PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


King Arthur's Steak House and Brew Pub - Oswego, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 12:12 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Oswego > King Arthur's Steak House and Brew Pub
King Arthur's Steak House and Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
King Arthur's Steak House and Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
7 West Bridge Street
Oswego, NY 13126
United States
(315) 343-1300
Listed Since: October 2002
Last Updated: October 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Oswego, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Mon 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Tue 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 80:0PM
Sat 11:00AM - 80:0PM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Greene's Ale House
(0 mile)

2) The Raven Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Kingsford House
2) Main Street House B & B
3) Oswego Inn Ltd
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPTAINS QUARTERS
2) ECONO LODGE RIVERFRONT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Buckhout--Jones Building
2) Clarke, Edwin W. and Charlotte, House
3) Edwards, John B. and Lydia, House
4) Green, Nathan and Clarissa, House
5) Hunter--Oliphant Block
6) Kingsford House
7) Littlefield, Hamilton and Rhoda, House
8) Market House
9) McKenzie, John and Harriet, House
10) Oswego Armory
11) Oswego City Hall
12) Oswego City Library
13) Oswego County Courthouse
14) Oswego Theater
15) Oswego West Pierhead Lighthouse
16) Pontiac Hotel
17) Richardson-Bates House
18) Sheldon Hall
19) Sloan, George B., Estate
20) U.S. Customhouse
21) Walton and Willett Stone Store
22) Woodruff Block
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) American Foundry & Dance Club
2) Aunt Mary's Italian Cookies
3) Avanti Bistro
4) Avery's Tavern
5) Bev's Dairy Treat
6) Billy Bob's
7) Brick Barthe
8) Buffalo Billy's
9) Cam's New York Pizzeria
10) Cheap Seats
11) Club House Tavern
12) Cody's Roadhouse
13) Enzo's Pizza
14) First Turn Inn
15) Front Door
16) Garafolo House Of Sausage
17) Global Restaurant
18) Golden Phoenix
19) Greene's Ale House
20) Hammonds Corners
21) Herring's Landing
22) Hong Kong Chinese Restaurant
23) Humphrey's Hideaway
24) Just A Brew Or Two
25) King Arthur's Steak House
26) Lighthouse Tavern
27) Lighthouse Tavern
28) Lill's Tavern
29) Little While Restaurant
30) Nana's Pizza Shack
31) North Port Pub
32) Nuthouse
33) Oswego Port City Diner
34) Pavone's Pizza
35) Pines Restaurant
36) Pizza Pub
37) Pizza Villa
38) Port City Tavern
39) Route 29 Entertainment Inc
40) Ruby Tuesday
41) Scriba Town Inn
42) Sting
43) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
44) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
45) Toucans Tropical Bar
46) Woodchuck Saloon
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I drove 20 miles to check out this place - only to be met with a sign saying that they were not selling any alcoholic beverages while they renewed their liquor license. My general predisposition is that local, state and federal bureaucrats make up a bunch of complex rules that serve no useful purpose. However, I would have to think that near the top of the priority list of any brew pub would be managing their license renewal without interruption. I did not stay to sample their food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Brad, Oakton, VA
(08/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great So So
First time visitor to K.A.s. My wife and I stopped for lunch and were warmly greeted by Julie who served us in the Pub.

I ordered an IPA and my wife got a Stout. The IPA had the appearance of a nut brown ale and almost tasted like one. No aromatic Cascade hops present, not very bitter like most IPAs. If entered into a competition, I don't think it would pass the style specs.

The Stout was good, though, with great mouthfeel, the right amount of dryness and even left a lacy artwork from the head.

Julie gave me a sample of the lager, which tasted like a light beer, very watery with little body or mouthfeel.

I didn't taste any of the others, but in all honesty assumed they would be as lackluster at the IPA and the lager.

Perusing the menu, it is way overpriced for the Oswego area, with burgers priced at $10.75. I opted for the individual chicken pizza, which I think was around $8.75. It was very good and larger than I expected. My wife's Asian Chicken salad was very tasty.

All in all, I was very disappointed with the brews. I was told the brewmaster was fresh out of brewing school, but I would think that should be a qualification for good brews rather than an excuse.

The interesting thing that caught my eye were the dozens of LaBatt beer signs hanging over the bar. You would think a "brewpub" would be showcasing THEIR product rather than a common import.

We left and went directly to Syracuse's Armory Square for some great micros on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Powell Bob Powell, Camden, NY
(08/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michelle Pauldine Michelle Pauldine, Oswego, NY
(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Stopped by here with a friend and arrived with low expectations. I can happily say I noticed some definite improvements in the beer quality. Don't get me wrong; it's no Middle Ages, but the beers were clean and refreshing. 8 were on tap (was told they were slammed the previous weekend, so maybe more than 8 is a possibility?) with the brown and the Scotch being my favorites. I was surprised that the porter was the weak sister of the lot, kind of ho-hum. Great chef salad, reasonably priced. I'm glad I stopped by!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
We were here again the first day of Harborfest (July 28, 2005). Although some of their bottled beers are "geared to" the Harborfest crowd (the Bud Lites, etc.), they still had their own beers that we always enjoy. The Dirt Bag Brown was excellent as was their IPA. The brewer is from Middle Ages in Syracuse. He replaced Andy Gersten who went to Sackets (previously from Empire). We look forward to our next visit and more good beers here. Although we have not had any meals here, the menus are very interesting. We plan to come to Oswego during the cold, Central New York winters and sample some of their meals. This is truly a unique place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
Located in a neat building in the nice town of Oswego, this might be a case of wasted opportunity. 9 beers on tap, but I was hard pressed to find one that I would willingly try again. I guess the IPA was OK, but nothing memorable. Several of the ales were indistinguishable from each other. The brown, golden, and Old English ales all had a peculiar medicinal quality. Tried the scotch eggs with the intent of grabbing a sandwich also. No way--the scotch eggs were enormous! Each was the size of a small potato; I couldn't finish them! Tasted great, too. I'd love to stop by again, as the area is a great place just to hang out. I'll eagerly await some reviews reporting some better quality beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Andy Gersten formally from the Empire Brewing Company in Syracuse is now brewing at K.A.'s. They cuurenty have have 11 beers on tap that include Wheat, Golden Ale, ESB, Amber Light, Irish Red. Mild English, American IPA, Imperial IPA,"dirt bag" Brown, Scotch, and Oatmeal Stout. There is not a bad beer in the bunch, although I favored the Wheat, Golden Ale, Irish red, IIPA and AIPA. Some where to malty for me. The IPA's were very hoppy and emmm...good. The place is not a traditional pub, but a nice restaurant. The staff is friendly and the food is very good. It's not a place to hang out in, but it's nice to stop in for a beer or dinner. They have banquet rooms upstairs as well as suites on the third floor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from KGBHEAT KGBHEAT, OSWEGO, NY
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Good
I have been to King Arthur's four times and was surprisded to see that I hadn't put in a review yet. I noticed that when I was checking Lew Bryson's reviews to see if he had visited some places I'd been to on Long Island. When I saw his review I had to check out the pub crawler page. While I have to admit that the beer here is not exceptional--when I have been there it was certainly not "undrinkable." To put my comments in perspective, I visited in Jan. 2002, January 2003, July 2003 and Sept. 2003--so things may have changed and Lew's unfortuate comments may be accurate. My largest complaint was the use of plastic cups Harborfest weekend--for indoor service. The Sunday brunch is just great!!!! But, to the beer. The oatmeal stout had a really good flavor, but was a bit flat for my liking. The porter had a good nutty flavor, but did not taste like a porter--it tasted like a nut brown. When I tasted it and thought 'nut brown' I really liked it...but it's no porter. The IPA was ok, nothing spectactular--but certaily drinkable. I have friends that live in Hannibal so I hope to get back to King Arthur's soon. Their location, space, and food are really good and I want their beer to keep pace!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jackie Jackie, Mattydale, NY
(06/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
We reviewed King Arthur's in June. After reading Lew Bryson's review from several days ago, we had to get back to "see for ourselves" if things had changed that dramatically. Eric, the General Manager, waited on us. We spent a delightful couple of hours. Sampled some of the beers (yes, we agree, some were "old" and need to be trashed). But the Porter and the Harborfest are wonderful beers. Eric has great plans to add some new beers. The menu has changed since when we were there in June. Oswego just doesn't "support" some of their previous selections. But the menu still looks good. Their plans (as we urged them earlier) are to add Beef Wellington - perfect with their King Arthur's name - once a month. We cannot wait! Eric took us on a tour of the dining room. Wow, what a beautiful painting on the ceiling - Michelangelo style - done by (I think) the owner's daughter, but forgive me if I have that wrong. After all, after several wonderful Porter's, you can't get everything exact! Beautiful stained glass windows throughout. We are still impressed. Again, the beers that have been there since June need to be trashed. But enjoy the Porter and the Harborfest and look for some more new ones. We can't wait to return and see what new beers are there. Bummer on the Bud Lights, etc. Keep your own good ones there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A Great N/A
Hate to do this, but...I made my first visit to King Arthur's two days ago. It's in a great location, right by the river and the lake, in a nice section of town, in a cool old historic building. The place itself is very nice, good-looking bar, a lot of thought went into the decor. There were six house beers on tap, a good number. But the beer itself--in 20 years of drinking non-mainstream beer, I've only said a beer was "undrinkable" twice. The Wheat ale and the Oatmeal Stout at King Arthur's both fell into that class. I'm guessing, but I was told that the brewer, Steve, had left a few months ago, and the new brewer, Mark (sorry about the lack of last names, but the bartender couldn't recall them), had just started a couple days earlier, so I'm guessing that these beers have been on forever and have gone bad. But guys, come on! You have to know these beers are bad, they're totally soured. The Harborfest beer was actually pretty good, as was the Porter. Why not take off the soured ones and save your good name and reputation? It's worth a lot more than half a tank of skanked beer. Dump the bad beers, and let the new guy get to work. Looking forward to trying the new stuff sometime soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Can't quite figure out the address and phone number listed here, but the following is what is on their business card that we picked up yesterday while enjoying their beers. Has to be the same place. (7 West Bridge Street, 315-343-1300)

After a couple of hours of indecision as to what to do on a sunny (unusual this Spring) Monday afternoon, we knew we wanted to be near water so we decided to go to Oswego for the afternoon. Our first stop was King Arthur’s Brewpub. We have been to this location several times in the past – different brewpub, different management, different everything (thank goodness). Surroundings were familiar, as they used the same vats, although the bar was now located on the right instead of the left. No big deal, so OK, we settled in, got a sampler from Sherry the bartender. Tried some of this and some of that. Terrific names for their beers, reminded us of Marc Rubensteins’ Middle Ages beers in Syracuse. Sorta the same theme. We had Galahad’s Golden Ale (a light beer, but surprisingly good), Taliesin the Radiant Pale Ale (a respectable Pale Ale), Sir Gawaine Amber Ale (another respectable Ale), Guinevere’s Rye Potion, a Pumpkin spice (not our type), Merlin’s Mystical Porter, and King Arthur’s Olde English Ale. After the sampler, I stayed with the Porter (WOW was it good!) and my friend stayed with the Olde English Ale (similar to Middle Ages Highlander). We have nothing but positive things to say about this place – terrific beers (please don’t change the brewing of these fine beers), top-notch menu, friendly and informative staff. We met the chef, Gren, who mentioned he would try just about anything on special request. Sure hope he’ll be able to meet our request next month when we call ahead and ask for Beef Wellington. After all, this is King Arthur’s and Beef Wellington is an English favorite! The wine selection is terrific also. Some of the items on the food menu are Osso Bucco, Veal Medallions, smoked Quail, Venison Chili, Bangers and Mash, Shepard’s (note the spelling!) Pie with venison, Salmon, Lobster, and many other fine choices. They have banquets with terrific buffet selections and plans to have lodging on the third floor. Please keep up the excellence. The “315” area needs more great brewpubs and elegant, classy restaurants. The only disappointing thing is the brewer has returned to his home base of Seattle (although he left lots of the brewed beer). He trained the people here so we will see over time if they were trained well. We hope so because if the quality and selection continues to be top notch, we will return often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(06/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
After a couple of hours of indecision as to what to do on a sunny (unusual this Spring) Monday afternoon, we knew we wanted to be near water so we decided to go to Oswego for the afternoon. Our first stop was King Arthur’s Brewpub. We have been to this physical location several times in the past – different brewpub, different management, different everything (thank goodness). Surroundings were familiar, as they used the same vats, although the bar was now located on the right instead of the left. That's OK, so we settled in, got a sampler from Sherry the bartender. Tried some of this and some of that. Terrific names for their beers, reminded us of Marc Rubensteins’ Middle Ages beers in Syracuse. Sorta the same theme. We had Galahad’s Golden Ale (a light beer, but surprisingly good), Taliesin the Radiant Pale Ale (a respectable Pale Ale), Sir Gawaine Amber Ale (another respectable Ale), Guinevere’s Rye Potion, a Pumpkin spice (not our type), Merlin’s Mystical Porter, and King Arthur’s Olde English Ale. After the sampler, I stayed with the Porter (WOW - this is an awesome beer) and my friend stayed with the Olde English Ale (similar to Middle Ages Highlander). We have nothing but positive things to say about this place – terrific beers (please don’t change the brewing of these fine beers), top-notch menu, friendly and informative staff. We met the chef, Gren, who mentioned he would try just about anything on special request. Sure hope he’ll be able to meet our request next month when we call ahead and ask for Beef Wellington. After all, this is King Arthur’s and Beef Wellington is an English favorite! The wine selection is first-class also. Some of the items on the food menu are Osso Bucco, Veal Medallions, smoked Quail, Venison Chili, Bangers and Mash, Shepard’s (note the spelling!) Pie with venison, Salmon, Lobster, and many other fine choices. They have banquets with quite fine buffet selections and plans to have lodging on the third floor. Please keep up the excellence. The “315” area code needs more great brewpubs and elegant, classy restaurants. The only disappointing thing is the brewer has returned to his home base of Seattle (although he left lots of the brewed beer). He trained the people here so we will see over time if they were trained well. I hope so because we plan to return often

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OT
(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is a great place to visit. Located in historic Oswego, New York 45 minutes north of Syracuse and situated on the shores of Lake Ontario. King Arthur's knows how to brew beers and serve up the food. A must see on your list of places to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oswego, NY
(10/02/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.246 seconds) 12:12:21 54.80.100.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS