PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Cambridge House - Granby, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 17, 2014 @ 10:43 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Granby > The Cambridge House
The Cambridge House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Cambridge House
Overall: Good    Score: 69.6 / 100
357 Salmon Brook Street
Granby, CT 06035
United States
(860) 653-2739
Listed Since: September 2003
Last Updated: February 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Granby, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Cambridge House
33 Reviews / 9 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Mon CLOSED
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Dutch Iris Inn Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DUTCH IRIS INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hale, Dr. Elizur, House
2) Kimberly Mansion
3) Welles, Gideon, House
4) Welles-Shipman-Ward House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abc Pizza House
2) Granby Chinese Restaurant
3) Guadalajara Grill
4) Lite-N-Up
5) Mc Donald's
6) Old Oak Tavern
7) Salmon Brook Street Grill
8) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
9) Toni Ann's
10) Vuongusto Restaurant
11) Zuliani's Italian Pizzeria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I first went there shortly after their opening and have to say was thoroughly disappointed. I had three beers (can't quite remember which ones because it was a few months ago) but remember that the beer lacked aroma and flavor. They seemed to taste REALLY watery. I also ordered a burger which took some time to get. It was a very large burger on a very small bun. Tasty, but a complete mess. I decided to cut them some slack since they had just opened. I went there to give them another shot a week ago or so with anticipation and had the same thoughts. The food wasn't too bad, but the beer (IPA and brown ale) had a really watery taste to it. Although it's the closet brewpub to me by far, I don't think I'll be returning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Windsor Locks, CT
(06/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good
I visited on 6/15/05. Found the bar tender to be friendly and knowledgeable. The IPA and Bangers and Mash were both very good. I do hope that they expand the beer menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron D Ron D, LaFayette, NY
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
This brewpub only opened its doors for business a month ago, so when I visited yesterday, I was not expecting a superlative experience and unfortunately, I was correct. Still, I will cut them some slack and give them a second chance to redeem themselves sometime in the future. In short, the IPA was marginly hoppy with modest mouth feel. I tried the hefe weizen which was void of the crisp, clean flavor one would expect in the style. The dining area/bar can only be described as sterile with its bare hardwood floors and questionable decor. The place needs a little warmth and character for people to go out of their way to go there. The bar maid did not seem well versed in the beers they were serving (only three of four of the house brews on tap) and at times, seemed to be staring off into space rather than tending to her customers. I truly wish them all the luck in the world, since in my humble opinion, nothing beats a great brew pub, but I have this feeling that if they don't do something quickly to improve its sub par offerings and to offset its remote location, they will be closing their doors in the not too distant future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jim St. Louis, Wethersfield, CT
(04/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Beer was good had the Kolsch and the Hefeweizen. My better half grew up in Gramby and was excited with the local names. As with the previous comment we cut them some slack on the food. the chili was good the burger was overdone. The disappointment was the service needs to come up a notch. A bit more professionalism and attention to the customer (an empty beer glass at the bar during a Sox’s game gads!) I hope comes about over time.

All in all I have high hopes. We have been driving by this for over a year waiting for a beer. Will go back once the novelty dies down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ron ron, southwick, MA
(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
My wife and I arrived at the Brewery less than a week after its initial opening. We had hopes that this would be very good because it is close to our home.

We were NOT disappointed. We have been to brew pubs that have been around for years and not put out such a solid brew. Great.

The beer was great. They had 4 of their own online at this time. IPA, Kolsch, Hefeweizen and a German dark. We had the IPA and the German Dark and they were great. The IPA was our favorite of the two.

The food was good. Not great, but then again, I didn't expect the kinks to be completely out yet! My wife had Bangers and Mash and I had a burger.

She thought her meal was very good but the potatoes were not quite right...yet. Mine was very good but the fries were a little grease heavy and not crispy. These slight problems did not distract from our very positive experience as we know they are working "with training wheels" as they put it...

After all, this place has been open only 6 days and they are already better than 80% of the brew pubs we've been to.

Go and enjoy.

NOTE: The ESB comes out in a week and I am looking VERY forward to visiting again at that time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Yarbz Yarbz, New Britain, CT
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Opened 3-28-05. Four on tap, IPA, Kolsch, Dark Mild and Hefe-weizen. I enjoyed the IPA the best but all were good or better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We have been waiting a long time with our mouths watering... Expectations are getting higher and higher and higher...

Say hello to my friend Steve Berry...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cris Yarborough Cris Yarborough, New Britain, CT
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
New construction begins in October - adding an additional 4800 sq feet to old Cooper Lantern Bldg.

7bbl system - 700 - 1000 bbls per year, Head Brewer 6 time medal winner from upstate NY.

Chef from well known upscale Hartford rest.

Doors will open in 1st quarter 2004!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Boucino Steve Boucino, East granby, CT
(08/28/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.299 seconds) 22:43:32 54.198.20.215, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS