PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Appalachian Brewing Company - Gettysburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 06:35 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Gettysburg > Appalachian Brewing Company
Appalachian Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Appalachian Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.3 / 100
401 Buford Avenue
Gettysburg, PA 17325
United States
(717) 334-2200
Listed Since: October 2003
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gettysburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Appalachian Brewing Company
29 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 90:0PM
Mon CLOSED
Tue CLOSED
Wed 12:00PM - 90:0PM
Thu 12:00PM - 90:0PM
Fri 12:00PM - 11:00PM
Sat 12:00PM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) The Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Blue Parrot Bistro
(0 mile)

3) Dobbin House Tavern
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Baladerry Inn
2) Baltimore Street Bed & Brkfst
3) Battlefield Bed & Breakfast
4) Brafferton Inn
5) Brickhouse Inn
6) Brierfield II Country
7) Doubleday Inn
8) Gaslight Inn
9) Gettystown Inn-Dobbin House
10) Herr Tavern & Publick House
11) James Gettys Hotel
12) Keystone Inn
13) Lightner Farmhouse B & B
14) Tiber House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICAS BEST INNS GETTYSBURG
2) BW GETTYSBURG HOTEL EST 1797
3) COMFORT INN GETTYSBURG
4) COUNTRY INN STES GETTYSBURG
5) DAYS INN GETTYSBURG
6) HILTON GARDEN INN GETTYSBURG
7) QUALITY INN GETTSBURG MOTOR LOD
8) QUALITY INN LARSONS
9) SUPER 8 GETTYSBURG PA
10) TRAVELODGE GETTYSBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams County Courthouse
2) Black Horse Tavern
3) Bridge in Cumberland Township
4) Dobbin House
5) Gettysburg Armory
6) Great Conewago Presbyterian Church
7) Lutheran Theological Seminary-Old Dorm
8) Pennsylvania Hall, Gettysburg College
9) Sauck's Covered Bridge
10) Sheads House
11) Wirts House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arbor House
2) Arby's
3) Aunt Pitty Pat's Tea Room
4) Avenue Restaurant
5) Blue Parrot Bistro
6) Bonneauville Inn
7) Brother's Pizza
8) Burger King
9) Camelot Gifts & Souveniers
10) Cannonball Olde Tyme Malt Shop
11) Chicken Coop Inc
12) Chinatown Kitchen #4
13) Christopher's Hot Weiners
14) Corrado's Pizza Of Gettysburg
15) Dairy Queen
16) Dead Dog Saloon
17) Deliso Pizza
18) Dino's Pizza & Subs
19) Dobbin House Tavern
20) Dog House
21) Domino's Pizza
22) Dorothy's Chinese Kitchen
23) Dunlap's Restaurant
24) Eastside Lounge & Restaurant
25) Ernie's Texas Lunch
26) Farnsworth House Military
27) Flying Bull Saloon
28) Forum
29) Friendly's Restaurant
30) Gas Light Inn
31) General Picketts Buffets
32) Gettysbrew
33) Gettysburg Brewing Co
34) Gettysburg Family Restaurant
35) Gettysburg Hotel
36) Gingerbread Man
37) Hamilton's Tavern
38) Hard Bean Cafe
39) Hard Bean Cafe
40) Hardee's
41) Hong Kong
42) Hoss's Steak & Sea House
43) Hunt's Boardwalk Fry
44) J D's Grill
45) Jaspers
46) Jo's Corner Delicatessen
47) Kfc
48) La Bella Italia
49) Lincoln Diner
50) Lupitas Mexican Restaurant
51) Mamma Ventura Restaurant
52) Mamma Ventura's Express
53) Mayflower Asian Restaurant
54) Mc Donald's
55) Mc Donald's
56) Mr G's Flavor Freeze
57) New Garden Chinese Restaurant
58) O'rorke's Eatery & Spirits
59) Papa John's Pizza
60) Perkins Family Restaurant
61) Pizza House
62) Pizza Hut
63) Plaza Restaurant
64) Pub & Restaurant
65) Quiznos Sub
66) Ragged Edge Coffee House
67) Rita's Italian Ice
68) Ross's Coffeehouse & Eatery
69) Ruby Tuesday
70) South Street Pizza
71) Spiritfields Pub & Fair
72) Stonehenge Restaurant Inc
73) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
74) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
75) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
76) Sunset Ice Cream Parlor
77) Tommy's Pizza
78) Union Line Grille
79) Vickie's Country Kitchen
80) Wendy's
81) Will Rogers Coffee & Bagel Bar
82) Yellow Canary Market
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Also I forgot I know they brew beer in house but must the the dining area wreak of stale beer. Sorry but really smells.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scott6058 scott6058, Harrisburg, PA
(03/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good Lousy
Lunch menu is limited Chicken fajita is just plain lousy. The beer sent my stomach into sour indigestion. Sorry but I will not frequent this place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Harrisburg, PA
(03/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good So So
Just had dinner with my out-of-town family. After suggesting we go to the Cameron Street location, I quickly regretted ever doing so. The beer was as it should be, good. However, the food was late and terrible, especially in the case of my in-law, who ordered the bass, only to receive it completely undercooked. Once it was sent back, it took over 15 minutes to re-heat the same piece. The spinach was 'floating' in oil. When we brought the issues to our waitress' attention, she explained that ever since the current chef started working, there have been problem. Simply put, this place is great for a beer, but do not waste your money on the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Camp Hill, PA
(02/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy So So Lousy
Do they ever clean the beer lines??? The beer tastes sour and off flavor. The place looks very dingy and un-kept. Heck, they can't even change the light bulbs. Have felt i'll after my previous three visits. And, can they at least get a current liquor license??? Will NEVER come here again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A former patron A former patron, Chambersburg, PA
(09/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Stopped in here one night while visiting the battlefield and really liked the place. Especially convenient because it was right in front of my hotel at General Lee's Headquarters.

Had a good selection of beers on tap, I think about 8-9 but not sure now. I stuck with the IPA because that's what I like and it was very good.

Ordered a small pizza which was a little greasy but tasted great. They also had a BBQ special that night that looked really good, but I didn't try it.

Service was good - knowledgable and available without being overbearing.

Overall I really liked the place, and it seemed like a nice mix of locals and tourists. If I'm ever back in Gettysburg I'll give it another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from travelmedic travelmedic, Clifton Park, NY
(06/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
Stopped in April, 2008 right before PA primary and then again last night. This place is quite good. Awesome beer selection. I was very impressed with the IPA and the Stout. Both are well done and very true to the style. IPA is exceptional and as good as Joe Kalish made in Gaithersburg at Summit Station in the day, and is almost as good as Dog Fish's 60 Minute. Food selection is good and the taste is good enough to recommend. Service is excellent...attentive and friendly. Overall this place is great...8 out of 10.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from debbie debbie, rockville, MD
(11/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
All,

I have been going to ABC for the last three years. I live near DuClaw in Md but they cannot compete with the true quality in food, beer selection and price that you get at ABC. ABC is class and excellent beer.

Thanks, Wayne

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wayne Wayne, Glen Burnie, MD
(11/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Good food. Good beer. Food is better here than the one in Harrisburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(07/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by yesterday after coming from MD to PA to work on the upcoming primary. I had the IPA and found it to be excellent. The hops were great, with a true fruity finish associated with IPA's. My friend had the Pils and liked it. Nice overall beer. We only had the cheesy sticks appetizer as they were out of pretzels. It was just ok...as "cheesy bread sticks" go. The service (bartender) was excellent and friendly. We actually took a 12 pack of the IPA to go. Would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. If you like the traditional IPA style, full hops and fruity finish, you will love this one. Two thumbs up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from debbie debbie, rockville, MD
(04/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Our visit here was part of a four-brewpub trip through the region. My knee-jerk reaction to chains is negative, so I was pleasantly surprised. At off-peak hours for an early dinner the staff was excellent, could not have been better and they were kid friendly. They were changing the cask while we were there so we did not get a chance to taste it, but the Scottish was top-notch, true to style and very nice. The IPA was fine, not remarkable, and the Irish Red was something I would have again. The consistent presence of Belgian offerings in Pennsylvania was a bit of a mystery to me and none I had was really impressive, but they seem popular. I thought the Porter more robust than the Stout. My two girls gave the root-beer 8.5 and 9 stars out of a possible ten. The Food was up to good pub standards and I say that not to disparage, only to note that it was exactly what I expected and indeed hoped for. Considering everything, I would return here and be happy to do so. I did take a growler of Scottish and it went down easy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Irvine Bob Irvine, Athena, OR
(04/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
I'm a fan of the ABC so I tried this one on my way back from Maryland. Usual great selections of beers and the Hoppy Trails IPA is very good. Food is good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Second visit. My sister, wife and I hung out in the bar section having a few pints. I tried the Jolly Scot scottish ale which was nice and true to style. My sister tried the Susquehanna stout which we all tried and also liked. I had the hoppy trails IPA on cask and it was wonderful. Why don't more places do casks?!!? A very pleasant session in a nice atmosphere. I did not have any problems with the staff either...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, tampa, FL
(08/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy So So
I've stayed at the adjoining Larson's Quality Inn several times so I'm very familiar with this place. The first year they were open it was very friendly with great beer and good service. A nice place for my wife and I to enjoy a couple of beers after a long day walking around. Our last stay (Aug 05)however, we found the atmosphere rather uncomfortable. We stopped in about 9 PM. I asked the bartender how late they were open. He said we had time for just one drink as they would be closing. We ordered and while enjoying the beers (still excellent) the place was filling up with people who seemed to be friendly with the bartender and staff. They were served immediatly and often while we sat there sipping our beers and pretty much ignored until I payed the tab. The only time I returned after that was a day or two later to get acouple of six packs to bring to the room. Too bad. We really had enjoyed the place on previous visits but last year didn't feel entirely welcome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, Adams, MA
(05/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Was visiting my family over Thanksgiving and we had dinner here Friday night for my parents anniversary. We had two children under 4 and the hostess sat us in the back room by ourselves which was awfully nice. They also provided crayons! Now, on to the beer. They must have had over 12 different ales on tap, plus an IPA cask conditioned. We ordered a sample which included 8 beers one of which was their meade! I was impressed with most of the beers which were quite tasty. I also tried the IPA cask(nice and hoppy) and my wife had the Scotch Ale(pretty accurate style) which was really good. The food was also great. The only bummer was that they no longer offer the Shepperd's Pie(my mom's 1st choice). I had their Schnitzel which was excellent. My wife tried the crab cakes which were good too. Sis had the steak salad which was pretty good and my folks had the fish and chips (auce on Fridays) , my baby sis had a pulled pork barbq sandwich that also looked great. This place has neat oldschool beer memorabilia AND civil war stuff all over the place. They also do crawlers as well. If all this wasn't enough, the bill was $100. Not bad for seven adults and two children. HIghly recc'd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, tampa, FL
(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great
What a nice brewpub, quite a contrast to the horrible Gettysbrew. An excellent selection of beer, including a nice IPA from cask on the beer engine. The porter was excellent, with full body and smoky flavours, at least once it warmed up a little. The Maibock was also promising, based on a tasting sample. I'll support almost any brewpub doing cask, and Appalachian is worth going back to for that alone, but their excellent selection and good-tasting beers make the experience very worthwhile.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Martin Bullen Martin Bullen, Paoli, PA
(11/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
I tried he Maibock which was excellant; Major Hops, the name pretty much describes this beer. I too enjoyed it. I was disappointed in the Barley Wine. In fact the Maibock was closer to a barleywine than what I tried. Perhaps because it's served all year long it just doesn't have the time to age. The porter was served way too cold but once the chill was gone, the taste came through and was pretty good. I only had the cheese soup (very good) and hummus sampler (hummus is hummus. They had a list of about 14 offerings ranging from Golden all the way to Stout and Baleywine. There was no indication that any of it was unavailable. So there is something for everyones taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(10/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
The two beers that I had were better than average from a brew pub. However, a signficant number of the beers that they were touting on their menu (some of which sounded very interesting) were seasonal "favorites" only available one month a year... Our food was very slow coming out. When we first asked, we were told it would be "right out." When we asked the second time, we were told that "the computer lost the order." The bleu cheese on the hamburger I ordered tasted "freezer burned". Overall, if I were in the area, I might try this place again (especially considering the low ratings given to the only other brew pub in town), but this place could do better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, DE
(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! So So Good Good
On my most recent visit there were 14 beers on tap and one on the beer engine--impressive to say the least. None of them "ring my bell" as a "wow" beer, but those I've tried are clean and seem to be fresh. Porter (not on tap this trip) and stout are my favorites. Got the scotch eggs appetizer and was extremely disappointed. Scotch eggs are, arguably, in the top 10 of "things you should never eat if you want to be healthy", but when made well, are an exquisite treat. These were not. As the sausage was the thickness of phyllo dough, I basically got breaded, deep fried, hard boiled eggs. And why anyone would serve mustard with them is beyond me. I'm really hopeful that ABC will be daring and experiment with some really hoppy or really malty brews now that they have this extra brewing capacity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I have been here several times and have always enjoyed the beer. The selection is the same as the Harrisburg location. They have said they are going to brew small amounts of speciality beers, but to my knowledge I've not seen any. Food is good. I really enjoy the Pot Roast. The pretzels are also great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I sampled nine of the eleven beers on tap -- five-of-six year-round selections and four specialty beers. All were at least good. Jolly Scot Scottish Ale and Volks Weizenbock (December Specialty) stood out as best; Susquehanna Stout wasn't too my taste. The beer is still brewed in Harrisburg, but they have a license and plan to begin brewing in January. The beers I sampled were Water Gap Wheat, Mountain Lager, Purist Pale Ale, Jolly Scot Scottish Ale, Susquehanna Stout, Hinterland Hefe Weizen (June Specialty), Kipona Fest (August Specialty), Pennypacker Porter (October Specialty), Volks Weizenbock (December Specialty). I din't try the Cask Conditioned Pennypacker Porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
My wife and I enjoy coming to this restaurant. It is only about 6 miles from our house. For the longest time, the food was just ok. Now they have hired a superb chef who actually owned this restaurant before it became ABC. The beer is great but I am not impressed with their "lighter" beers. I believe that the Pennypacker Porter is excellent, very smooth and robust. The Susquehanna Stout is pretty good and my wife enjoys their Nut Brown. If you are in Gettysburg, this is one of the best places to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Weigle Tom Weigle, Gettysburg, PA
(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
This is a small restaurant at the same location as the Quality Inn, west of downtown. They had about 10 brewpub beers on tap when I was there in September. Possibly these are still made in Harrisburg but they tasted good, so who cares? The pale ale and hefeweizen were the best ones I tried. This brewpub is worth a visit. Regarding Gettysburg, I want to thank all of the people who sent in comments to pubcrawler about how bad the other brewpub in town is. I took your word for it and didn't go there. I learned my lesson after having some very strange beers at a brewpub in Jerome AZ (that had similarly bad pubcrawler reviews).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
Slightly biased on this one since it is right up the street from where I work. The beer is good, certainly appeals to the larger craft beer audience. My favorite is the pale ale. Hoppy, well balanced and refreshing. All the beers at ABC are very drinkable. It is hard to be objective after having Gettysburg Brewing Company here in town. Even after over two years it still has been difficult to find a replacement. Hopefully now with their new system installed in G-burg, ABC will start to brew some bigger, bolder brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Beatty Mike Beatty, Chambersburg, PA
(10/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
8 on tap, plus one cask when I visited. Lew, you beat me to it, told no brewing yet due to the gummint and their license not through yet. While I enjoy the beer here and at H-Burg, there's really none that I look forward to when I go here. It's a very family restaurant-ish interior, staff seemed bored while I was there. (I do have that effect on people, though!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
First, the brewery's in, the brewer's hired, but the state's holding things up. Licensing issues...come on, PA, GET A CLUE. Sorry.

Anyway, for the moment, we've got plenty of ABC brews on tap here, and they were tasting pretty damned good when I stopped in last week, particularly the Wheat, much to my surprise. Fish and chips rocked, the site was impressive: right beside Lee's HQ from the battle. Certainly worth a stop if you're in town, should be your first, might be your last, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/24/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.274 seconds) 18:35:27 54.83.230.137, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS