PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Cambridge House - Granby, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 18, 2014 @ 08:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Granby > The Cambridge House
The Cambridge House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Cambridge House
Overall: Good    Score: 69.6 / 100
357 Salmon Brook Street
Granby, CT 06035
United States
(860) 653-2739
Listed Since: September 2003
Last Updated: February 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Granby, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Cambridge House
33 Reviews / 9 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Mon CLOSED
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Dutch Iris Inn Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DUTCH IRIS INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hale, Dr. Elizur, House
2) Kimberly Mansion
3) Welles, Gideon, House
4) Welles-Shipman-Ward House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abc Pizza House
2) Granby Chinese Restaurant
3) Guadalajara Grill
4) Lite-N-Up
5) Mc Donald's
6) Old Oak Tavern
7) Salmon Brook Street Grill
8) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
9) Toni Ann's
10) Vuongusto Restaurant
11) Zuliani's Italian Pizzeria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good So So
Since the change of ownership, it seems (to me anyway) that the quality and selection of the food is not what it used to be. The brews are just OK. It is not worth the trip all the way out to Granby. There are many better choices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Hartford, CT
(09/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I recently went to CBH in Torrington and was VERY disappointed. They have been open for months now, but they aren't even brewing their own beer yet and this location also RUNS OUT OF CERTAIN BEERS !!! C'mon !! The food is awful - not at all what I would call even "upscale bar food". The bartenders were rude and doing shots with a guy that was sitting at the end of the bar drinking and doing shots the whole time I was there - and guess what - he is STEVE one of the owners !! Hey Steve, I think you should get dress appropriately GET OFF THE BAR STOOL and meet and greet some customers. Poor management will bring this place down quick !!- NOT GOOD FOR TORRINGTON or the Warner heatre....how sad !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review valley, CT
(12/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good
I've been going to cambridge house since they opened. I love the IPA but have become increasingly annoyed that it is a crap shoot as to whether it's on tap or not. It's not that it's rotated out, it's that it's run out! Being one of their core beers, I think after all this time they should be able to manage supply. There has been ongoing talk about increasing brewing capacity, but I haven't seen it. I know another location is opening soon, maybe they will provide more IPA for the granby location. It's a great IPA hoppy and citrusy with a perfect finish. I love this beer and it's a shame that I no longer venture out there because its hugely disappointing when its out. I even called to check on it a few weeks ago - feeling like a drive out there - I was told "there should be enough" I didn't bother going, "should be enough?" Are you kidding me? Really a shame, they are losing loyal customers. IPA aside, all the beers at cambridge house are from a very talented brewery. The place is pretty nondescripted, not much in the way of character. The food is nothing to write home about, but okay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review manchester, CT
(08/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
This place needs to improve it's food and service if it wants to survive. You can't do one really well and the other really poor. We went here with some friends and ran into other friends here. It was a Saturday evening, 5:30 ish. They had apparently run out of the chicken and our waitstaff didn't inform us until 30 minutes later. I can't believe a restaurant would run out of chicken at 5:30! The meals we did get were overcooked and dry.

Our friends reported a similar experience as have another coworker of mine. It's too bad. The atmosphere is nice and the beer is good. But again, I won't be suggesting that place anytime soon due to the food and the service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Faith Faith, Bristol, CT
(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I've been unable to submit reviews for a while, so this is from a visit in July. Was in the area, coming from Hartford, and thought a stop was in order. Nice enough place, decent crowd for a mid-afternoon. 5 house beers, 7 guest taps, full bar. Hefe had a nasty nose, but was well-balanced, not too much banana/clove. Kolsch was pretty good, clean and refreshing. ESB nice, English style with lots of flavor the whole way through. One of the better ESB's I've had in a while. IPA called "new" England IPA with a blend of English/American hops. Super fruity, citrus nose. Stout bittersweet but smooth, creamy with fair amount of oats in the bill. Nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Decent if not great beer, actually quite good food and a fairly eclectic menu. service was pretty good, seated sooner than we thought on a very busy night. all in all not too bad!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gary gary, somewherein, CT
(08/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Since the brewery will be coming to Torrington, I got with some friends to check the place out.

Nice atmosphere. Kinda sports-pubish. Many TV's on with every games.

The beer was ok. The stout tasted like a hopped up Sam Adams with a bit of a coffee taste. Not a true stout like I am used to. (I don't compare everything to Guinness!) I tried the Rowe IPA which was ok.

Appetizers - Tried some wings. This is a staple for most places. For me, too hot ! They were pure heat with no flavor. I could only eat 2 before I called it quits. Less heat, more flavor and they will be better.

Salad - Standard type garden salad. I like the stout vinaigrette. Needs some different type greens ! Maybe add nuts/bacon/potato sticks....

Dinner - Marinated Flank Steak. Suprised it came out alreday cut up. Nice touch. Great flavor. Home run hit with this one.

Dessert - Didn't get any. Few choices. Need to beef it up a little. Add a stout cake...

Overall it was just average. Beers were a bit hoppy.

I would go back to try other food and try other beers but if nothing hits me good, it may be my last try...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Torrington, CT
(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Cheers to the wonderful IPA that is coming out of this place. The location is nice and surroundings take your mind off the city. Everyone there is friendly and works to give you a good experience. As a brewpub it is in it's infancy but is growing in the right direction. Brewer Dave does an excellent job! Can't wait to get back to the valley and have myself a pint.

Cheers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Greenfield, MA
(06/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I'm biased, since I live down the street from them, but I am also critical, since I want this place to do well. The beers have been great. Recently, there was an double IPA on tap that was brewed with all organic ingredients (Big Hoppy). It was great. The regular beers range from a lighter Kolsch that is quite tasty to an IPA that rates up there with the best of them. The food is quite good, ranging from standard pub to some tasty specialties. The Jambalaya is very good, as are the spent grain pizzas. A great stop if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Tobin Bob Tobin, Granby, CT
(02/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Good So So
The begining of my visit was great. I was served a pint of my choice quickly and courtesly. About a half dozen TVs with different NFL games on, excellent! Well after that it was just about all downhill. The chili was lifeless and boring. Then onto the fish n chips, fish was so geazzy and soggy, just awful. The fries had an interesting smoky bbq seasoning. Onto what i came here for the most, the brews. Not good overall. Most notably the belgain stout with the swear word in the name. I give credit to the brewers for trying something outta the box, but the result was a muddled mess. The roasted malt and the belgain yeast strain were not a good mix, basically undrinkable. The ESB had a soapy aroma that didn't help and the chocolate and roast flavor was far more dominant than the hops and not at all to style. To finish this on a positive note, the IPA was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JW JW, new britain, CT
(12/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Can't rate - I am one of the owners - but we try to listen to feedback, honest!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, granby, ct
(12/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Great
The current quality of beer is great. It looks like they've finally settled into the new system. Personally, I think the stout is one of their consistant winners.

Even with all the good brews, they still offer some of the other locals such as Troutbrook and Berkshire to name a few.

The food has always been great and I usually try something new each time. Once I arrived 15 minutes before they opened and I was seated and served even though I offered to wait.

As for criticism, it does get busy at times (good for them!) but it does impact service and it can get very loud in the bar area. Thankfully the owners are receptive to feedback and are all-around good people. Definitely stop in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Peretto Bryan Peretto, Coventry, CT
(10/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great
WHAT IS ALL THIS NEGATIVTY ABOUT? OUT FOR A SUNDAY RIDE LAST WEEK AND FIGURED WE WOULD GIVE THIS PLACE A TRY.LUNCH AND A BEER.NO IT WASN'T THE BEST BREW PUB WE HAVE BEEN TO, BUT IT WAS FAR FROM THE WORSE.CLEAN PLACE.FRIENDLY STAFF AND GOOD SERVICE.NOT A LARGE BEER SELECTION AND THE WERE OUT OF ONE ON THE MENUE. THE ONE WE HAD WAS GREAT AND THE FOOD WAS GREAT ALSO.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(07/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So
Well, I have to say I was very disappointed in this place. I will probably give it another shot in a year or so as it is a new place.(That's if it's still around!)

I drove 1.5 hours to get here on 4/20. Beer selection: Kolsch, ESB and Red. They were out of the stout and the IPA. ESB and Red were good enough for me to take home a growler of each.

Food: Only had some calamari. Was nice and spicy but rubbery. Needs to be nice and crispy like calamari is suppose to be.

Service: SUCKED!!!! Sat at the bar. Thought I was invisible as the bartender walked by me and my wife numerous times and did not take our order. Then he goes and takes someone elses order that just walked in. Bar was not very busy. Had an empty glass sitting in front of me for about 10 + minutes every time I was finished with a beer. Never asked how the food was or anything like that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rogue Rogue, Bridgeport, CT
(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good So So Good
Doug, I agree with the other guy... CHB is very good but they have their down moments. I have had several bad experiences there but they are learning it seems... My last time there was very good indeed and that was April 2, 2006. Granted, they need to improve, but... they are...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Yarbz Yarbz, New Britain, CT
(04/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Awesome! Great
They were out of the Pale Ale and IPA which are my most preffered beers. They had a good red but I didnt care for much else. The food was fantastic and they have a wonderful set up and a great bartender.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Doug, where's the review? You wrote a lot but said little. What beers were good? Which were bad? Specifics. Why bother wasting your time to "agree with past reviewers"? Constructive critcism could help this place improve some things, if you'd give it to them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Warren, RI
(01/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
It just goes to show you, that a couple of ribbons........does not a good brew pub make!

Its to bad so many people are totally mesmerized by that sort of thing. I would rather go to and have a brewpub were all the brews are consistently good (or even just decent) than couple of home run beers, in a field of bad ones.

I can only hope the brewer wins a few more ribbons for this place, for the owners sake if nothing else. It may help this joint stay in business a year or two longer. As it stands right now, the way they are going who knows?

I totally agree with some of the past reviews from people who had the "guts to tell it like it is" in the reviews they gave of this place.

Its very unfortunate actually, because we here in Connecticut can use all the decent brew pubs we can drink and eat at that we can get!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Johnson Doug Johnson, Vernon, CT
(01/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Got together with a couple of good friend on Dec 3 2005 for a holiday celebration and it turned out to be a bad experience. The beer was not what I expected compared to what I would get at John Harvard’s brew house in Manchester. The Cambridge House did not have a better selection to match John Harvard’s.

When it came to the food, we decided to have appetizers. At time of ordering, we asked if the wings were hot and the waiter replied "not at all" well when we got them I had to call 911 for the local fire dept to put the fire out. When we ordered the nacho's platter, he said this is a very big portion, well…. When we got it, not big at all.. Maybe enough for 1 serving. Oh, by the way, there were more onions then chips.

I asked for extra napkins and it took 5 mins to get. When the waiter brought the bill, he just threw it on table and walked away. Forgot to mention, the waiter never cleared off the table of the empty dishes off the table.

A great looking place but the food was not what I expected along with poor service.

If you want to have a bad experience, this is the place to go.

I did complain and the owner came out to talk to us and said he was sorry and handed over to us 4 discount cards for free glasses of beer.

NOT GOOD. I have been to the best restaurants in CT and have had great service but this place needs to get it together as far as customer service..

This just the opinion of 4 people that wanted to enjoy a bit of Christmas cheer but instead got an unexpected bad experience.

GOOD luck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Windsor, CT
(12/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cheryl cheryl, west suffield, CT
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Cambridge House just won the gold medal in two catagories this past weekend at the Great International Beer Festival held in Providence RI. They won for their IPA and the Kolsch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review East Granby, CT
(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Lousy So So
I went to this joint wanting to try the "famous GABF Gold Medal winning Kolsch" unfortunately the last kegged kicked the day before, oh well. They only had four house beers on tap. Organic Pale Ale, IPA, Dry Stout and a Pumpkin Spice beer. I ordered the five sampler tray with Southhampton IPA to finish it out. The Dry Stout and Pumpkin were actually rather enjoyable but the Pale and IPA were sub-par in my opinion. The food was WAY better than the beer here. Try the 16oz. Angus challenge burger, you eat it all and you get a free pint, now were talking! The service was horrific and I am being very nice about it. It took the bartender three times and 15 minutes on a slow Sunday afternoon to bring my friend the beer he orginally ordered and wanted and she had to ask him three separate times "what it was he wanted again?". He wanted the Dry Stout, in the end she brang him an Organic Pale Ale! True story no embellishing or BS! Its not worth going for this places regular beer line, but the food almost makes up for it. All I have to say is when a group of pretty educated knowledgable beer drinkers don't order the house beers and order beers from the guest taps, that's says it all right there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Litrenta Andy Litrenta, Windsor Locks, CT
(11/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Have been there twice both times with the kids and had a good experience both time.Good pub food and great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bloomfield, CT
(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Cambridge House just won the Gold Medal at the 2005 Great American Beer Fest!! 6 months old and they won gold.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review East Granby, CT
(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Actually, this is the sixth time I have visited and they keep getting better and better. The first visit was OK, the beer fine but the service lousey. Since then, the beer has gotten better and the service is certainly improving (They did start from scratch you know)... Anyway, the beer is now among our favorite brew pub offerings. I disagree with the reviewer below rating the beer soso. The beer is the strong point of this place. Give it a try!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Yarbz Yarbz, New Britain, CT
(07/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I first went there shortly after their opening and have to say was thoroughly disappointed. I had three beers (can't quite remember which ones because it was a few months ago) but remember that the beer lacked aroma and flavor. They seemed to taste REALLY watery. I also ordered a burger which took some time to get. It was a very large burger on a very small bun. Tasty, but a complete mess. I decided to cut them some slack since they had just opened. I went there to give them another shot a week ago or so with anticipation and had the same thoughts. The food wasn't too bad, but the beer (IPA and brown ale) had a really watery taste to it. Although it's the closet brewpub to me by far, I don't think I'll be returning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Windsor Locks, CT
(06/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good
I visited on 6/15/05. Found the bar tender to be friendly and knowledgeable. The IPA and Bangers and Mash were both very good. I do hope that they expand the beer menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron D Ron D, LaFayette, NY
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
This brewpub only opened its doors for business a month ago, so when I visited yesterday, I was not expecting a superlative experience and unfortunately, I was correct. Still, I will cut them some slack and give them a second chance to redeem themselves sometime in the future. In short, the IPA was marginly hoppy with modest mouth feel. I tried the hefe weizen which was void of the crisp, clean flavor one would expect in the style. The dining area/bar can only be described as sterile with its bare hardwood floors and questionable decor. The place needs a little warmth and character for people to go out of their way to go there. The bar maid did not seem well versed in the beers they were serving (only three of four of the house brews on tap) and at times, seemed to be staring off into space rather than tending to her customers. I truly wish them all the luck in the world, since in my humble opinion, nothing beats a great brew pub, but I have this feeling that if they don't do something quickly to improve its sub par offerings and to offset its remote location, they will be closing their doors in the not too distant future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jim St. Louis, Wethersfield, CT
(04/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Beer was good had the Kolsch and the Hefeweizen. My better half grew up in Gramby and was excited with the local names. As with the previous comment we cut them some slack on the food. the chili was good the burger was overdone. The disappointment was the service needs to come up a notch. A bit more professionalism and attention to the customer (an empty beer glass at the bar during a Sox’s game gads!) I hope comes about over time.

All in all I have high hopes. We have been driving by this for over a year waiting for a beer. Will go back once the novelty dies down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ron ron, southwick, MA
(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
My wife and I arrived at the Brewery less than a week after its initial opening. We had hopes that this would be very good because it is close to our home.

We were NOT disappointed. We have been to brew pubs that have been around for years and not put out such a solid brew. Great.

The beer was great. They had 4 of their own online at this time. IPA, Kolsch, Hefeweizen and a German dark. We had the IPA and the German Dark and they were great. The IPA was our favorite of the two.

The food was good. Not great, but then again, I didn't expect the kinks to be completely out yet! My wife had Bangers and Mash and I had a burger.

She thought her meal was very good but the potatoes were not quite right...yet. Mine was very good but the fries were a little grease heavy and not crispy. These slight problems did not distract from our very positive experience as we know they are working "with training wheels" as they put it...

After all, this place has been open only 6 days and they are already better than 80% of the brew pubs we've been to.

Go and enjoy.

NOTE: The ESB comes out in a week and I am looking VERY forward to visiting again at that time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Yarbz Yarbz, New Britain, CT
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Opened 3-28-05. Four on tap, IPA, Kolsch, Dark Mild and Hefe-weizen. I enjoyed the IPA the best but all were good or better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We have been waiting a long time with our mouths watering... Expectations are getting higher and higher and higher...

Say hello to my friend Steve Berry...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cris Yarborough Cris Yarborough, New Britain, CT
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
New construction begins in October - adding an additional 4800 sq feet to old Cooper Lantern Bldg.

7bbl system - 700 - 1000 bbls per year, Head Brewer 6 time medal winner from upstate NY.

Chef from well known upscale Hartford rest.

Doors will open in 1st quarter 2004!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Boucino Steve Boucino, East granby, CT
(08/28/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.356 seconds) 20:53:27 54.81.134.175, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS