PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Shifty's Bar and Grill - Syracuse, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 05:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Syracuse > Shifty's Bar and Grill
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Shifty's Bar and Grill
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.1 / 100
1401 Burnet Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13206
United States
(315) 424-0048
Listed Since: April 2002
Last Updated: June 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Syracuse, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(16 within 5 miles)
1) Murrays' Pub and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Lucy's Retired Surfer's Bar
(3 miles)

3) Faegan's Cafe and Pub
(3 miles)

4) Syracuse Suds Factory
(3 miles)

5) Empire Brewing Company
(3 miles)

6) The Limerick Pub
(3 miles)

7) Kelly Cole's Improper
(3 miles)

8) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
(3 miles)

9) Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

10) Awful Al's Smoke and Whiskey Bar
(3 miles)

11) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(3 miles)

12) Blue Tusk
(3 miles)

13) Clark's Ale House
(3 miles)

14) J. Ryans Pub
(3 miles)

15) Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub
(4 miles)

16) Middle Ages Brewing Company
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast Network
2) Dickenson House on James
3) Giddings Garden B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN SYRACUSE AIRPORT
2) CLARION INN SYRACUSE
3) COMFORT INN CARRIER CIRCLE SYR
4) COURTYARD SYRACUSE
5) DAYS INN SYRACUSE UNIV CARRIER
6) ECONO LODGE DEWITT
7) ECONO LODGE MANSFIELD
8) EXTENDEDSTAY SYRACUSE DEWITT
9) HAMPTON INN SYRACUSE NO
10) HAWTHORN SYRACUSE
11) HILTON GARDEN INN SYRACUSE
12) MICROTEL INN
13) PARTHENON THE GRAPES
14) QUALITY INN
15) RAMADA INN SYRACUSE
16) RAMADA LTD SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY
17) RED CARPET INN NORTH SYRACUSE
18) RED ROOF SYRACUSE
19) SHERATON SYR UNIV HTL CONF CTR
20) SUPER8 LIVERPOOL 7ST SYRAC A
21) SYRACUSE RESIDENCE INN
22) THE GENESEE GRANDE HOTEL
23) WYNDHAM SYRACUSE HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alvord House
2) Amos Block
3) Ashton House
4) Blanchard House
5) Brown, Alexander, House
6) Central New York Telephone and Telegraph Building
7) Central Technical High School
8) Chapman House
9) Clark House
10) Collins House
11) Crouse College, Syracuse University
12) Dunfee House
13) Edwards, O.M., Building
14) Estabrook House
15) Fairchild House
16) First English Lutheran Church
17) Fuller House
18) Gang House
19) Garrett House
20) Gere Bank Building
21) Gillett, William J., House
22) Grace Episcopal Church
23) Hall of Languages, Syracuse University
24) Hanover Square Historic District
25) Hanover Square Historic District
26) Hoeffer House
27) Hunziker House
28) Kelly House
29) Loew's State Theater
30) Mills, Harriet May, House
31) Onondaga County Savings Bank Building
32) Onondaga County War Memorial
33) Pi Chapter House of Psi Upsilon Fraternity
34) Plymouth Congregational Church
35) Poehlman House
36) Porter House
37) Sanderson House-- 112 Scottholm Ter.
38) Sanderson House-- 301 Scottholm Blvd.
39) Sanford House
40) Sherbrook Apartments
41) Simmons, Alton, House
42) Spencer House
43) St. Paul's Cathedral and Parish House
44) Stickley, Gustav, House
45) Stowell House
46) Syracuse City Hall
47) Syracuse Savings Bank
48) Third National Bank
49) Ward House
50) Weighlock Building
51) Welsh House
52) White House
53) White Memorial Building
54) White, Hamilton, House
55) Ziegler House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angotti's Family Restaurant
2) Annette's Restaurant
3) Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips
4) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
5) Bianchi's Pizza Pad II
6) Bo Cheng
7) Bob's Barkers Hot Dog Stand
8) Brooklyn Pickle Catering
9) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) Canzano's Family Restaurant
13) Carl's Kountry Kitchen
14) Casa Di Copani
15) Casa Mia Pizza
16) Chadwicks
17) China House Restaurant
18) Comfort Catering
19) Dad's Deli
20) Delmonico's Italian Steak
21) Denise Downing
22) Denny's
23) Dewitt Restaurants
24) Dewittshire Tavern
25) Dominick's Restaurant
26) Domino's Pizza
27) East Room
28) East Wok Restaurant
29) Erawan Thai Restaurant
30) Fatso's Pizzeria
31) Ferrara House
32) Freings Diner
33) Friendly's Restaurant
34) Froggy's
35) Gilligan's Pub
36) Green Onion
37) Grimaldi's Ristorante
38) Highland Restaurant
39) Hms Host
40) Homestyle Family Buffet
41) Hub Diner
42) Imperial Chinese Restaurant
43) James Street Market & Deli
44) Jockey's Pizza
45) Joey's
46) Jreck Subs
47) Justin's Grill
48) Lady Bug Lunchbox
49) Lee's Garden
50) Licari's Delicatessen
51) Little Mac's Pizzeria
52) Little Thai Restaurants
53) Lucky 7 Food Ctr
54) Lyncourt Grille
55) Main Chinese Buffet
56) Marko's Golden Spike
57) Martino's Pizzeria
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Mc Donald's
62) Mc Shane's Restaurant
63) Mick's Deli & Fish Fry
64) Mickey's Good Times Saloon
65) Midcourt Bar & Grill
66) Mike's Deli
67) Mother's Cupboard Fish Fry
68) Murray's
69) No Name Diner
70) Olive Garden
71) Outback Steakhouse
72) Outlaws Diner
73) P's Pub
74) Palace Cafe
75) Paladino's Pizza
76) Paladino's Pizza Ii
77) Papa John's Pizza
78) Pappy's Ice Cream Corner
79) Pat's Pub
80) Pelican Diner
81) Picnics
82) Pizio's Pizza & Deli
83) Pronto Joey's
84) Pronto's Pizza
85) Ray's Pizza
86) Red Lobster Restaurant
87) Regatta Bar & Grill
88) Riva's Place
89) Sabastino's
90) Secret Garden/Bl-Won
91) Seniora Pizza
92) Shifty's
93) Steak & Sundae Restaurant
94) Sunrise Eat In & Take Out
95) Sunshine's Coffee Shop
96) Super King Buffet
97) Taste Of Philadelphia
98) Togo's Great Sandwiches
99) Tony's Deli & Restaurant
100) Trexx
101) Tri-R Coffee Shop
102) Tully's Good Times
103) Veenama
104) Wendy's
105) World Lounge & Martini Bar
106) Zip's Tap Room
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
hay i love shiftys get engaged there got devorised there lol food is grat yo gary cheese twist eree my boy poncho great bartender makes my sundays

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from corey corey, dewitt, NY
(06/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The live bands and food are Awesome! Try those Fatal Wings or the new ribs. And lunch specials rock (come on, Crab Bisque at a Beer joint??)!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Syracuse, NY
(06/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy Good
The only thing holding this place back is the service at the bar. There is never enough staff when it is busy and a 10 min. wait for a beer is not uncommon. Even when it isn't busy, you may have to wait if the bartender is having a conversation with one of his buddies. On the plus side, they have some great local music and never a cover. Also, could use a good airing out.The grease traps stink if you are in too close proximity. Overall though, one of this areas better establishments.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hugh Jorgan Hugh Jorgan, Syracuse, NY
(12/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Great Lousy Great
This is an authentic-feeling bar that caters to regulars and keeps its taps clean. The downside is that if you're only a semi-regular, they'll treat you like you don't exist. I think it's some sort of hazing or something that even when the bar isn't busy, you have to stand at the bar with you money out for 10 minutes before you get your 15 second of attention. On the other hand, once you get what you ordered, it's good. This is the only place in town that knows how to make hot wings really hot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave, Syracuse, NY
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Due to business commitments, it has been a while since we've been able to get back to Shifty's. We were thrilled to see the old familiar food menu back. Terrific pizza. Great sandwiches. There's a new bartender who just started this week and I think she will work out great. We'll always miss Pam, however. Middle Ages IPA is still on tap - price is $9 a pitcher now. But that's still a terrific price for such an excellent beer. Keep up the good work, Lenny. We'll come back as often as we can when we're not away on business!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
I have no idea why they put a little fat man behind the bar that only wants to take care of his friends and not the costomer.A 10min wait of a beer why he watches his wheel of fortune is just bad bartending. After our food and waiting yet again for a second beer in an hour we left. A bartender that serves beer without a 40 min. wait would be real nice in there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review bridgeport, NY
(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
This is one of my favorite true neighborhood bars. They were the original beer bar of Syracuse and continue to host a decent selection. The decor is authentic (tin ceilings, old stuff filling all wall space) and well worn in...very cosey. Also a great place to see a blues band or stop for a warm up during a bike ride.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Bristol, CT
(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Pam's the best server in Syracuse...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from campbellm campbellm, Syracuse, NY
(08/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
We love this bar. I have reviewed it in the past, but felt the need to review it again. It is truly our favorite neighborhood bar - friendly staff and patrons - excellent beers and a terrific variety, including Syracuse's own Middle Ages IPA (how can you go wrong with this excellent beer - and at $8 a pitcher, what a deal!). However, when we went this week, the familiar blackboard listing of excellent foods was missing. (They have a new chef.) The list has been replaced by a xeroxed sheet of food items - just ordinary pub food. Shifty's - don't do this. Your menu was exciting with a terrific variety of good foods. Meat loaf, Syracuse coneys, turkey burgers, pizzas that were out of this world. And in the summer, steamers for $2 a dozen on Tuesdays. I hope those are not discontinued. Please reconsider and bring back the familiar items.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, GA
(05/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Shifty's simply is a great bar. We went on the night that Collin and his "mudjugsuckers" (is that right??) played a rippen set of live music. The beer selection is very good though on this particular night I was indulging in scotch. As the reviewer said before, this is "the" neibhorhood bar!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Shifty's simply is a great bar. We went on the night that Collin and his "mudjugsuckers" (is that right??) played a rippen set of live music. The beer selection is very good though on this particular night I was indulging in scotch. As the reviewer said before, this is "the" neibhorhood bar!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Shifty's is what a great neighborhood bar is all about. Tap selections include Middle Ages IPA, Cooperstown Stout, and Prior Double Dark (Black Forest) from Saranac in Utica. There is a huge bottle selection which I have not yet tried since the Middle Ages IPA at 8$ a pitcher is irresistable. The service is second to none. Pam, who takes care of the bar until 6 most evenings, is as good as it gets. The food is excellent. If you are traveling to Syracuse, get off the beaten (Armory Square) path and try this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(05/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
There are 14 taps and 85+ bottled beers at this beer bar. Great selection of NYS beers, as well as others around the country. One of our local favorites, Middle Ages IPA, is on tap. Anytime we can find Middle Ages beer is a treat. Prices at Happy Hour are fantastic. Food selection is great - steamers on Thursdays for $2/dozen - what a deal! Friendly staff, great beer and food, great Happy Hour value.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, GA
(06/16/2000)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.781 seconds) 17:05:56 54.87.15.219, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS