PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Southern Sun Pub and Brewery - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 28, 2014 @ 02:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > Southern Sun Pub and Brewery
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Southern Sun Pub and Brewery
Overall: Good    Score: 68.9 / 100
607 South Broadway
Boulder, CO 80305
United States
(303) 543-0886
Listed Since: October 2002
Last Updated: May 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Southern Sun Pub and Brewery
21 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(10 within 5 miles)
1) Twisted Pine Brewing Company
(3 miles)

2) Avery Brewing Company
(3 miles)

3) Barrel House
(3 miles)

4) Harpo's Sports Grill
(3 miles)

5) Dark Horse
(3 miles)

6) Hungry Toad
(5 miles)

7) Outback Saloon
(5 miles)

8) Redstone Meadery
(5 miles)

9) Asher Brewing Company
(5 miles)

10) Boulder Beer Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Affordable Boulder Inn
2) Boulder Victoria Historic Bed
3) Bradley Boulder Inn
4) Briar Rose Bed & Breakfast Inn
5) Coburn House
6) Earl House Historic Inn
7) Inn on Mapleton Hill
8) Pearl Street Inn
9) Sage Blossom Consulting
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BOULDER INN
2) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN BUFF LODGE
3) BOULDER BROKER INN
4) BOULDER MARRIOTT
5) BOULDER OUTLOOK HOTEL
6) BOULDER UNIVERSITY INN
7) COURTYARD BOULDER
8) DAYS INN BOULDER CO
9) HOMEWOOD SUITES BOULDER
10) HOTEL BOULDERADO
11) MILLENNIUM HARVEST HOUSE
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
13) RESIDENCE INN BOULDER
14) SUPER 8 BOULDER CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Creek Bridge
2) Carnegie Library
3) Chautauqua Auditorium
4) Fox Mine Office
5) Fox Stone Barn
6) Highland School
7) Hotel Boulderado
8) Mount St. Gertrude Academy
9) Northern Colorado Power Company Substation
10) Squires-Tourtellot House
11) US Post Office--Boulder Main
12) Woodward-Baird House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abo's Pizza
2) Abo's Pizza On The Hill
3) Ajuua Mexican Restaurant
4) Arby's
5) Boulder Broker Inn Restaurant
6) Boulder Ice Cream Shoppe
7) Boulder Used Books & Beans
8) Buchanan's Coffee Pub
9) Caffe Sole
10) Carelli's Of Boulder
11) Coffee Jones
12) Dairy Queen
13) Dairy Queen
14) Darjeeling Restaurant
15) Dark Horse
16) Deli Zone
17) Denny's
18) Dixies Bar-B-Que
19) Dot's Diner
20) Egg & I
21) Fatty J's
22) Fiasco's Mexican Grill
23) Flat Iron Steak House
24) Hapa On The Hill Sushi Grill
25) Jerusalem Restaurant & Market
26) K's China
27) Kim Food To Go
28) La Iguana Taqueria
29) Le Francais Bakery & Cafe
30) Lee Yuan Chinese Cuisine
31) Magination Inc
32) Mamacitas
33) Maywah Chinese & Vietnamese
34) Mc Donald's
35) Mexicali Bluz
36) Noodles & Company
37) Nutty Irishman Pub & Grill
38) Perkins Family Restaurant
39) Pizza Hut
40) Planet Sub
41) Prufrock's Cafe Inc
42) Quizno's Classic Subs
43) Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches
44) Rudi's World Cuisine
45) Shishkabob Supreme Inc
46) Sink
47) Southside Walnut Cafe
48) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
49) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
50) Taco Bell
51) Taj Restaurant
52) Tandoori Grill
53) Thai Basil
54) Thunderbird Burgers
55) Tra-Ling's Oriental Cafe
56) Tsing Tao Chinese Restaurant
57) Wendy's
58) Wild Irish Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
The beer is great, the food is great, it's the service that has me walk away telling myself not to go back.

About half the time I don't get the beer I ordered. Why? About 75% of the time the servers have significant attitude with snotty remarks or long dramatic sighs. This is tiresome. So I won't go back for a while, then go and everything will be fine. Happy, and hoping that the management handled the problem, it will then happen again.

Message to the servers: if I ask for a pale ale, that's what I hope to get. If I get a brown instead and tell you about it, don't roll your eyes and sigh at me. Just fix the problem. If you don't want to be working there then don't.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Westminster, CO
(04/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Comfortable atmosphere and a few unique beers on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(04/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"I eat here at least once a week, and have never seen this apparent product of her, shall we say, imagination."

If you are going to be so petty as to point out that I misspelled ONE word out of around 100 or so, and if you are going to blame that ONE misspelling on my beer consumption, I too shall sink to your level by saying that, perhaps the reason you have never noticed wild children in the establishments is also "(perhaps a by-product of the amazing beer)." Petty person who did not even review the restaurant (yes...I know that is a fragment).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leah Leah, Boulder, CO
(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good Good
"It seems like every time I go to either restaurant, their (sic) are tons of little ones running wild, unattended while their parents just get drunk and ignore them." --Leah

Apart from her grammatical handicap (perhaps a by-product of the amazing beer), I have a difficult time believing Leah sees tons of children running wild while, by extension, tons of their parents get drunk, every time she goes here. (Another by-product of her beer consumption?)

I eat here at least once a week, and have never seen this apparent product of her, shall we say, imagination. And while the food and drink is great, yes, the owner does seem to have a problem with children (or did -- I was there that night too, and his behavior was shameful).

And to the reviewer who urged parents to wake up and smell the brewery: the owner at least pretends to cater to children, perhaps because he realizes he is located in a family-oriented section of Boulder. How else to explain a Kids-Eat-Free-Wednesdays policy?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder, CO
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
I must briefly comment on a review that says the Southern Sun is "a supposed family eating establishment." Of course, you are free to take your children to any restaurant. But this is a BREW PUB! Wake up! It's not exactly the best place for kids. The owner(s) have to allow children into the establishment, but that doesn't mean they can't exercise a great deal of control over the families who choose not to keep their kids in line. Kudos to the owner/manager for keeping the place pleasant for those of us who want to go out and have a nice, adult time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandy Sandy, Boulder, CO
(11/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A So So N/A
I forgot to mention--all the waitstaff just jumps in and takes care of whoever needs help, sharing tables. Though this sounds like a good idea, the Southern Sun has not yet gotten this system down. I tend to get pretty bad service there; every time I go I get waiters trying to deliver food to my table that I did not order (sometimes 3 times during one visit!) And many times I have had my meal delivered and then had to wait 20 minutes for my guests' food. The service is the only downfall of this place. Go for the beer!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leah Leah, Boulder, CO
(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
Boy...the same several people must have all been there on the same night back in April when the owner threw out 7 families...sounds a little fishy to me. I have been going to Mtn. and Southern Sun for years and have never witnessed anything like this. Anyway, both have AMAZING beers! The food is good for a reasonable price, too. And you can't find a cheaper, more quality happy hour in town. I for one would welcome the owner taking charge with unruly children. It seems like every time I go to either restaurant, their are tons of little ones running wild, unattended while their parents just get drunk and ignore them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leah Leah, Boulder, CO
(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
How could anyone who calls themself a beer aficionado NOT like the Sun's brewz?! Unbelievable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder, CO
(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
More Sun, same great place. The original Mountain Sun I was already a huge fan of, and the Southern Sun didn't disappoint. The food was simple and very tasty, and the service, in their unique round-robin style, is almost too effective. The beers were of course great, but not as aggressive as I was really hoping for. I did not witness any real problems with kids that other users here mention, however, this is not Chili's by any means.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matty Matty, Fort Collins, CO
(05/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
I was there too when the owner went ballistic on six or seven moms and their kids who weren't bothering anybody. (Except maybe the manager, for who knows what reason -- bad hair day?) Table Mesa needs more family restaurants, because last time I looked this is a family area. Maybe the owner needs to go away for a few years, have some kids of his own, then come back. Too bad one guy (albeit the owner) can ruin a fairly good concept restaurant for Table Mesa. Sheesh!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Boulder, CO
(04/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Lousy
Was having an okay time when I noticed the manager of the place suffer some kind of hissy fit because he didn't want children in his place. A little odd, since they have a "Kids Eat Free" Wednesdays policy. To my utter astonishment, he ordered about seven families to leave, and never come back! These women and their kids were perfectly lovely, so I can only imagine something had gone terribly wrong with the manager's personal life or medication. I agree with some of these other people here: I sure as hell won't be back. What a grumpy-toast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zelda Zelda, Boulder, CO
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
The food is greasy. The waiters are grumpy. The beer is mediocre. I won't go back there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lisa Lisa, Boulder, CO
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy Lousy
Wow, Dude, what a lot of noise in this place! You can't hear yourself ordering a beer. The grumpy-looking proprietor threw half a dozen families out of the place the night I was there, apparently because he doesn't like kids. They were well-behaved, and it was before 7 p.m., but hey, even a fascist gets to say who eats in his restaurant. This is one beer lover he won't have to decide about again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Boulder, CO
(04/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy Lousy
This place is incredibly family-unfriendly. Despite its location in the Table Mesa residential area, proprietor Kevin Daly discourages Table Mesa families from frequenting his establishment, advising them to try "Chuck E. Cheese" instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder, CO
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Splendid, splendid, splendid, splendid! I've frequented the flagship MS location many times on Pearl Street; this was my first time here. The beers are well executed and plentiful; I had the good fortune to be there on a recent weekday afternoon and enjoyed Happy Hour Pints @ $2! An embarassment of riches! I had the Triple X Pale [Hoppy!], the Colorado Kind, and the Porter. Also had the Vegetarian Chili to accompany the beer - we're blessed to have an institution of this caliber in our midst - don't miss it! [P.S. - forget the hype about the "hippies and politically correct Boulder" - these are good folk and they know their beer!]

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
This is a fine brew pub with nice energy, plenty of seating, clean and good service. For those with a penchant for more robust beers, they currently have three porters on tap... you have to try the Smoked Porter.... it is worth the trip. The food is rather typical brewpub fare, but quite fresh and a reasonable number of offerings for both Vegans and madcow types alike. And, if you don't like the political slant... there is always Colorado Springs. Pullleeeze... this is Boulder... get a clue!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Boulder, CO
(04/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
I've been a die-hard Mountain Sun fan since '95 and the new location made a good thing better. The best breweries in Boulder are Avery, Twisted Pine, and The Mountain Sun, the latter being the only one offering a brewpub. The only complaint I've ever had about The Sun (both locations) is the noise level due to chatter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Flanagan Michael Flanagan, Boulder, CO
(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Lousy
The Southern Sun is a great place for families and friends of all ages to gather and bash the political establishment. The walls are adorned with anti-Bush propaganda and socialist/left-wing platitudes. If you happen to have any respect for President Bush or have an affinity for the Republican/conservative viewpoint you might consider going elsewhere. An example of the wall art in this bar is, "Bush + Dick = screwed" Is a supposed family eating establishment really the place for low-grade political assaults and "in your face" political activism. I'd avoid this establishment at all costs unless you agree with the typical anti-American bashing, left wing socialist viewpoint. The beer is however fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chris burns, boulder, co
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
As a local and long-time fan of the original Mountain Sun, I for one had absolutely no problem with these folks opening up another place. The beer is just as good, there's more space and seating without going overboard, and the location ROCKS! 'Bout time there was someplace good for those of us that don't like hanging out down town with the rest of the Yuppies. The only complaint is that if you go on a slow night, the service can be a little off. Weird huh?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, Louisville, CO
(01/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Lousy
this place never shoulda opened. mountain sun is a cool place, too bad someone got greedy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review boulder, CO
(01/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is a new sister brewpub to the Mountain Sun Pub & Brewery on Boulder's fabled Pearl Street. They are transitioning from house beers produced at the Mountain Sun location to the 10 barrel brewery at this new location this month. At the time of my visit there were a total of nine house beers plus some additional craft beer and import guest taps. I had house version of a rye pale ale and something called a Colorado Mild, along with one of their signature burritos. This place has become immediately very popular on the south side of Boulder, with a waiting list for a table on a Tuesday evening, but they would serve you a beer while you waited. The Southern Sun is on the second level of the Table Mesa Shopping Center. Recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(10/13/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.37 seconds) 02:20:48 54.83.226.242, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS