albany).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Basile Steve Basile, Austin, TX
(01/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I am an avid hombrewer for about 8 years. I think this place is a well kept secret for those who truly enjoy fresh tap beer and a great local barkeep in Dan Jewett. The Eye of the Hawk, Red tail, and Blackawk Stout are my usual choices when I am visiting the Olde Saratoga. Never had a bad beer in the 5 years that I have been going there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Webb R. Webb, Rockville Centre, NY
(12/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
A great place to hang out and meet new friends, with great beer to boot!

Interestingly enough, Olde Saratoga/Kingfisher (nee Mendocino) was just listed as the number four Microbrewery in number of barrels produced in the US in Zymurgy magazine. I’m not terribly surprised as they have nothing but quality products to offer that are finding their way into more and more outlets and pubs throughout the northeast and beyond.

Visit Olde Saratoga and you’ll find yourself at a small 8-stool bar or one of the four high-top tables in a nicely-appointed tasting room. True Publican Dan Jewett will be most attentive to your every desire. He always has a story, new or old (ask him about the weed-whacker)!

They always have the old stand-by’s on the 20 taps – Red Tail Ale, Olde Saratoga Lager, Eye of the Hawk, to name a few, but they just introduced “Black-Eye,” which is a blend of Black Hawk Stout and Eye of the Hawk. The concoction has a nice dry finish, and is a nice balance between the roasted malt flavor of the stout and the full-bodied amber flavor of the Hawk. While it doesn’t fit the description, it’s still a nice “session beer.” Me thinks I had one more than I should have the last trip (shhh)!

Tasting is free, but you’re kinda expected to buy at least a glass. Hey – they gotta keep the lights on! But they always have cases of all of their brews available for takeout, at discount prices. And at any given time – you might luck into a case at $10 just to reduce inventory!

This place is going no where but up. I just hope I can still get a bar-stool the next time I stop!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
We went there on a Friday evening. A great place to hang out, the cutomers are mostly locals, really nice people. NIce selection of beers, although if memory serves the east coast version of the west coast beers aren't the same. The IPA and Red Tail are very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gordon h lester, silver spring, MD
(06/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
fun place to go on a saturday afternoon. the beers aren't remarkable, although i'm quite partial to the eye of the hawk (7% and pleasantly malty). the rootbeer is worth a trip by itself. good place to chat about beer after breakfast and kill a few hours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from shane shane, saratoga, NY
(11/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
I haven't visited the brewery, but I did sample their Red Tail Ale. I made the mistake of purchasing a six-pack the last time I was in the Saratoga Springs area. Not one of the six was finished. I just about gagged on mine, and five friends - all of whom are microbrew drinkers - didn't finish theirs either. I don't know much about their other varieties, but I'm not likely to find out after having sampled the Red Tail.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John S. John S., Elkton, MD
(09/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A
The Mendocino Brewery in Saratoga Springs is pretty nice. They have a great tasting room that you can visit almost anytime of the week and try a big selection of Medocino and other beers brewed there. The beers are pretty good but not any where near the best I've had. However, I would recommend visiting the brewery for a tasting or tour to anyone who enjoys beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Vacula Scott Vacula, Saratoga Springs, NY
(04/07/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.211 seconds) 06:00:05 54.83.241.88, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS