PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Grand Lake Brewing Company - Grand Lake, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 10:48 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Grand Lake > Grand Lake Brewing Company
Grand Lake Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Grand Lake Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
915 Grand Avenue
Grand Lake, CO 80447
United States
(970) 627-1711
Listed Since: July 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Lake, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Grand Lake Brewing Company
18 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Coyote Ridge Bed & Breakfast
2) Onahu Lodge
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Kauffman House
2) Shadow Mountain Lookout
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) El Pacifico
2) Lariat Saloon
3) Waters Edge
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
I have been on vacation for three days and this is brewery No. 4 visited in Colorado. So far this is the best beer I have tasted in CO. The red was very tasty, smooth and with nice body. The Stout was very flavorable and very full bodied. Practically a meal by itself. Later at dinner at another place in town, I had the brown ale and it was almost as good as the stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve, Reading, PA
(08/30/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Lousy Lousy Lousy
After writing reviews for over 75 US microbrew pubs this is the worst service any brewery bar has given me in 4 yrs. We traveled to Grand Lake,Co to stop by and have a few beers we waited over 30min to be acknowledge after 45min we left the establishment . I would never go back and would never recomend this pup to any of my readers, I did not indulge my name or who I write for at the time of being seated , we take every bit of first impressions when we write our articles look for a in depth review soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jeff jeff, parker, CO
(09/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good
I visited this brewpub on 7/15/08 and had the following beers; Grand Lager, White Cap Wheat, Trail Ridge Red, Wooly Booger Nut Brown Ale, Stump Jumper IPA, Plaid Bastard, Super Chicken Barley Wine, and Shadow Mountain Nitro Stout. While the beer was excellent the food was just awful. I am not sure but I think that there was only one person working there that day. Service was slow but courteous. I was so impressed with the IPA and the barley wine that I bought a couple bottles to go home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(08/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good
I visited this brewpub on 7/15/08 and had the following beers; Grand Lager, White Cap Wheat, Trail Ridge Red, Wooly Booger Nut Brown Ale, Stump Jumper IPA, Plaid Bastard, Super Chicken Barley Wine, and Shadow Mountain Nitro Stout. While the beer was excellent the food was just awful. I am not sure but I think that there was only one person working there that day. Service was slow but courteous. I was so impressed with the IPA and the barley wine that I bought a couple bottles to go home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Good
My husband and I went in for some lunch and got much more. He got the sampler and loved it!! I am pregnant and could not drink but we got the pizza with the chicken and tomatoes. I have to say that it was the best pizza I have ever had in my life. We live in Iowa and wanted to make sure we could take some of the beer home. We were in on a Sunday so we could not buy any to take home that day, but we were sure to find a place to get it before we left for home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sara Sara, Leon, IA
(06/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Me and the wife went to Grand Lake for our honeymoon. I got the sampler, and was enjoying everything. I think the trailridge red was my favorite, but being from Savannah, Georgia(14ft above sea level) I couldn't finish the beers because of altitude sickness. Tried again the next day....sick again. SO, I bought a six-pack and shoved them in my suitcase and enjoyed them back home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hugh Gaddy Hugh Gaddy, Savannah, GA
(01/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
A real small place with a nice atmosphere. Good beer and the bartender and brewmaster were very fiendly. A great place to terminate a drive across Trail Ridge Road. I recommend the brats.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Cox John Cox, Signal Mountain, TN
(10/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Walked in on a snowy evening in September(!), and was greeted by one of the freindliest places the wife and I have been to. Knowledgeable bartender, excellent beer and talkative patrons combined for a nice experience. Owner was in that night and was very helpful. GREAT IPA. Worth the drive over Trail Ridge Road in RMNP just to get to this place. Only serves bar food, but the beer is excellent! Highly recommended if visiting the National Park.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Pain Tom Pain, Saint Louis, MO
(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
My visit to the GLBC(7/3) occurred when the establishment is in the process of remodeling; the large deck in the back is gone,leaving only small amount of tables around the bar, which is really cramped. Aside from that, the beer I sampled was excellent: the Trail Ridge Red is not to be missed and the "Old #7 IPA" was just right; not overly hopped and very smooth. Because of the remodel project, they're not offering much in the way of food short of chips & salsa and brats,

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(07/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So Good
Lots of great distinct beers, my personal favorite was the Trail Ridge Red. When I visited the brewery it was very busy so I didn't get the best service, but that was understandable. Overall great beer, decent service, avoid the warmed up pizzas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Nick, Fort Collins, CO
(02/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I fell in LOVE with this little place while visiting Rocky Mtn Natl Park. This is truly a little gem that you come across only so often. The Plaid Bastard is among the best scottish ales I've had, and the rest of their beers were all great to excellent. This is one of those places that you're like: how do they make a living, it is so small. But I hope they do, b/c this will be a longer stop on my next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(02/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
I was also surprised to find such good beer here. The Plaid Bastard is indeed one of the best Scotch ales I've tried. They serve it in a snifter. There are many aggressive beers here, with a real "no compromises" brewer. Hopefully they do well. The bar area is tiny, and they have virtually no kitchen area, but do their best on the food. It wasn't bad at all for basically warmed-up food. They did decide not to open on Sunday when I was there, which was disappointing, and apparently an impromptu decision based on amount of business. I'm substracting some rating points for that, i.e. not knowing when they're open. Beer is definitely great, though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Owner George & Mary Rhoades and Brewmaster Eric have scored a huge win with this exceptionally good micro-brewery and restaraunt in the heart of Grand Lake! Their imanginitive, full bodied ales and lagers are the best in the state, and are definitely a nice change to the domestic swill on tap at most places in town. My favorites? The rich, rear-kicking "Plaid Bastard" Scotch Ale, and the lighter, full bodied "Grand Avenue Gold" lager.

When in Grand Lake, stop in and treat yourself to a sampler platter of these fine, hand-crafted beers, as well as a hearty, hand made pizza! You won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Derek Powell Derek Powell, Littleton, CO
(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Everthing was wonderful. The Plaid Bastard is one of the best beers I have ever tried. I have been to many breweries and this is one of the best..I foresee much success for them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Ross Rick Ross, Columbia, MO
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
My wife and I were recently married in the park. We spent our day after the ceremony drinking different brews as well as eating pizza. Must say this is some of the best microbrew we've had!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gordon Lovett Gordon Lovett, Leander, TX
(09/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow!! Ditto the comment on Pizza!! Hadn't been up to Grand Lake in a few years and while walking down "main st", look over and what did I see, Yes!! a new brewpub. It's not the biggest establishment, but it produced an Octoberfest brew has to be one of the finest I had ever tasted. Took home a bomber of the Trail Ridge Red that was very good also. A must stop if your travelling upto Rocky Mtn Nat Park. Take the drive from Estes Park, you won't be disappointed.

Greg Colorado Springs, CO

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Webb Greg Webb, Colorado Springs, CO
(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Went to Grand Lake for vacation in August, not expecting to find great beer, let alone one of the best brewpubs in the state. Head Brewer Eric has been brewing around Colorado for awhile, and the quality of his beers shows his passion for the craft. The Scottish Ale was outstanding, lots of caramel and currant flavors and quite a bang to it! Tried a sampler and every beer was exceptional, even the light pilsner (definitely the lightest colored beer since Coor's Light) but plenty of body and hop character. Only had a couple of appetizers, but we stopped by nearly every afternoon and were never dissapointed. I can hardly wait to go back!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Captain Ronbo Captain Ronbo, Broomfield, CO
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
First and foremost, their pizza is the best that I've had - no kidding.

The beer is also very good. I enjoyed their red. It is just as a red should taste....full and quick. The taste doesn't stick around.

It is located in a nice little town too. Worth the drive

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bellaire, TX
(09/09/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.441 seconds) 22:48:20 54.227.17.116, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS