PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brass Restaurant and Brewery - South Barrington, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 17, 2014 @ 05:32 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > South Barrington > Brass Restaurant and Brewery
Brass Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brass Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 76.4 / 100
105 Hollywood Boulevard
South Barrington, IL 60010
United States
(847) 765-1200
Listed Since: August 2003
Last Updated: October 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for South Barrington, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
24 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Onion Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN BARRINGTON NW CHICAGO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Catlow Theatre
2) Octagon House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Altimate Entertainment
2) Barn Of Barrington
3) Barrington Banquets
4) Barrington Country Bistro
5) Barrington Gyros
6) Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano
7) Blue Heron Cafe & Bar
8) Boloney's Sandwich Shop
9) Brass Restaurant & Brewery
10) Broken Oar Bar & Grill
11) Bronco Jacks
12) Bubba Gump Shrimp Co Recruit
13) Burger King
14) California Pizza Kitchen
15) Chessie's Restaurant
16) Deli Nosh Catering Svc
17) Eclectic Restaurant
18) Egg Harbor Cafe
19) Garlands Of Barrington
20) Grandpa's Ristorante
21) Hart Cafe
22) Here's Wings LLC
23) Herman Rest A While
24) Kaladi's Coffe Bar
25) Kaleidoscoops
26) Kooker's
27) LA Hacienda
28) La Mesa Restaurant
29) LA Pomme De Pin
30) Max & Erma's
31) Mc Donald's
32) Mikey's Pizza Kitchen
33) Noodles & Co
34) Original Tracks
35) Pasta Impromtu Catering
36) Patti & Anne's Towne Shoppe
37) Penelope's Catering
38) Pizza Factory
39) Pizzeria Venti
40) Primo Pizza Of Barrington LTD
41) Quiznos Sub
42) Quiznos Sub
43) Rosati's Marketing Cooperative
44) Rosati's Pizza
45) Rsvp Restaurant & Tavern
46) Sagano Japanese Restaurant
47) Scooters
48) Sergio's Pizza
49) Starbucks
50) Stoney River Legendary Steaks
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Tin Seng Chop Suey Restaurant
53) Wool Street Grill Sports Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bad news. This place closed a while ago.

Good news. "The Lucky Monk" brewery has opened in its place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(12/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Phenomenal Restaurant- food, presentation, the artichoke dip, WOW!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Katie Katie, Elgin, IL
(03/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
hats off to this place!! I've been here now on four different occasions and every time i go it gets better than the last!!!!! Anthony the head brewer does a great job, and his seasonal brews are terrific. Whoever the chef is also does a wonderfull job because the food is exceptional. Definitly recommend this place...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from doc doc, palatine, IL
(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Good So So
My friend and I dined on New Year's Eve - the food was terrible, the cook put the wrong sauce on my dinner and the Manager was extremely rude! I would never dine here again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tina Lowe Tina Lowe, Schaumburg, IL
(01/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
This establishment has definitely improved since it's opening. The food is MUCH better and the kitchen is VERY willing to make special accommodations. Its obviously others agree with this....just check their parking lot for the many cars.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Terry, Elgin, IL
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Great
My husband and myself enjoyed your sunday brunch so much that we are coming back sunday October 24, 2004 with another couple who cant wait to try your brunch. See you soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carol Carol, chicago, il
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A N/A
Brass has that culture-less "corporate happy hour" feel and décor to it. "Nice" place inside and out, clean and the service was adequate. Not for the beer geek though … The Anticipation (Pale) Ale had an awful hop blend coupled with stale & metallic flavors. The Porter was recognizable only by name and color.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
I read all of the reviews before going and thought, "O.K., maybe they're wrong - it's conveniently located near the theatres, how bad could it be?" Let me tell you - it was so bad, it was almost funny. All the hot food was cold, all the cold food was hot, and well... I hope you like live insects in your food & drink. Service was even worse. This place is an embarrassment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy So So
I came to Brass with high hopes. I left with food poisoning and a raped wallet. The service was slow (15 minutes to come to the table when the place was empty?). The food was so so (St. Viator High School has better food). The restrooms were disgusting... no hot water and filthy (my date told me there was dried puke on the sticky ladies room floor).

I really want to give this establishment another chance, however not any time soon. I wanted to give a better review, sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
My wife and I found the beers here to be a bit on the mild side. They were all decent beers and well made but we would have liked more hops in the Pale Ale. The food was good. This is a pretty standard restaurant-type brewpub. It's just north of I-90, just a short ways west of the Millrose brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(02/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Hv been there twice for dinner and once for lunch in the past month. Excellent experience each time. Cozy atmosphere for dinner and acoustics good for conversation, with your table, not other tables, which is sometimes hard to find at some restaurants. Staff is VERY attentive and friendly. Food is EXCELLENT! Beer is good, however, on the expensive side. We will reccomend Brass to others and go back again, just not as often due to the prices. But, all and all it's worth the treat once in a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Annonomous Annonomous, Hoffman Estates, IL
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I just stopped in for a sampler and 2 of 7 beers were not available. Leaving me with 4. Pils, Honey Wheat, Amber, Bock and Porter. Missing were Pale Ale and Hefe. All beers were very drinkable with the Bock leading the way. The porter had a very smoky flavor which was nice. Being a hophead, I missed the pale ale. If you're in the area I would recommend going east or west for 20 minutes and enjoying beers at Prairie Rock and Emmitt's respectively.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gman Gman, West Bend, WI
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
FRIENDS TOLD US OF THEIR FAVORABLE TIME AT THE BRASS IN SOUTH BARRINGTON, IL. WE TRAVELED 1/2 HR TO EXPERIENCE IT. WOW!, AWESOME, EXCELLENT, ENJOYABLE. AREAS SEPARATED TO DINE, DRINK OR BE COZY IN CONVERSATION. WE DINED. OUR BOOTH HAD A HIGH BACK, ON BOTH SIDES, ALLOWING PRIVACY. THE MENU OFFERED A GREAT VARIETY OF TASTY FOOD, INCLUDING SEA BASS. STEAKS WERE LARGE, TENDER & TASTY. THE BEER SAMPLER, 7 BEERS, WAS GREAT. AND, THE DESSERTS...WOW! COTTON CANDY IN A LARGE CHAMPANGE GLASS OR THEIR CHEESECAKE IS OUT OF THIS WORLD. ALL AWESOME, TRULY.SERVICE COMPLEMENTED THE REST, EXCELLENT! AND, IT WAS NICE TO SEE THE MANAGER ROAMING ASSURING ALL WAS AS HIS CUSTOMERS EXPECT. WE'LL BE BACK AGAIN. AND, AGAIN. AND, AGAIN. Just as our friends recommended it to us, we recommend South Barrington's Brass Brewery & Pub, to others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from LB LB, Naperville, IL
(12/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So
Brass is in the mold of the giant upscale rather sterile microbrew that most people have come to expect and apparently enjoy. The bar has a giant multi TV array as it’s backdrop. The service is excellent. The beer selection is rather unimpressive. Only the seasonals such as the porter are okay. I don’t know why I bother. Just look at the website beer style descriptions of any of these places and you know you won’t be getting a good buzz. But they ain’t making there money from beer geeks and I was the only such one present. The food is served up in the modern fashion of quantity over quality. This justifies the stiff price since you can’t eat but half of it. Nice going guys. Anyway, unless you’re a local yuppie you can’t really enjoy spending much time in here. I did have a peppy conversation with a nice but one dimensional young woman in the sales game. I enjoyed the pitch but no sale. Kinda like a funny Miller commercial.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Cruiser The Cruiser, Oak Forest, IL
(11/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
I live in Palatine - I ate at the Brass for the first time last week - I have passed the Brass several times before on my way to the theater - what a great location next to the theater! - I am extremely happy that I decided to give it a try - I will definitely be going back before a movie.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stan Stan, Palatine, IL
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Definitely an upscale microbrewery...food is terrific...outside dining is available...just a great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review arlington, TX
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
No complaints here. The bar is great. Great place to hang out with friends after work and on weekends. The food is very good with large portions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kristi Kristi, elk grove, IL
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is good and the food is fantastic. Service is always on top of things. Great for large parties.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, chicago, IL
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
The food is fantastic with a wide variety to please everyone. The dining room has a relaxing atmosphere. The beer taste great with a decent selection. Perfect stop before or after a movie.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anne Anne, south barrington, IL
(11/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I wish they had more beer selection, but the beers offered are great. The food is very good. The service is first rate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, schaumburg, IL
(11/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I've been there twice and had great experience both times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review palatine, IL
(11/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I think this place is one of the best places I have been. The beer is tremendous and the food is high quality. I would recommend this locale to anyone!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greensborough, IL
(11/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Nice place, very good service but too expensive. Total with tax was $9.23 for 2 16-oz beers. Didn't try the food as I had lunch at the brewpub before this one but what I saw coming out of the kitchen looked very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from missi missi, bradley, IL
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good So So
While both the food and beer were pretty good, I gave an overall rating of only so-so based on the prices. Beer is $4.25, not including tax. If it were better, I wouldn't mind paying so high a price. Food is also expensive, but good. Brass wants to be a fine dining establishment, but the NW suburbs are already too full of brewpubs trying to be fancy. Not that that's a bad thing, but is it too much to ask for a brewpub you can spend the evening at without spending so much money?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(08/27/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.826 seconds) 17:32:03 54.237.38.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS