PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Onion Pub and Brewery - Lake Barrington, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 10:07 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > Lake Barrington > Onion Pub and Brewery
Onion Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Onion Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 71.6 / 100
22221 North Pepper Road
Lake Barrington, IL 60010
United States
(847) 381-7308
Listed Since: August 2003
Last Updated: April 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lake Barrington, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Onion Pub and Brewery
20 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Brass Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN BARRINGTON NW CHICAGO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Catlow Theatre
2) Octagon House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Altimate Entertainment
2) Barn Of Barrington
3) Barrington Banquets
4) Barrington Country Bistro
5) Barrington Gyros
6) Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano
7) Blue Heron Cafe & Bar
8) Boloney's Sandwich Shop
9) Brass Restaurant & Brewery
10) Broken Oar Bar & Grill
11) Bronco Jacks
12) Bubba Gump Shrimp Co Recruit
13) Burger King
14) California Pizza Kitchen
15) Chessie's Restaurant
16) Deli Nosh Catering Svc
17) Eclectic Restaurant
18) Egg Harbor Cafe
19) Garlands Of Barrington
20) Grandpa's Ristorante
21) Hart Cafe
22) Here's Wings LLC
23) Herman Rest A While
24) Kaladi's Coffe Bar
25) Kaleidoscoops
26) Kooker's
27) LA Hacienda
28) La Mesa Restaurant
29) LA Pomme De Pin
30) Max & Erma's
31) Mc Donald's
32) Mikey's Pizza Kitchen
33) Noodles & Co
34) Original Tracks
35) Pasta Impromtu Catering
36) Patti & Anne's Towne Shoppe
37) Penelope's Catering
38) Pizza Factory
39) Pizzeria Venti
40) Primo Pizza Of Barrington LTD
41) Quiznos Sub
42) Quiznos Sub
43) Rosati's Marketing Cooperative
44) Rosati's Pizza
45) Rsvp Restaurant & Tavern
46) Sagano Japanese Restaurant
47) Scooters
48) Sergio's Pizza
49) Starbucks
50) Stoney River Legendary Steaks
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Tin Seng Chop Suey Restaurant
53) Wool Street Grill Sports Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We just went to the Onion Pub last weekend and I have got to say that the beer there is the finest I have ever tasted. They have just brewed four beers with there new brewery and with the original Brewmaster Mike back in control of the brewing it is just awesome !!!!! what a difference it is to have a true brewmaster there now !! Everyone needs to go there and try the beer it is really good !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Barrington, IL
(02/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I went to the onion pub last wednesday and had a great experience! Food was outstanding, we ate specials of the day that were shrimp dejohnge and rack of lamb which was the best lamb that i have ever had. Service was ok a little slow but we will return. We want to try the sunday brunch which look outstanding!

We will return to the onion pub! Keep up the great work guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review crystal lake, IL
(02/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Lousy Awesome! Lousy
I went there for a lunch on Tuesday. The food was HORRIBLE! Simply non-edible. We had, soup, Salad, chicken and a panini. Every thing was bad. They try to justify poor quality with large protions. What a waste of their food and on my part, wasted my time and money and still came back hungry.

The facility looks great but it is not cozy. This is a good place for events like wedding or banquest. Service was excellent as we had gone early for a lunch on mid week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Barrington, IL
(02/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
I went to Onion Pub last night with some friends to celebrate a birthday. It was HORRIBLE! We made reservations and we get there and still have to WAIT! Then the host tries to take us OUTSIDE where the Mosquitos are and BUGS! I'm sorry but I don't want to catch WEST NILE! So then we have to wait 10 more minutes for a table. We finally get to our table and there is no server around. We had to flag someone down and ask them for drinks. After about 20 minutes of waiting for our drinks we order appetizers and then our meal. The waitress messed the order up 4 times and didn't apologize or anything. She was very rude and the service SUCKED! The prices of the food were too high for a place to have such LOUSY service! My burger was DRY and the mustard that came in the cup looked as If it were sitting in the cup ALL DAY. I don't recommend Onion Pub. When in doubt, go to Olive Garden!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Richard, Lake Villa, IL
(09/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy Good Good So So
Be forewarned that the Onion Pub has apparently decided to substantially downsize their brewing operations. I was told on a recent visit to expect only 4 non-rotating house beers in the near future, one of which is the Light (why bother?!?).

Not only that, but the guest taps they have been replaced with at the time consisted of things like Hacker Pschorr and Blue Moon--why would someone go to a "brewery" to try things readily available at the local TGIFs?

I can't imagine what the reasoning would be for this (they used to have around 10 beers on tap at all time, so it could't be capacity).

Definitely isn't going to be worth the trip for a lot of us who don't live in that area, which is pretty remote.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G G, Cornfields and Warehouses, IL
(08/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy So So
I work nearby and have been to the Onion Pub many times. The building and decor are gorgeous. There is a patio and a small lake and waterfall in the back. The beer selection is great but not all the beers are good. The food is mediocre but inexpensive. The real problem is the service. Expect slow and inattentive service. Expect to wait 20 minutes after sitting down to place your order. Expect another 20 minutes after asking for the check. If you need anything, expect to flag down the waiter. He/she will NOT come to you. I've experienced this level of service consistently. Obviously the owner does not care about good service. If you are hungry and desperate, the Onion Pub will do just fine. If you have the time to go somewhere else, do it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Ron, Barrington, IL
(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
It's unfortunate that the beer here is so good because all the staff I encountered were rude, unaccomodating, and generally seemed uninterested that you were there. I was ignored and sneered at which doesn't make the beer worthwhile.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Zurich, IL
(09/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Great So So
Place itself is gorgeous, but the food basically is just OK, you do the best getting the more basic fare (burger, sandwhich) vs the bigger entrees. And it is pretty pricey, although I think the prices have come down a bit since they first opened. And the beer on average is just OK. Like one of the earlier reviews mentioned, when these guys were just a micro, the Paddy pale ale and Jack stout were fantastic, the Jack Stout I had last night was middle of the road -- not bad, but not great either. I've been here about 10 times since it's opened, sometimes they have a specialty on tap that's excellent, overall, I'm almost always disappointed in the food and beer (because of the high standards they had when they were just a micro), I keep hoping it will get better, but right now, I wouldn't go out of my way to come here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Wagner Pete Wagner, Grayslake, IL
(01/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I used to love the Wild Onion Paddy Pale Ale and Jack Stout before this upscale establishment was built. However, their beers are now rather bland and lack the flavor that they used to have. The food here is good, albeit a bit expensive, and the service is also good although the waitstaff seems lacking in beer knowledge. Not a bad place, but give it time and hopefully it will return to better brewing days.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Pawelko Ed Pawelko, Cary, IL
(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sorry forgot to add to my last review, food and beer prices were normal compared to my other frequent beer hangouts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Marty, C-Ville, IL
(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Not kidding about being tucked away. Was there for a Birthday party, tried all that were given on the sampler and here are my thoughts: Firefly Light: this is what they tab as the breakin beer for newbies. Too light for me. Jack Daniels Stout (Jack Stout)- Very nice aroma and visual appeal in the glass, not very heavy on the tongue and easy on the hops, very drinkable even with the higher ABV. Pumpkin Spice: Very crisp clean amber beer, again easy on the hops. I had one on the hand pull and at the moment not able to remember the name of it, but was a very good Pub Style Ale not very bitter, and a lite mouth feel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Marty, C-Ville, IL
(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I'm not sure what people are talking about when they say this place is expensive. Maybe they lowered the prices. I was there over the Thanksgiving weekend. The 10 beer sampler was 10 bucks. Not bad for 10 5 oz. beers. The lunch menu wasn't pricey either, and the food was good. The beer was good, but only a couple are exceptional. The Belgian Doppel was very good, as was the bourbon barrel stout. The pumpkin season beer was one of the better pumpkin beers I have had, get there and try some while they still have it. The lighter beers were drinkable, but not memorable. The atmosphere is great, and the staff was nice. The only negative is the location, its not really near anything, tucked away in a light-industrial park. Worth a try when you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ware Chris Ware, Fairfax, VA
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The beers were all alright, but none of them were really much above average. I tried a Hefeweizen and a cask conditioned Pale Ale. The food was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
Very snobby. The hostes are rude. The food was just OK and very expensive. Service is slow. The restaurant is nice but it doesn't make up for all the negatives. Won't go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Zurich, IL
(04/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Expensive

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mundelein, IL
(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Nice selection of 6 beers including a barleywine. All done rather well. A little pricy compared to most brewpub not located in a major metro setting. The menu looked good. I tried the seared tuna appetizer. Not bad but Rockbottom's is better and several dollars less.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Wepprecht Craig Wepprecht, Kenosha, WI
(02/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Great Awesome!
I love the Onion Pub! Have been there several times, but have only had appetizers. They have the best seared tuna I have ever tasted. The ribs are also a treat. Quite remarkable establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Barrington, IL
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Onion pub will be incredible when they begin brewing their own beer (soon, the server promised) but even now they have a good selection on tap from other fine establishments. You have to see this place to believe it, the building is unique, the beer garden out back overlooks a lake and the setting is beautiful. This will be amazing when the brewing begins.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from missi missi, bradley, IL
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This establishment has the potential to be awesome when they finally are able to dispense their own beers. The facility itself is very impressive, you can see why it took so long to build. They have very respectable guest taps, enough so there is something for everybody. I'll be back when they're serving their own beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(08/27/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.525 seconds) 22:07:57 54.237.98.229, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS