PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sterling Place Tavern - Buffalo, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 26, 2014 @ 05:03 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Buffalo > Sterling Place Tavern
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Sterling Place Tavern
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.9 / 100
1487 Hertel Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14216
United States
(716) 838-2448
Listed Since: June 2002
Last Updated: March 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Buffalo, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
7 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Flying Bison Brewing Company
(2 miles)

2) Papa Jake's Saloon
(2 miles)

3) Cole's Restaurant and Bar
(2 miles)

4) Buffalo Tap Room and Grill
(4 miles)

5) Alternative Brews
(4 miles)

6) Pearl Street Grill and Brewery
(4 miles)

7) Colter Bay
(4 miles)

8) Prespa
(4 miles)

9) McCarthy's Irish Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arlington Park Inn
2) Beau Fleuve Bed & Breakfast
3) Richmond Place
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAMS MARK BUFFALO
2) BEST WESTERN INN ON THE AVENUE
3) BUFFALO UNIV DISTRICT
4) COMFORT INN FORT ERIE
5) DAYS INN TONAWANDA BUFFALO NY
6) ECONO LODGE TONAWANDA
7) EXTENDEDSTAY BUFFALO AMHERST
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 33--61 Emerson Place Row
2) Albright-Knox Art Gallery
3) Berkeley Apartments
4) Blessed Trinity Roman Catholic Church Buildings
5) Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
6) Buffalo City Hall
7) Buffalo Gas Light Company Works
8) Buffalo Main LIght
9) Buffalo North Breakwater South End Light
10) Connecticut Street Armory
11) County and City Hall
12) Dorsheimer, William, House
13) Durham Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church
14) Eberhardt Mansion
15) Engine House No. 28
16) Hellenic Orthodox Church of the Annunciation
17) How, James and Fanny, House
18) Johnston, Edwin M. and Emily S., House
19) Kelly, Col. William, House
20) Kibler High School
21) Kleinhans Music Hall
22) Lafayette High School
23) Laurel and Michigan Avenues Row
24) Macedonia Baptist Church
25) Martin, D. D., House Complex
26) Martin, Darwin D., House
27) NASH (harbor tug)
28) Prudential Building
29) Roosevelt, Theodore, Inaugural National Historic Site
30) Shea's Buffalo Theater
31) St. Andrew's Evangelical Lutheran Church Complex
32) St. Paul's Cathedral
33) St. Paul's Episcopal Cathedral
34) Stone Farmhouse
35) Trico Plant No. 1
36) U.S. Post Office
37) US Post Office--Tonawanda
38) Wile, M., and Company Factory Building
39) Woodlawn Avenue Row
40) Young Men's Christian Association Central Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & B Catering
2) Abbott Pizza
3) Alt Fine Foods Kosher Ctrng
4) Amherst Food Express
5) Amici Ristorante & Cafe
6) Anderson's Frozen Custard
7) Andy's Jamaican Restaurant
8) Angels Family Restaurant
9) Anthony Michael's Cosmopolitan
10) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
11) Arby's
12) Ashley's Bar & Restaurant
13) Avenue Delicatessen
14) Avenue Pizza & Submarine Take
15) Avenue Pizza & Submarine Take
16) B S Baileys
17) Bagel Jay's
18) Bella Roma Pizzeria
19) Bertha's
20) Bob & John's La Hacienda
21) Bob's Branch Office
22) Boston Market
23) Bottom Line
24) Broadway Joe's Office-Cocktail
25) Buffalo Wild Wings
26) Burger King
27) Burger King
28) Burger King
29) Buster's Food Court
30) Cafe Allegro
31) Caffee's
32) Caffee's
33) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
34) Casey's Tavern
35) Central Park Grill
36) China Apple
37) China One
38) China Star
39) Class Act
40) Coffee Bean Cafe
41) Cole's Restaurant
42) Colonie Lounge
43) Condrell's Candies & Ice Cream
44) Cones N Cakery Inc
45) Curry's Pub & Restaurant
46) Dairy Queen
47) Darla's Diner
48) Del Denby Tavern
49) Delaware Cafe
50) Denny's
51) Di Marco's Pizzeria
52) Doctor Bird Inc
53) Domino's Pizza
54) Don Pablo's Mexican Kitchen
55) Don's Deli
56) Dooley's
57) Dunkin Donuts
58) Edritos Fresh-Mex Grande
59) Elmwood Taco & Subs
60) Embassy Family Restaurant
61) Fantasia Restaurant
62) Far East Chinese Take Out
63) Fletcher's Grill
64) For Pete's Sake
65) Franco's Pizza
66) Frank's Sunny Italy Family
67) Gabel's Lounge & Restaurant
68) Gar Angelo Cafe
69) Garrangelo Cafe
70) Gecko's Bar & Grille
71) Gordon's
72) Gourmet Sausage Co
73) Gramma Mora's Catering
74) Gramma Mora's Mexican Rstrnt
75) Great Wall
76) Hanna Ice Cream Place
77) Highlander Scottish Shop
78) Hoagie Bros Subs & Tacos
79) Hong Kong Kitchen
80) Hourglass Restaurant
81) Humboldt Inn
82) Hutch's
83) I Scream Coffe Candy Indian
84) Iberia
85) Il Fiorentino Restaurant
86) India Gate
87) Italian Village
88) Ivy's Restaurant
89) J & D Lounge
90) J P Bullfeathers Wine Cellar
91) J P Express
92) Jim's Steak-Out
93) Jim's Steakout
94) Jinlan Chinese Restaurant
95) Jovi's Italian Grille & Bistro
96) Just Pizza
97) Just Pizza Franchise Syst Inc
98) Karen's Restaurant
99) Kelly's Korner
100) Kenmore Lanes
101) Kenmore Village Restaurant
102) Kensington Place
103) Kfc
104) Kfc
105) Kostas Family Restaurant
106) Kronie's Bar & Grill
107) La Marina Seafood Market
108) La Pizza Club
109) LA Pizzeria
110) Lala Restaurant
111) Legends Pizzeria
112) Leo Enterprises Inc
113) Lina Caffe
114) Ling Ling Chinese Restaurant
115) Little China
116) Little Talia Trattoria
117) Lomato's
118) Lombardo Ristorante
119) Lone Star Fajita Grill
120) Louie's Texas Red Hots
121) Lunch Time Classics
122) Lunetta's Restaurant
123) M & F University Deli
124) M T Pockets Bar
125) Maggie's Lounge
126) Malone's Bar & Grill
127) Manhattan's Pizza & Pasta
128) Manzella's Restaurant
129) Marco's Italian Deli
130) Marcos Italian Deli
131) Marotto's Restaurant
132) Mastman's Kosher Delicatessen
133) Mattina's Pizzeria
134) Mc Donald's
135) Mighty Taco
136) Mike's Subs-Kenmore's Original
137) Milano's Pizzeria
138) Mineo's Pizzeria
139) Ming Cafe
140) Murray's Tavern
141) Myheab Deli
142) New China
143) New Golden Nugget
144) New Star Buffet
145) Nick's Place
146) Nortel Restaurant
147) North End Trattoria
148) Number 1 Kitchen
149) Oliver's Restaurant
150) Our Bar Inc
151) Pad Thai Cafe
152) Pandora's Sports Bar & Rstrnt
153) Pano's Restaurant
154) Park Lane Restaurant
155) Pepe's Pizzeria
156) Pete's Pizza & More Of Wny Inc
157) Piatza's Pizza
158) Pizza Palace
159) Pizza Pizza
160) Plaka Restaurant
161) Plate Oh Restaurant
162) Plate-O
163) Premier Gourmet
164) Prime Time Pizza & Submarine
165) Quick Check Food Mart
166) Quiznos Sub
167) Quiznos Sub
168) Regal Chinese Restaurant
169) Roasted Pepper
170) Robert Lee's Place
171) Rosalind's Catering
172) Royal Pheasant
173) S & S Tavern
174) Sahara Restaurant
175) Saigon Cafe
176) Sal's Pizzeria
177) Saratoga Restaurant
178) Say-Wich Sandwich Takeout Deli
179) Scooge's
180) Shadow Lounge
181) Sharon's Apple Dumpling Diner
182) Sinatra's Trilogy Restaurant
183) Slomba's Tavern
184) Southern Style Take Out
185) Stanley's Restaurant
186) Star Of India
187) Steel Drums
188) Sterling Place
189) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
190) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
191) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
192) T C Jr's
193) Tangen Dairy Products Inc
194) Taste Good Chinese Restaurant
195) Taste Of Thai
196) Third Base
197) Tin Tin Chinese Restaurant
198) Tony's Ranch House
199) Truffles Restaurant
200) Tsunami
201) Vince's Pizza Plus
202) Vizzi's
203) Wellington Pub
204) Wendy's
205) Wiseguys's On Hertel
206) Ziggy's Taco & Sub
207) Zip's Pizza
208) Zips Pizzeria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It's true! The people who work there are awesome, I love Judy! It has a great atmosphere, and yummy perfectly cooked barfood & solid beer! And free help- yourself popcorn! They also love animals and have fundraisers there sometimes for the SPCA, how wonderful and fuzzy and gooesy is that?!? And it's true the bathroom smells great! I noticed it the first time I went there and it smells like fruity pebbles, and has every time since!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea Andrea, Buffalo, NY
(07/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
This is a neighborhood tavern with excellent food and a great selection of beer. The atmosphere is warm and good times are had by all. I have met the most interesting folk here and will travel there whenever possible. The brats and Beamish are wonderful!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ryerson Mark Ryerson, Hamburg, NY
(02/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I just have to add my voice to the throngs! Sterling Place is a gem. For one thing, you just can't beat their beer selection. They know beer and have somthing for every palate, from swillers (like myself) to true beer efficionados. Their food is likewise outstanding and an obvious source of pride. As a connoiseur of the Buffalo fish fry, I give theirs the highest marks. The fish is always cooked to perfection (an art) and the salads are a delight. There are only a handful of places that know how to do a fish fry right. This is one of them. Besides, John and Judy are hard working, conscientious, sociable people and their values are reflected in the way they run their establishment. Do yourself a favor and get to know this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Starr Ed Starr, University Park, MD
(08/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
First, and more importantly, the beer...they have the best beer in Buffalo. Granted, they do not have 101 beers on tap, but every beer is very good and they take care to make sure that their taps are maintained weekly (no other bar in Buffalo does this). Secondly, their food is top notch. You will not find better food in any establishment that charges 3 times as much. John's steak is great, his potato salad is fantastic, and his burgers are the greatest thing known to man. I kid you not, it will be THE greatest burger you have ever had. The building and the service are not what you would expect from a place with such great food, but that is part of the charm. John and Judy are always busy, but will always make time to take care of you, make you comfortable, and serve you as best as possible. Fancy decor aside, this is the best spot in Buffalo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam A Adam A, Buffalo, NY
(02/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
We were in Buffalo for a wedding and got the tip for this place from Pubcrawler. We were not dissappointed. John and Judy were truely gracious hosts and the food was excellent. I had a fresh fish fry that came with homemade cole slaw, potato slad, and macaroni salad. All for $8!

The taps were in full Octoberfest swing with Spaten Munich, Spaten Optimator, Sierra Nvada Celebration, Post Road Pumpkin Ale, local Flying Bison Oatmeal Stout, and a few other imports. I would definitely go back again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Baltimore, MD
(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
My first visit to Sterling was a drunken one that ended up with me walking home. Thankfully, I went back. It is amazing how a place looks different when you're sober vs. wasted. Door situation confused me (which is easy to do). The owner was tending the bar the first night that I was there. Very friendly and seemed glad that we were there. He was concerned about my "AWOL status." The Great Lakes Porter was superb. Chicken fingers were tasty. Enter the bathroom and go back in time to the 70's. One of the cleanest and best smelling bathrooms that I have been in. When I walked in the second time, I was amazed that they carried a full line of really good beers. Nice import and craft selection. I tried the Flying Bison Oatmeal Stout. Previous experiances with FB have been lackluster. I truly enjoyed this beer. Jukebox has Queen and 80's. One can be comfortably wasted without visiting the ATM again. I used to only go to two bars in Buffalo on a regular basis: Alternative and Colter Bay. Now I have added Sterling to my A list. I am glad that we deceided to take a chance and stop by. The place has always looked kindof lonely. When I remarked that I went there, people responded that they didn't know if anybody went there. This means that more people need to: go to Sterling, support the bar, and spread the word. From my understanding, the owner drives to Clevland to pick up the Great Lakes Porter and Pale Ale. Now that's dedication.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Black and Tans Black and Tans, Sunny Syracuse, NY
(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
"It's all about the beer." Lots of places say this, but few mean it like the Sterling Place. Twelve taps, and ten items on the menu, a relatively small offering. But The owners, John and Judy, make the place friendly, they know their customers and are very friendly to new ones, and they are passionate about their beer. It's always a good sign when you spot an Anchor neon in a bar; Fritz doesn't dole them out to just anyone. Sterling has the only Anchor Porter neon I've seen on the east coast. Dedicated. I stopped short on an Awesome overall rating only because while the personal atmosphere is excellent, the Sterling isn't much to look at. I'd like different lighting, maybe a bit of character. They're doing this on a shoestring, so maybe that will come. Regardless, this will be a regular stop when I go to Buffalo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Lew, Langhorne, PA
(06/12/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.844 seconds) 05:03:27 54.242.231.109, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS