PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Switchback Brewing Company - Burlington, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 08:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Burlington > Switchback Brewing Company
Switchback Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Switchback Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
160 Flynn Avenue
Burlington, VT 05401
United States
(802) 651-4114
Listed Since: October 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Burlington, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
26 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Vermont Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

3) What Ale's You
(0 mile)

4) Church Street Tavern
(0 mile)

5) Nectar's
(0 mile)

6) Reuben James Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

7) Three Needs Taproom
(0 mile)

8) Rasputin's
(0 mile)

9) American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth
(0 mile)

10) Magic Hat Brewing Company
(4 miles)

11) Tavern On The Rocks / Lighthouse Restaurant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Burlington Redstone B & B
2) Hartwell House Bed & Breakfast
3) Lang House on Main Street
4) Sunset House B & B
5) Willard Street Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW WINDJAMMER INN AND CONFEREN
2) CLARION HOTEL AND CONF CTR
3) COMFORT INN SOUTH BURLINGTON
4) DAYS INN BURLINGTON COLCHESTER
5) FAIRFIELD INN BURLINGTON
6) HAMPTON INN BURLINGTON
7) HAWTHORN BURLINGTON
8) HJ HOTEL BURLINGTON SOUTH
9) MAINSTAY STS SOUTH BURLINGTON
10) SHERATON BURLINGTON HTL CONF
11) SMART SUITES
12) SUPER 8 BURLINGTON SOUTH VT
13) TRAVELODGE SHELBURNE
14) UNIVERSITY INN & SUITES
15) WYNDHAM BURLINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Burlington Montgomery Ward Building
2) Carnegie Building of the Fletcher Free Library
3) Champlain School
4) Chittenden County Courthouse
5) Ethan Allen Engine company No. 4
6) First Baptist Church
7) Follett House
8) GENERAL BUTLER (shipwreck)
9) Grassemount
10) Head of Church Street Historic District
11) Howard Mortuary Chapel
12) Kelsey, Martin L., House
13) Methodist Episcopal Church of Winooski
14) Moquin's Bakery
15) O.J. WALKER (shipwreck)
16) Old Ohavi Zedex Synagogue
17) Old Stone House
18) Robinson, Daniel Webster, House
19) Saltus Grocery Store
20) U.S. Post Office and Customhouse
21) Wells, Edward, House
22) Wells-Jackson Carriage House Complex
23) Winooski Block
24) Winterbotham Estate
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 135 Pearl
2) A Single Pebble
3) Ahli Baba's Kabob Shop
4) Akes' Place
5) Alley-Cats
6) Bangkok Bistro
7) Big Daddy's Pizza
8) Bosana Restaurant & Cafe
9) Bourbon Street Grill
10) Bove's Restaurant
11) Breakwaters
12) Burlington Bay Market & Cafe
13) Burlington Beverage Ctr
14) Cafe Piccolo
15) Camel's Hump Catering
16) Cannon's
17) Carbur's Restaurant
18) Caribbean Buffet
19) Chickenbone Cafe
20) Chopstick House II
21) Church Street Tavern
22) Coyotes Tex-Mex Cafe
23) Daily News
24) Daily Planet
25) Dairy Queen
26) David's City Deli
27) Dino's Pizza & Family Rstrnt
28) Dino's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
29) Dobra Tea
30) Dockside Restaurant
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Empire Express
33) Esox
34) Finnigan's Pub
35) Five Spice Cafe
36) Four Corners Of The Earth
37) Four Star Delivery Express
38) Golden Dragon Restaurant
39) Golden Star Restaurant
40) Greenstreet's Restaurant
41) Halvorson's Upstreet Cafe
42) Handy's Lunch
43) Harvest Cafe
44) Hectors Mexican Cafe
45) Henry Street Deli Mart
46) Henry's Diner
47) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
48) Ice House Restaurant & Bar
49) Iron Wolf
50) Isabel's On The Waterfront
51) J P's Pub Inc
52) Jimbo's Subs Wings & Things
53) Kahiki Moon
54) Kampus Kitchens
55) Ken's Pizza
56) Klinger's Bread Co
57) Kountry Kart Deli
58) L'Amante
59) Leonardo's Pizza
60) Leonardo's Pizza
61) Leunig's Bistro
62) Lilydale Bakery-Cafe
63) Ling's Chinese Deli Inc
64) Liquid Energy Cafe
65) Mad Hatter
66) Mandy's Catering
67) Manhattan Pizza
68) Mc Donald's
69) Metronome
70) Ming's Restaurant
71) Mona's Ristorante
72) Mr Mike's
73) Muddy Waters
74) Neci Commons
75) Nectar Rorris Restaurant
76) New England Culinary Institute
77) New England Wings
78) New World Tortilla
79) North End Express Deili
80) Number One Chinese Restaurant
81) Oak Street Deli & Mini-Mart
82) Oasis Diner Inc
83) Olde Northender Pub
84) Opaline
85) Other Place
86) Pacific Rim
87) Paradise Burritos
88) Parima Restaurant
89) Pearl Street Beverage
90) Penny Cluse Cafe
91) Pizza Hut
92) Pomodoros
93) Pub
94) Quiznos Sub
95) Radio Bean Coffeehouse
96) Radio Deli & Grocery
97) Rasputin's
98) Ray's Seafood Market
99) Red Onion Restaurant
100) Red Square Bar & Grill
101) Restaurant Marketing Svc
102) Ri Ra The Irish Pub
103) Riversedge Coffee Shop & Grill
104) Riverside Beverages
105) Robert's Deli
106) Roques Restaurante & Cantina
107) Ruben James Restaurant
108) Rusty Scuffer
109) Sage Coach
110) Sai-Gon Cafe & Lounge
111) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
112) Saldon Management Corp
113) Scrumptious
114) Seasonings Catering & Cake
115) Shalimar Of India
116) Shanty On The Shore
117) Signal To Noise
118) Smokejacks
119) Southern Soul
120) Souza's
121) Speeder & Earl's Coffee
122) Speeder & Earls
123) Splash At The Boathouse
124) Spring Discount Beverage
125) St Pierre Catering Svc
126) Starbucks
127) Starbucks
128) Stone Soup
129) Sugarsnap
130) Sweet Tomatoes Trattoria
131) Sweetwaters
132) T Rugg's Tavern
133) Taste Of Burlington
134) Ten Mothers American Bistro
135) Three Needs
136) Tommy's Grill
137) Top Of The Block
138) Trattoria Delia
139) Valencia
140) Vermont Pub & Brewery
141) Vermont Sandwich Co
142) Waggy's Store & Deli
143) Waterfront Catering Group
144) What Ale's You
145) Wyndham Burlington Hotel
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Is Switchback a vegan friendly beer? Do not assume the brewer understands what products are derived from animals. Ask, specifically, whether any of the following are used in brewing or processing beer: isinglass, gelatin, glycerin, glyceryl monostearate, casein, or honey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex Jct, VT
(11/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I was born in VT (Rutland same as John Deere), raised in VT, educated in VT. Now I live in FL and have a cottage in VT and when I go back to VT I always look for things that you just cannot get anywhere else. Switchback is one of these things. An great beer that is not bottled and only available in select restaurants, bars, and taverns in the greater VT area. Makes me want to book a flight now...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erik Erik, Tampa, FL
(11/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Switchback does have a distributer in New York, Decescente Distribution. To find the locations where it is available, check out gotbeer.com. It is available all over Troy, NY, and Saratoga.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(08/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm from Minnesota and my good friend in Vermont introduced me to Switchback on a 10-day trip to your lovely state. My only regret is that you don't bottle it and that it's not available to me in the Land of Loons!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Clark Ed Clark, Minneapolis, MN
(06/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
The very best unfiltered micro-brew I have ever tasted. Rates in the top 5 of best draft beer poured on this earth, and if you don't believe me, I'll buy the round. Has a nice round body, no bitterness, pleasant aftertaste, a perfect beer. if it's on tap, it's what I'm having.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Morelli Lee Morelli, Middletown Springs, VT
(12/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just one of the best beers ive ever had .It surely beats all of the mexican crap we have in s. fla.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john john, ouellette, FL
(08/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was in St. Johnbury last week for a business trip. I had a chance to try Switchback at a nice little restaurant called Element. Oh Boy was it good. Sucks that I can't get it here in Pittsburgh. Start bottling it soon please or I'll have to keep drinking MH #9.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Tolmer Mike Tolmer, Bridgeville, PA
(06/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Here in the Schenectady/Greater Capital district area you can get growlers of Switchback at Glenville Beverages on Freemans Bridge Road. Their overall beer selection is awesome and they usually have 5 or more beers on tap for growlers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Will Will, Delanson, NY
(02/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Greatest beer I've ever introduced my pallet to. I live down in MA, yeah I'm a Masshole. Got a bud up there in Burlington though. We call em' Tuna...He's a vibrant redhead with a meeeaan pool cue. He introduced the glory of Switchback to me. It's a great thing. I miss it and don't get it often enough. Sittin' here in MA drinkin bud like a sap. Anyways fellas, keep on making that sweet brew that nobody can top. I'll see your spokesman, "The Pint," soon....hopefully. I'll in fact apply for that job of a Switchback mascot right here right now...lemme know guys. PEACE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erik Blondell Erik Blondell, Scituate, MA
(01/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
switchback is the best beer around, hands down. it's the only beer i ever keep on tap. deep down i hope that it's never bottled so that we can keep it our little vt secret!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review grand isle, VT
(01/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Switchback beer is by far the best microbrew around, and is my favorite beer to drink. Bought a Kegerator at home just so I could drink it at home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Willey Mike Willey, Williston, VT
(07/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Recently vacationed in VT and discovered Switchback . . . totally disappointed that I couldn't bring a case back home with me . . . may have to visit VT more often!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(07/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
As a seasonal resident of the Adirondacks, I discovered Switchback at last year's VT BrewFest. The following week, I made the pilgrimage to the brewery and had a wonderfully casual chat with the chief cook 'n bottle washer [aka, owner]. What a great guy. What a great beer. The bad news? It's not yet bottled for off-site purchase. Please consider this dilemma for we flat-landers who leave the North Country after Labor Day weekend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Yankee for Life Yankee for Life, Adirondack hamlet, NY
(04/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey it's a great beer, and a great place to practise.

Thanks again for the space...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from samba_dude samba_dude, Bristol, VT
(02/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I love this beer! We drank the keg dry at Revolution Hall in Troy the other night.

This is a second request to find a distributor in Saratoga, NY area! Thanks

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sven Sven, Saratoga, NY
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Great beer. The owner is a good guy, too.

Please find a distributer in Albany, NY (or Saratoga). This is one of the better microbrews out there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Albany, NY
(12/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A Great Good
This is a tiny brewery in Burlington that only offers one beer. But it is a good one. The facility is easy to miss as they share a building with 3 other companies and signage on the walls and doors is poor. Their one beer is worth the persistance to find it though. While there, we spoke with the brewer and got a little tour. The brewer bent our ears for almost 45 minutes on his philosophy on making beer for the public. Real nice guy with an obvious passion for what he is doing. Switchback Ale is a light colored ale that he refuses to classify but struck me as something of a cross between a kolsh and an American Pale. It was tasty. Mildly fruity, well balanced, with good hop and malt characteristics. The brewer has no plans to expand his lineup anytime soon. I enjoyed the samples offered but, unfortunately, they do not offer growlers or refills so I could not bring any of this delicious brew home with me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Awesome is the only way to describe this ale. Who cares if it's a pale ale or a brown, it's just plain good. It's a little sweet with just a hint of hoppiness, but not bitter by any means, and it sure is smooth. There just isn't enough of it...yet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Warner Rick Warner, Essex Junction, VT
(02/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Enjoyed Switchback in two bars in Stowe.Like the concept of no filtration and no added CO2.Reminded me of Harpoon but better. How about exporting to New Jersey

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
I live a few blocks from the brewing company, and wish that I was more impressed thus far. Most of the pints of Switchback that I've had (at Three Needs and Ken's Pizza) have had a rather sour, soapy aftertaste. I've had it enough times, and had enough other pints at these establishments, to have to conclude that it's the beer. OK peachy/hoppy/smoky flavors at the front, but inconsistent overall. The brewer certainly needs to come up with a couple more beers if he wants to compete in this local-beer-saturated market. I'll certainly give any upcoming new beers a chance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Had my first taste of Switchback while visiting Burlington in the Summer. It was recommended by my friend whom we were visiting. Had it the first day and enjoyed it so much, that we sought it everywhere we went during the rest of the week. This is a tasty, well-balanced brew that is very drinkable. You've got to try it yourself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from H. Fix H. Fix, Berwyn, PA
(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is a wonderfully tasting ale. A few friends of mine and I were able (as far as I remember) to finish an entire keg in 3 days. We took the brewery tour with Bill and his Dog, tasted a few samples, and we were sold. Great taste that stays with you till you need another sip. Best of luck guys and keep up the good work !!! A++

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Colchester, CT
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
In response to Bill's comments about not being able to find the Brewery. It is at 160 Flynn Ave in Burlington, VT. They share the building with other companies such as McKenzie of Vermont. Who has the biggest sign on the building. Go in the door by the loading dock and the Brewery is there. (Call before you show up, alot of times Bill the only full time employee is not there.) Currently Switchack is available only in kegs and has been available in many bars around northern Vermont. Additionally as of November 2003 Switchback started being offered in southern Vermont. I personally think the beer is awesome but I must disclose that I am also one of the owners (not the brewmaster) of this Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Neiblum Jeff Neiblum, Shelton, CT
(12/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I looked everywhere and couldn't find the place. The address is another business, not the brewery. I asked around and nobody knew about it. Either its closed or not doing very well getting their name out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Leonardi Bill Leonardi, Laurel, NY
(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great
This place has recently open and is only making one type of beer. The brewmaster, Bill, does not describe it as any one style. The closest he'll come to catorgizing it is a cross between a pale ale and a brown ale. I just descibe it as great, from the first beer to the last.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carol Balmer Carol Balmer, Cromwell, CT
(08/20/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.205 seconds) 08:18:20 54.197.215.146, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS