PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hofbrauhaus Newport - Newport, KY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 05:51 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > KY > Newport > Hofbrauhaus Newport
Hofbrauhaus Newport Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hofbrauhaus Newport
Overall: Great    Score: 74.5 / 100
3rd & Saratoga at the Levee
Newport, KY 41071
United States
(859) 491-7200
Listed Since: June 2003
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Newport, KY
Beer Guide for Kentucky

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hofbrauhaus Newport
45 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(27 within 5 miles)
1) Dewey's Pizza
(0 mile)

2) Claddagh Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Beer Sellar
(0 mile)

4) Longworth's
(3 miles)

5) Grammer's
(3 miles)

6) Courtyard Cafe
(3 miles)

7) Guido's Lounge
(3 miles)

8) Alive One
(3 miles)

9) Nicholson's Tavern and Pub
(3 miles)

10) Arnold's Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

11) Rock Bottom Brewery
(3 miles)

12) Cock and Bull English Pub
(3 miles)

13) Jack Quinn's
(3 miles)

14) Strasse Haus
(3 miles)

15) Rhinos
(4 miles)

16) BarrelHouse Brewing Company
(4 miles)

17) Hudepohl-Schoenling
(4 miles)

18) Dewey's Pizza - Clifton
(4 miles)

19) Allyn's Cafe
(4 miles)

20) Christy's and Lenhardt's
(4 miles)

21) Mecklenburg Gardens
(4 miles)

22) Holy Grail Tavern and Grille
(4 miles)

23) Teller's of Hyde Park
(5 miles)

24) Mulligan's Hyde Park Pub
(5 miles)

25) Pub at Rookwood Mews
(5 miles)

26) Hyde Park Tavern
(5 miles)

27) Arthur's Cafe
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Amos Shinkle Townhouse
2) Ash-Ley House Bed & Breakfast
3) Christopher's Bed & Breakfast
4) Clifton House
5) Gateway Bed & Breakfast
6) Mary's Belle View Inn
7) Parker House Bed & Breakfast
8) Phuntsok Dechen Ling
9) Sandford House Bed & Breakfast
10) Symphony Hotel Bed & Breakfast
11) Victoria Inn of Hyde Park
12) Weller Haus Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FORT MITCHELL INN
2) BRIDGESTREET GRAMERCY GARFIELD
3) CINCINNATI NEAR DOWNTOWN
4) CINCINNATI RIVERFRONT
5) CINCINNATIAN HOTEL
6) COMFORT SUITES NEWPORT
7) EXTENDEDSTAY COVINGTON
8) FOUR POINTS SHERATON DOWNTOWN
9) GARFIELD SUITES HOTEL
10) HANNAFORD SUITES HOTEL NEWPOR
11) HILTON CINCINNATI NETHERLAND
12) HYATT REGENCY CINCINNATI
13) MARRIOTT CVG RVR CTR
14) MARRIOTT KINGSGATE CONFERENCE
15) MILLENNIUM HOTEL
16) OAKWOOD DOWNTOWN CINCINNATI
17) RADISSON CINCINNATI RIVERFRONT
18) RAMADA INN CINCINNATI DOWNTOWN
19) RAMADA INN FT WRIGHT
20) TERRACE HOTEL CINCINNATI
21) THE VERNON MANOR HOTEL
22) THE WESTIN CINCINNATI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aklemeyer Commercial Buildings
2) Alexandra, The
3) Alms and Doepke Dry Goods Company
4) Apostolic Bethlehem Temple Church
5) B & O Freight Terminal
6) Baker, John S., House
7) Bates Building
8) Bauer Apartments
9) Bavarian Brewing Company
10) Beard, Daniel Carter, Boyhood Home
11) Bellevue
12) Bellevue High School
13) Bepler, August, House
14) Bernheim House
15) Brittany Apartment Building
16) Burdsal, Samuel, House
17) Burroughs, C. H., House
18) Capt. Stone House
19) Carew Tower
20) Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption
21) Church, John, Company Building
22) Cincinnati and Suburban Telephone Company Building
23) Cincinnati City Hall
24) Cincinnati Enquirer Building
25) Cincinnati Gymnasium and Athletic Club
26) Cincinnati Music Hall
27) Cincinnati Observatory Building
28) Cincinnati Tennis Club
29) Cincinnati Work House and Hospital
30) Clauder's Pharmacy
31) Columbia Baptist Cemetery
32) Court Street Firehouse
33) Courtland Flats
34) Covenant First Presbyterian Church
35) Covington and Cincinnati Suspension Bridge
36) Covington Downtown Commercial Historic District (Boundary Increase)
37) Cox, George B., House
38) Cox, Jacob D., House
39) Cummins School
40) Cuvier Press Club
41) Davidson, Tyler, Fountain
42) Dayton High School
43) Decker, Stephen, Rowhouse
44) Derby, H. W., Building
45) Detmer, A. M., House
46) Doctors' Building
47) East Walnut Hills Firehouse
48) Eckert Building
49) Eden Park Stand Pipe
50) Eden Park Station No. 7
51) Edgecliff
52) Eighteenth District School
53) Eleventh District School
54) Elmwood Hall
55) Elsinore Arch
56) Fairfield Avenue Historic District
57) Fenwick Club Annex
58) Findlay Market Building
59) First Congregational-Unitarian Church
60) First German Methodist Episcopal Church
61) First Universalist Church
62) Foote--Fister Mansion
63) Ford Motor Company Cincinnati Plant
64) Friedlander, Abraham J., House
65) Fulton-Presbyterian Cemetery
66) GAR Monument in Covington
67) Gilbert Row
68) Goodall Building
69) Gruen Watch Company--Time Hill
70) Gwynne Building
71) Haddon Hall
72) Hamilton County Memorial Building
73) Hearne House
74) Hemann, Joseph A., House
75) Hoadley, George, Jr., House
76) Hoodin Building
77) Hooper Building
78) Houston House
79) Ida Street Viaduct
80) Ingalls Building
81) JOHN W. HUBBARD (sternwheeler)
82) Kellogg House
83) Kenney's Crossing
84) Kenton County Library
85) Kestler Building
86) Krippendorf-Dittman Company
87) Kruempelman Farmhouse
88) Krumberg, Theodore, Building
89) La Tosca Flats
90) Landt Building
91) Levy, Harry Milton, House
92) Lillybanks
93) Lombardy Apartment Building
94) LuNeack House
95) Lunkenheimer, Frederick, House
96) Madam Fredin's Eden Park School and Neighboring Row House
97) MAJESTIC
98) Mardot Antique Shop
99) Maxwell House
100) Mayer, S. C., House
101) McKinley School
102) Mecklenburg's Garden
103) Melbourne Flats
104) Mills' Row
105) Monmouth Street Historic District
106) Moormann, Bernard H., House
107) Moser Family Houses
108) Mother Of God Roman Catholic Church
109) Mount Adams Public School
110) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
111) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
112) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
113) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
114) Northern Bank of Kentucky
115) Norwell Residence
116) Odd Fellows Hall
117) Ohio National Guard Armory
118) Old St. Mary's Church, School and Rectory
119) Our Lady of Mercy High School
120) Palace Hotel
121) Palace Theatre
122) Park Flats
123) Patton, Robert, House
124) Pendleton, George Hunt, House
125) Peters-Kupferschmid House
126) Pfleger Family Houses
127) Phoenix Building/Cincinnati Club
128) Phoenix Club
129) Pilgrim Presbyterian Church
130) Plum Street Temple
131) Police Station No. 2
132) Police Station No. 5
133) Police Station No. 6
134) Police Station No. 7
135) Posey Flats
136) Powell, Henry, House
137) Power Building
138) Procter and Collier-Beau Brummell Building
139) Race Street Historic District
140) Ransley Apartment Building
141) Ratterman, Bernard, House
142) Rattermann, Heinrich A., House
143) Robb, L. B., Drugstore
144) Rookwood Pottery
145) Ropes, Nathaniel, Building
146) Russell, Charles B., House
147) Sacred Heart Church
148) Salem Methodist Episcopal Church and Parsonage
149) Sauer, August, House
150) Saxony Apartment Building
151) Seiter, Joseph, House
152) SHOWBOAT MAJESTIC
153) Southgate-Parker-Maddux House
154) Spencer Town Hall
155) St. Francis De Sales Church Historic District
156) St. Francis Xavier Church
157) St. George Parish and Newman Center
158) St. Paul Church Historic District
159) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
160) St. Peter-In-Chains Cathedral
161) St. Rosa Church
162) St. Vincent de Paul School
163) Stites House
164) Stowe, Harriet Beecher, House
165) Taft Museum
166) Third Street Motor Car Company Building
167) Times-Star Building
168) Trinity Episcopal Church
169) U.S. Army Fort Thomas Mess Hall
170) Underwriters Salvage Corps
171) Veteran's Monument in Covington
172) Wadsworth Electric Manufacturing Company
173) Wallace, Charlton, House
174) Walnut Hills United Presbyterian Church
175) Weston, John Henry, House
176) William Howard Taft National Historic Site
177) Wilson-Gibson House
178) Worth, Gorham A., House
179) Young Women's Christian Association of Cincinnati
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 820 Bar
2) A Oi Japanese Cuisine
3) Absolutely 4 Food
4) Ann's Ice Balls & Ice House
5) Arby's
6) Arby's Roast Beef Restaurants
7) Atlanta Bread Co
8) Auntie Mom's
9) Aynies Deli
10) Bamboo Club
11) Bar Louie
12) Barb'z
13) Bart's
14) Barton's On Park Place
15) Beer Sellar
16) Bellevue Vets Bar
17) Benson's Inc
18) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
19) Bobby Mackey's Music World Inc
20) Brandicorp
21) Brass Bull
22) Brass Mule
23) Breakfast At Ashley's
24) Brio Tuscan Grill
25) Buckhead Mountain Grill
26) Burger King
27) Burger King
28) Burrito Joe's
29) Butler's
30) Cafe Istanbul
31) Calico Kitchen
32) Calico Kitchen
33) Captain's Cove Lounge
34) Casual Chinese
35) Centerfold Lounge
36) Chart House Restaurant
37) Chez Alphonse
38) Claddagh Pubs
39) Coach's Corner
40) Coco's Family Restaurant
41) Cottage
42) Country Inn
43) Covington Chili Inc
44) Crazy Fox Saloon
45) Derby Cafe
46) Detroit Joe's Restaurant
47) Dewey's Pizza
48) Dixie Chili Inc
49) Dixie Chili Inc
50) Don Pablo's Mexican Kitchen
51) Donatos Pizza
52) Doris Bar & Diner
53) Dumplins
54) Empress Chili & Deli
55) Fairfield Coffee Co
56) Frankie's Catering
57) Frisch's Big Boy Restaurant
58) Funny Bone Comedy Club Rstrnt
59) Gameworks
60) George's Grecian Grill
61) Gold Star Chili
62) Gold Star Chili
63) Gold Star Chili
64) Gourmet Chili
65) Graeter's Ice Cream
66) Green Derby Catering
67) Green Derby Restaurant
68) Hardy's Rock Cafe
69) Hilltop Inn
70) Hofbrauhaus
71) Hong Kong Restaurant
72) Hooters
73) Huddle's Cafe
74) In Between
75) In Town Cafe
76) J & J's Bar
77) J P's Cafe
78) Jack Quinn's Irish Ale House
79) Jeannie's Tavern
80) Jersey Mike's Submarines
81) Joe's Crab Shack
82) Joe's Sports Bar
83) K & K Restaurant
84) Karann's Wicker Basket
85) Katles Deli
86) Kfc
87) Laree's Restaurant & Tavern
88) Last Chance Saloon
89) Latonia Family Restaurant
90) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
91) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
92) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
93) Liars Club
94) Long John Silver's
95) Louis' Ribs
96) Lynna's Grill
97) Lytle Food Shoppe
98) Mansion Hill Tavern
99) Mary Lou's Bar & Grille
100) Mc Donald's
101) Mc Donald's
102) Mike Fink Restaurant
103) Miller's Fill-In
104) Mister Softee
105) Mitchell's Fish Market
106) Mokka
107) Molly Malone's Covington
108) Montgomery Inn Banquet Ctr
109) Montgomery Inn Ribs King
110) Morning Star Cafe
111) Neu Green Lantern Cafe
112) Newport On The Levee
113) Nielander's Cafe
114) Nortons Cafe
115) Office
116) Oriental X-Press
117) Our Way Out
118) Pasquale's Pizza & Carry Out
119) Pasquale's Pizza & Carry Out
120) Pendleton Street Catering
121) Penn Station
122) Pepper Pod Restaurant
123) Pic's Cafe
124) Pit Stop
125) Pizza Hut
126) Playpen
127) Pompilio's
128) Ponderosa Steak House
129) Ralph's Germantowne Pizza Haus
130) Razzberry's Restaurant
131) Remington's Roadhouse
132) Rio Grande Mexican Rstrnt
133) River City Beverage Svc
134) Sallie & Berry's
135) Scalea's Ristorante & Market
136) Secrets Nightclub
137) Shirley's Place
138) Silvia's Mexican Restaurant
139) Sis's Family Affair
140) Skyline Chili Inc
141) Skyline Chili Inc
142) Skyline Chili Inc
143) Skyline Chili Inc
144) Sly Fox
145) Sonoma Restaurant
146) Southgate House
147) Special's
148) Starbucks
149) Sub Station Ii
150) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
151) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
152) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
153) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
154) Syndicate
155) Taco Bell
156) Taylor's Landing Tavern
157) Thirsty Camel Cafe
158) Three Brothers Cafe
159) Tropicana
160) Up Star Crow
161) Visions Inc
162) Washington Platform Oyster Hse
163) Wendy's
164) Wendy's
165) Whiskey Flats
166) White Castle
167) White Castle
168) White Castle
169) York Street Intl Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Awesome!
The beer was yummy! My wife really liked the sauerkraut. Service was fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I noticed the last review was a while ago, so I thought I would make it current. The beers are still authenic and very good. I prefer the dunkel, but all are true to the style. The food and service are consistently good also. Go and enjoy! It is worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from carey.williams@fuse.net carey.williams@fuse.net, Lawrenceburg, IN
(08/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Everyone knows the Germans are known for their beer well this was the first authentic Hofbrauhaus in the US and the beer is as close to authentic as you can get. they actually have a brewmeister from the original one in Munich come to this one and make sure the beer is being brewed correctly. if your haven't been there your missing out on the experience of a life time. i have been to the one in Munich many times and its pretty darn close to it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nathan nathan, cincinnati, oh
(03/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Awesome!
I would like to state that despite the fact that this place is often crowded, I almost always make a point of heading down there when I visit my inlaws. The wheat beer is simply peerless. The other beers never seem to touch it, but then neither do the wheat beers at any other establishment. The food and service are serviceable, just order yourself a wheat at the bar and you will be rewarded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review louisville, KY
(01/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Awesome!
I hit this place every time I am in Cincinnati. The atmosphere is absolutely perfect, the large dining hall, live band, beer garden. Small children will love the dancing and marching with flags. The brew kettles behind the bar are a sight to see. The food is good if you like German (the best German restaurant in the world is Schmidt's in Columbus,OH, check it out!!!!). The beer is above average and the selection is usually adequate to cover a large variety. The wait can be long on weekends so get there early. The Sunday brunch is also worth going to but don't get there too early or you will have to wait till 12 noon for beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Roanoke, VA
(05/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Awesome!
My hubby and I are homebrewers and ale drinkers but we still enjoyed this place. The lagers were pretty good. We both had the hefe which was tasty. The food was good German food and the pretzels with beer cheese were incredible. We had two small children with us and they loved the live music and dancing. We did go on Mother's Day and had to wait @45 minutes for a table, but that was most likely just because of the holiday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marna Marna, Owingsville, KY
(05/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Awesome! Awesome!
OUTSTANDING ATMOSPHERE AND LAGERS ARE FLAWLESS. TRADITIONAL GERMAN FOOD (IF THAT'S YOUR THIHG).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(04/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Last Sunday I stopped for a quick lunch at this place, several years after my initial visit. For what it tries to be, I think the Hofbrauhaus does a pretty good job in terms of beer, food, and environment. The lady tending bar said that all the draft beer they serve is produced onsite (not the case when they opened as I recall, when some beer was being shipped from Germany). The menu shows four full-time beers (lager, weizen, light, and dunkel) and a different seasonal each month, all presumably traditional German recipes. Their March seasonal, a marzen, only lasted about half the month, so they were offering as a substitute an unfiltered zwickelbier based on the Hofbrau Premium Lager recipe. I started with the slightly sweet-tasting zwickelbier and then switched to the Hofbrau Dunkel, a tasty dark lager. I had a wurst platter with three kinds of sausage along with potatoes and kraut, and listened to the oompah band with a moderate-sized early afternoon crowd. I'd stop here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(03/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Great
Went after a Friday night Reds game to celebrate my sister & her roommates graduations from UC. Loved it from the moment we walked in. The Haus band is great and they really get the crowd involved.

Many of my friends think Bud Light and Miller Light is real beer so they weren't very impressed with the quality of the beer, but what do they know? I enjoyed the Wheat (Munich Weizen) the most, followed by the dark beer (Dunkel) and then the Lager.

They don't have a lot of beers, but the quality of what they offer is nice.

Only food I had was some leftover pretzel from a friend. Thought it tasted pretty decent but I was drunk so that might not have been accurate.

Service needs improved for the busy weekend crowds. Bartenders aren't real friendly, but when you're trying to serve 15 people a minute, it's tough to be friendly. The "nazi" security wasn't too bad while I was there. Only problem we had was some wannabe cop kept shoving us out of the way when waitresses would walk by. Other than that, just the routine "get off the table, you're allowed on the benches but not the tables."

Overall -- I'd recommend it to anyone. One of the most entertaining nights I've had in some time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Bowling Green, OH
(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Great
Went after a Friday night Reds game to celebrate my sister & her roommates graduations from UC. Loved it from the moment we walked in. The Haus band is great and they really get the crowd involved.

Many of my friends think Bud Light and Miller Light is real beer so they weren't very impressed with the quality of the beer, but what do they know? I enjoyed the Wheat (Munich Weizen) the most, followed by the dark beer (Dunkel) and then the Lager.

They don't have a lot of beers, but the quality of what they offer is nice.

Only food I had was some leftover pretzel from a friend. Thought it tasted pretty decent but I was drunk so that might not have been accurate.

Service needs improved for the busy weekend crowds. Bartenders aren't real friendly, but when you're trying to serve 15 people a minute, it's tough to be friendly. The "nazi" security wasn't too bad while I was there. Only problem we had was some wannabe cop kept shoving us out of the way when waitresses would walk by. Other than that, just the routine "get off the table, you're allowed on the benches but not the tables."

Overall -- I'd recommend it to anyone. One of the most entertaining nights I've had in some time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Bowling Green, OH
(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My visit was early evening on a Saturday, just before a Reds game. I was amazed that I got a table right away. The waiter, a guy named Chris, was going out of his way to be helpful and provided good service. I had a couple of liters of the Dunkel. I liked the smooth flavor, and it didn't ruin my palate like most American corporate swill. My girlfriend and I shared beir cheese and pretzels. Yes, it tasted like a milder, melted Velveeta. It wasn't unpleasant, but I preferred dipping my pretzel in the mustard. My main course was the Würstlteller. The mashed potatoes were thick, but not lumpy and tasted good. The kraut was not as tart as what I can get in a can at home. I don't know what authentic German kraut is supposed to taste like, but regardless I liked this kraut. The bierwurst and mettwurst were fabulous! Tasty, and full of flavor, but the bratwurst (which I expected to be my favorite) didn't blow my skirt up, not a lot of flavor. My girlfriend had Sauerbraten, which was even better than what I had. The meat was tender and flavorful, the apple kraut went so well with this meal and the fried cabbage is always a favorite of mine. I had apple strudel for dessert, it was sweet, rich and the vanilla cream sauce only made it better. My companion had the Bavarian Creme Puff, and she loved it. I don't care for cream puffs, I don't care what country they hail from. Again, our service was top notch. Chris helped us when we needed it, and offered good suggestions since this was our first visit. Perpare to spend some money, I racked up a bill of $80.00 just for an appetizer, two entrees, two desserts, a coke and two liters of beer. This didn't include a generous tip. Crowded, but not packed like sardines, there was a good mix of people of all ages, so not so many "Hey look, I spent $3.50 for a bud light and I think that is cool!" kids. I didn't see any security that everyone else seems to have a problem with. When so much alcohol is served, I guess you have to have some kind of protection for the restauraunt and it's guests. But you have to hire professionals, not cop wannabes. I don't know if Hofbräuhaus Newport is a commercialized, F'ed up American version of the real thing but I loved it all, the waitresses in their dresses, the brass band, the decorations, all added to the atmosphere. I plan to return. Hopefully, it will be as good as my first visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Baker Jerry Baker, New Albany, IN
(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was there mid-day, no crowds. Mr. Jack Frost played accordian and we drank several liters of Dunkels and had a fantastic time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Enjoyed a nice sunny afternoon on the HUGE patio--what a great place! The beer was great and our server was prompt to refill the beer and the water (to stay hydrated!). Wish we could have stayed longer and sampled more beer--we'll definitely be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Rupp Neil Rupp, Columbus, OH
(04/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I always have a great time at the Hofbrauhaus. Had the sampler then a litre of the Dunkels and a litre of the Bavarian Wheat (seasonal). Both were excellent!! Jagerschnitchel was outstanding. Excellent bartender. Great crowed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Brentwood ( S of N'ville), TN
(04/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Being a local I have been to the Haus on several occasions. The beer is always top shelf. If you go on a weekend night expect HUGE crowds and with that comes lines to the restroom, slow service, tight security, etc... However if you go during the day or a weekday night you will have a great time. Great beer, Great atmosphere, Great service. I have read lots of negatives about the Hofbrauhaus, and the local "Bud Light" Crowd. Its a BeerPub, not a country club, take the stick out long enough to have a good time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Childers John Childers, Dry Ridge, KY
(04/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Great
You have to realize that this is german style beer. While mosy german beers do little for me, their Hefeweizen is spectacular! Weekend evenings here are an event. they have excellent food and a great atmosphere, just stick with the wheat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Great
You have to realize that this is german style beer. While mosy german beers do little for me, their Hefeweizen is spectacular! Weekend evenings here are an event. they have excellent food and a great atmosphere, just stick with the wheat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good Lousy
I've been to the Hofbrauhaus three times, and would not make it a point of going back anytime soon. My first visit, I had the beer sampler. I believe it was 6 different beers, none of which really overwhelmed me. At the time their seasonal beer was a Maibock, which while it didn't blow me away, it was the best that they had to offer. I was only there for the beer this visit, as I brew my own and was contemplating brewing a traditional German styled beer. However after tasting all of the German styled beers, I went a different direction with my brewing.

The second visit was a few months later, this time mainly for the food, but also because a brewing friend of mine wanted to try it as well. The food is your typical Americanized German fare, with all sorts of sausages and sandwiches that look and sound great on the menu. However in tasting a good variety of items, they're mainly covered in 'bier cheese' which is basically melted Velveeta in my opinion, so they all taste the same. The beer did not improve this visit either. The seasonal was a Doppelbock, which again was drinkable, but did not overwhelm me at all.

The third visit was with a large group for a local beer competetion hosted nearby. And in my opinion, this was the third strike to Hofbrauhaus so I won't be returning.

Hofbrauhaus does have a nice party atmosphere, with Polka bands and conga lines that gets the crowd involved throughout the establishment. And they have a nicely styled beer garden when the weather cooperates. But to survive in the location that they've chosen, they've had to sort of cater their beer to the Bud Light crowd, and get away from where the true German styled beer that they should be brewing came from. For being the only true Hofbrauhaus outside of Munich, I was extremely disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Short Doug Short, Indian Springs, OH
(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Great
Visited on a Saturday night while in Cincinnnati for the Bills-Bengals game -great atmosphere if you are into huge crowds singing and dancing on the long benches to live polka music and sing a longs - didn't have any food but enjoyed the Munich Weizen a lot - good wheat beer - all in all a good time

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Drag Nate Drag, dunkirk, NY
(01/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Everybody has to wait a huge amount of time. People were seated before me (who arrived after me) while I patiently waited. It has nothing to do with race (or being a non-white American), don't jump to conclusions too quickly! If you come with a party of 4-6, you will be seated rather quickly - the more friends, the more beer, the more money for the house. If you have two, you have to expect to wait: this place is mostly benches and it's ultra-crowded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cincinnati, OH
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I had a great experience at this establishment. The service was great. We went at a slow time so we had the opportunity to chat at length with a number of the staff. Everyone was very friendly. Next, the food, also great. And finally the beer. Granted the Hofbrauhaus only serves German style lagers but all of them I tried were fresh, tasty and true to style. I was fortunate enough to have the brewmasters tap the new Octoberfest while I was there and it was great. I also want to thank Marcus and Tim for their hospitality and the brewery tour. These guys certainly know their craft well. I will definitely return to the Hofbrauhaus the next time I'm in the Cincinnati area. Hopefully I'll be able to go when they have a big crowd so I can get the full effect of the German beer hall atmosphere. I would rate the Hofbrauhaus a must visit if in the Cincinnati area. I was also recently at the very new Hofbrauhaus in Las Vegas. Also a must visit it there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Boy Beer Boy, Suffield, OH
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I do not see what everyone is complaining about. They seem to be under new management because the whole place seems to be running better and more organized.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Cincinnati, OH
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Thought I would give them another try... NO IMPROVEMENT! They must be getting their clientele from vacationers. My guess is that not many locals are repeat customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carol Carol, Local, KY
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The beer was excellent. (remember this is a German beer hall, you are not going to find IPAs, stouts, etc. here). Marzen, Helles, and bock was fantastic. Awesome German good. Great entertainment. Fun for the entire family.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(06/23/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.327 seconds) 05:51:37 54.235.5.178, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS